Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant argues:
At p. 11 para 6 that “... using spectral components of the heterodyne beat frequency comb determined to have such diminished amplitudes, determining each type of
molecule in the measurement volume ...”
Examiner response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Yun specifically measures “species mole fraction” and the species here is water. The H2O mole fraction corresponds to the H2O content in moles present in the gas flowing in the engine. Further, the values of the H2O mole fraction are directly obtained from the spectra as shown in fig. 2. Each spectrum in fig. 2 is unique. Thus, Yun teaches the limitation above.
Applicant argues:
At p. 12 para 3 that “... using determined concentrations of the one or more types of molecules determined to be in the measurement volume and the other measurement volume, determining an amount of increase, caused by the engine of the airborne vehicle, of a concentration of at least one type of molecule between the measurement volume and the other measurement volume”.
Examiner response:
Yun teaches the above limitation as shown in the graph height vs. χH2O of fig. 6. In the graph shows there is an increase in the concentration of water between 5 and 20 mm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun, David, et al. "Spatially resolved mass flux measurements with dual-comb spectroscopy." Optica 9.9 (2022): 1050-1059 (hereinafter Yun), in view of May, R., US 20060109470 A1 (hereinafter May), in view of EP 4112886 A1 (hereinafter Krejmas).
Regarding claim 1, Yun teaches a method for determining levels of types of molecules in a volume of atmosphere in or about an airborne vehicle, the method comprising: emitting from a first area of an internal volume (fig. 1(a) the area where the two laser beams pass) or an external part of the airborne vehicle, two optical frequency combs of which at least one optical frequency comb is transmitted through a measurement volume by an inlet of an engine on the airborne vehicle (fig.1(a) shows the two laser beams pass to the interior portion of the ramjet engine); receiving, at respectively the first area or a second area of the internal volume or the external part of the airborne vehicle (the photodetector in fig. 1(b) receives the signal), the two optical frequency combs after at least one of the two optical frequency combs has passed through the measurement volume (this is shown in fig. 1, one comb measures upstream, near the inlet and the comb measures downstream far from the inlet); “using received two optical frequency combs, generating a heterodyne beat frequency comb” (p. 3 col 2 para 3 lines 17-24); “determining which spectral components of the heterodyne beat frequency comb have diminished amplitudes and an amount of each such diminished amplitude” (this is shown in fig. 2); “using spectral components of the heterodyne beat frequency comb determined to have such diminished amplitudes, determining each type of molecule in the measurement volume” (this is shown in fig. 2, χH2O corresponds to the type of molecule); “using an amplitude of each spectral component of the heterodyne beat frequency comb determined to have a diminished amplitude, determining a concentration of one or more types of molecules in the measurement volume” (this is shown in fig. 2, χH2O is the concentration of the of water in the airflow; water is a type of molecule in the airflow); emitting from a third area of the internal volume or the external part of the airborne vehicle (this corresponds the vertical scan measurement as shown in fig. 5), receiving, at respectively the third area or a fourth area of the internal volume or the external part of the airborne vehicle (this is shown in fig. 6 height vs. χH2O), “using received two other optical frequency combs, generating another heterodyne beat frequency comb” (p. 3 col 2 para 3 lines 17-24); “determining which spectral components of the other heterodyne beat frequency comb have diminished amplitudes and an amount of each such diminished amplitude” (for each height measurement, the process for determining χH2O is same as shown in fig. 2); using spectral components of the other heterodyne beat frequency comb determined to have diminished amplitudes, determining each type of molecule in the other measurement volume (for each height measurement, the process for determining χH2O is same as shown in fig. 2); using an amplitude of each spectral component of the other heterodyne beat frequency comb determined to have a diminished amplitude, determining a concentration of one or more types of molecules in the other measurement volume (for each height measurement, the process for determining χH2O is same as shown in fig. 2); and “using determined concentrations of the one or more types of molecules determined to be in the measurement volume and the other measurement volume” (this is shown in fig. 6 height vs. χH2O), determining an amount of increase, caused by the engine of the airborne vehicle, of a concentration of at least one type of molecule between the measurement volume and the other measurement volume (this is shown in fig. 6 height vs. χH2O; there is an increase in water concentration between 5 and 10 mm).
