Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 12, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 4, & 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 2, “wherein the insert has at least three partial regions in it’s region arranged in the lid”, in ll. 1-2, should read “ wherein the insert has at least three partial regions arranged in the lid”.
In claim 4, “the external diameter of which fourth partial region is smaller than the external diameter of the third partial region,” in ll. 1-2, should read “ the external diameter of the fourth partial region is smaller than the external diameter of the third partial region,”.
In claim 7, “and; a circuit board which extends…” in ll. 7-8, should read “and a circuit board which extends…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations "a lid substantially designed in a shape of a hollow cylinder" in line 2, and “an insert substantially in a shape of a hollow cylinder,” in line 5, where the term “substantially” is considered indefinite in the claim limitations. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Claims 2-6 are rejected by virtue of dependency to claim 1, and do not rectify the defect.
Claims 2-6 recite the limitation “Assembly according to…” in line 1, which was previously disclosed in claim 1. The repeated recitation introduces indefiniteness, for the limitations in the claims. For examination purposes, examiner interprets “Assembly according to…”, to refer to the same previously disclosed limitation, “Assembly for a sensor,” in claim 1. Claims 3-4 are rejected by virtue of dependency to claim 2, and claim 6 is rejected by virtue of dependency to claim 5, and do not rectify the defect.
Claim 7 recites the limitations “an assembly comprising a lid substantially configured in a shape of a hollow cylinder…” in line 2, and “and an insert substantially in a shape of a hollow cylinder inserted into the lid…” in ll. 3-4, where the term “substantially” is considered indefinite in the claim limitations. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Claims 8-11 are rejected by virtue of dependency to claim 7, and do not rectify the defect.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “wherein the spring-loaded element is selected from the group consisting of a spring contact,” in ll. 1-2, without prior disclosure. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the group” limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the examiner interprets this claim limitation as “wherein the spring-loaded element is selected from a group consisting of a spring contact,”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soyama et al. (US 2011/0018529 A1, Pub. Date Jan. 27, 2011, hereinafter Soyama), in view of Contant (US 2020/0309975 A1, Pub. Date Oct. 1, 2020, hereinafter Contant).
Regarding independent claim 1, Soyama, teaches:
Assembly for a sensor, the assembly comprising (Figs. 1-2; [0003], [0011]-[0012], [0031], [0047], [0049], [0057], [0080]-[0082], & [0090]-[0092]: teaches the base sensor assembly, sensor unit 70): a lid substantially designed in a shape of a hollow cylinder and closed at a first end (Figs. 1-4; [0021]-[0025], [0050], [0055], [0080], & [Claim 18]: discloses the housing body/cover, which constitute the lid of a hollow cylinder with a closed first end), and an insert substantially in a shape of a hollow cylinder, inserted into the lid in such a way that a first end of the insert is facing the coil and a second end of the insert protrudes from the lid (Figs. 2, 5, & 7; [0021]-[0026], [0047], [0049]-[0053], [0055]-[0059], [0061], [0065], [0067], [0076]-[0077], & [0080]: rotor 40 (insert) is a hollow cylinder, inserted into the housing (lid) and the cylindrical portion protrudes out to connect to the shaft),
Soyama, is silent in regard to:
a coil arranged at the first end of the lid,
wherein the insert has at least one latching hook located interiorly designed to be spring-loaded orthogonal to a longitudinal axis of the insert.
