DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant's Communication received on June 11, 2024 for application number 18/739,697. This Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, and Claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 11, 2024 was submitted in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
4. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Applications No. CN 202111624964.X filed on December 28, 2021 and CN 202210307628.0 filed on March 27, 2022.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, the term “located on a same side” in the limitations “…wherein a hinge point of the swing arm and the crankshaft are located on a same side…”, renders the claim undefined because is not clear what the limitation is intended as the same side of what specifically. For example, claim 10 which is dependent on claim 9, recites “…wherein the hinge point of the swing arm is below the crankshaft…” where the term “below the crankshaft” will make a skilled in the art to know exactly where the hinge point of the swing arm needs to be located. In other words, claim 10 meets the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) on its own and is only rejected based on their dependency on claim 9. Same rationale and explanations go to claim 19.
Claims 11-12 are only rejected because on their dependency on base claim 9 as explained above.
To advance prosecution, the Examiner will interpret the limitations “…wherein a hinge point of the swing arm and the crankshaft are located on a same side…” as “…wherein a hinge point of the swing arm and the crankshaft are located on a same longitudinal axis with respect to the cylinder body …” on both claims 9 and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (VOROGUSHIN – RU 2351784 C2).
Regarding claim 1, VOROGUSHIN discloses:
A dual-connection crank-piston mechanism (TIE ROD AND ROCKER MECHANISM: Figs. 1-4), comprising:
a cylinder body (cylinder body not numbered but explicitly shown in Fig. 4),
a piston (piston 5: Figs. 1-4),
a crankshaft (crankshaft 4: Figs. 1-4), and
a frame (swing sector α structure where rocker arm 2 is hinged: Figs. 1-4),
wherein two connecting rods (Connecting rod 1 and Connecting rod 3: Figs. 1-4) connected in series are hinged between the piston (piston 5: Figs. 1-4) and the crankshaft (crankshaft 4: Figs. 1-4), hinged ends of both an inner connecting rod (Connecting rod 1: Figs. 1-4) and an outer connecting rod (Connecting rod 3: Figs. 1-4) are hinged to a slider or a swing arm (rocker arm 2: Figs. 1-4), the slider is slidably connected to a guide rail (The guide rail is the curved portion of rocker arm 2: Figs. 1-4), the swing arm (rocker arm 2: Figs. 1-4) is hinged to the frame (swing sector α structure where rocker arm 2 is hinged: Figs. 1-4), and another end of the outer connecting rod (Connecting rod 3: Figs. 1-4) is hinged to a crankshaft (crankshaft 4: Figs. 1-4) shank; and
a stroke of the piston (piston 5: Figs. 1-4) is greater than twice a length of the crankshaft (crankshaft 4: Figs. 1-4) shank (Figs. 1-3 and [0027]: “The limiting circular region of the possible location of the centers of the articulated joints of the connecting rod with the beam has several zones (Figure 2). The zone (1) of the connecting rod centers of the connecting rod lies in front of the arc (aa) and in it (R .sub.4 <R .sub.3 ), therefore, it characterizes the operation of mechanisms with an increased piston stroke (S .sub.h ) with respect to (2r) and provides acceptable longitudinal connecting rod dimensions (R .sub.2 ). Zone 2 of the possible centers of articulation of the connecting rod lies behind the arc (aa) and in it (R .sub.4 > R .sub.3 ), therefore, it characterizes the operation of mechanisms with a reduced piston stroke (S .sub.h ) with respect to (2r) and also provides acceptable longitudinal connecting rod dimensions (R .sub.2 )”), and “a difference between an upward movement speed and a downward movement speed of the piston is 1.4 to 3 times” (Please see Examiner Comments below).
