DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 9 June 2026 have been considered. However, Umehara 252 teaches the new amendment, it is not combinable with Ueda. Upon further review of Umehara 252, it discloses the entirety of claim 1. Thus, the new ground of rejection is made below.
Note, “vibration body” does not have a specific definition in claim 1, so it is just interpreted as a body, or component, in the vibration module. If Applicant believes this could be a distinguishing feature, it should be explicitly defined in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Umehara (“Umehara 252”; US 2014/0202252).
Regarding claim 1: Umehara 252 discloses a vibration module (Fig. 2), comprising:
a movable unit including a base plate (30), a magnet (60), and a back yoke (70);
a stationary unit including a frame (30), a substrate (10), a coil (40), and an insulator (paragraph 0050); and
an elastic member (53, Fig. 3) between the movable unit and the stationary unit (paragraph 0060),
wherein the movable unit, the stationary unit, and the elastic member are arranged in a first arrangement direction (in this case, the vertical or Z-axis direction, Fig. 2),
the frame (30) in the stationary unit has a first surface at one side of the frame (the top side in the Z-direction in Fig. 2) in the first arrangement direction and attached to the movable unit with the elastic member, and the frame has a second surface at the other side of the frame in the first arrangement direction (bottom side of 30) and attachable to a vibration body (also 10, as “vibration body” is not defined any further in the claim, it is simply a body) supported by a support (such as the side legs of 20), and
the movable unit is movable relative to the stationary unit in a second arrangement direction intersecting with the first arrangement direction (paragraph 0063 “forward-and-rearward direction”).
Regarding claim 4: Umehara 252 discloses an attachment member (21, Fig. 2) to be located between the second surface of the frame (akin to 30) and the vibration body to attach the frame to the vibration body (80),
wherein the second surface of the frame includes a protrusion protruding toward the vibration body (33a-d), and the attachment member has an opening accommodating the protrusion (23a-d).
Regarding claim 5: Umehara 252 discloses the base plate includes an attachment protrusion protruding toward the back yoke (into holes 371a-b, not shown in FIG. 12, paragraph 0113), and
the attachment protrusion is placed in a through-hole (371a-b) in the back yoke (370).
Regarding claim 8: Umehara 252 discloses the frame (30) has a surface being plate-like (flat part of 30) and a side surface extending in the first arrangement direction (it bends 90 degrees on each side), and the side surface has one end face connecting to the surface of the frame (as it’s a single structure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umehara 252, in view of Ueda et al. (“Ueda”; US 2012/0169153).
Regarding claim 2: Umehara 252 discloses the base plate, but does not explicitly disclose the base plate has a surface facing the first surface of the frame, and the surface of the base plate has a recess accommodating the elastic member.
However, Ueda discloses wherein the base plate (8) has a surface facing the first surface of the frame (up), and
the surface of the base plate has a recess accommodating the elastic member (shown by the notch in 8 in Fig. 3 right below the elastic member 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the base plate of Umehara 252 to include the recess of Ueda in order to allow for a more compact design.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umehara 252 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (“Zhang”; US 2020/0044527).
Regarding claim 3: Umehara 252 discloses the base plate and the frame, and the magnet, the coil, and the elastic member, but does not explicitly disclose a protector between the base plate and the frame, the protector being frame-like and extending along a periphery of the base plate, wherein the magnet, the coil, and the elastic member are located inward from the protector.
However, Zhang discloses a protector (150) between the base plate (112) and the frame (111), the protector being frame-like and extending along a periphery of the base plate (Fig. 1),
wherein the magnet (131), the coil (120), and the elastic member (140) are located inward from the protector (as shown in Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the module of Umehara 252 to include the protector of Zhang in order to better protect the components from colliding (paragraph 0020).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umehara 252 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Umehara et al. (“Umehara 401”; US 2017/0104401).
Regarding claim 6: Umehara 252 discloses the magnet and a plurality of the coils are arranged in a second arrangement direction (horizontal or radial direction, shown in Fig. 2) intersecting with the first arrangement direction (vertical direction), and
the movable unit moves relative to the stationary unit in the second arrangement direction (paragraph 0016, there is expansion and contraction between the inner ring 103 and outer ring 101, Fig. 4, which a radial direction that intersects the vertical direction)
Umehara 252 discloses a magnet but does not explicitly disclose a plurality of the magnets.
However, Umehara 401 discloses a plurality of magnets (paragraph 0086).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the magnet of Umehara 252 to be the plurality of magnets of Umehara 401 in order to increase the current generating capability.
Regarding claim 7: Umehara 252 discloses the base plate, but does not explicitly disclose the base plate has a surface facing the first surface of the frame, the surface of the base plate has a plurality of reception holes each accommodating a corresponding magnet of the plurality of magnets, and the plurality of reception holes are arranged in the second arrangement direction.
However, Umehara 401 discloses the base plate (81, Fig. 4) has a surface facing the first surface of the frame (upward in the z direction shown in Fig. 4), the surface of the base plate has a plurality of reception holes each accommodating a corresponding magnet of the plurality of magnets (shown best in Fig. 10, magnet 60 is flush in the hole in 81), and
the plurality of reception holes are arranged in the second arrangement direction (as the plurality of magnets, paragraph 0086, would be arranged in the x or y direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the base plate and magnet of Umehara 252 to be the plurality of magnets of Umehara 401 in order to increase the current generating capability.
Conclusion
/SEAN GUGGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834