Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8 (which depends on claim 1) and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,004,691 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that claims 1 and 4 are broader and included in and can be gleaned from claims 8 (which depends on claim 1) and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,004,691.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
In claim 5, “wherein the second tong section includes regions of the second arm that mate with the one or more shaped portions of the first arm to enclose the cage which are straight”. The Figures only show second tong section regions that are similar in dimensions and/or configurations of the shaped portions of the first tong section.
In claim 6, “wherein the second tong section includes regions of the second handle region that mate with the one or more shaped portions of the first handle region to enclose the cage which are shaped portions of different dimension and/or configuration of the those on the first handle region”. The Figures only show second tong section regions that are similar in dimensions and/or configurations of the shaped portions of the first tong section.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the second arm" in lines 1-2. How does the “second arm” in lines 1-2 of claim 5 relate to the “second food holding region” in lines 11-12 of claim 1? Is there an additional arm being claimed that differs from the second food holding region? There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, “the second arm” is being interpreted as ---the second food holding region---.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the first arm" in line 2. How does the “first arm” in line 2 of claim 5 relate to the “first food holding region” in line 8 of claim 1? Is there an additional arm being claimed that differs from the first food holding region? There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, “the first arm” is being interpreted as ---the first food holding region---.
Regarding claim 6, the phrase "the second tong section includes regions of the second handle region that mate with the one or more shaped portions of the first handle region to enclose the cage which are shaped portions of different dimension and/or configuration of the those on the first handle region" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the one or more shaped portions are part of the first handle region or if the one or more shaped portions are part of the first food holding region, as described lines 8-10 of claim 1. Therefore, how does the second handle region mate with the shaped portions of the first handle region to enclose the cage when it is the second food holding region that mates with the first food holding region to enclose the cage, as described in lines 11-14 of claim 1? For the purposes of examination, “the second handle region” is being interpreted as ---the second food holding region---; and “the first handle region” is being interpreted as ---the first food holding region---.
Regarding claim 7, the phrase " the second tong section includes regions of the second handle region that mate with the one or more shaped portions of the first handle region to enclose the cage which are shaped portions of similar dimension and configuration of the those on the first handle region” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the one or more shaped portions are part of the first handle region or if the one or more shaped portions are part of the first food holding region, as described lines 8-10 of claim 1. Therefore, how does the second handle region mate with the shaped portions of the first handle region to enclose the cage when it is the second food holding region that mates with the first food holding region to enclose the cage, as described in lines 11-14 of claim 1? For the purposes of examination, “the second handle region” is being interpreted as ---the second food holding region---; and “the first handle region” is being interpreted as ---the first food holding region---.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, “of the those” in line 3 of claims 6 and 7 renders the claim indefinite because the claim is unclear as what claimed structure “those” refers to in the claim. Applicant may want to change “of the those” to ---of the one or more shaped portions---.
Claim 8 is rejected because it is a dependent of claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Case (US3361468A).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 4-6, Case discloses a tool (10; Figures 1-4) for seizing an article (20) comprising: a first tong section (11) and a second tong section (12) pivotally engaged about a fulcrum (13); a handle region (15, 16) and a food holding region (17, 21) formed by the first tong section (11) and the second tong section (12); the first tong section (11) including a first handle region (15) and a first food holding region (21) having a blunt end (23a) at a distal end and one or more shaped portions (24) forming a first side of a cage; the second tong section (12) including a second handle region (16) and a second food holding region (17), the second food holding region (17) configured and dimensioned to mate with the first food holding region (21) to enclose the cage; wherein in a first position about the fulcrum (13) the shaped portion (24), and the region of the second food holding region (17) that mates with the shaped portion (24), are spaced apart (Figure 2, dotted line), and in a second position about the fulcrum (13) the shaped portion (24), and the region of the second food holding region (17) that mates with the shaped portion (24), are proximate one another to enclose the cage for seizing an article (Figures 2-3, solid lines);
wherein the fulcrum (13) is at a location at an end distal to the blunt end (23a);
wherein the cage is configured and dimensioned to hold food (food 20) with minimal pressure to prevent or minimize crushing;
wherein the second tong section (12) includes regions of the [second arm] second food holding region (17) that mate with the one or more shaped portions (24) of the [first arm] first food holding region (21) to enclose the cage which are straight (Figures 2-3);
wherein the second tong section (12) includes regions of the [second handle region] second food holding region (17) that mate with the one or more shaped portions (24) of the [first handle region] first food holding region (21) to enclose the cage which are shaped portions of different dimension and/or configuration of the those on the [first handle region] first food holding region (21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool of Case to include the tool having an overall length of about 18-36 inches in order to allow the user to roast the food from a safe distance of a heat source, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the experimental, optimum, or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It also would have been obvious to include the at least the food holding region formed of food grade metal suitable for roasting over an open flame or heat source in order to prevent material degradation, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice, In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. It is noted that such a tool as suggested above could obviously include blunted ends on both the first and second food holding regions because the resulting tool would be used for clamping one or more food articles without a need for scraping against a grill surface.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Case in view of Kaiser (US5601323A).
Regarding claim 3, Case discloses the above tool and further teaches the handle region (15, 16), but fails to teach wherein at least a portion of the handle region is formed of or covered in heat resistant material.
Kaiser teaches a similar tool and further teaches wherein at least a portion of the handle region (16, 38; Figure 1) is formed of or covered in heat resistant material (column 4, lines 6-19). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool of Case to include the heat-resistant material on the handle region as taught by Kaiser in order to protect the user’s hand from heat during grilling.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Case in view of Beach (US2689518A).
Regarding claim 7, Case discloses the above tool and further teaches wherein the second tong section includes regions of the [second handle region] second food holding region (17) that mate with the one or more shaped portions (24) of the [first handle region] first food holding region (21) to enclose the cage, but fails to teach wherein the second tong section includes regions of the [second handle region] second food holding region that mate with the one or more shaped portions of the [first handle region] first food holding region to enclose the cage which are shaped portions of similar dimension and configuration of the those on the [first handle region] first food holding region.
Beach teaches a similar tool and further teaches wherein the second tong section (11; Figures 1-4) includes regions of the [second handle region] second food holding region (13) that mate with the one or more shaped portions (23) of the [first handle region] first food holding region (12) to enclose the cage which are shaped portions (24) of similar dimension and configuration of the those on the [first handle region] first food holding region (12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool of Case to include the first and second food holding region having shaped portions of similar dimension and configuration as taught by Beach in order to provide better grip of food of different diameters.
Regarding claim 8, Case discloses the above tool and further teaches wherein the cage is configured and dimensioned with a width, height, and length to accommodate different sized food articles (as outlined in Figures 1-4 and column 2, line 55 – column 3, line 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool of Case to include cage configured and dimensioned with a width of about 0.6-1.3 inches, a height of about 0.6-1.3 inches and a length of about 0.6-1.3 inches in order to accommodate frankfurters of typical sizes, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the experimental, optimum, or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references listed on form PTO-892 are cited for their relevance to the disclosed invention and demonstration of the state of the art.
/HENRIX SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3654