CTNF 18/738,606 CTNF 101837 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 10, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner. Drawings 06-22-03 AIA The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “ 210 ” has been used to designate both the boom assembly in fig. 1 and a region in fig. 2 that does not show the boom assembly . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 12 recites the limitation "the surge protection devices" in the first line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Note that Claim 12 is based on Claim 10 while surge protection devices are first recited in Claim 11. Claim 15 recites the limitation "the single compartment" in the second line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Note that “single compartment” has not been recited in any of the preceding claims further limited by Claim 15. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Tateyama (JP 2014143838 A) . Regarding Claim 1 , Tateyama discloses an energy transfer system (trolley box 16, figs. 1 and 3, ¶[0029]) for an electrically powered machine (trolley type dump truck 100, fig. 1, ¶[0021]), comprising: a single compartment of the machine (trolley box 16 shown as a single container both in the illustration of fig. 1 and schematic of fig. 3), including: an electrical circuit (enclosure 16 containing circuit components 16a, 16b, 16c, and 16d, fig. 3) including: one or more switches (“The trolley box 16 includes … contactors 16b, 16c”, ¶[0029]) configured to electrically connect and disconnect the energy transfer system from a power source (in reference to trolley box 16 components, “when the trolley travel mode is selected as described later, the drive system controller 17 controls these to direct the inverters 18a, 18b to DC. It is designed to input a voltage. On the other hand, in the mode (diesel travel mode) in which the vehicle runs on its own power without receiving power supply from the overhead wires W1 and W2, the main generator 41 driven by the engine 40 and the DC voltage generated by the auxiliary generator 42 are input to the inverters 18a and 18b”, ¶[0029]); a power distribution system configured to accept power from the power source and supply the power to the electrically powered machine (“a DC voltage from the overhead wires W1 and W2 via the pantograph 15 and the trolley box 16 is input to the pair of inverter units”, ¶[0028]); and an overcurrent protection system configured to prevent an excess flow of current into the electrically powered machine (“The trolley box 16 includes a circuit breaker 16a”, ¶[0029]) . 07-15 AIA Claim s 13, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Qian et al. (US 11,368,031 B2) (hereinafter “Qian”) . Regarding Claim 13 , Qian discloses an energy transfer system (power distribution unit 102, figs. 1 and 2, col. 15, lines 21-62) for an electrically powered machine (example system 400: “a mobile application such as a vehicle”, fig. 4, col. 19, lines 57-58), comprising: an electrical circuit including: one or more switches configured to electrically connect and disconnect the energy transfer system from a power source (“The example PDU 102 includes a main contactor 216 selectively controlling the main power throughput of the PDU 102.”, col. 17, lines 4-6); a power distribution system located adjacent the one or more switches and configured to accept power from the power source and supply the power to the electrically powered machine (“power distribution unit 102 operationally positioned between a power source 104 and a load 106”, col. 15, lines 22-24), the power distribution system including an inductor (“coupling inductor between the HV energy storage device and the AC external interface”, col. 148, lines 4-6), and an overcurrent protection system configured to prevent an excess flow of current into the electrically powered machine (“arrangement of the breaker/relay 6502 that provides designed overcurrent protection”, col. 68, lines 15-18, fig. 65); and a controller configured to transmit signals to the one or more switches (“the main contactor 216 is communicatively coupled to and controlled by the controller 214”, col. 17, lines 6-8); wherein the one or more switches, power distribution system, overcurrent protection system and controller are all located in a common cabinet of the powered machine (power distribution unit 102 is shown in fig. 2 as a common container for contactor 216, distribution system comprising inlets 202/204 and outlets 210/212, fuses 222/224, and controller 214; additionally, an embodiment of power distribution unit 102 shown in fig. 65 includes breaker/relay 6502 for overcurrent protection). Regarding Claim 18 , Qian discloses the energy transfer system of Claim 13, further including a blower (“a forced air flow region”, col. 23, lines 50-51) configured to supply cooling air across portions of both the overcurrent protection system and the power distribution system. Regarding Claim 20 , Qian discloses an energy transfer system (power distribution unit or PDU 102, figs. 1 and 2, col. 15, lines 21-62) for an electrically powered machine (example system 400: “a mobile application such as a vehicle”, fig. 4, col. 19, lines 57-58), comprising: a single cabinet of the electrically powered machine (“The PDU 102 is depicted schematically as a device within a single enclosure, but may be within a single enclosure and/or distributed in two or more places within an application. In certain embodiments, the inclusion of the PDU 102 within a single enclosure provides certain advantages for integration, reduction of footprint, and/or simplification of interfaces.”, col. 16, lines 60-66), including: an electrical circuit including: one or more switches configured to electrically connect and disconnect the energy transfer system from a power source (“The example PDU 102 includes a main contactor 216 selectively controlling the main power throughput of the PDU 102.”, col. 17, lines 4-6); a power distribution system configured to accept power from the power source and supply power to the electrically powered machine (“power distribution unit 102 operationally