DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Drawings
Figure 2 and 3 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated (figures show the sidefill resin broken). See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyasaka (US 6,815,830 B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Miyasaka (US 6,815,830 B2) discloses a mounting board (Fig 1-3) comprising: a printed board (20; Column 5, lines 1-20; shown is a board made of insulating material that mechanically supports and electrically connects an electronic component); an electronic component (10) surface-mounted on the printed board (20); and a resin (30) for a sidefill applied to an outer periphery (see Fig 1-2 showing 30 applied to outer side surface of 10) of the electronic component (10), wherein at least one of the printed board (20) and the electronic component includes a through-hole (24) connected to a space (32) defined by the printed board (20), the electronic component (10), and the resin (30) for the sidefill.
Regarding Claim 2, Miyasaka further discloses the mounting board (Fig 1-3) according to claim 1, wherein the through-hole (24) is provided inside the outer periphery of the electronic component (10) by a predetermined distance (see Fig 1 showing a distance from the outer periphery of 10 to 24; note that this distance is not structurally defined by a datum of reference nor quantified in the claim language) or more.
Regarding Claim 10, Miyasaka further discloses the mounting board (Fig 1-3) according to claim 1, wherein the electronic component (10) is a ball grid array (BGA) (see Fig 2 showing an array of 12 to receive solder balls; Column 4, line 28-Column 5, line 61; Column 8, lines 34-48 “reflow”), and the through-hole (24) of the printed board is provided to avoid a plurality of solder balls (Column 5, lines 30-61; solder balls would be located at 12) disposed in the BGA.
Regarding Claim 11, Miyasaka further discloses the mounting board (Fig 1-3) according to claim 10, wherein the solder ball (see Fig 2 showing an array of 12 to receive solder balls; Column 4, line 28-Column 5, line 61; Column 8, lines 34-48 “reflow”) is not provided at a position of a center (see Fig 2-3 showing 12 outwards from a center and 24 located at the center of the die) of a die (10) disposed on the BGA, and the through-hole (24) of the printed board is provided at a position of the center (see Fig 1-3) of the die where the solder ball is not provided.
Regarding Claim 14, Miyasaka further discloses the mounting board (Fig 1-3) according to claim 10, wherein a distance between the through-hole (24) of the printed board (20) and an outer periphery (outer edge of 10) of the BGA is longer (as seen in Fig 3, the distance from 24 to the side surface of 10 along the left-right direction in Fig 3, is greater than or longer than a distance in the up-down direction between the upper surface of 20 and the lower surface of 10) than a distance between a lower surface (lower surface of 10) of the BGA (10) and an upper surface (upper surface of 20) of the printed board (20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 2 and 5 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chufa (CN 211481596; English Translation provided by Applicant) in view of Miyasaka (US 6,815,830 B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Chufa (CN 211481596) discloses a mounting board (Fig 1-2) comprising: a printed board (20; shown is a board made of insulating material that mechanically supports and electrically connects an electronic component); an electronic component ([0004-0014,0032] “(QFN) chip”) surface-mounted ([0032]) on the printed board (20); wherein at least one of the printed board (20) and the electronic component ([0032]) includes a -hole (13).
Miyasaka (US 6,815,830 B2) teaches of a mounting board (Fig 1-2) comprising: a printed board (20; Column 5, lines 1-20; shown is a board made of insulating material that mechanically supports and electrically connects an electronic component); an electronic component (10) surface-mounted on the printed board (20); and a resin (30) for a sidefill applied to an outer periphery (see Fig 1-2 showing 30 applied to outer side surface of 10) of the electronic component (10), wherein at least one of the printed board (20) and the electronic component includes a through-hole (24) connected to a space (32) defined by the printed board (20), the electronic component (10), and the resin (30) for the sidefill.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the board as disclosed by Chufa, comprising a resin for a sidefill applied to an outer periphery of the electronic component, wherein at least one of the printed board and the electronic component includes a through-hole connected to a space defined by the printed board, the electronic component, and the resin for the sidefill as taught by Miyasaka, in order to provide reliability, reduce bubbles, provide relaxing and provide protection (Miyasaka, Column 1, line 20-Column 2, line 60, Column 6, lines 1-7).
Regarding Claim 2, Chufa in view of Miyasaka teaches the limitations of the preceding claim and Miyasaka further teaches the mounting board (Fig 1-2) according to claim 1, wherein the through-hole (24) is provided inside the outer periphery of the electronic component (10) by a predetermined distance (see Fig 1 showing a distance from the outer periphery of 10 to 24; note that this distance is not structurally defined by a datum of reference nor quantified in the claim language) or more.
Regarding Claim 5, Chufa in view of Miyasaka teaches the limitations of the preceding claim, including the through hole of the printed board.
Chufa further discloses the mounting board (Fig 1-2) according to claim 1, wherein the electronic component ([0004-0014,0032] “(QFN) chip”) is a quad flat non-leaded package (QFN).