Yun fails to disclose explicitly two other optical frequency combs of which at least one optical frequency comb is transmitted through another measurement volume by an outlet of the engine of the airborne vehicle; and the two other optical frequency combs after at least one of the two other optical frequency combs has passed through the measurement volume;
MPEP 2144.04 VI-B In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) states “the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced”. This means “two other optical frequency combs” and “the two other optical frequency combs after at least one of the two other optical frequency combs has passed through the measurement volume” are just a duplication of parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to duplicate “two other optical frequency combs” and “the two other optical frequency combs after at least one of the two other optical frequency combs has passed through the measurement volume” to Yun in order to optimize the monitoring of the engine (efficiency in time). See evidentiary references: May, R., US 20060109470 A1 (hereinafter May; see para [0044] lines 1-6) and US20180088045A1 (fig. 5 shows three laser particle sensors 502-3).
Yun further does not teach two other optical frequency combs of which at least one optical frequency comb is transmitted through another measurement volume by an outlet of the engine of the airborne vehicle.
Krejmas, from the same field of endeavor as Yun, teaches two other optical frequency combs of which at least one optical frequency comb is transmitted through another measurement volume by an outlet of the engine of the airborne vehicle (this is shown in fig. 2, p. 6 para 2; note that two optical frequency combs are duplication of parts).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Krejmas to Yun to have two other optical frequency combs of which at least one optical frequency comb is transmitted through another measurement volume by an outlet of the engine of the airborne vehicle in order to calculate a thrust force of the gas turbine engine while the aircraft is in flight (p. 3 para 2).
Regarding claim 2, Yun teaches the method of claim 1, wherein either one of the two optical frequency combs is phase locked to another optical frequency comb of the two optical frequency combs or each of the two optical frequency combs is phase locked to a reference signal (p. 3 col 2 para 3 lines 12-14).
Regarding claim 3, Yun teaches the method of claim 1, wherein one determined type of molecule comprises water, type of greenhouse gas, or one type of molecule in fuel used by the engine of the airborne vehicle (p. 2 col 2 para 1 lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 6, the modified apparatus of Yun fails to teach the method of claim 1, wherein the measurement volume is at or about an inlet of an engine nacelle; wherein the other measurement volume is at or about an outlet of the engine nacelle.
Krejmas, from the same field of endeavor as Yun, teaches “the method of claim 1, wherein the measurement volume is at or about an inlet of an engine nacelle; wherein the other measurement volume is at or about an outlet of the engine nacelle” (this is shown in fig. 2, the inlet and the outlet of element 20 has a corresponding optically based measurement system, p. 5 last para to p. 6 para 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Krejmas to the modified apparatus of Yun to have the method of claim 1, wherein the measurement volume is at or about an inlet of an engine nacelle; wherein the other measurement volume is at or about an outlet of the engine nacelle in order to monitor the gas turbine engine during flight of an aircraft (p. 10 para 5).
Regarding claim 8, Yun teaches the method of claim 1, wherein either one of the other two optical frequency combs is phase locked to another optical frequency comb of the other two optical frequency combs or each of the other two optical frequency combs is phase locked to a reference signal (p. 3 col 2 para 3 lines 12-14).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun and Krejmas as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20060109470 A1 (hereinafter May).
Regarding claim 4, Yun teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising portions of each of the two optical frequency combs; wherein generating the heterodyne beat frequency comb comprises using each reflected portion, generating the heterodyne beat frequency comb (p. 3 col 2 para 2 lines 11-26).
Yun does not teach reflecting, from a portion of the airborne vehicle and wherein receiving the two optical frequency combs comprises receiving each reflected portion.
May, from the same field of endeavor as Yun, teaches “reflecting, from a portion of the airborne vehicle and wherein receiving the two optical frequency combs comprises receiving each reflected portion” (fig. 5B reflectors 570, 530, para [0044] lines 6-18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Reiker to Yun to have “reflecting, from a portion of the airborne vehicle and wherein receiving the two optical frequency combs comprises receiving each reflected portion” in order to reflect the light to the detector (para [0044] lines 6-18) in order to measure environmental parameters such as air quality (para [0003] lines 1-3).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun, Krejmas, and May as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Costella, M., et al. "Short Comb Atmospheric Lidar Experiment (SCALE): principles, activities at CNES and perspectives for a new LIDAR concept." International Conference on Space Optics—ICSO 2022. Vol. 12777. SPIE, 2023 (hereinafter Costella).
