Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “protrusion protrudes to a higher position relative to the placement surface than the work” in lines 5-6. This formulation attempts to claim a structural component based upon a material worked upon. Because a material of indefinite size can be processed by the apparatus claimed, the required protrusion height is rendered indefinite.
Claim 4 recites “the protrusion” in line 1, but does not define whether this refers to “a protrusion” of claim 1 or to a first protrusion or second protrusion of claim 3.
Claim 5 recites “the protrusion” in line 1, but does not define whether this refers to “a protrusion” of claim 1, to a first protrusion or second protrusion of claim 3, or to a third protrusion of claim 4.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “conveying unit” in claim 7; “air pressure adjustment unit” in claims 7-9; and “work elevating unit” in claim 7.
The limitation “conveying unit” recites the generic placeholder “unit” coupled with the functional modifier “conveying” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 21, shown in figure 2, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “air pressure adjustment unit” recites the generic placeholder “unit” coupled with the functional modifier “adjustment” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 23, shown in figure 1, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “work elevating unit” recites the generic placeholder “unit” coupled with the functional modifier “elevating” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 26, shown in figure 3, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HASHIMOTO (US 2016/0052201).
Regarding claims 1, 2, and 6 HASHIMOTO teaches a jig comprising a placement surface 211 and protrusion 212 that is capable of performing the functions on work and film materials claimed (para. 16; fig. 6). Limitations claimed on materials worked upon in an apparatus claim do not limit the apparatus (MPEP 2115).
Regarding claim 3, HASHIMOTO teaches first and second opposite vertical protrusions (fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HASHIMOTO.
Regarding claim 4, HASHIMOTO does not explicitly show a third protrusion connecting ends of the first and second, but teaches that the opposing protrusions 212 form a hermetic seal (para. 16), where it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include a third and fourth vertical protrusion in order to create a sealed space.
Regarding claim 5, HASHIMOTO shows the protrusion at a periphery of the placement surface (fig. 6).
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HASHIMOTO as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of MIURA (US 2018/0141264).
Regarding claim 7, HASHIMOTO teaches utilizing the jig in a coating apparatus comprising a chamber that can form a sealed space and an air pressure adjustment unit (figs. 5-6; para. 16). HASHIMOTO does not teach a conveying unit or work elevating unit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include a unit to convey film to a location above the work because HASHIMOTO teaches that it is positioned above the work, such that it must be conveyed to that position, and automating process steps has been held per se obvious (MPEP 2144.04). MIURA teaches another means of vacuum bonding a film to a workpiece, wherein the apparatus comprises a work elevating unit 10 and 11, such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include a work elevation mechanism of MIURA in the apparatus of HASHIMOTO in order to allow adjustment of the portion of the work that contacts the film (MIURA; fig. 9; paras. 96-98).
Regarding claim 8, the apparatus of the references as combined is capable of performing the vacuum function claimed.
Regarding claim 9, HASHIMOTO does not explicitly teach increasing outer space pressure, but teaches that pipe 311 is a pressure generating device, where a vacuum is just one such device (para. 46). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize an air inlet as the only other option of pressure generating device beside a vacuum generating device, and it was common to include air pressure increase above a film in a vacuum lamination apparatus to facilitate pressing the film to work in a vacuum forming apparatus.
Conclusion
/NICKOLAS R HARM/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/PHILIP C TUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745