Claim(s) 1-6 are pending for examination.
This Action is made FINAL.
Previous Specification Objections
The specification was previously objected to due to the title of the invention not being descriptive. In response to Applicant's amendment, the objections to the specification have been withdrawn.
Previous Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1 - 6 were previously interpreted under the 35 U.S.C. 112(f). In response to Applicant's amendment, claim(s) 1 - 6 are no longer being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Previous Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 4 was previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). In response to Applicant's amendment, the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection(s) of claim(s) 4 has been withdrawn.
Previous Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 6 was previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101. In response to Applicant's amendment, the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection(s) of claim(s) 6 has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the previous rejection of claims 1-6 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been considered but are deemed moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant's Amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2-4 recites the limitation "the vehicle speed range". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is recited in claim 1 “a plurality of adjacent vehicle speed ranges”. However, its not clear which of the plurality that “the speed range” refers to.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the vehicle speed condition". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is recited in claim 1 “a plurality of preset vehicle speed conditions”. However, it’s not clear which if any of the plurality that “vehicle speed condition” refers to.
Claims 4 do not cure the deficiencies of claim(s) 2 and is therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuenzner (US 20210237762 A1) in view of Ginsberg et al. (US 20180075739 A1, hereinafter known as Ginsberg).
Kuenzner was cited in a previous office action.
Regarding claim 1, Kuenzner teaches A vehicle speed display device provided in a vehicle capable of executing vehicle control, the vehicle speed display device comprising an electronic control unit configured to:
{Para [0073] “Also provided in the instrument panel is a tachometer display 6 that serves to display the current vehicle speed, the set speed and the speed limits of the automated driving functions HAF and TAF.”
}
generate a first image indicating a vehicle speed of the vehicle and a display range of the vehicle speed;
{ Para [0073] “Also provided in the instrument panel is a tachometer display 6 that serves to display the current vehicle speed, the set speed and the speed limits of the automated driving functions HAF and TAF.”
Fig. 2a and Para [0074] “One example of a tachometer display 6 is illustrated in FIG. 2a. The tachometer display 6 comprises a tachometer scale 9 with a scale division and numerical scale numbering. Also present is a read-off marker 10 for marking the current vehicle speed v.sub.akt. The tachometer scale marks the range 11 (here: from 60 km/h to 130 km/h) for the driving speed (the range is marked in dark in the Figure) in which the activation of the driving function HAF is possible. By way of example, this range may be marked in a color, for example, blue, associated with the driving function HAF. The upper limit v.sub.HAF,max (here: 130 km/h) of the range 11 results from technical reasons in the current driving situation. The upper limit v.sub.HAF,max is variable and is, in the presence of a legal maximum speed on the current road section, preferably reduced to this maximum speed when this falls below the speed resulting from technical reasons. The lower limit v.sub.HAF,min (here: 60 km/h) must not be fallen below on the freeway for legal reasons. This limit v.sub.HAF,min is preferably variable and depends for example, on the road class.”
Para [0038] “The driving system is configured to perform various activities that are described below. This typically takes place by way of an electronic control unit, which may also be distributed over a plurality of controllers. The electronic control unit may comprise one or more computers having one or more processors coupled to memory that operates in the manner according to the present subject matter by executing software instructions stored in the memory.”
}
generate a second image indicating a plurality of
{Fig. 2a and Para [0074] “One example of a tachometer display 6 is illustrated in FIG. 2a. The tachometer display 6 comprises a tachometer scale 9 with a scale division and numerical scale numbering. Also present is a read-off marker 10 for marking the current vehicle speed v.sub.akt. The tachometer scale marks the range 11 (here: from 60 km/h to 130 km/h) for the driving speed (the range is marked in dark in the Figure) in which the activation of the driving function HAF is possible. By way of example, this range may be marked in a color, for example, blue, associated with the driving function HAF. The upper limit v.sub.HAF,max (here: 130 km/h) of the range 11 results from technical reasons in the current driving situation. The upper limit v.sub.HAF,max is variable and is, in the presence of a legal maximum speed on the current road section, preferably reduced to this maximum speed when this falls below the speed resulting from technical reasons. The lower limit v.sub.HAF,min (here: 60 km/h) must not be fallen below on the freeway for legal reasons. This limit v.sub.HAF,min is preferably variable and depends for example, on the road class.”