Examiner Comments:
VOROGUSHIN discloses that the mechanism according to the embodiment of FIG. 1 is that the position of the TDC and the BDC in it do not coincide diametrically. Such a correction to the trajectory of movement is made by the presence of the rocker arm (2). As a result, the average piston speed in the forward stroke is greater than in the reverse. When choosing the ratio of the sizes of the links of the mechanism, focused on obtaining the maximum additional stroke of the piston (S.sub.h), the coefficient of unevenness in the average speed of the forward and reverse stroke can reach K = 1.25. For this case, in the BDC zone, at a crank angle of about 40 °, the piston stroke changes by only 1.1%, i.e. the piston in the indicated range of the angle of rotation of the shaft practically stops ("hanging"). The noted features reduce heat loss to the cooling system in the expansion cycle and slightly increase them in the compression cycle. The position of the pre-release point is shifted. The heat use in the working cycle is improved and the indicator engine efficiency is significantly increased. The cylinder charge in the suction stroke is higher. However, at the same time, the values of piston accelerations near TDC increase significantly. Therefore, constructive measures are taken to reduce the mass of the piston and the links of the mechanism or the selected gear ratio (j) of the mechanism is reduced, which leads to a decrease in the coefficient of unevenness K in average speed and, therefore, to a decrease in the increased acceleration of the piston ([0049]).
Regarding claim 14, VOROGUSHIN discloses:
A dual-connection crank-piston mechanism (TIE ROD AND ROCKER MECHANISM: Figs. 1-4), comprising:
a cylinder body (cylinder body not numbered but explicitly shown in Fig. 4),
a piston (piston 5: Figs. 1-4) and
a crankshaft (crankshaft 4: Figs. 1-4),
wherein two connecting rods (Connecting rod 1 and Connecting rod 3: Figs. 1-4) connected in series are hinged between the piston (piston 5: Figs. 1-4) and the crankshaft (crankshaft 4: Figs. 1-4), hinged ends of both an inner connecting rod (Connecting rod 1: Figs. 1-4) and an outer connecting rod (Connecting rod 3: Figs. 1-4) are hinged to a slider or a swing arm (rocker arm 2: Figs. 1-4), the slider is slidably connected to a guide rail (The guide rail is the curved portion of rocker arm 2: Figs. 1-4), and another end of the outer connecting rod (Connecting rod 3: Figs. 1-4) is hinged to a crankshaft (crankshaft 4: Figs. 1-4) shank; and
a stroke of the piston (piston 5: Figs. 1-4) is greater than twice a length of the crankshaft (crankshaft 4: Figs. 1-4) shank (Figs. 1-3 and [0027]: “The limiting circular region of the possible location of the centers of the articulated joints of the connecting rod with the beam has several zones (Figure 2). The zone (1) of the connecting rod centers of the connecting rod lies in front of the arc (aa) and in it (R .sub.4 <R .sub.3 ), therefore, it characterizes the operation of mechanisms with an increased piston stroke (S .sub.h ) with respect to (2r) and provides acceptable longitudinal connecting rod dimensions (R .sub.2 ). Zone 2 of the possible centers of articulation of the connecting rod lies behind the arc (aa) and in it (R .sub.4 > R .sub.3 ), therefore, it characterizes the operation of mechanisms with a reduced piston stroke (S .sub.h ) with respect to (2r) and also provides acceptable longitudinal connecting rod dimensions (R .sub.2 )”), and “a difference between an upward movement speed and a downward movement speed of the piston is 1.4 to 3 times” (Please see Examiner Comments above).
Regarding claim 20, VOROGUSHIN discloses:
A dual-connection crank-piston mechanism (TIE ROD AND ROCKER MECHANISM: Figs. 1-4), comprising:
a cylinder body (cylinder body not numbered but explicitly shown in Fig. 4),
a piston (piston 5: Figs. 1-4) and
a crankshaft (crankshaft 4: Figs. 1-4),
wherein two connecting rods (Connecting rod 1 and Connecting rod 3: Figs. 1-4) connected in series are hinged between the piston (piston 5: Figs. 1-4) and the crankshaft (crankshaft 4: Figs. 1-4), hinged ends of both an inner connecting rod (Connecting rod 1: Figs. 1-4) and an outer connecting rod (Connecting rod 3: Figs. 1-4) are slidably connected to a guide rail (The guide rail is the curved portion of rocker arm 2: Figs. 1-4), and another end of the outer connecting rod (Connecting rod 3: Figs. 1-4) is hinged to a crankshaft (crankshaft 4: Figs. 1-4) shank; and
a stroke of the piston (piston 5: Figs. 1-4) is greater than twice a length of the crankshaft (crankshaft 4: Figs. 1-4) shank (Figs. 1-3 and [0027]: “The limiting circular region of the possible location of the centers of the articulated joints of the connecting rod with the beam has several zones (Figure 2). The zone (1) of the connecting rod centers of the connecting rod lies in front of the arc (aa) and in it (R .sub.4 <R .sub.3 ), therefore, it characterizes the operation of mechanisms with an increased piston stroke (S .sub.h ) with respect to (2r) and provides acceptable longitudinal connecting rod dimensions (R .sub.2 ). Zone 2 of the possible centers of articulation of the connecting rod lies behind the arc (aa) and in it (R .sub.4 > R .sub.3 ), therefore, it characterizes the operation of mechanisms with a reduced piston stroke (S .sub.h ) with respect to (2r) and also provides acceptable longitudinal connecting rod dimensions (R .sub.2 )”), “a difference between an upward movement speed and a downward movement speed of the piston is 1.4 to 3 times” (Please see Examiner Comments above), and an outer end hinge point of the inner connecting rod always moves at one side of an axis of the piston (Figs. 1-4 and [0027-0049]).
