DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s Amendment, filed 20 April 2026. The changes and remarks disclosed therein have been considered.
No claims have been cancelled/added by Amendment. Therefore, claims 1-16 are pending in the application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file (JP2023-112068 Japan 07/07/2023).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use recite functional language but are not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Apparatus claims 1-4, 9-12, 15-16’s “sequencer” that is “configured to” perform recited operations;
Because these claim limitation(s) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are not being interpreted to cover only the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata et al (US 11,688,458 B2 hereinafter “Shibata”) in view of Maejima (US 2020/0091175 A1).
Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Shibata, for example in Figs. 1-84, discloses a memory device (e.g., memory device 10; in Fig. 1 related in Figs. 2-84) comprising:
a plurality of bit lines (e.g., BL0-BLm; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84);
a plurality of strings (e.g., strings NS; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84) including a first string (e.g., string NS; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84) and a second string (e.g., string NS; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84) each having one end coupled to the bit lines (see for example in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84), each of the strings including a select transistor connected to one of the bit lines (e.g., SGD0A; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84), a memory cell (e.g., MTs are connected to WL; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84), a first transistor (e.g., SGD1A; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84), and a second transistor coupled in series (e.g., SGD2A; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84);
a first wiring coupled to the first transistor of each of the strings (e.g., wiring connected to SGD1A; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84);
a second wiring coupled to the second transistor of each of the strings (e.g., SGD2A; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84);
a third wiring coupled to the select transistor of each of the strings (e.g., SGD0A; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84);
a word line coupled to the memory cell of each of the strings (e.g., WL0-WL7; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84); and
a sequencer (e.g., 14; in Fig. 1 related in Figs. 2-84), wherein
the sequencer is configured to:
in read operation, apply a first voltage to one of the first wiring and the second wiring (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84), apply a second voltage higher than the first voltage to the other of the first wiring and the second wiring (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84), and apply a turn on voltage to the third wiring (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84), and apply turn on voltage to the third wiring, and wherein the first transistor of the first string and the second transistor of the second string have a first threshold voltage (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84), the second transistor of the first string and the first transistor of the second string have a second threshold voltage different from the first threshold voltage (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84), and the first transistor and the second transistor of each of the string are disposed between the select transistor and the memory cell (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84). Shibata discloses that the data of each page is determined by reads.
However, Shibata is silent with regard to the sequencer is configured to: in a read operation of N (N is an integer equal to or larger than 1) bytes; and in a read operation of 2×N bytes in which the word line is selected, apply a third voltage higher than the first voltage to each of the first wiring and the second wiring,
In the same field of endeavor, Maejima, for example in Figs. 1-25, discloses the sequencer is configured to: in a read operation of N (N is an integer equal to or larger than 1) bytes (e.g., in the bundle mode can hold data of N bytes; see paragraph [0115]); and in a read operation of 2×N bytes in which the word line is selected (e.g., in the normal mode can hold the data 2N bytes; see paragraph [0115]), apply a third voltage higher than the first voltage to each of the first wiring and the second wiring (e.g., the sequencer is configured to change or adjust SGD and SGS voltage for read/write operation; in Figs. 14, 20-21 related in Figs. 1-13, 15-19, 22-25).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of Shibata such as semiconductor memory device and memory system at opposing sides of semiconductor (see for example in Figs. 1-84 of Shibata) by incorporating the teaching of Maejima such as memory system and semiconductor memory device (see for example in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima), for the purpose of controlling the controller sends an instruction to the device to execute the operation in the first mode or the second mode (Maejima, see abstract).
