Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-3 in the reply filed on 8/14/2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: claim 1 teaches a striation height (X) value of -15 mm. In physical terms, height is a positive quantity measured from a reference plane (e.g., the wafer’s flat surface). A “negative” height would imply the striation is below that reference, which is not possible in standard wafer geometry. If the “negative” value is due to a sign convention (e.g. a chosen coordinate direction in arbitrarily chosen measurement), claim must define the chosen coordinate system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uto (20110056428).
Regarding claim 1, Uto teaches an semiconductor wafer of 200 mm in diameter (par. 32 teaches a range of wafer diameter which includes this value) cut from a single-crystal silicon (par. 10) that is doped with phosphorus (par. 49)
the semiconductor wafer having a resistivity (Y) () and a striation height (X) (see fig. 4A, 4B, 5A, 5B and par. 13 and par. 34-40), wherein Y is at least
Y = -1.588 x 10-6 X3 + 1.331 x 10-4X2 - 1.195 x 10-2 X + 7.649x 10-1 (please see equations seen in par. 13 and 40 which includes but is not limited to the equation above, specifically when the range of height striation, taught in Uto, is used above)
for X in a range of -15 mm to 30 mm (par. 63 teaches a range that coincides with this range), the semiconductor wafer being further characterized by an edge and a center (please see fig. 1A-1D wherein wafers have a rim and a center) wherein a plurality of striation angles from the edge to the center forms the striation height (X) at the center (please see fig. 1A-1D which shows angles, specifically fig. 1D), and each of the plurality of striation angles is a positive value (please see fig. 1D which shows the striation angles on the positive axis).
Regarding claim 2, Uto teaches an semiconductor wafer of 300 mm in diameter (par. 32 teaches a range of wafer diameter which includes this value) cut from a single-crystal silicon that is doped with phosphorous (par. 10 and 49), the semiconductor wafer having a resistivity (Y) of 0.8 m Q-cm or less (par. 13, 40 and 63) and striation height (X) of 13 mm or greater (par. 13 and par. 34-40), the semiconductor wafer being further characterized by an edge and a center (please see fig. 1A-1D wherein wafers have a rim and a center) wherein a plurality of striation angles from the edge to the center forms the striation height (X) at the center (please see fig. 1A-1D which shows angles, specifically fig. 1D), and each of the plurality of striation angles is a positive value (please see fig. 1D which shows the striation angles on the positive axis).
Regarding claim 3, Uto teaches an semiconductor wafer of claim 2, wherein the resistivity (Y) is at least Y= 1.556 x 10-6X3 + 1.439 x 10-4X2 - 1.469 x 10-2X+ 9.700 x 10-1 (please see equations seen in par. 13 and 40 which includes but is not limited to the equation above, specifically when the range of height striation, taught in Uto, is used above).
Conclusion
/CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818