DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 20, the limitation “means, applied to the substrate, for embedding the stack of one or more semiconductor dies and the first set of bond wires” is interpreted under 112(f) due to the use of the term “means”, the functional language “applied to the substrate, for embedding…”, and the lack of sufficient structure or material for performing the function. In light of the specification at [0037], the corresponding structure is interpreted as requiring a film layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 10, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (U.S. PGPub 2006/0220257).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a semiconductor device (Fig. 2), comprising:
a substrate and a stack of one or more memory dies surface mounted to the substrate (10, 120, 130, [0008], [0054])
bond wires electrically coupling the stack of one or more memory dies to each other and the substrate (152/154, [0051]),
a film layer having a first surface positioned against the substrate, and a second surface opposite the first surface, the stack of one or more semiconductor dies and the bond wires being embedded within the film layer (161, [0046]), and
a component mounted to the second surface of the film layer (140, [0046]).
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches wherein the component is a controller die ([0054], [0061]).
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches wherein the bond wires comprise a first set of bond wires, the semiconductor device further comprising a second set of bond wires electrically coupling the controller die to the substrate (156, [0056]).
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches an encapsulant for encapsulating the film layer and component (163, [0046]).
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches wherein the film layer is a curable epoxy ([0053]).
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches wherein the film layer is formed on the substrate in a shape and position at least as large as the component (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Lee teaches a semiconductor device (Fig. 2), comprising:
a substrate and a stack of one or more memory dies surface mounted to the substrate (10, 120, 130, [0008], [0054])
a first set of bond wires electrically coupling the stack of one or more memory dies to each other and the substrate (152/154, [0051]),
a film layer, the stack of one or more semiconductor dies and the bond wires being embedded within the film layer (161, [0046]), and
a controller die mounted to the second surface of the film layer (140, [0046], [0054], [0061]), and
a second set of bond wires electrically coupling the controller die to the substrate (156, [0056]).
Claims 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ye (U.S. PGPub 2015/0221624).
Regarding claim 12, Ye teaches a semiconductor device (Fig. 10), comprising:
a substrate and a controller die directly mounted to the substrate (Fig. 4, 102, 114, [0030]),
a film layer having a first surface positioned against the substrate, and a second surface opposite the first surface, the controller die being embedded within the film layer (120, [0032]),
a stack of one or more memory dies mounted to the second surface of the film layer (130, [0039]) and
bond wires electrically coupling the stack of one or more memory dies to each other and the substrate (134, [0047]).
Regarding claim 13, Ye teaches wherein the bond wires comprise a first set of bond wires, the semiconductor device further comprising a second set of bond wires electrically coupling the controller die to the substrate (116, [0030]).
Regarding claim 14, Ye teaches wherein the controller die is flip-chip mounted to the substrate ([0030]).
Regarding claim 15, Ye teaches an encapsulant for encapsulating the film layer and stack of one or more memory dies (140, [0049]).
Regarding claim 16, Ye teaches wherein the film layer is a curable epoxy ([0042]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 17, Ye teaches wherein the film layer on the substrate is cured from an A-stage to a C-stage ([0042]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 18, Ye teaches wherein the film layer on the substrate is cured from an B-stage to a C-stage ([0042]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 19, Ye teaches a die attach film attaching a bottommost memory die of the stack of one or more memory dies to the second surface of the film layer ([0040]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (U.S. PGPub 2024/0304509) in view of Tomonaga (U.S. PGPub 2014/0159215).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Li teaches a semiconductor device (Fig. 7B) comprising:
a substrate and a stack of one or more memory dies surface mounted to the substrate (19, 121, [0047], [0026], Claim 20),
bond wires electrically coupling the stack of one or more memory dies to each other and the substrate (14, [0050]),
a film layer having a first surface positioned against the substrate, and a second surface opposite the first surface, the stack of one or more semiconductor dies and the bond wires being embedded within the film layer (131, [0083]).
Li does not explicitly teach a component mounted to the second surface of the film layer, wherein the component is a spacer layer.
Tomonaga teaches a semiconductor package (Fig. 1) comprising a substrate and semiconductor die mounted to the substrate (13, [0027]) coupled to the substrate with bond wires (20, [0028]), a film layer having a first surface positioned against the substrate and a second surface opposite the first surface, the semiconductor dies and the bond wires being embedded within the film layer (191, [0030]), and a component mounted to the second surface, wherein the component is a spacer layer (18, [0027], [0031]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Tomonaga with Li such that the device comprises a component mounted to the second surface of the film layer, wherein the component is a spacer layer for the purpose of providing a heat sink (Tomonaga, [0031]).
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (U.S. PGPub 2006/0220257) in view of Kouchi (U.S. PGPub 2016/0351502).
Regarding claim 4, Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the component is a multiplexer.
Kouchi teaches a package comprising memory dies and a logic die ([0057]), wherein the logic die is a multiplexer ([0020], Fig. 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Kouchi with Lee such that the component is a multiplexer for the purpose of incorporating a multiplexer without increasing surface area (Kouchi, [0066]-[0067]).
Regarding claim 11, Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the semiconductor device is a flash memory package.
Kouchi teaches a package comprising memory dies and a logic die ([0057]), wherein the memory dies are flash memory ([0019], [0057], [0071]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Kouchi with Lee such that the semiconductor device is a flash memory package for the purpose of providing the reduced cost of Lee for a flash memory package (Lee, [0055]).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (U.S. PGPub 2006/0220257) in view of Ye (U.S. PGPub 2015/0221624).
Regarding claim 8, Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the film layer on the substrate is cured from an A-stage to a C-stage.
Ye teaches one or more dies embedded in a film layer on a substrate and a component mounted to the top surface of the film layer (Figs. 4-6, 114, 120, 130, [0055]), wherein the film layer on the substrate is cured from an A-stage to a C-stage ([0034]-[0037], [0042], [0046]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Ye with Lee such that the film layer on the substrate is cured from an A-stage to a C-stage for the purpose of forming the film layer of Lee (Ye, [0046]; Lee, [0053]).
Regarding claim 9, Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the film layer on the substrate is cured from a B-stage to a C-stage.
Ye teaches one or more dies embedded in a film layer on a substrate and a component mounted to the top surface of the film layer (Figs. 4-6, 114, 120, 130, [0055]), wherein the film layer on the substrate is cured from a B-stage to a C-stage ([0040]-[0046]]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Ye with Lee such that the film layer on the substrate is cured from a B-stage to a C-stage for the purpose of forming the film layer of Lee (Ye, [0046]; Lee, [0053]).
Conclusion
/ALIA SABUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812