However, Contant, further teaches:
a coil arranged at the first end in the lid (Figs. 3, 6, & 15; [0003]-[0004], [0041], [0048]-[0049], [0052], [0088], & [0090]: discloses the coil arrangement, coil 136 arranged in the first end in the lid/cap120),
wherein the insert has at least one latching hook located interiorly designed to be spring-loaded orthogonal to a longitudinal axis of the insert (Fig. 6; [0049], [0052], & [0058]: latches are interior and spring-loaded orthogonally (radially outward) on the internal assembly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the insert (rotor) of Soyama to include latching hooks and inductive coil mechanisms as taught by Contant in order to facilitate a snap-fit assembly, reduce the part count by eliminating separate retainers (external fasteners), simplify and improve the manufacturing process by allowing the insert to self-secure within the housing or against internal components upon insertion, further allowing the rotational sensor of Soyama to be hermetically sealed and wirelessly communicate, yielding predictable results (KBR).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Soyama, teaches:
Assembly according to claim 1 (Figs. 1-2; [0003], [0011]-[0012], [0031], [0037], [0047], [0049], [0057], [0067], [0076], [0080]-[0082], & [0090]-[0092]),
Soyama, is silent in regard to:
wherein the insert has at least three partial regions in it’s region arranged in the lid, wherein a first partial region borders a second partial region, the second partial region borders a third partial region and the third partial region borders the second end of the lid, and wherein an external diameter of the first partial region is larger than a diameter of the second partial region and the external diameter of the second partial region is larger than an external diameter of the third partial region.
However, Contant, further teaches:
wherein the insert has at least three partial regions in it’s region arranged in the lid (Figs. 15-16; [0090]: carrier 240 (insert) with surfaces (regions) 241a (third partial region), 241b (second partial region), and 241c (first partial region), arranged withing the housing lid (cap 220)), wherein a first partial region borders a second partial region ([0090]), the second partial region borders a third partial region ([0090]), and the third partial region borders the second end of the lid ([0090]-[0092] & [0097]: surface 241a (third partial region) extends to upper end 240a, engaging the top 221 of cap 220 (lid)), and wherein an external diameter of the first partial region is larger than a diameter of the second partial region ([0090]) and the external diameter of the second partial region is larger than an external diameter of the third partial region ([0090]: teaches 241c (1st region) > 241b (2nd region) > 241a (3rd region)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the insert (rotor) of Soyama to include three defined partial regions with progressively decreasing cylindrical diameters as taught by Contant, to improve the assembly process, allowing the insert to guide itself into the lid (housing cover) through progressively tighter clearances, to ensure precise concentric alignment of the insert within the lid before final latching or spring-loading occurs, where the combination would yield predictable results (KBR).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Soyama, teaches:
Assembly according to claim 2 (Figs. 1-2; [0003], [0011]-[0012], [0031], [0037], [0047], [0049], [0057], [0067], [0076], [0080]-[0082], & [0090]-[0092]), wherein an intermediate space between an interior wall of the lid and the second partial region and the third partial region of the insert (Figs. 2, 5, & 7; [0055]-[0056], [0067], [0076]: disk portion 42 (first region), annular position portion 44 (second region), cylindrical portion 41 (third region), rotor 40 (insert), penetrating hole 21 (interior wall), Fig. 5 shows the space between the lid wall and the rotor regions 41 and 44)
Soyama, is silent in regard to:
is filled with an adhesive.
However, Contant, further teaches:
is filled with an adhesive ([0053 & [0058]: teaches using adhesive for securing the insert to the housing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Soyama by filling the intermediate space between the lid and the insert regions with an adhesive, as taught by Contant, in order to fix the insert within the lid, prevent vibration/rattling between the components, and/or to hermetically seal the internal sensor elements from the external environment, yielding predictable results (KBR).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Soyama, teaches:
Assembly according to claim 2 (Figs. 1-4 & 7; [0003], [0011]-[0012], [0031], [0037], [0042], [0047], [0049], [0056]-[0057], [0067]-[0068], [0076], [0080]-[0082], & [0090]-[0092]), wherein the insert has a fourth partial region outside the lid (Fig. 4; [0055]-[0056], [0068] & [0077]: rotor 40 (insert) with cylindrical portion 41, with extending portion (fourth region) through and outside the housing cover 20 (lid) via the penetrating hole 21, Fig. 4 shows the cylindrical portion 41 protruding outside the lid),
Soyama, is silent in regard to:
the external diameter of which fourth partial region is smaller than the external diameter of the third partial region, wherein a first seal is arranged on an outer side of the fourth partial region.