The structure in of the prior art (Shibata and Maejima) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding clam 2, the above Shibata/Maejima, combination discloses further comprising: sense amplifier units (e.g., SAU(0)-SAU(m-1); in Fig. 2 related in Figs. 1, 3-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above) respectively coupled to the bit lines (e.g., BL0-BL(m-1); in Fig. 2 related in Figs. 1, 3-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above), the sense amplifier units being configured to be able to determine data, wherein each of the sense amplifier units includes a third transistor coupled to any of the bit lines (see for example in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above), and the sequencer is further configured to: in a read operation of N bytes in which the word line is selected, control to turn on the third transistors of the number included in the sense amplifier units and corresponding to N bytes, and control to turn off the remaining third transistors (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above); and in a read operation of 2×N bytes in which the word line is selected, control to turn on the third transistors of the number included in the sense amplifier units and corresponding to 2×N bytes (s see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above). Also, the structure in of the prior art (Shibata and Maejima) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 3, the above Shibata/Maejima, combination discloses wherein the read operation of N bytes has first and second modes (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above), and the sequencer is further configured to in the first mode, apply the first voltage and the second voltage to the first wiring and the second wiring, respectively (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above), and in the second mode, apply the second voltage and the first voltage to the first wiring and the second wiring, respectively (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above). Also, the structure in of the prior art (Shibata and Maejima) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 4, the above Shibata/Maejima, combination discloses wherein in the read operation of N bytes, the sequencer is further configured to: in the case of the first mode, control to turn on the third transistor coupled to an even bit line included in the bit lines (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above), and in the case of the second mode, control to turn on the third transistor coupled to an odd bit line included in the bit lines (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above). Also, the structure in of the prior art (Shibata and Maejima) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 5, the above Shibata/Maejima, combination discloses 5. The memory device of claim 3, wherein in the first string coupled to an even bit line among the strings, a threshold voltage of the first transistor is lower than a threshold voltage of the second transistor (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above), and in the second string coupled to an odd bit line among the strings, a threshold voltage of the first transistor is higher than a threshold voltage of the second transistor (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above). Also, the structure in of the prior art (Shibata and Maejima) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 6, the above Shibata/Maejima, combination discloses wherein the first voltage is between a threshold voltage of the first transistor and a threshold voltage of the second transistor in the first string (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above), and between a threshold voltage of the first transistor and a threshold voltage of the second transistor in the second string (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above), and the second voltage is higher than a threshold voltage of the second transistor in the first string and higher than a threshold voltage of the first transistor in the second string (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above). Also, the structure in of the prior art (Shibata and Maejima) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 7, the above Shibata/Maejima, combination discloses further comprising: a substrate, wherein in each of the strings, the first transistor, the second transistor, and the memory cell are arranged in a direction intersecting a surface of the substrate (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above). Also, the structure in of the prior art (Shibata and Maejima) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 8, the above Shibata/Maejima, combination discloses wherein the second voltage is substantially equal to the third voltage (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above). Also, the structure in of the prior art (Shibata and Maejima) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takekida (US 12,068,053 B2) in view of Maejima (US 2022/0301615 A1).
Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