Regarding claim 2, VOROGUSHIN disclose the dual-connection crank-piston mechanism according to claim 1, and further on VOROGUSHIN also discloses:
wherein an outer end hinge point of the inner connecting rod (Connecting rod 1: Figs. 1-4) always moves at one side of an axis of the piston (Figs. 1-4 and [0027-0049]).
Regarding claim 3, VOROGUSHIN disclose the dual-connection crank-piston mechanism according to claim 1, and further on VOROGUSHIN also discloses:
wherein the guide rail (The guide rail is the curved portion of rocker arm 2: Figs. 1-4) has a structure of a curved surface.
Regarding claim 4, VOROGUSHIN disclose the dual-connection crank-piston mechanism according to claim 1, and further on VOROGUSHIN also discloses:
wherein the guide rail (The guide rail is the curved portion of rocker arm 2: Figs. 1-4) has a structure of a straight line and an curved surface at a tail of the guide rail (The guide rail is the curved portion of rocker arm 2: Figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 5, VOROGUSHIN disclose the dual-connection crank-piston mechanism according to claim 3, and further on VOROGUSHIN also discloses:
wherein one end of the guide rail (The guide rail is the curved portion of rocker arm 2: Figs. 1-4) is hinged to the frame, a cam driven by a motor is provided at another end of the guide rail, a fork hinged is provided in a groove of the cam, and the fork is slidably connected to the guide rail (The guide rail is the curved portion of rocker arm 2: Figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 6, VOROGUSHIN disclose the dual-connection crank-piston mechanism according to claim 4, and further on VOROGUSHIN also discloses:
wherein one end of the guide rail (The guide rail is the curved portion of rocker arm 2: Figs. 1-4) is hinged to the frame, a cam driven by a motor is provided at another end of the guide rail, a fork hinged is provided in a groove of the cam, and the fork is slidably connected to the guide rail (The guide rail is the curved portion of rocker arm 2: Figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 7, VOROGUSHIN disclose the dual-connection crank-piston mechanism according to claim 3, and further on VOROGUSHIN also discloses:
wherein one end of the guide rail (The guide rail is the curved portion of rocker arm 2: Figs. 1-4) is hinged to the frame, a lead screw driven by a motor is provided at another end of the guide rail, and a nut on the lead screw is connected to the fork of the guide rail (The guide rail is the curved portion of rocker arm 2: Figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 8, VOROGUSHIN disclose the dual-connection crank-piston mechanism according to claim 4, and further on VOROGUSHIN also discloses:
wherein one end of the guide rail (The guide rail is the curved portion of rocker arm 2: Figs. 1-4) is hinged to the frame, a lead screw driven by a motor is provided at another end of the guide rail, and a nut on the lead screw is connected to the fork of the guide rail (The guide rail is the curved portion of rocker arm 2: Figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 9, VOROGUSHIN disclose the dual-connection crank-piston mechanism according to claim 2, and further on VOROGUSHIN also discloses:
wherein a hinge point of the swing arm (rocker arm 2: Figs. 1-4) and the crankshaft are located on a same longitudinal axis with respect to the cylinder body (Figs. 1-4 and [0027-0049]).
