DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application CN 202311183893.3 filed in the China National Intellectual Property Administration (CNIPA) on September 4, 2023 and receipt of a certified copy thereof.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 9, “each of the plurality of first electrode pads” should read --a corresponding one of the plurality of first electrode pads--.
In claim 2, line 2, “a wall surface of each of the plurality of positioning holes” should read --a wall surface of a corresponding one of the plurality of positioning holes--.
In claim 3, lines 2-3, “a conductive pillar used to bond to each of the plurality of second electrode pads” should read --a conductive pillar bonded to a corresponding one of the plurality of second electrode pads--.
In claim 6, line 13, “each of the plurality of first electrode pads” should read --a corresponding one of the plurality of first electrode pads--.
In claim 7, line 2, “a wall surface of each of the plurality of positioning holes” should read --a wall surface of a corresponding one of the plurality of positioning holes--.
In claim 8, line 2, “a conductive pillar used to bond to each of the plurality of second electrode pads” should read --a conductive pillar bonded to a corresponding one of the plurality of second electrode pads--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lai TW I776678 B1 (the original document and a machine-generated English translation thereof are used in rejection).
Regarding claim 1, Lai teaches a package structure (e.g., 2, Fig. 1E; translation [7]-[49]), comprising:
a first electronic element (e.g., 20, Fig. 1E) having a plurality of first electrode pads (e.g., 200, Fig. 1E);
a positioning layer (e.g., 21, Fig. 1E; translation [19], [41]) formed on the first electronic element and having a plurality of positioning holes (e.g., 210, Fig. 1E) exposing the plurality of first electrode pads; and
a second electronic element (e.g., 22, Fig. 1E) disposed on the positioning layer and having a plurality of second electrode pads (e.g., 220, Fig. 1E), wherein the plurality of second electrode pads are provided with a plurality of conductive bumps (e.g., 25, Fig. 1E; translation [28]) accommodated in the plurality of positioning holes, so that each of the plurality of conductive bumps is in contact with each of the plurality of first electrode pads (e.g., Fig. 1E), such that the second electronic element is electrically connected to the first electronic element via the plurality of conductive bumps (e.g., Fig. 1E).
Regarding claim 3, Lai teaches the package structure of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of conductive bumps includes a conductive pillar (e.g., 231, Fig. 1E; translation [24]) used to bond to each of the plurality of second electrode pads and a conductive bonding material (e.g., 232, Fig. 1E; translation [25]) formed on the conductive pillar.
Regarding claim 4, Lai teaches the package structure of claim 3, wherein the conductive bonding material is a solder material (e.g., translation [25]).
Regarding claim 5, Lai teaches the package structure of claim 1, wherein a material for forming the positioning layer is an organic insulating material (e.g., translation [41]).
Regarding claim 6, Lai teaches a method of fabricating a package structure (e.g., Figs. 1A-1E; translation [7]-[49]), comprising:
providing a first electronic element (e.g., 20, Fig. 1A) having a plurality of first electrode pads (e.g., 200, Fig. 1A) and a second electronic element (e.g., 22, Figs. 1B-1C) having a plurality of second electrode pads (e.g., 220, Figs. 1B-1C);
forming a positioning layer (e.g., 21, Fig. 1A) on the first electronic element, and forming a plurality of conductive bumps (e.g., 25, Figs. 1B-1C) on the plurality of second electrode pads of the second electronic element, wherein the positioning layer has a plurality of positioning holes (e.g., 210, Fig. 1A) exposing the plurality of first electrode pads;
inserting the plurality of conductive bumps into the plurality of positioning holes, so that the second electronic element is bonded onto the positioning layer (e.g., Fig. 1D; translation [45], [46]), wherein the plurality of conductive bumps are free from being in contact with the plurality of first electrode pads in the plurality of positioning holes (e.g., Fig. 1D; the conductive bumps 25 do not contact the first electrode pads 200 in the holes 210); and
heating the plurality of conductive bumps (e.g., Fig. 1E; translation [46], [47]), so that each of the plurality of conductive bumps is in contact with each of the plurality of first electrode pads (e.g., Fig. 1E), wherein the second electronic element is electrically connected to the first electronic element via the plurality of conductive bumps (e.g., Fig. 1E).
Regarding claim 8, Lai teaches the method of claim 6, wherein each of the plurality of conductive bumps includes a conductive pillar (e.g., 231, Figs. 1B-1C; translation [24]) used to bond to each of the plurality of second electrode pads and a conductive bonding material (e.g., 232, Figs. 1B-1C; translation [25]) formed on the conductive pillar.
Regarding claim 9, Lai teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the conductive bonding material is a solder material (e.g., translation [25]).
Regarding claim 10, Lai teaches the method of claim 6, wherein a material for forming the positioning layer is an organic insulating material (e.g., translation [41]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if amended to overcome the claim objection stated above.
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if amended to overcome the claim objection stated above.
Conclusion
/BO B JANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 June 12, 2026