Regarding Independent Claim 9, Takekida, for example in Figs. 1-17, discloses a memory device (e.g., 1; in Fig. 1 related in Figs. 2-17) comprising:
a CMOS layer (e.g., layer 200; in Figs. 12-13 related in Figs. 1-11, 14-17), a first memory layer (e.g., 10A/10B; in Figs. 12-13 related in Figs. 1-11, 14-17), and a second memory layer stacked in a first direction (e.g., 10A/10B; in Figs. 12-13 related in Figs. 1-11, 14-17); and
a sequencer (e.g., 13; in Fig. 1 related in Figs. 2-17),
wherein;
the first memory layer includes a plurality of first bit lines (e.g., BL; in Fig. 3 related in Figs. 1-2, 4-17) and a plurality of first strings (within BLK; in Figs. 1, 6-7 related in Figs. 2-5, 8-17), and one end of each of the first strings is coupled to each of the first bit lines (via sense amplifier SAU; in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-17),
the second memory layer includes a plurality of second bit lines and a plurality of second strings (see for example in Figs. 3, 6-7, 12-13 related in Figs. 1-2, 4-5, 8-11, 14-17), and one end of each of the second strings is coupled to each of the second bit lines (see for example in Figs. 3, 6-7, 12-13 related in Figs. 1-2, 4-5, 8-11, 14-17),
the CMOS layer includes a plurality of sense amplifier units configured to be able to determine data (e.g., SAU; in Fig. 3 related in Figs. 1-2, 4-17), the sense amplifier units are respectively coupled to the first bit lines and are respectively coupled to the second bit lines (see for example in Figs. 3-4, 6-7, 12-13 related in Figs. 1-2, 5, 8-11, 14-17), each of the sense amplifier units includes a first transistor coupled to any of the first bit lines, a second transistor coupled to any of the second bit lines (within SAU; in Figs. 3-4, 6-7, 12-13 related in Figs. 1-2, 5, 8-11, 14-17), and a sense node coupled to each of the first transistor and the second transistor (e.g., ND1/ND2; in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-17), and the sense amplifier units include a plurality of first sense amplifier units and a plurality of second sense amplifier units (see for example in Fig. 3 related in Figs. 1-2, 4-17),
in a read operation, the sequencer is configured to:
apply a voltage of a first logic level to the first transistor of each of the first sense amplifier units (e.g., transistor 24 is turn on/off; in Figs. 3-4 related in Figs. 1-2, 5-17), and apply a voltage of a second logic level different from the first logic level to the second transistor of each of the first sense amplifier units (e.g., transistor 24 is turn off/on; in Figs. 3-4 related in Figs. 1-2, 5-17), and apply a voltage of the second logic level to the first transistor of each of the second sense amplifier units (e.g., transistor 24 is turn on/off; in Figs. 3-4 related in Figs. 1-2, 5-17), and apply a voltage of the first logic level to the second transistor of each of the second sense amplifier units (e.g., transistor 24 is turn on/off; in Figs. 3-4 related in Figs. 1-2, 5-17).
However, Takekida is silent with regard to each of the sense amplifier units includes a third transistor coupled to any of the first bit lines, a fourth transistor coupled to any of the second bit lines, and a first node coupled to each of the third transistor and the fourth transistor, the sequencer is configured to independently control a first control signal suppled to the third transistor and a second control signal supplied to the fourth transistor.
In the same field of endeavor, Maejima, for example in Figs. 1-23, discloses each of the sense amplifier units (e.g., SA of the plurality SAUm; in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22) includes a third transistor (e.g., T9e and T8e/T8o and T9o; in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22) coupled to any of the first bit lines (e.g., BLme/BLmo; in Fig. 20 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-23), a fourth transistor (e.g., T8e and T9e/T9o and T8o; in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22) coupled to any of the second bit lines (e.g., BLmo/BLme; in Fig. 20 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-23), and a first node coupled to each of the third transistor and the fourth transistor (e.g., node connected to T9e and T8e/T8o and T9o; in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22), the sequencer is configured to independently control a first control signal suppled to the third transistor and a second control signal supplied to the fourth transistor (e.g., BLse/BLso; in Fig. 20 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-23).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of Takekida such as semiconductor device (see for example in Figs. 1-17 of Takekida) by incorporating the teaching of Maejima such as semiconductor memory device (see for example in Figs. 1-23 of Maejima), for the purpose of controlling the sense amplifier module determines data stored in the memory cell, based on the voltage of the bit line, and transfers the determination result as read data DAT to the memory controller (Maejima disclosed).