Regarding claim 10, VOROGUSHIN disclose the dual-connection crank-piston mechanism according to claim 9, and further on VOROGUSHIN also discloses:
wherein the hinge point of the swing arm (rocker arm 2: Figs. 1-4) is below the crankshaft (Figs. 1-4 and [0027-0049]).
Regarding claim 11, VOROGUSHIN disclose the dual-connection crank-piston mechanism according to claim 10, and further on VOROGUSHIN also discloses:
wherein a hinge point of the swing arm (rocker arm 2: Figs. 1-4) is provided on a curved gear rack, and a driving gear engaged with the curved gear rack drives the curved gear rack to swing around a lower end point of the inner connecting rod (Connecting rod 1: Figs. 1-4) (Figs. 1-4 and [0027-0049]).
Regarding claim 12, VOROGUSHIN disclose the dual-connection crank-piston mechanism according to claim 11, and further on VOROGUSHIN also discloses:
wherein a radius of curvature of the curved gear rack is the same as a distance from the hinge point of the swing arm (rocker arm 2: Figs. 1-4) to the lower end point of the inner connecting rod (Connecting rod 1: Figs. 1-4) (Figs. 1-4 and [0027-0049]).
Regarding claim 13, VOROGUSHIN disclose the dual-connection crank-piston mechanism according to claim 1, and further on VOROGUSHIN also discloses:
wherein a rotation angle of the crankshaft from a top dead center to a bottom dead center of the piston ranges from 210 degrees to 270 degrees (Figs. 1-4 and [0027-0049]).
Regarding claim 15, VOROGUSHIN disclose the dual-connection crank-piston mechanism according to claim 14, and further on VOROGUSHIN also discloses:
wherein an outer end hinge point of the inner connecting rod (Connecting rod 1: Figs. 1-4) always moves at one side of an axis of the piston (Figs. 1-4 and [0027-0049]).
Regarding claim 16, VOROGUSHIN disclose the dual-connection crank-piston mechanism according to claim 14, and further on VOROGUSHIN also discloses:
wherein the guide rail (The guide rail is the curved portion of rocker arm 2: Figs. 1-4) has a structure of a curved surface.
Regarding claim 17, VOROGUSHIN disclose the dual-connection crank-piston mechanism according to claim 14, and further on VOROGUSHIN also discloses:
wherein the guide rail (The guide rail is the curved portion of rocker arm 2: Figs. 1-4) has a structure of a straight line and an curved surface at a tail of the guide rail (The guide rail is the curved portion of rocker arm 2: Figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 18, VOROGUSHIN disclose the dual-connection crank-piston mechanism according to claim 14, and further on VOROGUSHIN also discloses:
wherein a rotation angle of the crankshaft from a top dead center to a bottom dead center of the piston ranges from 210 degrees to 270 degrees ([0027-0049]).
Regarding claim 19, VOROGUSHIN disclose the dual-connection crank-piston mechanism according to claim 2, and further on VOROGUSHIN also discloses:
wherein a hinge point of the swing arm (rocker arm 2: Figs. 1-4) and the crankshaft are located on a same longitudinal axis with respect to the cylinder body ([0027-0049]).
Claims 1, 3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (Cho – US 8,166,930 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Cho discloses:
A dual-connection crank-piston mechanism (Variable Compression Ratio Apparatus: Fig. 6), comprising:
a cylinder body (cylinder 7: Fig. 6),
a piston (piston 3: Fig. 6),
a crankshaft (crankshaft 5: Fig. 6), and
a frame (hinge block 27: Fig. 6),
wherein two connecting rods (connecting rod 11 and pin link 13: Fig. 6) connected in series are hinged between the piston (piston 3: Fig. 6) and the crankshaft (crankshaft 5: Fig. 6), hinged ends of both an inner connecting rod (connecting rod 11: Fig. 6) and an outer connecting rod (pin link 13: Fig. 6) are hinged to a slider or a swing arm (slot link 15: Fig. 6), the slider is slidably connected to a guide rail (The guide rail is the curved portion of slot link 15: Fig. 6), the swing arm (slot link 15: Fig. 6) is hinged to the frame (hinge block 27: Fig. 6), and another end of the outer connecting rod (pin link 13: Fig. 6) is hinged to a crankshaft (crankshaft 5: Fig. 6) shank; and
a stroke of the piston (piston 3: Fig. 6) is greater than twice a length of the crankshaft (crankshaft 5: Fig. 6) shank ({Column 4, Lines 1-15}: “Further, the lower end of the slot link 15 is fixed to one side of the lower portion of the crankcase 9 by a hinge block 27 and a hinge Hi, and a control slot (S) is formed along the length direction thereof to guide the connecting pin 21 that connects the connecting rod 11 with the pin link 13”), and “a difference between an upward movement speed and a downward movement speed of the piston is 1.4 to 3 times” (Please see Examiner Comments below).