positioned between a power source 104 and a load 106”, col. 15, lines 22-24); a surge protection system including at least one surge protector or surge arrestor (in reference to fig. 67, “the standard on/off input 6504 and the auxiliary off input 6704 include circuit protection components such as surge protection and polarity protection.”, col. 70, lines 5-8); and a cooling unit located in the single cabinet for cooling the electrical circuit (“The example PDU 102 further includes a coolant inlet 206 and a coolant outlet 204.”, col. 16, lines 8-9; Qian further recites “a forced air flow region” in col. 23, lines 50-51) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 2, 3, 4, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tateyama (JP 2014143838 A) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhu (CN 210041014 U) . Regarding Claim 2 , Tateyama discloses the energy transfer system of Claim 1 comprising the overcurrent protection system and the power distribution system, but Tateyama does not recite a blower. Zhu teaches a power distribution box (box 1, figs. 1-3, lines 109-111) with lightning protection function, further including a blower (fan 5, fig. 1, lines 115-116) configured to supply cooling air to both the overcurrent protection system and the power distribution system. Before the effective date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute, with a reasonable expectation of success, the trolley box enclosure from Tateyama with the box disclosed by Zhu. The motivation would have been enhanced protection against elements such as lightning and fire (Zhu: lines 75-85). The substitution would predictably achieve the desired result. Regarding Claim 3 , the modified trolley box discloses the energy transfer system of Claim 2, wherein the blower (Zhu: fan 5, fig. 1, lines 115-116) is further configured to supply cooling air across an inductor (Tateyama: reactor 16d, fig. 3, ¶[0029]) within the single compartment (box 1 of Zhu as applied in Claim 2 substitution above). Regarding Claim 4 , the modified trolley box discloses the energy transfer system of Claim 3, wherein the blower is positioned adjacent an outer surface of the machine (Tateyama fig. 1 shows the trolley box mounted on an exterior surface of the truck 100. The modified trolley box is therefore positioned adjacent an outer surface of the machine with heat “exhausted through the heat radiation window 16” located on “switch door 15 connected to the front of the box”, as recited by Zhu in lines 54-55 and 135-136, and visible in fig. 2). Regarding Claim 6 , the modified trolley box discloses the energy transfer system of Claim 1, wherein the single compartment forms a cabinet having a common service entrance (Zhu: “The front of the cabinet 1 is connected to the switch door 15 by hinges”, line 135). Regarding Claim 7 , the modified trolley box discloses the energy transfer system of Claim 1, wherein the common service entrance forms an outer surface portion of the machine (Tateyama fig. 1 shows the trolley box mounted on an exterior surface of the truck 100. The modified trolley box is therefore positioned adjacent an outer surface of the machine with “switch door 15 connected to the front of the box”, as recited by Zhu in lines 54-55 and visible in fig. 2) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tateyama (JP 2014143838 A) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Brown et al. (US 2023/0369978 A1) (hereinafter “Brown”) . Regarding Claim 5 , Tateyama discloses the energy transfer system of Claim 1, but Tateyama does not recite bus bars. Brown teaches a conversion circuit (¶[0005]) further including a bus bar extending from the single compartment (trolley box 16 of Tateyama) and directly connected to an electricity-conducting connector assembly extending away from the machine for connecting to a power supply (Brown: “a circuit for converting overhead trolley lines to a DC voltage across DC bus bars”, ¶[0004]). Before the effective date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the bus bars from Brown with the trolley box disclosed by Tateyama. The motivation would have been completing a circuit for conveying power from trolley lines to other components such as inverters and ultimately to loads (Brown, ¶[0004]). The combination would predictably achieve the desired result as Brown further recites “a drive system of a high DC voltage application (e.g., a mining, construction or transportation vehicle) can employ a bi-polar DC link including DC bus bars” (¶[0055]) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian (US 11,368,031 B2) as applied to Claim 13 above, and further in view of Berry et al. (US 2021/0276424 A1) (hereinafter “Berry”) . Regarding Claim 19 , Qian discloses the energy transfer system of Claim 13, wherein the electrical circuit further includes a voltage sensor (“In embodiments, an isolated high voltage sensor may be provided, such as in support of electronics in an electrical mobile application.”, col. 125, lines 43-45, fig. 201), a power filter (“PDU 102 may include power electronics, for example rectifying, adjusting voltage, cleaning up noisy electrical power, etc. to provide selected electrical power characteristics to the load 106”, col. 15, lines 59-62), a grounding portion (in reference to example mobile application 32002, “circuits 31906, 32004 may have separate ground portions”, col. 170, lines 4-18, fig. 320), a temperature sensor (“The controller 214 includes and/or is communicatively coupled to one or more sensors and/or actuators in the PDU 102, for example to determine current values, voltage values, and/or temperatures of any power source or input, fuse, connector, or other device in the PDU 102.”, col. 16, lines 38-42), a current sensor (“PDU 102 may include sensors such as voltage and/or current sensors”, col. 18, lines 13-14), a ground fault detection (in reference to certain embodiments of the example system, “benefits and features include an integrated architecture responsive to other system failures such as battery, output, short to ground”, col. 121, lines 65-67), all located in the common cabinet (power