Regarding claim 7, Yun fails to teach the method of claim 1, further comprising reflecting, from another portion of the airborne vehicle, portions of each of the two optical frequency combs; wherein receiving the two other optical frequency combs comprises receiving each reflected portion; wherein generating the other heterodyne beat frequency comb comprises using each reflected portion, generating the other heterodyne beat frequency comb.
May, from the same field of endeavor as Yun, teaches “the method of claim 1, further comprising reflecting, from another portion of the airborne vehicle; wherein receiving the signal comprises receiving each reflected portion; wherein generating the signal comprises using each reflected portion” (fig. 5B reflectors 570, 530, para [0044] lines 6-18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of May to Yun to have the method of claim 1, further comprising reflecting, from another portion of the airborne vehicle; wherein receiving the signal comprises receiving each reflected portion; wherein generating the signal comprises using each reflected portion in order to in order to measure environmental parameters such as air quality (para [0003] lines 1-3).
Yun, when modified by May, fails to teach portions of each of the two optical frequency combs; two other optical frequency combs, generating the other heterodyne beat frequency comb.
Costella, from the same field of endeavor as Yun, teaches portions of each of the two optical frequency combs; two other optical frequency combs, generating the other heterodyne beat frequency comb (measuring from the external part; the limitations are all shown in fig. 1 combs A, B; target is an external part).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Costella to Yun, when modified by May, to have portions of each of the two optical frequency combs; two other optical frequency combs, generating the other heterodyne beat frequency comb in order to map CO2 in the atmosphere (Abstract line 1).
Claim(s) 9, 10, 11, 14, 15, 17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun.
Regarding claim 9, Yun teaches an apparatus configured to determine levels of types of molecules in a volume of atmosphere in or about an airborne vehicle (fig. 1 airborne vehicle is the engine of the ramjet), the apparatus comprising: a first dual optical frequency comb spectroscopy (DOFC) system (DOFC) system (this fig. 1(b)), wherein the first DOFC system includes a first optical frequency comb generator (this is comb 1 in fig. 1(c)), a second optical frequency comb generator (this is comb 2 in fig. 1(c)), a first mixer (this is the couple in fig. 1(c)), and DOFC processing circuitry (this is DAQ in fig. 1(b)); wherein each of the first and the second optical frequency comb generator includes a laser (fig. 1(c) uses lasers, p. 3 col 1 para 2 lines 1-4); wherein the first optical frequency comb generator is configured to transmit a first optical frequency comb to the first mixer (this is shown in fig. 1(c)); wherein the second optical frequency comb generator is configured to transmit a second optical frequency comb to the first mixer (this is shown in fig. 1(c)); wherein at least one of the first and the second optical frequency combs is configured to be transmitted through a first measurement volume before being received by the first mixer (this is shown in fig. 1(a) lasers pass through the air), wherein the first measurement volume is by an inlet of an engine nacelle (this is shown in fig. 1b, the two combs are near the inlet of the engine); wherein, using received first and second optical frequency combs, the first mixer is configured to generate a first heterodyne beat frequency comb (p. 3 col 2 para 2 lines 11-26); wherein the DOFC processing circuitry is configured to: receive the first heterodyne beat frequency comb (p. 3 col 2 para 2 lines 11-26); “determine which spectral components of the first heterodyne beat frequency comb have diminished amplitudes and an amount of each such diminished amplitude” (this is shown in fig. 2); using spectral components of the first heterodyne beat frequency comb determined to have such diminished amplitudes, determine each type of molecule in the first measurement volume (this is shown in fig. 2, χH2O is the concentration of the of water in the airflow; water is a type of molecule in the airflow); and “using an amplitude of each spectral component of the first heterodyne beat frequency comb determined to have a diminished amplitude, determine a concentration of at least one type of molecule in the first measurement volume” (this is shown in fig. 2, χH2O is the concentration of the of water in the airflow; water is a type of molecule in the airflow); and “wherein the second DOFC system includes a third optical frequency comb generator, a fourth optical frequency comb generator, and a second mixer” (this is same setup as shown in fig. 1); and “wherein each of the third and the fourth optical frequency comb generator includes a laser” (this is same setup as shown in fig. 1); “wherein the third optical