Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-2 and 9-10 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Omary [US PPGUB 20110260145] in view of Inoue et al. [US PGPUB 20120277427] (hereinafter Inoue).
Regarding claim 1, Omary teaches a device comprising:
a first electrode (ITO, Fig. 3);
a second electrode (Mg:Ag, Fig. 3); and
a hybrid emissive stack disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode (Fig. 3), the stack comprising:
a first emissive unit (lower BCzVBi:CBP, Fig. 3) that comprises a first fluorescent blue organic emissive unit (Para 48);
a first spacer (CBP 4 nm, Para 48, Fig. 3) that is disposed over the first emissive unit (Fig. 3);
a second emissive unit (Pt(ptp)2:CBP, Fig. 3) that comprises a second phosphorescent yellow organic emissive unit (Para 48) that is disposed over the first spacer (Fig. 3);
a second spacer (CBP 6 nm, Para 48, Fig. 3) that is disposed over the second emissive unit (Fig. 3); and
a third emissive unit (upper BCzVBi:CBP, Fig. 3) that comprises a third fluorescent blue organic emissive unit (Para 48) that is disposed over the second spacer (Fig. 3).
Omary does not specifically disclose that the first and second spacers are charge generation layer.
Referring to the invention of Inoue, Inoue teaches substance having a high hole-transport property are known to be used for material for a charge-generation layer, and wherein the material can be any of various material to include CBP (Para 106).
In view of such teaching by Inoue, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the CBP spacer layers in Omary’s invention further be a functional layer as taught by Inoue in order improve the efficiency of the device such as improving charge balance, recombination efficiency, and/or luminance of the device.
Regarding claim 2, Omary teaches a device wherein the first emissive unit is disposed over the first electrode (Fig. 3), and
wherein the first electrode is an anode (Para 48, wherein Mg:Ag is the cathode of the device).
Regarding claim 9, Omary teaches a device wherein the device is at least one type selected from the group consisting of: flat panel displays, computer monitors, medical monitors, televisions, billboards, lights for interior or exterior illumination and/or signaling, color tunable or color temperature tunable lighting sources, heads up displays, fully transparent displays, flexible displays, laser printers, telephones, cell phones, personal digital assistants (PDAs), laptop computers, digital cameras, camcorders, viewfinders, micro-displays, vehicles, a large area wall, theater or stadium screen, and a sign (Para 4).
Regarding claim 10, Omary teaches the limitation of claim 1 upon which it depends.
Omary does not specifically disclose that the device further comprising a color filter.
Referring to the invention of Inoue, Inoue teaches implementing light emitting devices in other devices, and wherein in an instance, the device is a full color display may be fabricated by a combination with color filters (Para 184).
In view of such teaching by Inoue, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the CBP spacer layers in Omary’s invention further be a functional layer as taught by Inoue at least based on the rationale of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143.I.A)..
Claim 3 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Omary in view of Inoue and further in view of Weaver et al. [US PGPUB 20130320837] (hereinafter Inoue).
Regarding claim 3, Omary teaches a device wherein at least one selected from the group consisting of:
the first emissive unit that comprises the first fluorescent blue organic emissive unit, and the third emissive unit that comprises the third fluorescent blue organic emissive unit is configured to emit blue light (Fig. 3, Para 48).
Omary in view of Inoue do not specifically disclose that the emitted blue lights are in a different color region.
Referring to the invention of Weaver, Weaver teaches using multiple blue emissive units in a device instead of a single blue emissive unit, wherein the blue emissive units emit blue light in a different color region (Para 14/15).
In view of such teaching by Weaver, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the modified device of Omary comprising the teachings of Weaver to improve the life expectancy of the device (Para 14/15)
Claim 4 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Omary in view of Inoue and further in view of Osaka et al. [US PGPUB 20120061714] (hereinafter Osaka).
Regarding claim 4, the modified invention of Omary discloses the limitation of claim 1 upon which it depends.
The modified invention does not specifically disclose wherein at least one selected from the group consisting of: the first charge generation layer and the second charge generation layer is comprised of at least one selected from the group consisting of: an n-doped layer and a p-doped layer for injection of at least one of electrons and holes, and a material configured to enable injection of at least one of electrons and holes.
Referring to the invention of Osaka, Osaka discloses a first charge generation layer and a second charge generation layer is comprised of at least one selected from the group consisting of: an n-doped layer and a p-doped layer for injection of at least one of electrons and holes, and a material configured to enable injection of at least one of electrons and holes (Para 220).
In view of such teaching by Osaka, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the modified invention of Omary comprise the teachings of Osaka at least based on the rationale of relying on teachings, suggestions, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention (MPEP 2143.I.G).
Claim 5 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Omary in view of Inoue and further in view of Chuman et al. [US PGPUB 20040217989] (hereinafter Chuman).
Regarding claim 5, the modified invention of Omary discloses the limitation of claim 1 upon which it depends.
The modified invention does not specifically disclose wherein the second electrode is disposed over the third emissive unit, and wherein the second electrode is an anode.
Referring to the invention of Chuman, Chuman teaches reversing to the position of the anode and the cathode of a device (Para 48).
In view of such teaching by Chuman, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the modified invention of Omary comprise the teaching of Chuman based on the desired emitting surface and/or at least based on the rationale of relying on teachings, suggestions, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention (MPEP 2143.I.G).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Omary in view of Inoue and further in view of Krause et al. [US PGPUB 20110297922] (hereinafter Krause).
Regarding claim 6, the modified invention of Omary discloses the limitation of claim 1 upon which it depends.
The modified invention does not specifically disclose a device further comprising an electron blocking layer disposed on a side of the third emissive unit.
Referring to the invention of Krause, Krause teaches a device wherein electron blocking layer disposed on a side on a side of a emissive unit closest to an electrode (anode) of the device, such that the electron blocking layer is between the emissive unit and the electrode (Table 2).
In view of such teaching by Krause, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the modified invention of Omary comprise the teachings of Krause in order to improve luminance efficiency.
Regarding claim 7, the modified invention of Omary discloses the limitation of claim 1 upon which it depends.
The modified invention does not specifically disclose a device further comprising a hole blocking layer disposed on a side of the third emissive unit.
Referring to the invention of Krause, Krause teaches a device wherein hole blocking layer disposed on a side on a side of an emissive unit closest to an electrode (cathode) of the device, such that the electron blocking layer is between the emissive unit and the electrode (Table 2).
In view of such teaching by Krause, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the modified invention of Omary comprise the teachings of Krause in order to improve luminance efficiency.
Regarding claim 8, the modified invention of Omary discloses the limitation of claim 1 upon which it depends.
The modified invention does not specifically disclose a device further comprising:
Referring to the invention of Krause, Krause teaches a device wherein electron blocking layer disposed on a side on a side of a emissive unit closest to an electrode (anode) of the device, such that the electron blocking layer is between the emissive unit and the electrode, and
wherein hole blocking layer disposed on a side on a side of an emissive unit closest to an electrode (cathode) of the device, such that the electron blocking layer is between the emissive unit and the electrode (Table 2).
In view of such teaching by Krause, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the modified invention of Omary comprise the teachings of Krause in order to improve luminance efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 11-20 are allowed because all prior arts of record and related prior arts not of record either singularly or in combination fail to anticipate or render obvious a device comprising the claimed 3 organic fluorescent blue emissive units and 2 organic phosphorescent or fluorescent green emissive units with charge generation layers therein between each of the emissive layer (as claimed in claim 11), in combination with the rest of claim limitations as claimed and defined by the Applicant.
Conclusion
/ISMAIL A MUSE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812