DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s Amendment, filed 16 July 2026. The changes and remarks disclosed therein have been considered.
No Claims have been cancelled or added by the Amendment. Therefore, claims 1-16 are pending in the application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file (JP2023-112068 07/07/2023 Japan).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use recite functional language but are not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Apparatus claims 1-4’s “sequencer” that is “configured to” perform recited operations;
Because these claim limitation(s) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are not being interpreted to cover only the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata et al (US 11,688,458 B2 hereinafter “Shibata”) in view of Maejima (US 2020/0091175 A1).
Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Shibata, for example in Figs. 1-84, discloses a memory device (e.g., memory device 10; in Fig. 1 related in Figs. 2-84) comprising:
a plurality of bit lines (e.g., BL0-BLm; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84);
a plurality of strings (e.g., strings NS; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84) including a first string (e.g., string NS; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84) and a second string (e.g., string NS; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84) each having one end coupled to the bit lines (see for example in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84), each of the strings including a select transistor connected to one of the bit lines (e.g., SGD0A; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84), a memory cell (e.g., MTs are connected to WL; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84), a first transistor (e.g., SGD1A; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84), and a second transistor coupled in series (e.g., SGD2A; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84);
a first wiring coupled to the first transistor of each of the strings (e.g., wiring connected to SGD1A; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84);
a second wiring coupled to the second transistor of each of the strings (e.g., SGD2A; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84);
a third wiring coupled to the select transistor of each of the strings (e.g., SGD0A; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84);
a word line coupled to the memory cell of each of the strings (e.g., WL0-WL7; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84); and
a sequencer (e.g., 14; in Fig. 1 related in Figs. 2-84), wherein
the sequencer is configured to:
in read operation, apply a first voltage to one of the first wiring and the second wiring (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84), apply a second voltage higher than the first voltage to the other of the first wiring and the second wiring (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84), and apply a turn on voltage to the third wiring (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84), and apply turn on voltage to the third wiring (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84),
wherein, in each of the strings (e.g., NAND string NS; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84), the first transistor (e.g., SGD1A; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84) and the second transistor (e.g., SGD2A; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84) are disposed between the select transistor (e.g., SGD0A; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84) and the memory cell (e.g., memory cell transistor MT; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84),
wherein, in each of the strings (e.g., NAND string NS; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84), the first transistor (e.g., SGD1A; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84) is disposed between the select transistor (e.g., SGD0A; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84) and the second transistor (e.g., SGD2A; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84), and the second transistor (e.g., SGD2A; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84) is disposed between the first transistor (e.g., SGD1A; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84) and the memory cell (e.g., memory cell transistor MT; in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84),
wherein the first transistor of the first string and the second transistor of the second string have a first threshold voltage (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84), the second transistor of the first string and the first transistor of the second string have a second threshold voltage different from the first threshold voltage (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84). Shibata discloses that the data of each page is determined by reads.
However, Shibata is silent with regard to the sequencer is configured to: in a read operation of N (N is an integer equal to or larger than 1) bytes; and in a read operation of 2×N bytes in which the word line is selected, apply a third voltage higher than the first voltage to each of the first wiring and the second wiring,
In the same field of endeavor, Maejima, for example in Figs. 1-25, discloses the sequencer is configured to: in a read operation of N (N is an integer equal to or larger than 1) bytes (e.g., in the bundle mode can hold data of N bytes; see paragraph [0115]); and in a read operation of 2×N bytes in which the word line is selected (e.g., in the normal mode can hold the data 2N bytes; see paragraph [0115]), apply a third voltage higher than the first voltage to each of the first wiring and the second wiring (e.g., the sequencer is configured to change or adjust SGD and SGS voltage for read/write operation; in Figs. 14, 20-21 related in Figs. 1-13, 15-19, 22-25).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of Shibata such as semiconductor memory device and memory system at opposing sides of semiconductor (see for example in Figs. 1-84 of Shibata) by incorporating the teaching of Maejima such as memory system and semiconductor memory device (see for example in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima), for the purpose of controlling the controller sends an instruction to the device to execute the operation in the first mode or the second mode (Maejima, see abstract).
The structure in of the prior art (Shibata and Maejima) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding clam 2, the above Shibata/Maejima, combination discloses further comprising: sense amplifier units (e.g., SAU(0)-SAU(m-1); in Fig. 2 related in Figs. 1, 3-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above) respectively coupled to the bit lines (e.g., BL0-BL(m-1); in Fig. 2 related in Figs. 1, 3-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above), the sense amplifier units being configured to be able to determine data, wherein each of the sense amplifier units includes a third transistor coupled to any of the bit lines (see for example in Fig. 78 related in Figs. 1-77, 79-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above), and the sequencer is further configured to: in a read operation of N bytes in which the word line is selected, control to turn on the third transistors of the number included in the sense amplifier units and corresponding to N bytes, and control to turn off the remaining third transistors (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above); and in a read operation of 2×N bytes in which the word line is selected, control to turn on the third transistors of the number included in the sense amplifier units and corresponding to 2×N bytes (s see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above). Also, the structure in of the prior art (Shibata and Maejima) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 3, the above Shibata/Maejima, combination discloses wherein the read operation of N bytes has first and second modes (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above), and the sequencer is further configured to in the first mode, apply the first voltage and the second voltage to the first wiring and the second wiring, respectively (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above), and in the second mode, apply the second voltage and the first voltage to the first wiring and the second wiring, respectively (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above). Also, the structure in of the prior art (Shibata and Maejima) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 4, the above Shibata/Maejima, combination discloses wherein in the read operation of N bytes, the sequencer is further configured to: in the case of the first mode, control to turn on the third transistor coupled to an even bit line included in the bit lines (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above), and in the case of the second mode, control to turn on the third transistor coupled to an odd bit line included in the bit lines (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above). Also, the structure in of the prior art (Shibata and Maejima) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 5, the above Shibata/Maejima, combination discloses 5. The memory device of claim 3, wherein in the first string coupled to an even bit line among the strings, a threshold voltage of the first transistor is lower than a threshold voltage of the second transistor (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above), and in the second string coupled to an odd bit line among the strings, a threshold voltage of the first transistor is higher than a threshold voltage of the second transistor (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above). Also, the structure in of the prior art (Shibata and Maejima) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 6, the above Shibata/Maejima, combination discloses wherein the first voltage is between a threshold voltage of the first transistor and a threshold voltage of the second transistor in the first string (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above), and between a threshold voltage of the first transistor and a threshold voltage of the second transistor in the second string (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above), and the second voltage is higher than a threshold voltage of the second transistor in the first string and higher than a threshold voltage of the first transistor in the second string (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above). Also, the structure in of the prior art (Shibata and Maejima) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 7, the above Shibata/Maejima, combination discloses further comprising: a substrate, wherein in each of the strings, the first transistor, the second transistor, and the memory cell are arranged in a direction intersecting a surface of the substrate (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above). Also, the structure in of the prior art (Shibata and Maejima) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 8, the above Shibata/Maejima, combination discloses wherein the second voltage is substantially equal to the third voltage (see for example in Figs. 78-79 related in Figs. 1-77, 80-84 of Shibata and also see in Figs. 1-25 of Maejima, as discussed above). Also, the structure in of the prior art (Shibata and Maejima) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-16 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art made of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach or suggest the claimed limitations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 16 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the Figs. 78-79 of Shibata does not discloses the specific configuration recited in amended independent claim 1 of first and second transistors of first and second strings and their respective thresholds.
In response the Figs. 78-79 of Shibata and in view of Maejima discloses substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Conclusion
/THA-O H BUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825 07/25/2026