Chufa further discloses the mounting board (Fig 1-2) comprising a hole (13) provided to avoid a GND land (11) of the QFN ([0004-0014,0032] “(QFN) chip”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the board as taught by Chufa in view of Miyasaka, wherein the through-hole of the printed board is provided to avoid a GND land of the QFN as taught by Chufa, as both limitations of present in the same publication and in order to prevent gas from being wrapped by molten solder to form bubbles (Chufa, [0033]).
Regarding Claim 6, Chufa in view of Miyasaka teaches the limitations of the preceding claim, including the through hole of the printed board.
Chufa further teaches the mounting board (Fig 1-2) according to claim 5, wherein the through-hole (13) of the printed board includes at least two through-holes (see Fig 1-2), and the at least two through-holes (13) are provided to interpose the GND land (11) between the two through-holes (13).
Regarding Claim 7, Chufa in view of Miyasaka teaches the limitations of the preceding claim, including the through hole of the printed board.
Chufa further teaches the mounting board (Fig 1-2) according to claim 5, wherein the through-hole (13) of the printed board are provided between a plurality of divided GND lands (11) obtained by dividing the GND land (10).
Claim(s) 3 – 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyasaka (US 6,815,830 B2) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Toh (US 2012/0149150 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Miyasaka discloses the limitations of the preceding claim.
Miyasaka does not explicitly disclose the mounting board according to claim 1, wherein the through-hole is provided in each of the printed board and the electronic component.
Toh (US 2012/0149150 A1) teaches of a mounting board (Fig 3), wherein a through-hole (not labeled; [0022,0030]) is provided in each of a printed board (320) and an electronic component (“die” [0022]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the board as disclosed Miyasaka, wherein the through-hole is provided in each of the printed board and the electronic component as taught by Toh, in order to release pressure, provide ventilation, and prevent problems from moisture (Toh, [0004-0008,0028-0034]). The combination of Miyasaka in view of Toh would better release pressure and provide better ventilation as both the board and the component would have apertures for releasing moisture and pressure.
Regarding Claim 4, Miyasaka in view of Toh teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Miyasaka teaches the through-hole of the printed board and Toh teaches through-hole of the printed board and the through-hole of the electronic component.
Miyasaka does not explicitly teach the mounting board according to claim 3, wherein the through-hole of the printed board and the through-hole of the electronic component are provided at different positions in a plane view.
Toh further teaches through-holes of a plurality of stacked electronic components are provided at different positions (see Fig 2-3 showing different horizontal positions for unfilled vias 140) in a plane view (this would be true in a plan view, even though not shown, as Fig 2-3 shows different horizontal locations for 140).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the board comprising the through-hole of the printed board and the through-hole of the electronic component.as taught by Miyasaka in view of Toh, wherein the through-hole of the printed board and the through-hole of the electronic component are provided at different positions in a plane view in order to provide a network of unfilled vias for releasing pressure ([0027-0032]), since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim(s) 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyasaka (US 6,815,830 B2) as applied to claim 10 above and further in view of Aberin (US 2008/0150159 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Miyasaka discloses the limitations of the preceding claim.
Miyasaka does not disclose the mounting board according to claim 10, wherein the solder ball is not provided at a position of a corner of a die disposed in the BGA outside the die, and the through-hole of the printed board is provided at a position of the corner of the die outside the die where the solder ball is not provided.
Aberin (US 2008/0150159 A1) teaches of a mounting board (Fig 1-3) wherein a solder ball (14) is not provided ([0041] contact pads 7 mark location of solder for connect to chip 2) at a position of a corner of a die (2) disposed in the BGA outside ([0041] contact pads 7 mark a perimeter portion of chip 2) the die (2), and a through-hole (4) of a printed board (3) is provided at a position of the corner (4 is shown about the corner of 2 in Fig 3 and in regions outside the perimeter of 2 in Fig 3) of the die outside the die where the solder ball is not provided (see Fig 1-3 showing 14 is only under chip 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the board as disclosed by Miyasaka, wherein the solder ball is not provided at a position of a corner of a die disposed in the BGA outside the die, and the through-hole of the printed board is provided at a position of the corner of the die outside the die where the solder ball is not provided as taught by Aberin, in order to allow moisture to escape in a three-dimensional way (Aberin, [0013,0029]).
Regarding Claim 13, Miyasaka in view of Aberin teaches the limitations of the preceding claim and Aberin further teaches the mounting board (Fig 1-3) according to claim 12, wherein the through-hole (4) of the printed board (3) includes at least two through-holes (4,4), and the at least two through-holes (4,4) are provided to interpose the die (3) between (see Fig 3) the two through-holes (4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Wang (US 6,153,939) teaches of a mounting board (Fig 1-3) comprising: a printed board (13); an electronic component (11) surface-mounted on the printed board; and a sidefill (15) applied to an outer periphery of the electronic component, wherein at least one of the printed board and the electronic component includes a through-hole (19) connected to a space defined by the printed board, the electronic component, and the sidefill. This reference could be used in a 103 Rejection.
/ROSHN K VARGHESE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896