Para [0075] “Also marked on the tachometer scale 9 is the speed range 12 in which the driving function TAF can be activated. The range 12 comprises the range 11 for the driving function HAF and a speed range adjoining it from above and from below (each marked brighter than the range 11 marked in dark in FIG. 2a), wherein the adjacent speed ranges in reality are marked in a different color (in comparison with the speed range 11) (for example, green) associated with the TAF driving function.”
Para [0038] “The driving system is configured to perform various activities that are described below. This typically takes place by way of an electronic control unit, which may also be distributed over a plurality of controllers. The electronic control unit may comprise one or more computers having one or more processors coupled to memory that operates in the manner according to the present subject matter by executing software instructions stored in the memory.”
}
and display the first image and the second image on a display unit of the vehicle so that the second image is disposed along the first image.
{ fig. 2a and Para [0073] “Also provided in the instrument panel is a tachometer display 6 that serves to display the current vehicle speed, the set speed and the speed limits of the automated driving functions HAF and TAF.”
}
Kuenzner does not teach, a plurality of adjacent vehicle speed ranges
However, Ginsberg teaches a plurality of adjacent vehicle speed ranges
{fig. 11 and Para [0111] “In another embodiment, user device 110 provides access to a speed display 1100 FIG. 11 that contains a speedometer 1101 with concentric arcs, each individual arc indicating the range of speed required to pass through a given number of consecutive traffic signals. The innermost arc 1102 represents the speed range required to pass through the first traffic signal in the vehicle's path. Each subsequent arc represents the speed range required to pass through each subsequent traffic signal in the vehicle's path in addition to all previous consecutive traffic signals along the path. For example, the outer speed recommendation indicator 1103 is the second arc depicted, and thus represents the speed range required to pass through both the first and the second traffic signals in the vehicle's path. In typical applications, only the upcoming two traffic signals would be of interest, but if an application should call for it, additional subsequent signals could similarly be taken into account. In such case, the n.sup.th speed recommendation indicator would represent the speed range required to pass through n consecutive traffic signals along the vehicle's path without stopping. Such a display 1100 allows a driver to know how best to get into a so-called “green wave,” i.e., a speed that is essentially synchronized with the timing pattern of upcoming traffic signals.”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuenzner to incorporate the teachings of Ginsberg to have adjacent (stacked) speed ranges because it allows the individual speed ranges in relation to vehicle speed to be visually identified by the driver more easily as dicussed in Ginsberg Ginsberg Para [0111] “In another embodiment, user device 110 provides access to a speed display 1100 FIG. 11 that contains a speedometer 1101 with concentric arcs, each individual arc indicating the range of speed required to pass through a given number of consecutive traffic signals. The innermost arc 1102 represents the speed range required to pass through the first traffic signal in the vehicle's path. Each subsequent arc represents the speed range required to pass through each subsequent traffic signal in the vehicle's path in addition to all previous consecutive traffic signals along the path. For example, the outer speed recommendation indicator 1103 is the second arc depicted, and thus represents the speed range required to pass through both the first and the second traffic signals in the vehicle's path. In typical applications, only the upcoming two traffic signals would be of interest, but if an application should call for it, additional subsequent signals could similarly be taken into account. In such case, the n.sup.th speed recommendation indicator would represent the speed range required to pass through n consecutive traffic signals along the vehicle's path without stopping. Such a display 1100 allows a driver to know how best to get into a so-called “green wave,” i.e., a speed that is essentially synchronized with the timing pattern of upcoming traffic signals.”
Regarding claim 2, Kuenzner in view of Ginsberg teaches The vehicle speed display device according to claim 1. Kuenzner further teaches wherein the electronic control unis is further configured to: acquire a surroundings situation of the vehicle, wherein
{Para [0017] “The driving system is configured to perform various activities that are described below. This typically takes place by way of an electronic control unit, which may also be distributed over a plurality of controllers. The electronic control unit may comprise one or more computers having one or more processors coupled to memory that operates in the manner according to the present subject matter by executing software instructions stored in the memory.”
Para [0007] “the activation of highly automated driving is normally limited to a specific speed range for the current driving speed. This is due for example, to technical restrictions (for example, a limit of up to 60 km/h in the case of an HAF driving function for the essential application case of congestion or a limit of up to 130 km/h in the case of a freeway autopilot) or legal speed limits (for example, a permitted maximum speed on a specific road section) or environmental restrictions such as poor vision. The activation of driving functions for assisted or partly automated driving is often also limited to a specific speed range for the current vehicle speed, for example, ACC may not be activated at a vehicle speed greater than 210 km/h.”