frequency comb generator is configured to transmit a third optical frequency comb to the second mixer” (this is same setup as shown in fig. 1); “wherein the fourth optical frequency comb generator is configured to transmit a fourth optical frequency comb to the second mixer” (this is same setup as shown in fig. 1); wherein at least one of the third and the fourth optical frequency combs is configured to be transmitted through a second measurement volume before being received by the second mixer, wherein the second measurement volume is by an outlet of the engine; “wherein, using received third and fourth optical frequency combs, the second mixer is configured to generate a second heterodyne beat frequency comb” (this is same setup as shown in fig. 1); “wherein the DOFC processing circuitry is further configured to: receive the second heterodyne beat frequency comb” (this is same setup as shown in fig. 1); “determine which spectral components of the second heterodyne beat frequency comb have diminished amplitudes and an amount of each such diminished amplitude” (this is same setup as shown in fig. 1); “using spectral components of the second heterodyne beat frequency comb determined to have such diminished amplitudes, determine each type of molecule in the second measurement volume” (this is same setup as shown in fig. 1); “using an amplitude of each spectral component of the second heterodyne beat frequency comb determined to have the diminished amplitude, determine a concentration of at least one type of molecule in the second measurement volume” (this is same setup as shown in fig. 1); and “using determined concentrations of at least type of molecule determined to be in the first measurement volume and the second measurement volume” (this is shown in fig. 6 height vs. χH2O; there is an increase in water concentration between 5 and 10 mm), determine an amount of increase, caused by the engine of the airborne vehicle, of a concentration of at least one type of molecule between the second measurement volume and the first measurement volume (this is shown in fig. 6 height vs. χH2O; there is an increase in water concentration between 5 and 20 mm).
Yun does not explicitly teach using a second DOFC system.
The limitation “a second DOFC system”, again, is a duplication of parts (MPEP 2144.04 VI-B In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) states “the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have “a second DOFC system” to Yun in order to optimize the monitoring of the engine (efficiency in time). See evidentiary references: May, R., US 20060109470 A1 (hereinafter May; see para [0044] lines 1-6) and US20180088045A1 (fig. 5 shows three laser particle sensors 502-3).
Regarding claim 10, Yun teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein either the first optical frequency comb is phase locked to the second optical frequency comb or each of the first and the second optical frequency combs is phase locked to a reference signal (p. 3 col 2 para 3 lines 12-14).
Regarding claim 11, Yun teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein one determined type of molecule comprises water (fig. 1(c)), one type of greenhouse gas, or one type of molecule in fuel used by the engine of the airborne vehicle.
Regarding claim 14, Yun teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein either the third optical frequency comb is phase locked to the fourth optical frequency comb or each of the third and the fourth optical frequency combs is phase locked to a reference signal (p. 3 col 2 para 3 lines 12-14).
Regarding claim 15, Yun teaches an apparatus configured to determine levels of types of molecules generated in an engine, the apparatus comprising: a first dual optical frequency comb spectroscopy (DOFC) system (this is shown in fig. 1), wherein the first DOFC system includes a first optical frequency comb generator (this is shown in fig. 1c), a second optical frequency comb generator (this is shown in fig. 1c), a first mixer (this is the couple in fig. 1(c)), and DOFC processing circuitry (this is DAQ in fig. 1(b)); wherein each of the first and the second optical frequency comb generator includes a laser (fig. 1(c) uses lasers, p. 3 col 1 para 2 lines 1-4); wherein the first optical frequency comb generator is configured to transmit a first optical frequency comb to the first mixer (fig. 1c shows the two combs going to the coupler); wherein the second optical frequency comb generator is configured to transmit a second optical frequency comb to the first mixer (fig. 1c shows the two combs going to the coupler); “wherein at least one of the first and the second optical frequency combs is configured to be transmitted through a first measurement volume before being received by the first mixer, wherein the first measurement volume is at a first location in the engine” (this is shown in fig. 1a); “wherein, using received first and second optical frequency combs, the first mixer is configured to generate a first heterodyne beat frequency comb” (p. 3 para 3 lines 17-24); wherein