DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
2. The amendment filed on 01/20/2026 has been entered into this application. New claims 6-7 have been added.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
6. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
“an arithmetic unit configured to” in claims 1, 3-4 and 6-7.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Pub. No. 2010/0128257 A1 by Yamamoto et al (hereinafter Yamamoto).
Regarding Claim 1, Yamamoto teaches an optical fiber characteristic measurement apparatus (Title Abstract, Par. [0001]) comprising:
an arithmetic unit (Fig. 4 @ 17, Par. [0064]) configured to measure a characteristic of an optical fiber under test (Fig. 4 @ 7) by detecting multiple peaks in a Brillouin gain spectrum (Par. [0034]) of Brillouin scatted light occurring in the optical fiber under test (Par. [0040]. Also see Fig. 5) and calculating multiple Brillouin frequency shift (Par. [0009, 0034]).
Regarding Claim 2, Yamamoto teaches the arithmetic unit is configured to:
set, at one or more positions in the optical fiber under test, a measurement segment in which the characteristic of the optical fiber under test is to be measured (Fig. 1 @ P1 to P4, Abstract, Par. [0012]. Also see Fig. 8);
measure a Brillouin gain spectrum in the measurement segment set at each position (Fig. 1 @ P1 to P4, Abstract, Par. [0012, 0019-0020, 0036]. Also see Fig. 8);
determine, as an anomaly, the characteristic of the measurement segment in which the Brillouin gain spectrum including an anomalous peak and no normal peak has been measured (Fig. 8, Par. [0040, 0083-0084]);
subdivide the measurement segment in which the Brillouin gain spectrum including both of a normal peak and an anomalous peak has been measured (Fig. 3, 8, Par. [0034, 0040, 0083-0084]);
measure a Brillouin gain spectrum in each subdivided segment (Fig. 3, 8, Par. [0040, 0083-0084]); and
determine whether each subdivided segment is anomalous (Fig. 8, Par. [0040, 0083-0084, 0088]).
Regarding Claim 3, Yamamoto teaches a light source configured to emit modulated light to be incident on the optical fiber under test, wherein the light source is configured such that the arithmetic unit can control an amplitude and modulation frequency of the modulated light, the amplitude of the modulated light determines a length of the measurement segment, the modulation frequency of the modulated light determines the position of the measurement segment (Fig. 3, 4, Par. [0026, 0034, 0058]).
Regarding Claim 5, Yamamoto teaches an optical fiber characteristic measurement method (See Claim 1 rejection. Note: an apparatus claim can be used to implement a method claim) comprising:
measuring a characteristic of an optical fiber under test by detecting multiple peaks in a Brillouin gain spectrum of Brillouin scatted light occurring in the optical fiber under test and calculating multiple Brillouin frequency shift (See Claim 1 rejection).
Regarding Claim 6, Yamamoto teaches the arithmetic unit is configured to detect the multiple peaks in one Brillouin gain spectrum of Brillouin scatted light (Par. [0020, 0034]) occurring in the optical fiber under test and calculating multiple Brillouin frequency shifts (Par. [0009, 0034]).
Regarding Claim 7, Yamamoto teaches the arithmetic unit is configured to repeat (Par. [0034, 0036, 0063]) subdividing the measurement segment until the arithmetic unit finds a subdivided segment in which an anomalous peak is detected without detecting a normal peak (Fig. 3, 8, Par. [0034, 0040, 0083-0084]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto in view of US Patent Pub. No. 2021/0325210 A1 by Matsuura (hereinafter Matsuura).
Regarding Claim 4, Yamamoto teaches the measured Brillouin gain spectrum and information identifying the measurement segment in which the Brillouin gain spectrum has been measured (See Claim 2 rejection), in correspondence with each other, wherein the arithmetic unit is configured to control the amplitude and modulation frequency of the modulated light (See Claim 3 rejection) but does not explicitly teach a memory configured to store and control the modulation light based on information stored in the memory.
However, Matsuura teaches a memory configured to store and control the modulation light based on information stored in the memory (Par. [0045, 0127]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamamoto by Matsuura as taught above such that a memory configured to store the measured Brillouin gain spectrum and information identifying the measurement segment in which the Brillouin gain spectrum has been measured, in correspondence with each other, wherein the arithmetic unit is configured to control the amplitude and modulation frequency of the modulated light (See Claim 3 rejection) based on information stored in the memory is accomplished in order to change a position of the correlation peak CP1 when the modulation frequency changes in order to obtain a predictable result (Matsuura, Fig. 3, Par. [0062-0063]).
Additional Prior Art
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The reference listed teaches of other prior art method/system of multiple peaks in a Brillouin gain spectrum.
US Patent Pub. No. 2013/0025374 A1 by Voskoboinik et al.
Response to Arguments
12. Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/20/2026 with respect to claims 1 and 5 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
12.1 The Applicant argued that the cited primary reference Yamamoto discloses calculating Brillouin gain fluctuation periods but does not disclose detecting multiple peaks in one Brillouin gain spectrum (Argument, Page 4) and further argues that thus, it is reasonably interpreted to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the inventions of Yamamoto detect only one peak from one spectrum waveform. At least by virtue of the above-discussed drawbacks or deficiencies of Yamamoto, Yamamoto fails to disclose or suggest the claimed feature of the presently amended claim 1 (Argument, Page 6).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Yamamoto teaches a frequency (1/m) at which the spectrum waveform peaks corresponds to 1/LP in this section (another word, multiple peaks within one spectrum) (Fig. 3, Par. [0034]).
The Examiner respectfully points out that the explanation/interpretation/statement given in argument page 4-6, relied on by the Applicant solely explain the teaching of Yamamoto and bears no relation to the teaching of Yamamoto as applied to the current rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMIL AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877