Para [0074] “One example of a tachometer display 6 is illustrated in FIG. 2a. The tachometer display 6 comprises a tachometer scale 9 with a scale division and numerical scale numbering. Also present is a read-off marker 10 for marking the current vehicle speed v.sub.akt. The tachometer scale marks the range 11 (here: from 60 km/h to 130 km/h) for the driving speed (the range is marked in dark in the Figure) in which the activation of the driving function HAF is possible. By way of example, this range may be marked in a color, for example, blue, associated with the driving function HAF. The upper limit v.sub.HAF,max (here: 130 km/h) of the range 11 results from technical reasons in the current driving situation. The upper limit v.sub.HAF,max is variable and is, in the presence of a legal maximum speed on the current road section, preferably reduced to this maximum speed when this falls below the speed resulting from technical reasons. The lower limit v.sub.HAF,min (here: 60 km/h) must not be fallen below on the freeway for legal reasons. This limit v.sub.HAF,min is preferably variable and depends for example, on the road class.”
Thus at the least the vehicle system is aware of what type road it is on. Additionally as an autonomous vehicle environmental sensing is implied.
}
the vehicle control includes one or more functional elements, the functional elements being functions that form elements constituting autonomous driving control,
{Para [0069] “FIG. 1 schematically illustrates components of one example embodiment of a user interface for an example driving system according to the present subject matter. The driving system according to the present subject matter comprises (with decreasing degree of automation) a driving function for highly automated driving (HAF) with automated longitudinal and transverse guidance (in particular in the form of a freeway autopilot for use on a freeway), a driving function (TAF) for partly automated driving with automated longitudinal and transverse guidance and a driving function (ACC) for assisted driving with only automated longitudinal guidance in the form of adaptive cruise control. A driving function for assisted driving with only automated transverse guidance could also optionally be provided.”
}
the vehicle speed range of the vehicle speed condition for a predetermined functional element changes depending on the surroundings situation, and
the electronic control unit generates the second image by changing the vehicle speed range for the same functional element depending on the surroundings situation, based on the surroundings situation and the vehicle speed condition.
{Para [0074] “One example of a tachometer display 6 is illustrated in FIG. 2a. The tachometer display 6 comprises a tachometer scale 9 with a scale division and numerical scale numbering. Also present is a read-off marker 10 for marking the current vehicle speed v.sub.akt. The tachometer scale marks the range 11 (here: from 60 km/h to 130 km/h) for the driving speed (the range is marked in dark in the Figure) in which the activation of the driving function HAF is possible. By way of example, this range may be marked in a color, for example, blue, associated with the driving function HAF. The upper limit v.sub.HAF,max (here: 130 km/h) of the range 11 results from technical reasons in the current driving situation. The upper limit v.sub.HAF,max is variable and is, in the presence of a legal maximum speed on the current road section, preferably reduced to this maximum speed when this falls below the speed resulting from technical reasons. The lower limit v.sub.HAF,min (here: 60 km/h) must not be fallen below on the freeway for legal reasons. This limit v.sub.HAF,min is preferably variable and depends for example, on the road class.”
}
Regarding claim 3, Kuenzner in view of Ginsberg teaches The vehicle speed display device according to claim 1. Kuenzner further teaches wherein: the vehicle control includes one or more functional elements, the functional elements being functions that form elements constituting autonomous driving control,
{Para [0069] “FIG. 1 schematically illustrates components of one example embodiment of a user interface for an example driving system according to the present subject matter. The driving system according to the present subject matter comprises (with decreasing degree of automation) a driving function for highly automated driving (HAF) with automated longitudinal and transverse guidance (in particular in the form of a freeway autopilot for use on a freeway), a driving function (TAF) for partly automated driving with automated longitudinal and transverse guidance and a driving function (ACC) for assisted driving with only automated longitudinal guidance in the form of adaptive cruise control. A driving function for assisted driving with only automated transverse guidance could also optionally be provided.”
}
the second image includes a third image indicating the vehicle speed range in which a predetermined functional element is enabled during execution of the autonomous driving control, and a fourth image indicating the vehicle speed range in which a steering-non-holding state or a surroundings-non-checking state of a driver of the vehicle is allowed during execution of the autonomous driving control, and
{Fig. 2as where labels 12 and 11 are two separate speed ranges.
Para [0002] “In the case of highly automated driving (HAF), the system takes over the longitudinal and transverse guidance for a certain duration without the driver having to continuously monitor the system; the driver must however be capable of taking over vehicle guidance within a certain time of taking over vehicle guidance.”
