DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tantawi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2023/0418687), Jia et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2024/0249045), and Morrill et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2016/0107312).
Regarding Claim 1, Tantawi discloses a method of providing a server resource in a data center, the method comprising:
training a machine learning model using an initial training dataset comprising temperature information, server positions, and power consumption information of server computers of different data centers (paragraphs 0025-0028; i.e., the machine learning model may be trained using data from multiple other data centers; this training data may include information about the temperature of each server, the power consumption of each server, and the server position; specifically with regards to server position, an energy profile is created for each data center that includes information about the temperature in various areas of the data center building which can include the location of individual servers);
fine-tuning the machine learning model using fine-tuning data comprising temperature information, server positions, and power consumption information of a plurality of server computers of the data center (paragraph 0028; i.e., the same information [e.g., temperature, positioning, and power consumption] is learned for servers in the particular data center);
for each of the predictions (paragraph 0034; i.e., the efficiency rank calculations may be performed repeatedly to update the ranks), using the machine learning model to generate a predicted difference in power consumption of the data center (paragraphs 0030 and 0032; i.e., generating an efficiency rank, which includes a predicted power consumption, for each of the available servers; this would contribute to the overall power consumption of the data center);
comparing predicted differences in power consumption of the data center to identify a selected server computer among the subset of the plurality of server computers that are powered OFF but when powered ON will result in a lowest power consumption of the data center relative to powering ON other server computers of the subset (paragraphs 0017 and 0034-0035; i.e., the efficiency ranks of each of the servers is calculated and then compared; the new workload is then allocated to the server with the greatest efficiency rank; with respect to the feature of powering on the selected server from a group of servers that were previously powered off, certain of the servers may have previously been powered off [paragraph 0017]; therefore, the allocation of the new workload to the selected server may include powering it on first); and
starting the selected server computer by powering ON the selected server computer responsive to receiving a request (paragraph 0019; i.e., a workload may be waiting/requested to be serviced by one of the servers) for a server resource (paragraphs 0017 and 0035; i.e., assuming the selected server was previously powered off, then allocating the new workload to it would include powering it on first).
Tantawi does not expressly disclose after the machine-learning model has been fine-tuned, sending prediction requests to the machine learning model for server computers of a subset of the plurality of server computers that are powered OFF, each of the prediction requests including at least a position in the data center of a respective server computer that is powered OFF.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., data center machine learning models), Jia teaches after the machine-learning model (Figure 1, item 106) has been fine-tuned (paragraph 0039; i.e., the machine learning model 106 can be fine-tuned [it could have already generated the prediction models 114] before it receives the power prediction requests 112), sending prediction requests (Figure 1, item 112, paragraph 0039) to the machine learning model for server computers of a subset of the plurality of server computers that are powered OFF, each of the prediction requests including at least an identification of a respective server computer (Figure 1, item 104A) that is powered OFF (paragraphs 0043 and 0101; i.e., the prediction request 112 can including information identifying a particular server 104A that it wants to have the power consumption predicted; further, as stated above, Tantawi discloses that the servers may be powered off).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Jia’s teachings of data center machine learning models with the teachings of Tantawi, for the purpose of saving resources of the machine learning model. More specifically, by only predicting the power consumption of the servers when a request is received, the machine learning model will only use the necessary power to make the prediction at those times, rather than continuously.
Also in the same field of endeavor (e.g., server control techniques in a data center), Morrill teaches each of the requests including at least a position in the data center of a respective server computer that is powered OFF (paragraphs 0018 and 0036; i.e., each request to service a server includes identification information that identifies the physical position [e.g., rack and slot] of that server in the data center; further, that server may have had a hardware failure and therefore had been powered off [see paragraphs 0004-0005]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Morrill’s teachings of server control techniques in a data center with the teachings of Tantawi, for the purpose of being able to identify areas of the data center that are highly loaded (and thereby generating heat) and route new workload requests to areas that have less load.
Regarding Claim 2, Tantawi discloses wherein starting the selected server computer includes provisioning an operating system to the selected server computer (paragraph 0018).
Regarding Claim 3, Tantawi discloses wherein starting the selected server computer includes sending a signal to a Baseboard Management Controller (BMC) of the selected server computer (paragraph 0016; the reference states that each server may contain a controller but does not expressly state that it is a Baseboard Management Controller; the examiner takes Official Notice that transmitting a signal to a Baseboard Management Controller in a server to start it is well known in the art and is commonly used for the purpose of providing critical "lights-out" management capabilities, allowing administrators to remotely power on, reboot, and troubleshoot servers from any location; it is noted that since this Official Notice was not specifically traversed in the response, it has been taken to be admitted prior art [see MPEP § 2144.03(C)]).
Regarding Claim 4, Tantawi discloses wherein the power consumption information of the plurality of server computers includes power consumption of corresponding racks that contain the plurality of server computers (paragraph 0025; i.e., the energy efficiency profile includes power consumption of a plurality of servers located in a rack).
Regarding Claim 5, Tantawi discloses wherein the predicted differences in power consumption of the data center are received from a regressor of the machine learning model (paragraph 0028).