the DOFC processing circuitry is configured to: receive the first heterodyne beat frequency comb (fig. 1b, p. 3 para 3 lines 17-24); “determine which spectral components of the first heterodyne beat frequency comb have diminished amplitudes and an amount of each such diminished amplitude” (this is shown in fig. 2); “using spectral components of the first heterodyne beat frequency comb determined to have such diminished amplitudes, determine each type of molecule in the first measurement volume” (this is shown in fig. 6 height vs. χH2O; there is an increase in water concentration between 5 and 10 mm); and “using an amplitude of each spectral component of the first heterodyne beat frequency comb determined to have a diminished amplitude, determine a concentration of at least one type of molecule in the first measurement volume” (this is shown in fig. 6 height vs. χH2O; there is an increase in water concentration between 5 and 10 mm); and “wherein the second DOFC system includes a third optical frequency comb generator, a fourth optical frequency comb generator, and a second mixer” (this is shown in fig. 6 height vs. χH2O; there is an increase in water concentration between 5 and 10 mm; same setup as shown in fig. 1); wherein each of the third and the fourth optical frequency comb generator includes a laser (same setup as shown in fig. 1); wherein the third optical frequency comb generator is configured to transmit a third optical frequency comb to the second mixer (same setup as shown in fig. 1); wherein the fourth optical frequency comb generator is configured to transmit a fourth optical frequency comb to the second mixer (same setup as shown in fig. 1); wherein at least one of the third and the fourth optical frequency combs is configured to be transmitted through a second measurement volume before being received by the second mixer, wherein the second measurement volume is at a second location in the engine (this is shown in fig. 6 height vs. χH2O; there is an increase in water concentration between 5 and 10 mm; same setup as shown in fig. 1); wherein, using received third and fourth optical frequency combs, the second mixer is configured to generate a second heterodyne beat frequency comb (this is shown in fig. 6 height vs. χH2O; there is an increase in water concentration between 5 and 10 mm; same setup as shown in fig. 1); wherein the DOFC processing circuitry is further configured to: receive the second heterodyne beat frequency comb (same setup as fig. 1); determine which spectral components of the second heterodyne beat frequency comb have diminished amplitudes and an amount of each such diminished amplitude (this is shown in fig. 6 height vs. χH2O; there is an increase in water concentration between 5 and 10 mm; see fig. 2); using spectral components of the second heterodyne beat frequency comb determined to have such diminished amplitudes, determine each type of molecule in the second measurement volume (this is shown in fig. 6 height vs. χH2O; there is an increase in water concentration between 5 and 10 mm; see fig. 2); using an amplitude of each spectral component of the second heterodyne beat frequency comb determined to have a diminished amplitude, determine a concentration of at least one type of molecule in the second measurement volume (this is shown in fig. 6 height vs. χH2O; there is an increase in water concentration between 5 and 10 mm; see fig. 2); and using determined concentrations of the at least one type of molecule determined to be in the first measurement volume and the second measurement volume (this is shown in fig. 6 height vs. χH2O; there is an increase in water concentration between 5 and 10 mm; see fig. 2), determining an amount of increase, caused by the engine, of a concentration of at least one type of molecule between the second measurement volume and the first measurement volume (this is shown in fig. 6 height vs. χH2O; there is an increase in water concentration between 5 and 20 mm; see fig. 2).
Yun does not explicitly teach using a second DOFC system.
The limitation “a second DOFC system”, again, is a duplication of parts (MPEP 2144.04 VI-B In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) states “the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have “a second DOFC system” to Yun in order to optimize the monitoring of the engine (efficiency in time). See evidentiary references: May, R., US 20060109470 A1 (hereinafter May; see para [0044] lines 1-6) and US20180088045A1 (fig. 5 shows three laser particle sensors 502-3).
Regarding claim 17, Yun teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein either the first optical frequency comb is phase locked to the second optical frequency comb or each of the first and the second optical frequency combs is phase locked to a reference signal (p. 3 col 2 para 3 lines 12-14).
Yun does not teach wherein either the third optical frequency comb is phase locked to the fourth optical frequency comb or each of the third and the fourth optical frequency combs is phase locked to another reference signal.