However, Contant, further teaches:
the external diameter of which fourth partial region is smaller than the external diameter of the third partial region ([0047] & [0089]-[0090]: teaches diameter reduction for steps/seals where 241a (3rd region with protruding partial region constituting the 4th region) is less than surface 241b (2nd region) and a larger radius than adjacent structure (e.g., light guide 228) and the annual recess provides a smaller diameter), wherein a first seal is arranged on an outer side of the fourth partial region (Fig. 3; [0047]: teaches sealing arrangement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the protruding insert (rotor) of Soyama to include a fourth partial region with a smaller diameter (e.g., a groove or stepped tip) located outside the lid, and to arrange a seal (such as an O-ring or wiper seal) in this region as taught by Contant, to provide an improved positive physical seal, that would enhance the sensor’s reliability by more effectively preventing dust and moisture to enter the housing, yielding predictable results (KBR).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Soyama, teaches:
Assembly according to claim 1 (Figs. 1-2; [0003], [0011]-[0012], [0031], [0037], [0047], [0049], [0050]-[0052], [0057], [0067], [0076], [0080]-[0082], & [0090]-[0092]), wherein the insert has a first positioning element in the form of a projection which engages the coil (Figs. 2, 5, & 7; [0049], [0055], [0067], & [0071]-[0072]: teaches rotor 40 (insert) with annular positioning portion 44 (1st position element/projection) engaging return spring 50 (coil)),
Soyama, is silent in regard to:
and has a second positioning element in the form of a track which is setup to receive a circuit board pushed through the second end of the insert.
However, Contant, further teaches:
and has a second positioning element in the form of a track which is setup to receive a circuit board pushed through the second end of the insert (Fig. 3 & 11; [0064], [0067]-[0068], [0070], [0072], [0076]-[0077], & [0089]: teaches recesses 174 (2nd position element/track) in carrier 140/battery holder170 (carrier), where the aligned recesses receive circuit board 195 pushed/seated into the insert).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the insert (rotor) of Soyama to include tracks for receiving a circuit board as taught by Contant, where the modification would allow the sensor electronics to be integrated into the rotating body itself, creating a modular, self-contained sensing unit, or to improve and facilitate easier assembly by sliding the circuit board into pre-aligned tracks on the insert, reducing the need for separate fastening clips on the main body, and yielding predictable expected results.
Regarding dependent claim 6, Soyama, teaches:
Assembly according to claim 1 (Figs. 1-2; [0003], [0011]-[0012], [0031], [0037], [0047], [0049], [0057], [0067], [0076], [0080]-[0082], & [0090]-[0092]),
Soyama, is silent in regard to:
wherein the insert has a third positioning element at a second end, which is setup to align a light source of the circuit board.
However, Contant, further teaches:
wherein the insert has a third positioning element at a second end (Figs. 3, 8, 16, & 18; [Abstract], [0041], [0057], [0070], [0072], [0076]-[0077], [0089], [0095], [0105], [0107], & [Claim 1]: light guide 143/228 (third positioning element) at upper connection member 150 (second end of insert)), which is setup to align a light source of the circuit board (Figs. 3, 8, 16, & 18; [Abstract], [0041], [0057], [0070], [0072], [0076]-[0077], [0089], [0095], [0105], [0107], & [Claim 1]).
It is recognized that the citations and evidence provided above are derived from potentially different embodiments of a single reference. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to employ combinations and sub-combinations of these complementary embodiments, where the modification of the insert (rotor) of Soyama to include a positioning element (such as a light guide or optical coupler) as taught by Contant, would allow for optical status indication or data transmission from the rotating body to the stationary housing (or vice versa) without physical contact, that would provide a robust communication channel that maintains alignment during rotation or vibration, as taught by Contant’s alignment of the light guide with the LED, and the combination of prior art elements according to known methods would yield predictable results (KBR).