Regarding Claim 11, Tantawi discloses a computer system comprising at least one processor (Figure 1, item 102) and a memory (Figure 1, item 104), the memory storing instructions (paragraph 0060) that when executed by the at least one processor cause the computer system to:
train a machine learning model to predict power consumption of a data center using an initial training dataset comprising temperature information, server positions, and power consumption information of server computers of a plurality of different data centers (paragraphs 0025-0028; i.e., the machine learning model may be trained using data from multiple other data centers; this training data may include information about the temperature of each server, the power consumption of each server, and the server position; specifically with regards to server position, an energy profile is created for each data center that includes information about the temperature in various areas of the data center building which can include the location of individual servers);
fine-tune the machine learning model using fine-tuning data comprising temperature information, server positions, and power consumption information of a plurality of server computers of the data center (paragraph 0028; i.e., the same information [e.g., temperature, positioning, and power consumption] is learned for servers in the particular data center);
for each of the predictions (paragraph 0034; i.e., the efficiency rank calculations may be performed repeatedly to update the ranks), use the machine learning model to generate a predicted difference in power consumption of the data center (paragraphs 0030 and 0032; i.e., generating an efficiency rank, which includes a predicted power consumption, for each of the available servers; this would contribute to the overall power consumption of the data center);
compare predicted differences in power consumption of the data center to identify a selected server computer among the subset of the plurality of server computers that are powered OFF but when powered ON will result in a lowest power consumption of the data center relative to powering ON other server computers of the subset (paragraphs 0017 and 0034-0035; i.e., the efficiency ranks of each of the servers is calculated and then compared; the new workload is then allocated to the server with the greatest efficiency rank; with respect to the feature of powering on the selected server from a group of servers that were previously powered off, certain of the servers may have previously been powered off [paragraph 0017]; therefore, the allocation of the new workload to the selected server may include powering it on first); and
start the selected server computer by powering ON the selected server computer (paragraphs 0017 and 0035; i.e., assuming the selected server was previously powered off, then allocating the new workload to it would include powering it on first) responsive to receiving a request (paragraph 0019; i.e., a workload may be waiting/requested to be serviced by one of the servers) for a server resource.
Tantawi does not expressly disclose after the machine learning model is fine-tuned, send prediction requests to the machine learning model for server computers of a subset of the plurality of server computers that are powered OFF, each of the prediction requests including at least a position in the data center of a respective server computer that is powered OFF.
In the same field of endeavor, Jia teaches after the machine-learning model (Figure 1, item 106) is fine-tuned (paragraph 0039; i.e., the machine learning model 106 can be fine-tuned [it could have already generated the prediction models 114] before it receives the power prediction requests 112), send prediction requests (Figure 1, item 112, paragraph 0039) to the machine learning model for server computers of a subset of the plurality of server computers that are powered OFF, each of the prediction requests including at least an identification of a respective server computer (Figure 1, item 104A) that is powered OFF (paragraphs 0043 and 0101; i.e., the prediction request 112 can including information identifying a particular server 104A that it wants to have the power consumption predicted; further, as stated above, Tantawi discloses that the servers may be powered off).
Also in the same field of endeavor, Morrill teaches each of the requests including at least a position in the data center of a respective server computer that is powered OFF (paragraphs 0018 and 0036; i.e., each request to service a server includes identification information that identifies the physical position [e.g., rack and slot] of that server in the data center; further, that server may have had a hardware failure and therefore had been powered off [see paragraphs 0004-0005]).
The motivation discussed above with regards to Claim 1 applies equally as well to Claim 11.
Regarding Claim 12, Tantawi discloses wherein the instructions stored in the memory of the computer system, when executed by the at least one processor of the computer system cause the computer system to start the selected server computer by provisioning an operating system to the selected server computer (paragraph 0018).
Regarding Claim 13, Tantawi discloses wherein the instructions stored in the memory of the computer system, when executed by the at least one processor of the computer system cause the computer system to start the selected server computer by sending a signal to a Baseboard Management Controller (BMC) of the selected server computer (paragraph 0016; the reference states that each server may contain a controller but does not expressly state that it is a Baseboard Management Controller; the examiner takes Official Notice that transmitting a signal to a Baseboard Management Controller in a server to start it is well known in the art and is commonly used for the purpose of provides critical "lights-out" management capabilities, allowing administrators to remotely power on, reboot, and troubleshoot servers from any location; it is noted that since this Official Notice was not specifically traversed in the response, it has been taken to be admitted prior art [see MPEP § 2144.03(C)]).
Regarding Claim 14, Tantawi discloses wherein the power consumption information of the plurality of server computers includes power consumption of corresponding racks that contain the plurality of server computers (paragraph 0025; i.e., the energy efficiency profile includes power consumption of a plurality of servers located in a rack).
Regarding Claim 15, Tantawi discloses wherein the predicted differences in power consumption of the data center are received from a regressor of the machine learning model (paragraph 0028).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because each reference discloses a method for using a machine learning model to determine which of a plurality of servers to power on.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FAISAL M ZAMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175