Para [0020] “The first driving function (for example, HAF) is activated by the system after the driving parameter meets the first criterion with respect to the first permissibility range, for example, after the driving parameter reaches the first permissibility range, in response to the first permissibility range being reached.”
Para [0021] “It is advantageous if no further control operation from the driver is necessary in order to activate the first driving function after the setpoint specification for the driving parameter has been input; it would however be conceivable for the driver to have to confirm the activation of the first driving function through a control operation before said first driving function is activated, for example, by actuating a control element or by letting go of a steering wheel (which preferably comprises a hands-on sensor system).”
Thus HAF can be considered “a steering-non-holding state or a surroundings-non-checking state of a driver of the vehicle is allowed during execution of the autonomous driving control”
Para [0074] “The tachometer scale marks the range 11 (here: from 60 km/h to 130 km/h) for the driving speed (the range is marked in dark in the Figure) in which the activation of the driving function HAF is possible.”
Para [0075] “Also marked on the tachometer scale 9 is the speed range 12 in which the driving function TAF can be activated. The range 12 comprises the range 11 for the driving function HAF and a speed range adjoining it from above and from below (each marked brighter than the range 11 marked in dark in FIG. 2a), wherein the adjacent speed ranges in reality are marked in a different color (in comparison with the speed range 11) (for example, green) associated with the TAF driving function.”
}
the electronic control unit displays the third image and the fourth image on the display unit of the vehicle so that the third image is disposed on one side of the first image and the fourth image is disposed on the other side of the first image, with the first image interposed therebetween.
{ fig. 2a and Para [0073] “Also provided in the instrument panel is a tachometer display 6 that serves to display the current vehicle speed, the set speed and the speed limits of the automated driving functions HAF and TAF.”
}
Regarding claim 4, Kuenzner teaches The vehicle speed display device according to claim 2, wherein: the second image includes a third image indicating the vehicle speed range in which a predetermined functional element is enabled during execution of the autonomous driving control, and a fourth image indicating the vehicle speed range in which a steering-non-holding state or a surroundings-non-checking state of a driver of the vehicle is allowed during execution of the autonomous driving control, and
{Fig. 2as where labels 12 and 11 are two separate speed ranges.
Para [0002] “In the case of highly automated driving (HAF), the system takes over the longitudinal and transverse guidance for a certain duration without the driver having to continuously monitor the system; the driver must however be capable of taking over vehicle guidance within a certain time of taking over vehicle guidance.”
Para [0020] “The first driving function (for example, HAF) is activated by the system after the driving parameter meets the first criterion with respect to the first permissibility range, for example, after the driving parameter reaches the first permissibility range, in response to the first permissibility range being reached.”
Para [0021] “It is advantageous if no further control operation from the driver is necessary in order to activate the first driving function after the setpoint specification for the driving parameter has been input; it would however be conceivable for the driver to have to confirm the activation of the first driving function through a control operation before said first driving function is activated, for example, by actuating a control element or by letting go of a steering wheel (which preferably comprises a hands-on sensor system).”
Thus HAF can be considered “a steering-non-holding state or a surroundings-non-checking state of a driver of the vehicle is allowed during execution of the autonomous driving control”
Para [0074] “The tachometer scale marks the range 11 (here: from 60 km/h to 130 km/h) for the driving speed (the range is marked in dark in the Figure) in which the activation of the driving function HAF is possible.”
Para [0075] “Also marked on the tachometer scale 9 is the speed range 12 in which the driving function TAF can be activated. The range 12 comprises the range 11 for the driving function HAF and a speed range adjoining it from above and from below (each marked brighter than the range 11 marked in dark in FIG. 2a), wherein the adjacent speed ranges in reality are marked in a different color (in comparison with the speed range 11) (for example, green) associated with the TAF driving function.”
}
the electronic control unit displays the third image and the fourth image on the display unit of the vehicle so that the third image is disposed on one side of the first image and the fourth image is disposed on the other side of the first image, with the first image interposed therebetween.
{ fig. 2a and Para [0073] “Also provided in the instrument panel is a tachometer display 6 that serves to display the current vehicle speed, the set speed and the speed limits of the automated driving functions HAF and TAF.”
}
Regarding claim 5, it recites A vehicle speed display method having limitations similar to those of claim 1 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 6, it recites A vehicle speed display program having limitations similar to those of claim 1 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.G.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/JUSTIN S LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668