Regarding independent claim 7, Soyama, teaches:
A sensor, comprising; an assembly comprising (Figs. 1-2; [0003], [0011]-[0012], [0031], [0047], [0049], [0057], [0080]-[0082], & [0090]-[0092]: teaches the base sensor assembly, sensor unit 70) a lid substantially configured in a shape of a hollow cylinder and closed at a first end (Figs. 1-4; [0021]-[0025], [0050], [0055], [0080], & [Claim 18]: discloses the housing body/cover, which constitute the lid of a hollow cylinder with a closed first end); and an insert substantially in a shape of a hollow cylinder inserted into the lid in such a way that a first end of the insert faces the coil and a second end of the insert protrudes from the lid (Figs. 2, 5, & 7; [0021]-[0026], [0047], [0049]-[0053], [0055]-[0059], [0061], [0065], [0067], [0076]-[0077], & [0080]: rotor 40 is a hollow cylinder, inserted into the housing (lid) and the cylindrical portion protrudes out to connect to the shaft),
Soyama, is silent in regard to:
a coil arranged at a first end in the lid, wherein the insert has at least one latching hook located in the interior thereof configured to be spring-loaded orthogonal to a longitudinal axis of the insert; and a circuit board which extends through the second end of the insert into the assembly and latched with the latching hook.
However, Contant, further teaches:
a coil arranged at the first end in the lid (Figs. 3, 6, & 15; [0003]-[0004], [0041], [0048]-[0049], [0052], [0088], & [0090]: discloses the coil arrangement, coil 136 arranged in the first end in the lid/cap120), wherein the insert has at least one latching hook located in the interior thereof configured to be spring-loaded orthogonal to a longitudinal axis of the insert (Fig. 6; [0049], [0052], [0058], & [0098]: latches are interior and spring-loaded orthogonally (radially outward) on the internal assembly); and a circuit board which extends through the second end of the insert into the assembly and latched with the latching hook (Figs. 3, 8, 16, & 18; [Abstract], [0041], [0048]-[0049], [0052], [0057]-[0058], [0070], [0072], [0076]-[0077], [0089], [0095], [0105], [0107], & [Claim 1]: teaches circuit board 195 held by the insert with finger 163 (latching hooks)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the insert (rotor) of Soyama to include latching hooks and inductive coil mechanisms as taught by Contant in order to facilitate a snap-fit assembly, reduce the part count by eliminating separate retainers (external fasteners), simplify and improve the manufacturing process by allowing the insert to self-secure within the housing or against internal components upon insertion, further allowing the rotational sensor of Soyama to be hermetically sealed and wirelessly communicate, and substituting Soyama’s clips with Contant’s latching hooks on the insert would further streamline the assembly, allowing the insert and circuit board to be assembled as a single unit before insertion into the housing, improving the manufacturing, and yielding predictable results (KBR).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Soyama, teaches:
The sensor according to claim 7 (Figs. 1-2; [0003], [0011]-[0012], [0031], [0047], [0049], [0057], [0080]-[0082], & [0090]-[0092]),
Soyama, is silent in regard to:
having at least one spring-loaded element which electrically contacts the coil and the circuit board.
However, Contant, further teaches:
having at least one spring-loaded element which electrically contacts the coil and the circuit board ([0048]-[0049], [0052], [0057]-[0058], [0068]-[0072], [0088], [0098], & [0103]: teaches the coil and spring-loaded electrical contacts (e.g., metal tabs 290) to connect the power source battery to the circuit board to facilitate assembly).
It is recognized that the citations and evidence provided above are derived from potentially different embodiments of a single reference. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to employ combinations and sub-combinations of these complementary embodiments, where the modification of Soyama’s sensor assembly to include a coil connected via wires, however Contant also teaches the use of spring-loaded electrical compo9nents to connect components, such as the battery, to the circuit board, to allow for movement and easy assembly, and would have been obvious to a POSITA to substitute the wired connection of coil 136 with spring-loaded contacts (analogous to tabs 290) to facilitate the modular assembly of the spool assembly 130, creating an assembly having a spring-loaded element that electrically contacts the coil and circuit board, and the combination of prior art elements according to known methods would yield predictable results (KBR).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Soyama, teaches:
The sensor according to claim 8 (Figs. 1-2; [0003], [0005], [0011]-[0012], [0020], [0024]-[0025], [0031], [0047], [0049], [0050], [0055], [0057]-[0059], [0067], [0071]-[0074], [0080]-[0082], & [0090]-[0092]), an edge connector and a cable clamp.