Like in claim 15, this “wherein either the third optical frequency comb is phase locked to the fourth optical frequency comb or each of the third and the fourth optical frequency combs is phase locked to another reference signal” is just duplication of parts. Adding additional DOFC system with “wherein either the third optical frequency comb is phase locked to the fourth optical frequency comb or each of the third and the fourth optical frequency combs is phase locked to another reference signal”, which is identical to Yun optical dual comb system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to duplicate another DOFC system with “wherein either the third optical frequency comb is phase locked to the fourth optical frequency comb or each of the third and the fourth optical frequency combs is phase locked to another reference signal” to Yun device in order to have stable signals during measurements (p. 3 para 3 lines 12-20).
Regarding claim 20, Yun teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the engine is an engine of an airborne vehicle (this is shown in fig. 1).
Claim(s) 13, 16, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun, as applied to claim(s) 9, 15 above, and in view of Krejmas.
Regarding claim 13, Yun fails to teach the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the first measurement volume is at or about an inlet of an engine nacelle; wherein the second measurement volume is at or about an outlet of the engine nacelle.
Krejmas, from the same field of endeavor as Yun, teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the first measurement volume is at or about an inlet of an engine nacelle; wherein the second measurement volume is at or about an outlet of the engine nacelle (this is shown in fig. 2, the inlet and the outlet of element 20 has a corresponding optically based measurement system, p. 5 last para to p. 6 para 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Krejmas to Yun to have the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the first measurement volume is at or about an inlet of an engine nacelle; wherein the second measurement volume is at or about an outlet of the engine nacelle in order to monitor the gas turbine engine during flight of an aircraft (p. 10 para 5).
Regarding claim 16, Yun does not teach the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the first measurement volume is at or about an inlet of a nacelle of the engine; wherein the second measurement volume is at or about an outlet of the nacelle of the engine.
Krejmas, from the same field of endeavor as Yun, teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the first measurement volume is at or about an inlet of a nacelle of the engine; wherein the second measurement volume is at or about an outlet of the nacelle of the engine (this is shown in fig. 2, the inlet and the outlet of element 20 has a corresponding optically based measurement system, p. 5 last para to p. 6 para 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Krejmas to Yun to have the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the first measurement volume is at or about an inlet of a nacelle of the engine; wherein the second measurement volume is at or about an outlet of the nacelle of the engine in order to monitor the gas turbine engine during flight of an aircraft (p. 10 para 5).
Regarding claim 18, Yun does teach does not the apparatus of claim 15, wherein determining the concentration of the at least one type of molecule added or removed between the second measurement volume and the first measurement volume comprises determining a concentration of at least one type of greenhouse gas generated by the engine.
Krejmas, from the same field of endeavor as Yun, teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein determining the concentration of the at least one type of molecule added or removed between the second measurement volume and the first measurement volume comprises determining a concentration of at least one type of greenhouse gas generated by the engine (the thrust force is dependent on the two mass flows; mass flow is dependent on the density of the gas particles; note here Yun teaches greenhouse gas, p. 2 para 1 lines 6-7; ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Krejmas to Yun to have the apparatus of claim 15, wherein determining the concentration of the at least one type of molecule added or removed between the second measurement volume and the first measurement volume comprises determining a concentration of at least one type of greenhouse gas generated by the engine in order to monitor the gas turbine engine during flight of an aircraft (p. 10 para 5).
Regarding claim 19, Yun does teach does not the apparatus of claim 15, wherein determining the concentration of the at least one type of molecule added or removed between the second measurement volume and the first measurement volume comprises determining a concentration of at least one type of molecule in fuel used by the engine.
Krejmas, from the same field of endeavor as Yun, teaches apparatus of claim 15, wherein determining the concentration of the at least one type of molecule added or removed between the second measurement volume and the first measurement volume comprises determining a concentration of at least one type of molecule in fuel used by the engine (the thrust force is dependent on the two mass flows; mass flow is dependent on the density of the gas particles; p. 8 para 9 lines 1-3; note also Yun teaches fuel use, p. 2 para 1 lines 6-7; ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Krejmas to Yun to have the apparatus of claim 15, wherein determining the concentration of the at least one type of molecule added or removed between the second measurement volume and the first measurement volume comprises determining a concentration of at least one type of molecule in fuel used by the engine in order to monitor the gas turbine engine during flight of an aircraft (p. 10 para 5).
Conclusion
/ROBERTO FABIAN JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/Kara E. Geisel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877