DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Recksiek (US 20130181089 A1) in view of Tzabari (US 20200070953 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Recksiek (US 20130181089 A1) teaches a method of preventing excessive loads in an actuation system comprising a plurality of actuators (Recksiek, figure 1, items A11-A22 and B11-B22), a common power drive unit for driving the actuators (Recksiek, figure 1, item 1P) and a transmission line transmitting drive from the power drive unit to the plurality of actuators (Recksiek, figure 1, items 11 and 12), the method comprising:
sensing an abnormal load within the actuation system (Recksiek, ¶26-¶38) and in response to an abnormal load being sensed, applying a braking force to the disconnected actuators (Recksiek, ¶83 and ¶101, wing tip brake is actuated by a signal from control and monitoring device), except:
in response to an abnormal load being sensed, disconnecting the power drive unit from the plurality of actuators (Recksiek, figure 1, item L, load limiter).
Tzabari (US 20200070953 A1) teaches a method wherein, in response to an abnormal load within the actuation system being sensed (Tzabari, figure 3, item 312, ¶53, control signals used to activate/deactivate clutches based on feedback signals from sensors), disconnecting the power drive unit from the plurality of actuators (Tzabari, ¶25, control signals used to activate/deactivate clutches based on feedback signals from sensors).
Recksiek and Tzabari are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of aircraft control surface drive systems. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the load limiter of Recksiek with the clutches disconnecting a power drive unit in response to an abnormal load of Tzabari with a reasonable expectation of success in order to prevent damage to the actuation system and moved surfaces in the event of excess force or a jam.
Regarding claim 2, Recksiek as modified by Tzabari teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the actuation system is provided in an aircraft comprising a plurality movable surfaces arranged on respective wings (Recksiek, abstract, flaps on each wing of aircraft);
wherein the plurality of movable surfaces are driven by respective actuators operating the movable surfaces (Recksiek, figure 1, items A1, A2, B1, B2, actuators drive movable surfaces);
wherein the braking is effected by means of respective wing tip brakes associated with the actuators of each wing (Recksiek, figure 1, item WTB).
Regarding claim 3, Recksiek as modified by Tzabari teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the disconnection is effected by operation of a clutch (Tzabari, figures 5a-c, 312) arranged between the power drive unit (Tzabari, figures 5a-c, 322) and the plurality of actuators (Tzabari, figures 5a-c, 218, ¶53, actuators driving control surfaces).
Regarding claim 5, Recksiek as modified by Tzabari teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising:
sensing a parameter indicative of system load (Recksiek, ¶94, load sensor detects load); and
determining whether the sensed parameter indicates an abnormal load (Recksiek, ¶94 and ¶108, overload detected when load is above a threshold).
Regarding claim 6, Recksiek as modified by Tzabari teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the system load is one of: a system torque (Recksiek, ¶94, load sensor detects load),
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Recksiek (US 20130181089 A1) in view of Tzabari (US 20200070953 A1) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Ochtman (US 2465601 A).
Regarding claim 4, Recksiek as modified by Tzabari teaches the method as claimed in claim 3, wherein the braking is effected by means of a brake arranged between the power drive unit and the plurality of actuators (Recksiek, figure 1, item L, load limiter between actuators and drive unit; modification with Tzabari has this load limiter as a clutch), except:
wherein the brake is integrated into the clutch.
Ochtman (US 2465601 A) teaches a method wherein braking is effected by means of a brake (Ochtman, figure 7, item 222) integrated into the clutch (Ochtman, figure 7, clutch).
Recksiek as modified by Tzabari and Ochtman are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of actuation system design. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the braking of Recksiek as modified by Tzabari with the brake integrated into the clutch of Ochtman with a reasonable expectation of success in order to automatically brake the system when the drive is disengaged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that:
The Load limiter of Reckseik does not appear to meet the requirement for disconnecting the power drive unit in response to an abnormal load being sensed
The examiner agrees with this assessment, but the alternative rejection still remains (see below)
Tzabari fails to teach the sensors detecting an abnormal load or breaking or a braking response
The examiner respectfully disagrees. ¶25 of Tzabari discusses the operation of clutches in response to failures. ¶44 discusses that a controller is used to control the clutches and that the sensor receives input from position and skew sensors to determine asymmetry, which would indicate abnormal loads. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that this sensor as described would operate to sense abnormal loads. How else would a failure as discussed in ¶25 be sensed? Hence this rejection is maintained.
The present application renders unnecessary the use of mechanical torque limited devices as in Recksiek
Whether or not mechanical torque limiters are necessary is not relevant to the rejections of the claims as written. Applicant doesn’t claim limitations that require more than the current art in this aspect.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Darby (US 12134374 B2) teaches an actuation system with a brake
Harrington (US 20190152583 A1) teaches an actuation system with a monitoring system and clutches
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN ANDREW YANKEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642