DETAILED ACTION
Status
The filing on 06/04/2026 amended claims 11, 17, 19 and added claim 25. Claims 11-25 are pending and rejected.
Objection/s to the Application, Drawings and Claims
The filing on 06/04/2026 appropriately amended the title, claims 17 and 19; hence the objection/s to the title, the claims 17 and 19 made in the last office action are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-16 and 19-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Furui (JP 2016133703 A).
Regarding claim 11, Furui teaches a projection optical apparatus (Fig. 1-4) that is removably installed in a light emitting apparatus (1), the light emitting apparatus (1) including an exterior enclosure (2) and a fixing portion (4/41), the exterior enclosure (2) accommodating an image generator (351R/B/G), the projection optical apparatus being configured to project light emitted from the light emitting apparatus (1), the projection optical apparatus comprising: a plurality of lenses (51) defining an optical axis (OA); a lens barrel (52) holding the plurality of lenses (51); and a first grip (55/56) extending outward from an exterior of the lens barrel (52), wherein the lens barrel (52) includes a lens barrel main body (522) and a flange (53/53A) protruding outward from the lens barrel main body (522), the flange (53/53A) is coupled to the light emitting apparatus (1), the flange (53/53A) is attached to the fixing portion (4/41), and the first grip (55/56) is attached to the flange (53/53A); and includes a first arm (561), a second arm (562), and a coupling section (563) mechanically joining the first and second arms (561, 562), the coupling section (563) is spatially shifted from the lens barrel main body in a direction orthogonal to the optical axis (OA), and the coupling section (563) does not overlap the optical axis (OA; Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12, Furui further teaches the plurality of lenses (51) includes a projection lens disposed in a position closest to an enlargement side of the plurality of lenses (51), the lens barrel (52) includes a projection part (521/523) extending outward from the lens barrel main body (522) and holding the projection lens, and the first grip (55/56) extends outward beyond the projection part (521/523; Fig. 2-4).
Regarding claim 13, Furui further teaches the lens barrel main body (522) has a cylindrical shape around an optical axis (OA) of a lens of the plurality of lenses (51), and the flange (53/53A) protrudes outward from the lens barrel main body (522) in a radial direction thereof (Fig. 2-4).
Regarding claim 14, Furui further teaches a cover member (522) covering part of the lens barrel (52).
Regarding claim 15, Furui further teaches the first grip (55/56) is removably attached to the flange (53/53A).
Regarding claim 16, Furui further teaches the lens barrel (52) includes an attachment part (53A/535/N/5611/5621) to which the first grip (55/56) is attached.
Regarding claim 19, Furui further teaches the flange (53/53A) includes fixing members (screws), and the fixing members (screws) are fixed to fixing portion (4/41)s of the light emitting apparatus (1).
Regarding claim 20, Furui further teaches a light modulator (351R/G/B) modulating light emitted from a light source (311); and the projection optical apparatus according to claim 11.
Regarding claim 21, Furui further teaches a focus adjuster (523) that performs focus adjustment on an image displayed.
Regarding claim 22, Furui further teaches the plurality of lenses (51) includes a focusing lens (51), and the focusing lens is disposed on the light emitting section (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 23, Furui further teaches the flange (53/53A) is removably attached to the fixing portion (4/41) of the light emitting apparatus (1; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 24, Furui further teaches a first size of the flange (53/53A) viewed in a first direction along the radial direction is equal to a second size of the projection part (521/523) viewed in the first direction (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 25, Furui further teaches the coupling section (563) extends along a direction intersecting the optical axis (OA) and joins the first and second arms (561, 562) to form a U-shape (Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - AIA 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furui in view of Kuroda (US 20190219802 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Furui further teaches the lens barrel (52) includes a light incident section through which light emitted from the light emitting apparatus (1) passes along the optical axis (OA) to a light emitting section (Fig. 1-4).
Furui does not teach a first reflector being held by the lens barrel (52), wherein light emitted from the light incident section and reflected off the first reflector passes along a second optical axis intersecting with the first optical axis to the light emitting section.
Kuroda teaches a first reflector (13) being held by the lens barrel (18), wherein light emitted from the light incident section (11) and reflected off the first reflector (13) passes along a second optical axis (CL2) intersecting with the first optical axis (CL1) to the light emitting section (12).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Furui with Kuroda; because it makes handling of the projection lens of Kuroda easier to manage during lens replacement.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Furui and Kuroda consequently results in the first grip (55/56 of Furui) is attached to the light incident section (Fig. 2-4 of Furui).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 11 have been fully considered but are found not persuasive; hence the rejection/s of all pending claims are maintained.
Regarding claim 11, applicant/s argue,
In contrast, claim 11 affirmatively recites a different mechanical interface of resulting elements and “spatially shifted... orthogonal to the optical axis”, such that claim 11 grip subject matter is structurally distinguished from Furui. Furthermore, the recited negative limitation precludes potential use of Furui's flush/parallel mounting alignment. Secondary reference Kuroda has no disclosure of exterior grips or any other subject matter specifically relevant to such features.
For at least this reason, the references fail to teach or suggest each and every limitation of independent claim 11. Independent claim 11 is patentably distinct from the cited art and is allowable. (Remarks; p. 7-8).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Furui clearly and unambiguously teaches “a first arm (561), a second arm (562), and a coupling section (563) mechanically joining the first and second arms (561, 562), the coupling section (563) is spatially shifted from the lens barrel main body in a direction orthogonal to the optical axis (OA), and the coupling section (563) does not overlap the optical axis (OFig. 4).”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or:
(571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882