The structure in of the prior art (Takekida and Maejima) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 10, the above Takekida/Maejima, combination discloses wherein the sequencer is further configured to: in the first read operation, control to turn on each of the first transistor of the first sense amplifier unit and the second transistor of the second sense amplifier unit (see for example in Figs. 3-4 related in Figs. 1-2, 5-17 of Takekida and also see in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22 of Maejima, as discussed above), and control to turn off each of the second transistor of the first sense amplifier unit and the first transistor of the second sense amplifier unit (see for example in Figs. 3-4 related in Figs. 1-2, 5-17 of Takekida and also see in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22 of Maejima, as discussed above), and in the second read operation, control to turn on each of the second transistor of the first sense amplifier unit and the first transistor of the second sense amplifier unit (see for example in Figs. 3-4 related in Figs. 1-2, 5-17 of Takekida and also see in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22 of Maejima, as discussed above), and control to turn off each of the first transistor of the first sense amplifier unit and the second transistor of the second sense amplifier unit (see for example in Figs. 3-4 related in Figs. 1-2, 5-17 of Takekida and also see in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22 of Maejima, as discussed above). Also, the structure in of the prior art (Takekida and Maejima) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 11, the above Takekida/Maejima, combination discloses wherein each of the first strings includes a first memory cell (within memory array; in Figs. 1-2, 6-7, 11-13 related in Figs. 3-5, 8-10, 14-17 of Takekida and also see in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22 of Maejima, as discussed above), a third transistor, and a fourth transistor coupled in series (e.g., SGD/SGS; in Figs. 2, 11-13 related in Figs. 1, 3-10, 14-17 of Takekida and also see in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22 of Maejima, as discussed above), the first memory layer further includes a first wiring, a second wiring, and a first word line (see for example in Figs. 11-13 related in Figs. 1-10, 14-17 of Takekida and also see in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22 of Maejima, as discussed above), the first wiring is coupled to the third transistor of each of the first strings (see for example in Figs. 11-13 related in Figs. 1-10, 14-17 of Takekida and also see in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22 of Maejima, as discussed above), the second wiring is coupled to the fourth transistor of each of the first strings (see for example in Figs. 11-13 related in Figs. 1-10, 14-17 of Takekida and also see in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22 of Maejima, as discussed above), and the first word line is coupled to the first memory cell of each of the first strings (see for example in Figs. 11-13 related in Figs. 1-10, 14-17 of Takekida and also see in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22 of Maejima, as discussed above), each of the second strings includes a second memory cell (see for example in Figs. 11-13 related in Figs. 1-10, 14-17 of Takekida and also see in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22 of Maejima, as discussed above), a fifth transistor, and a sixth transistor coupled in series, the second memory layer further includes a third wiring, a fourth wiring, and a second word line, the third wiring is coupled to the fifth transistor of each of the second strings (see for example in Figs. 11-13 related in Figs. 1-10, 14-17 of Takekida and also see in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22 of Maejima, as discussed above), the fourth wiring is coupled to the sixth transistor of each of the second strings, and the second word line is coupled to the second memory cell of each of the second strings and is electrically coupled to the first word line (see for example in Figs. 11-13 related in Figs. 1-10, 14-17 of Takekida and also see in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22 of Maejima, as discussed above), and the sequencer is further configured to in a first read operation in which the first and second word lines are selected (see for example in Figs. 11-13 related in Figs. 1-10, 14-17 of Takekida and also see in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22 of Maejima, as discussed above), apply a first voltage to the first wiring, apply a second voltage higher than the first voltage to the second wiring, apply the first voltage to the third wiring, and apply the second voltage to the fourth wiring (see for example in Figs. 11-13 related in Figs. 1-10, 14-17 of Takekida and also see in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22 of Maejima, as discussed above). Also, the structure in of the prior art (Takekida and Maejima) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 12, the above Takekida/Maejima, combination discloses wherein the sequencer is further configured to in a second read operation in which the first and second word lines are selected (see for example in Figs. 11-13 related in Figs. 1-10, 14-17 of Takekida and also see in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22 of Maejima, as discussed above), apply the second voltage to the first wiring, apply the first voltage to the second wiring, apply the second voltage to the third wiring, and apply the first voltage to the fourth wiring (see for example in Figs. 11-13 related in Figs. 1-10, 14-17 of Takekida and also see in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22 of Maejima, as discussed above). Also, the structure in of the prior art (Takekida) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 13, the above Takekida/Maejima, combination discloses wherein in an even first string coupled to an even first bit line among the first strings, a threshold voltage of the third