distribution unit 102 shown in fig. 2 as a common container). Qian does not recite an isolation monitoring system. Berry teaches a sub-system (¶[0007]) for vehicles comprising an electrical power bus, wherein the sub-system is monitored by an isolation monitoring system (“The high voltage electrical supply sub-system 2 is monitored by isolation monitoring system 6”, ¶[0067], fig. 1). Before the effective date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the isolation monitoring system from Berry with the power distribution unit disclosed by Qian. The motivation, as disclosed by Berry, would have been reducing voltage on the electrical power bus to below a predetermined level in the event of a collision (¶[0002]). The combination would predictably achieve the desired result by utilizing the isolation monitoring system for confirming electrical isolation of the bus from the chassis (Berry, ¶[0011]) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 8-11, 14, 16, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding Claim 8 , the prior art does not teach energy transfer system of Claim 1, further including a central vertical partition, and the energy distribution system is located on a first side of the partition and the one or more switches are located on a second, opposite side of the partition. The closest reference, Fu et al. (EP 4246792 A1) (hereinafter “Fu”) , discloses a bidirectional DC/DC converter (¶[0006], figs. 1, 4-7) for an urban rail vehicle. Although the converter includes a vertical partition (“an interior of the cabinet is partitioned, by separators, into left mounting cavities and right mounting cavities.”, ¶[0020]), the distribution system and switches are not recited on opposite sides of the partition. Regarding Claim 9 , the prior art does not teach the energy transfer system of Claim 8, wherein the energy distribution system is located at a top portion of the single compartment. The modified trolley box of Claim 2, as the closest reference, discloses an energy distribution system (Zhu: outlets 6, fig. 1, line 96) within the single compartment, but does not specify its location at a top portion of the compartment. Regarding Claim 10 , the prior art does not teach the energy transfer system of Claim 8, further including a blower located on the first side of the partition. The closest reference, Fu, discloses a heat dissipation fan M (figs. 4-5, ¶[0061]) on one side of the partition but the positioning and recitation of components does not align with limitations of base Claim 8. Regarding Claim 11 , the prior art does not teach the energy transfer system of Claim 10, further including surge protection devices located on the second side of the partition. Fu, as the closest reference reciting a partition, does not disclose surge protection devices within the converter. In fact, arresters 21 and 22 (¶[0067]) are shown external to the converter in fig. 7. Regarding Claim 14 , the prior art does not teach the energy transfer system of Claim 13, wherein the cabinet includes a partition, and the energy distribution system is located on a first side of the partition and the one or more switches are located on a second, opposite side of the partition. The closest reference, Zhu, discloses the outlets 6 adjacent to switches 4 without a partition as shown in fig. 1. Regarding Claim 16 , the prior art does not teach the energy transfer system of Claim 15, further including a blower located on the first side of the partition. The closest reference, Zhu, discloses a fan (fan 5 of fig. 1) but lacks a partition. Regarding Claim 17 , the prior art does not teach the energy transfer system of Claim 16, further including surge protection devices located on the second side of the partition. Fu, as the closest reference reciting a partition, does not disclose surge protection devices within the converter. In fact, arresters 21 and 22 (¶[0067]) are shown external to the converter in fig. 7. 07-43-02 AIA Claim s 12 and 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding Claim 12 , the prior art does not teach the energy transfer system of Claim 10, wherein the surge protection devices are located below the one or more switches. The closest reference, Zhu, discloses surge protector 7 located below switch 4, as visible in fig. 1. However, other base claim limitations are not recited. Regarding Claim 15 , the prior art does not teach energy transfer system of Claim 14, wherein the energy distribution system is located at a top portion of the single compartment. The modified trolley box of Claim 2, as the closest reference, discloses an energy distribution system (Zhu: outlets 6, fig. 1, line 96) within the single compartment, but does not specify its location at a top portion of the compartment. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional art of record relates to powering electrically driven machines . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MOHAMMAD OMID NEYZARI whose telephone number is (571)272-9530. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 8 AM-5 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Allen Shriver can be reached at (303) 297-4337. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MOHAMMAD OMID NEYZARI/Examiner, Art Unit 3613 /JAMES A SHRIVER II/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3613 Application/Control Number: 18/738,606 Page 2 Art Unit: 3613 Application/Control Number: 18/738,606 Page 3 Art Unit: 3613 Application/Control Number: 18/738,606 Page 4 Art Unit: 3613 Application/Control Number: 18/738,606 Page 5 Art Unit: 3613 Application/Control Number: 18/738,606 Page 6 Art Unit: 3613 Application/Control Number: 18/738,606 Page 7 Art Unit: 3613 Application/Control Number: 18/738,606 Page 8 Art Unit: 3613 Application/Control Number: 18/738,606 Page 9 Art Unit: 3613 Application/Control Number: 18/738,606 Page 10 Art Unit: 3613 Application/Control Number: 18/738,606 Page 11 Art Unit: 3613 Application/Control Number: 18/738,606 Page 12 Art Unit: 3613 Application/Control Number: 18/738,606 Page 13 Art Unit: 3613 Application/Control Number: 18/738,606 Page 14 Art Unit: 3613