DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 34 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 34 recites the limitation "the intermediate circumference" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-24 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Campbell et al. (US Patent 3,794,444 A).
Regarding claim 21, Campbell et al. discloses a nosecone (18, 20, 22, 24) for a ducted fan gas turbine engine (10), the nosecone comprising a body (18) with an outer surface (20) that tapers in axial extent from an apex (18) to a base of the body (shown as the transition between the nosecone and the row of fan blades (16), the apex defining a position of 0 percent axial extent (Fig. 1-2) and the base defining a position of 100 percent axial extent (Fig. 1-2), and in which the outer surface comprises a plurality of undulations (24) extending between a first location (The upstream end of 24 near 22) on the outer surface and a second location (The downstream end of 24 near the fan blades 16) on the outer surface, wherein the first location is positioned at from 0 to 50 percent of axial extent (Fig. 2) and the second location is positioned at from 85 to 100 percent of axial extent (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 22, Campbell et al. discloses all of claim 21 as above, in which the second location is positioned at less than 100 percent of axial extent and the base of the body is circular (Fig. 2, 20 is referred to as an actuate outer surface, and is therefore circular Col. 2:10-14).
Regarding claim 23, Campbell et al. discloses all of claim 21 as above, in which the second location is positioned at 100 percent of axial extent and each of the plurality of undulations extend to the base of the body (Fig. 2, the undulations extend to 100 percent of the axial extent), whereby the base in undulated (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 24, Campbell et al. discloses all of claim 22 as above, in which the first location is positioned at from 5 to 25 percent (Fig. 1, Fig. 2 shows the position of the start of the undulations with a smooth non-undulated section between the apex 22 and the start) of axial extent, and the outer surface of the body comprises a smooth non-undulated section between the apex and the first location (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 28, Campbell et al. discloses all of claim 21 as above, in which each of the plurality of undulations extends circumferentially between a first peak (Fig. 3, shows a plurality of peaks and troughs) a second peak with a trough therebetween, wherein the first peak and the second peak both have a hyperbolic axial profile (Fig. 2 shows a hyperbolic profile for each feature 24; additionally, a sample hyperbola is displayed below) defined between the first location and the second location.
Regarding claim 29, Campbell et al. discloses all of claim 28 as above, in which the hyperbolic axial profile is defined by tangent lines having a deviation of up to 45 degrees from an axial profile of the trough (Fig. 2) at the respective first location and second location (Fig. 2, shows the axial profile of the features and they do not reach a 45 degree tangent line).
Regarding claim 30, Campbell et al. discloses all of claim 21 as above, in which the undulations extend at least in part in an axial direction (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 31, Campbell et al. discloses a fan assembly (12) for a ducted fan gas turbine engine (10), comprising:
a hub (14) with a plurality of fan blades (16) mounted thereto:
a nosecone (18, 20, 22, 24) mounted to the hub comprising a body (18) with an outer surface (20) that tapers in axial extent from an apex (18) to a base of the body (shown as the transition between the nosecone and the row of fan blades (16)), the apex defining a position of 0 percent axial extent (Fig. 1-2) and the base defining a position of 100 percent axial extent (Fig. 1-2), and in which the outer surface comprises a plurality of undulations (24) extending between a first location (The upstream end of 24 near 22) on the outer surface and a second location (The downstream end of 24 near the fan blades 16) on the outer surface, wherein the first location is positioned at from 0 to 50 percent of axial extent (Fig. 2) and the second location is positioned at from 85 to 100 percent of axial extent (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 32, Campbell et al. discloses all of claim 31 as above, in which the second location is positioned at less than 100 percent of axial extent and the base of the body is circular (Fig. 2, 20 is referred to as an actuate outer surface, and is therefore circular Col. 2:10-14).
Regarding claim 33, Campbell et al. discloses all of claim 31 as above, in which the first location is positioned at from 5 to 25 percent (Fig. 1, Fig. 2 shows the position of the start of the undulations with a smooth non-undulated section between the apex 22 and the start) of axial extent, and the outer surface of the body comprises a smooth non-undulated section between the apex and the first location (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 34, Campbell et al. discloses all of claim 31 as above, in which the outer surface of the body comprises a smooth, non-undulated section (22; Fig. 1-2) between the apex and an intermediate location (where the undulations begin in Fig. 1-2) on the outer surface, whereby the undulations are located between the intermediate circumferent and the base of the body.
Regarding claim 38, Campbell et al. discloses all of claim 31 as above, in which each of the plurality of undulations extends circumferentially between a peak (24; Fig. 3) and a trough (20; Fig. 3) and a maximum different in radial extent between each peak and trough is up to 10 percent of a leading-edge span height of the plurality of fan blades (“it is preferred that each fin 24 be of small radial height relative to the diameter of the spinner” Col. 2:36-37).
