DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: expansion device (e.g. an expansion valve or turbine) in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites “cooling air” but it is unclear if said cooling air refers to the cooling air as recited in claim 7, from which claim 13 depends. Claim 13 is interpreted not to refer to the cooling air as recited in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zug (US 20200070986) in view of Klimpel (US 20150013355).
Regarding claim 1,
Referring to Fig. 2, Zug teaches an environmental control system (ECS) 200 of an aircraft (see par. 2), comprising: a vaper compression system (VCS) 210 having a compressor 212; and an air cycle machine (ACM) 204 including a first turbine 208 and a drive shaft 218 coupled to the first turbine.
Zug does not teach a case; and a driven shaft coupled to the compressor, wherein the compressor and the driven shaft are sealed within the case, the first turbine 208 and the drive shaft 218 coupled to the first turbine and which are outside the case, wherein the drive shaft and the driven shaft are coupled to each other via a coupling.
Referring to Figs. 2-3, Klimpel, directed to an aircraft air conditioning system, teaches a case 92; and a driven shaft 82b coupled to a compressor 72, wherein the compressor and the driven shaft are sealed within the case (see pars. 32, 62), a first driving machine (e.g. compressor) 18 and a drive shaft 82a coupled to the first driving machine and which are outside the case 92, wherein the drive shaft 82a and the driven shaft 82b are coupled to each other via a coupling 86.
Klimpel teaches that said case prevents refrigerant circulating in a refrigerant circuit of case 92 from exiting the case 92 (see par. 62). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Zug by Klimpel with the motivation of preventing refrigerant circulating in the refrigerant circuit 210 from exiting.
Regarding claim 2,
Zug as modified above teaches wherein the coupling is a magnetic coupling (see Klimpel, par. 62).
Regarding claims 3-5,
Zug as modified above does not teach wherein the coupling is an electromagnetic coupling, or a gear coupling, or wherein the coupling is a clutch coupling.
However, the examiner takes official notice that the use of, and advantages of electromagnetic couplings, gear couplings, or clutch couplings would be well known to one of ordinary skill in the art, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Zug as modified above with the motivation of obtaining the known advantages of electromagnetic couplings (e.g. reduction of friction and improved accuracy and control), gear couplings (e.g. easily increasing or decreasing speed or torque of the shafts), or clutch couplings (e.g. allowing for engagement and disengagement of the shafts).
Regarding claim 6,
Zug teaches wherein the VCS includes a condenser 216, an evaporator 214 and an expansion device 213 arranged in a cycle with the compressor, and wherein the evaporator receives and cools a first airflow and directs the first airflow toward a cargo bay 201 of the aircraft (e.g. via line 226, see par. 17).
Regarding claim 7,
Zug teaches wherein the ACM further includes a heat exchanger 206 that receives cooling air (e.g. ram air via line 264 or bay air via line 270 or pressurized air via line 240) and directs a second airflow to the first turbine 208 (e.g. via line 222), and the first turbine extracts energy from the second airflow to drive the compressor (see par. 19).
Regarding claim 8,
Zug teaches wherein the heat exchanger is a crossflow heat exchanger (impliedly taught in par. 19).
Regarding claim 12,
Zug teaches wherein the VCS further includes a conduit 246 extending from the evaporator to the cargo bay and a fan 248 is disposed in the conduit to direct air from the cargo bay toward the evaporator to thereby recirculate the first airflow.
Regarding claim 13,
Zug teaches wherein the condenser receives and heats cooling air (see Fig. 2), but does not teach wherein the condenser directs the cooling air toward a de-icing system, but the examiner takes official notice that the use of, and advantages of, using heated air in a de-icing system (e.g. to de-ice the aircraft) would be well known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 14,
Zug as modified above teaches wherein the case is hermetically sealed (see Klimpel, par. 62).
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zug (US 20200070986) in view of Klimpel (US 20150013355) and Bruno ( US 20160312648).
Regarding claim 9,
Zug does not teach wherein the ACM further includes: a water separator that receives the second airflow from the first turbine and removes water from the second airflow; and a second turbine that is connected to the first turbine by a second turbine shaft, wherein the second turbine receives the second airflow from the water separator and the first and second turbines drive the compressor, wherein the second airflow is directed from the second turbine toward a cabin of the aircraft.
Bruno, directed to an aircraft environmental control system, teaches a water separator 270 that receives a second airflow from a first turbine 247 and removes water from the second airflow; and a second turbine 243 that is connected to the first turbine by a second turbine shaft 249, wherein the second turbine receives the second airflow from the water separator and the first and second turbines drive a compressor 244, wherein the second airflow is directed from the second turbine toward a cabin 202 of the aircraft.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Zug by Bruno with the motivation of dehumidifying an airflow which may increase the comfort of users of the system.
Regarding claims 10-11,
Zug as modified above does not wherein the ACM further comprises: a first conduit between the first turbine and the heat exchanger, and a first control valve in the first conduit; a second conduit between the first turbine and the water separator, and a second control valve in the second conduit; and a third conduit between the heat exchanger and the water separator, and a third control valve in the third conduit, wherein the first turbine is bypassed by closing the first and second control valves and opening the third control valve.
Bruno teaches wherein the ACM further comprises: a first conduit between a first turbine and an inlet airflow; a second conduit between the first turbine and the water separator 270 ; and a third conduit between the inlet airflow and the water separator, and a control valve in the third conduit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Zug by Bruno with the motivation of optionally bypassing the turbine and thereby, for example, reducing wear of the turbine.
Please note that Zug as modified above does not teach a first control valve in the first conduit, and a second control valve in the second conduit, wherein the first turbine is bypassed by closing the first and second control valves and opening the third control valve.
but the examiner takes official notice that the use of, and advantages of, control valves would be well known to one of ordinary skill in the art, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Zug as modified above with the motivation of further controlling the flow through the conduits.
Conclusion
/Steve S TANENBAUM/ Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763