transistor is lower than a threshold voltage of the fourth transistor (see for example in Figs. 11-13 related in Figs. 1-10, 14-17 of Takekida and also see in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22 of Maejima, as discussed above), in an odd first string coupled to an odd first bit line among the first strings, a threshold voltage of the third transistor is higher than a threshold voltage of the fourth transistor (see for example in Figs. 11-13 related in Figs. 1-10, 14-17 of Takekida and also see in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22 of Maejima, as discussed above), in an even second string coupled to an even second bit line among the second strings, a threshold voltage of the fifth transistor is higher than a threshold voltage of the sixth transistor (see for example in Figs. 11-13 related in Figs. 1-10, 14-17 of Takekida and also see in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22 of Maejima, as discussed above), and in an odd second string coupled to an odd second bit line among the second strings, a threshold voltage of the fifth transistor is lower than a threshold voltage of the sixth transistor (see for example in Figs. 11-13 related in Figs. 1-10, 14-17 of Takekida and also see in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22 of Maejima, as discussed above). Also, the structure in of the prior art (Takekida and Maejima) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 14, the above Takekida/Maejima, combination discloses wherein the first voltage is between a threshold voltage of the third transistor and a threshold voltage of the fourth transistor in the even first string, between a threshold voltage of the third transistor and a threshold voltage of the fourth transistor in the first odd string (see for example in Figs. 11-13 related in Figs. 1-10, 14-17 of Takekida and also see in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22 of Maejima, as discussed above), between a threshold voltage of the fifth transistor and a threshold voltage of the sixth transistor in the second even string, and between a threshold voltage of the fifth transistor and a threshold voltage of the sixth transistor in the second odd string (see for example in Figs. 11-13 related in Figs. 1-10, 14-17 of Takekida and also see in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22 of Maejima, as discussed above), and the second voltage is higher than a threshold voltage of the fourth transistor in the even first string, higher than a threshold voltage of the third transistor in the odd first string (see for example in Figs. 11-13 related in Figs. 1-10, 14-17 of Takekida and also see in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22 of Maejima, as discussed above), higher than a threshold voltage of the fifth transistor in the even second string, and higher than a threshold voltage of the sixth transistor in the odd second string (see for example in Figs. 11-13 related in Figs. 1-10, 14-17 of Takekida and also see in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22 of Maejima, as discussed above). Also, the structure in of the prior art (Takekida and Maejima) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 15, the above Takekida/Maejima, combination discloses wherein each of the sense amplifier units includes a seventh transistor coupled to any of the first bit lines (see for example in Figs. 11-13 related in Figs. 1-10, 14-17 of Takekida and also see in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22 of Maejima, as discussed above), an eighth transistor coupled to any of the second bit lines (see for example in Figs. 11-13 related in Figs. 1-10, 14-17 of Takekida and also see in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22 of Maejima, as discussed above), and a first node coupled to each of the seventh transistor and the eighth transistor, and in the read operation, the sequencer is configured to apply a voltage of the second logic level to each of the seventh transistor and the eighth transistor of each of the sense amplifier units (see for example in Figs. 11-13 related in Figs. 1-10, 14-17 of Takekida and also see in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22 of Maejima, as discussed above). Also, the structure in of the prior art (Takekida and Maejima) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 16, the above Takekida/Maejima, combination discloses wherein each of the sense amplifier units includes a seventh transistor coupled to any of the first bit lines (see for example in Figs. 1, 3-4 related in Figs. 2, 5-17 of Takekida and also see in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22 of Maejima, as discussed above), an eighth transistor coupled to any of the second bit lines, and a first node coupled to each of the seventh transistor and the eighth transistor (see for example in Figs. 1, 3-4 related in Figs. 2, 5-17 of Takekida and also see in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22 of Maejima, as discussed above), and in the read operation, the sequencer is configured to apply a voltage of the first logic level to each of the seventh transistor and the eighth transistor of each of the sense amplifier units, and apply a third voltage to the first node (see for example in Figs. 1, 3-4 related in Figs. 2, 5-17 of Takekida and also see in Figs. 20, 23 related in Figs. 1-19, 21-22 of Maejima, as discussed above). Also, the structure in of the prior art (Takekida and Maejima) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Applicant are reminded that when presenting amendments to claims. In order to be fully responsive, an attempt should be made to point out the patentable novelty (see MPEP 714.04). Additionally, Applicant should point out where and/or how the originally filed disclosure supports the amendment(s) (see MPEP 2163 II A).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection is made in view of Maejima (US 2022/0301615 A1) and Shibata et al (US 11,688,458 B2).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THA-O H BUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825 05/11/2026