Soyama, is silent in regard to:
wherein the spring-loaded element is selected from the group consisting of a spring contact,
However, Contant, further teaches:
wherein the spring-loaded element is selected from the group consisting of a spring contact ([0052], [0068]-[0072], [0098], [0103]: teaches the use of spring contacts (i.e., tabs 290) to establish electrical connections),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the sensor housing assembly of Soyama to include and use the spring-loaded elements, from the claimed group, to enable electrical connections to facilitate assembly as taught by Contant, to enable electrical connections between the coil and the circuit board, eliminated the need for soldering and facilitating the “detachably attachable” assembly desired in Soyama, where Contant teaches a “spring contact”, one of the members of the Markush group, and under the MPEP 2117, if a claim recites “selected from the group consisting of A, B, and C,”, prior art only needs to teach A (or B, or C), thus yielding predictable results (KBR).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Soyama, teaches:
The sensor according to claim 7 (Figs. 1-2; [0003], [0011]-[0012], [0031], [0042], [0047], [0049], [0055], [0057], [0080]-[0082], & [0090]-[0092]), wherein the assembly and the circuit board being arranged in a housing (Figs. 1, 2, & 5; [0049]-[0052]: teaches sensor with a circuit board are arranged in a housing (concave portion)), wherein a tube closure ([0055]: teaches housing cover 20 (tube closure) fitted to the housing),
Soyama, is silent in regard to:
which has a plug insert, being arranged on one end of the circuit board in the housing, and a second seal being arranged between the tube closure and an interior wall of the housing.
However, Contant, further teaches:
which has a plug insert, being arranged on one end of the circuit board in the housing (Figs. 2-4; [0044-[0046]]: teaches a tube closure (cap 120) with a plug insert (sleeve 122/lower end 120b) that physically insert into the housing opening, closing the end where the circuit board 195 resides), and a second seal being arranged between the tube closure and an interior wall of the housing ([0047]: teaches using multiple seals, discloses a secondary annular seal assembly 129, and sealing against the radially inner surface (interior wall) of the housing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Soyama’s housing cover to include the sealing configuration of Contant (plug-insert sealing interface and secondary seal) to protect the circuit board and the sensors from environmental contaminants (dust/moisture), a standard design requirement for sensors, and to ensure the housing provided by Soyama ensure the “accommodating concave portion 11a” is hermetically sealed, preventing failure (waterproof seal for circuit board 60), enhancing the durability of the
Regarding dependent claim 11, Soyama, teaches:
The sensor according to claim 10 (Figs. 1-2; [0003], [0011]-[0012], [0031], [0047], [0049]-[0052], [0055]-[0057], [0080]-[0082], & [0090]-[0092]: teaches circuit board in a housing cavity/space),
Soyama, is silent in regard to:
wherein the circuit board is surrounded by gas.
However, Contant, further teaches:
wherein the circuit board is surrounded by gas ([0042], [0071], [0077]: teaches circuit board moving within a sealed cavity, inherently surrounded by gas, circuit board moves relative to the housing (moving prof mass), the relative motion physically requires the circuit board to be surrounded by a non-solid medium (i.e., gas/air) within the inner cavity 102, relative movement necessitates a gas/fluid surrounding).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the assembly and arrange the circuit board of Soyama such that the circuit board is surrounded by gas-filled (air-filled) cavity/space, as taught by Contant, to enable the necessary clearances for operation or assembly/disassembly, allowing for relative movement of internal components, as taught by Contant’s “proof of mass”, and to facilitate the “detachably attachable” nature of the board desired by Soyama, yielding predictable results (KBR), and since it has been held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA 1963).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Foerster et al. (US2022/0373370A1) discloses a sensor device, electrical device having a sensor device, and vehicle having a sensor device. Forwerck (US2024/0151602A1) discloses a hook and snap pressure sensor assembly. Ius et al. (US2013/0192312A1) discloses a home appliance with a displacement sensor module connected to a coil element and coil housing. Maggard et al. (US2019/0075225A1) discloses optical sensor housing.
/HUGO NAVARRO/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858
01/29/2026
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 2/6/2026