Regarding claim 39, Campbell et al. discloses all of claim 31 as above, in which the undulations extend at least in part in an axial direction (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 40, Campbell et al. discloses a nosecone (18, 20, 22, 24) for a ducted fan gas turbine engine (10), the nosecone comprising a body (18) with an outer surface (20) that tapers in axial extent from an apex (18) to a base of the body (shown as the transition between the nosecone and the row of fan blades (16), the apex defining a position of 0 percent axial extent (Fig. 1-2) and the base defining a position of 100 percent axial extent (Fig. 1-2), and in which the outer surface comprises a plurality of undulations (24) having an axial extend of 35 to 100 percent of the axial extend of the body (Fig. 2), and wherein each of the plurality of undulations extends circumferentially between a first peak (Fig. 3, shows a plurality of peaks and troughs) a second peak with a trough therebetween, wherein the first peak and the second peak both have a hyperbolic axial profile (Fig. 2 shows a hyperbolic profile for each feature 24; additionally, a sample hyperbola is displayed below) defined between the first location and the second location.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25-26 and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell et al. (US Patent 3,794,444) in view of Otsuka (JP 2012026361 A).
Regarding claim 25, Campbell et al. discloses all of claim 21 as above.
However, Campbell et al. does not explicitly disclose, “in which the outer surface comprises from 8 to 48 undulations.”
Otsuka teaches, in the field of nosecoses with aerodynamic features, a nosecone with between 8 to 48 undulations (R1 and R2, Fig. 2; which corresponds to X and Y in Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the nosecone of Campbell et al. to have undulation between 8 and 48 as taught by Otsuka, as both references are in the same field of endeavor, and one of ordinary skill would appreciate that, “Moreover, in jet engine S1 of this embodiment, coating area | region R1 is provided for every front edge of the fan rotor blade 3a.
For this reason, it is possible to prevent all the fan blades 3a from being blocked by ice.” [0045]).
Regarding claim 26, Campbell et al. discloses all of claim 21 as above.
However, Campbell et al. does not explicitly disclose, “in which the outer surface comprises from 10 to 44 undulations.”
Otsuka teaches, in the field of nosecoses with aerodynamic features, a nosecone with between 10 to 44 undulations (R1 and R2, Fig. 2; which corresponds to X and Y in Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the nosecone of Campbell et al. to have undulation between 10 and 44 as taught by Otsuka, as both references are in the same field of endeavor, and one of ordinary skill would appreciate that, “Moreover, in jet engine S1 of this embodiment, coating area | region R1 is provided for every front edge of the fan rotor blade 3a.
For this reason, it is possible to prevent all the fan blades 3a from being blocked by ice.” [0045]).
Regarding claim 36, Campbell et al. discloses all of claim 31 as above.
However, Campbell et al. does not explicitly disclose, “in which a ratio of the number of undulations on the nosecone to the number of fan blades is from 0.5 to 2”
Otsuka teaches, in the field of nosecoses with aerodynamic features, in which a ratio of the number of undulations on the nosecone to the number of fan blades is from 0.5 to 2 (R1 and R2, Fig. 2; which corresponds to X and Y in Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the nosecone of Campbell et al. to have a ratio of the number of undulations on the nosecone to the number of fan blades be from 0.5 to 2 as taught by Otsuka, as both references are in the same field of endeavor, and one of ordinary skill would appreciate that, “Moreover, in jet engine S1 of this embodiment, coating area | region R1 is provided for every front edge of the fan rotor blade 3a.
For this reason, it is possible to prevent all the fan blades 3a from being blocked by ice.” [0045]).
Regarding claim 37, Campbell et al. discloses all of claim 31 as above.
However, Campbell et al. does not explicitly disclose, “in which the number of fan blades is an integer multiple of the number of undulations on the outer surface of the nose cone.”
Otsuka teaches, in the field of nosecoses with aerodynamic features, a nosecone an integer multiple of the number of undulations on the outer surface of the nose cone. (R1 and R2, Fig. 2; which corresponds to X and Y in Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the nosecone of Campbell et al. to have a number of fan blades be an integer multiple of the number of undulations on the outer surface of the nose cone as taught by Otsuka, as both references are in the same field of endeavor, and one of ordinary skill would appreciate that, “Moreover, in jet engine S1 of this embodiment, coating area | region R1 is provided for every front edge of the fan rotor blade 3a.
For this reason, it is possible to prevent all the fan blades 3a from being blocked by ice.” [0045]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 35 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 35, Campbell discloses all of claim 31 as above, in which each of the plurality of undulations extends circumferentially between a peak (Fig. 3, 24) and trough (Fig. 3, 20).
However, neither Campbell nor any of the prior art of record teach or suggest, “and wherein a maximum diameter of the outer surface along each peak does not exceed a leading-edge hub diameter of the fan assembly.”
Campbell discloses, “The radial height of each fin 24 may be maintained constant over the length of the fin or may be varied, depending upon number of fins employed and the spacing of adjacent fins. For aerodynamic reasons, however, it is preferred that each fin 24 be of small radial height relative to the diameter of the spinner” but does not explicitly disclose or teach “and wherein a maximum diameter of the outer surface along each peak does not exceed a leading-edge hub diameter of the fan assembly.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2022/200733 A1 discloses an inlet cone for an aircraft turbomachine.
US PGPUB 2016/0122034 A1 discloses an ice-shedding spinner for ram air turbine.
US PGPUB 2014/0186166 A1 discloses a hybrid continuous fiber chopper fiber polymer composite structure.
US Patent 7,739,865 B2 discloses a gas turbine engine inlet with noise reduction features.
US Patent 6,840,826 B2 discloses a water jet propulsion apparatus.
/RYAN C CLARK/ Examiner, Art Unit 3745