Examiner Comments:
Regarding the limitation “a difference between an upward movement speed and a downward movement speed of the piston is 1.4 to 3 times”, claim 1 above, do not specify at what crank angle the upward and downward speed are measure/compare. Accordingly, depending the crank angle during the upward movement of the piston and the crank angle during the downward movement of the piston, is inherent that at least for one combination the difference between an upward movement speed and a downward movement speed of the piston is 1.4 to 3 times as required in claim 1 above.
Further on, please note that claim 1 above is directed to an apparatus which must be distinguished from the prior art in term of structure rather function [MPEP 2114]. Hence, the functional limitations “a difference between an upward movement speed and a downward movement speed of the piston is 1.4 to 3 times” as shown above in claim 1, which are narrative in form, have been given very little patentable weight. In order to be given patentable weight, a functional recitation must be supported by recitation in the claim of sufficient structure to warrant the presence of the functional language. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997). The prior art by Cho has been shown to be structurally capable of performing this/these function(s).
Regarding claim 3, Cho disclose the dual-connection crank-piston mechanism according to claim 1, and further on Cho also discloses:
wherein the guide rail (The guide rail is the curved portion of slot link 15: Fig. 6) has a structure of a curved surface.
Regarding claim 5, Cho disclose the dual-connection crank-piston mechanism according to claim 3, and further on Cho also discloses:
wherein one end of the guide rail (The guide rail is the curved portion of slot link 15: Fig. 6) is hinged to the frame (hinge block 27: Fig. 6), a cam driven by a motor (motor M2: Fig. 6) is provided at another end of the guide rail (The guide rail is the curved portion of slot link 15: Fig. 6), a fork hinged is provided in a groove of the cam, and the fork is slidably connected to the guide rail (The guide rail is the curved portion of slot link 15: Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6, Cho disclose the dual-connection crank-piston mechanism according to claim 4, and further on Cho also discloses:
wherein one end of the guide rail (The guide rail is the curved portion of slot link 15: Fig. 6) is hinged to the frame (hinge block 27: Fig. 6), a cam driven by a motor (motor M2: Fig. 6) is provided at another end of the guide rail (The guide rail is the curved portion of slot link 15: Fig. 6), a fork hinged is provided in a groove of the cam, and the fork is slidably connected to the guide rail (The guide rail is the curved portion of slot link 15: Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 7, Cho disclose the dual-connection crank-piston mechanism according to claim 3, and further on Cho also discloses:
wherein one end of the guide rail (The guide rail is the curved portion of slot link 15: Fig. 6) is hinged to the frame (hinge block 27: Fig. 6), a lead screw driven by a motor (motor M2: Fig. 6) is provided at another end of the guide rail (The guide rail is the curved portion of slot link 15: Fig. 6), and a nut on the lead screw is connected to the fork of the guide rail (The guide rail is the curved portion of slot link 15: Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, Cho disclose the dual-connection crank-piston mechanism according to claim 4, and further on Cho also discloses:
wherein one end of the guide rail (The guide rail is the curved portion of slot link 15: Fig. 6) is hinged to the frame (hinge block 27: Fig. 6), a lead screw driven by a motor (motor M2: Fig. 6) is provided at another end of the guide rail (The guide rail is the curved portion of slot link 15: Fig. 6), and a nut on the lead screw is connected to the fork of the guide rail (The guide rail is the curved portion of slot link 15: Fig. 6).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 10,125,679 B2 – Zahdeh
Conclusion
/RUBEN PICON-FELICIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/GRANT MOUBRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747