DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/12/2024 and 08/06/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Objection/s to the Specification
The title of the invention, “PROJECTION OPTICAL APPARATUS AND PROJECTOR,” is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Objection/s to the Claim/s
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: “first reflector being hold” on line 2 of claim 17. It appears “first reflector being held” is intended. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: “fixing member” on line 2 of claim 19. It appears “fixing members” is intended. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-16 and 19-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Furui (JP 2016133703 A).
Regarding claim 11, Furui teaches a projection optical apparatus (Fig. 1-4) that is removably installed in a light emitting apparatus (1), the light emitting apparatus (1) including an exterior enclosure (2) and a fixing portion (4/41), the exterior enclosure (2) accommodating an image generator (351R/B/G), the projection optical apparatus being configured to project light emitted from the light emitting apparatus (1), the projection optical apparatus comprising: a plurality of lenses (51); a lens barrel (52) holding the plurality of lenses (51); and a first grip (55/56) extending outward from an exterior of the lens barrel (52), wherein the lens barrel (52) includes a lens barrel main body (522) and a flange (53/53A) protruding outward from the lens barrel main body (522), the flange (53/53A) is coupled to the light emitting apparatus (1), the flange (53/53A) is attached to the fixing portion (4/41), and the first grip (55/56) is attached to the flange (53/53A).
Regarding claim 12, Furui further teaches the plurality of lenses (51) includes a projection lens disposed in a position closest to an enlargement side of the plurality of lenses (51), the lens barrel (52) includes a projection part (521/523) extending outward from the lens barrel main body (522) and holding the projection lens, and the first grip (55/56) extends outward beyond the projection part (521/523; Fig. 2-4).
Regarding claim 13, Furui further teaches the lens barrel main body (522) has a cylindrical shape around an optical axis of a lens of the plurality of lenses (51), and the flange (53/53A) protrudes outward from the lens barrel main body (522) in a radial direction thereof (Fig. 2-4).
Regarding claim 14, Furui further teaches a cover member (522) covering part of the lens barrel (52).
Regarding claim 15, Furui further teaches the first grip (55/56) is removably attached to the flange (53/53A).
Regarding claim 16, Furui further teaches the lens barrel (52) includes an attachment part (53A/535/N/5611/5621) to which the first grip (55/56) is attached.
Regarding claim 19, Furui further teaches the flange (53/53A) includes fixing members (screws), and the fixing members (screws) are fixed to fixing portion (4/41)s of the light emitting apparatus (1).
Regarding claim 20, Furui further teaches a light modulator (351R/G/B) modulating light emitted from a light source (311); and the projection optical apparatus according to claim 11.
Regarding claim 21, Furui further teaches a focus adjuster (523) that performs focus adjustment on an image displayed.
Regarding claim 22, Furui further teaches the plurality of lenses (51) includes a focusing lens (51), and the focusing lens is disposed on the light emitting section (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 23, Furui further teaches the flange (53/53A) is removably attached to the fixing portion (4/41) of the light emitting apparatus (1; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 24, Furui further teaches a first size of the flange (53/53A) viewed in a first direction along the radial direction is equal to a second size of the projection part (521/523) viewed in the first direction (Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - AIA 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furui in view of Kuroda (US 20190219802 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Furui further teaches the lens barrel (52) includes a light incident section through which light emitted from the light emitting apparatus (1) passes along a first optical axis to a light emitting section (Fig. 1-4).
Furui does not teach a first reflector being held by the lens barrel (52), wherein light emitted from the light incident section and reflected off the first reflector passes along a second optical axis intersecting with the first optical axis to the light emitting section.
Kuroda teaches a first reflector (13) being held by the lens barrel (18), wherein light emitted from the light incident section (11) and reflected off the first reflector (13) passes along a second optical axis (CL2) intersecting with the first optical axis (CL1) to the light emitting section (12).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Furui with Kuroda; because it makes handling of the projection lens of Kuroda easier to manage during lens replacement.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Furui and Kuroda consequently results in the first grip (55/56 of Furui) is attached to the light incident section (Fig. 2-4 of Furui).
Conclusion
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or:
(571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882