DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “the first protrusion is provided at a position higher than the work placed on the jig” in lines 2-3 and “the second protrusion is provided at a position higher than the work placed on the jig” in lines 3-4. Each limitation attempts to define an apparatus component based upon a material worked upon. Because works of different heights could be worked upon by the apparatus claimed, the heights of first and second protrusions required by the claim are not defined.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “conveying unit” in claim 7; “pressure adjustment unit” in claims 7-9; and “work elevating unit” in claim 7.
The limitation “conveying unit” recites the generic placeholder “unit” coupled with the functional modifier “conveying” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 21, shown in figure 2, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “pressure adjustment unit” recites the generic placeholder “unit” coupled with the functional modifier “adjustment” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 23, shown in figure 1, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “work elevating unit” recites the generic placeholder “unit” coupled with the functional modifier “elevating” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 26, shown in figure 3, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HASHIMOTO (US 2016/0052201).
Regarding claims 1, 2, and 6 HASHIMOTO teaches a jig comprising a placement surface 211 and first and second vertical protrusions 212 that is capable of performing the functions on work and film materials claimed (para. 16; fig. 6). Limitations claimed on materials worked upon in an apparatus claim do not limit the apparatus (MPEP 2115). HASHIMOTO does not teach a conveying unit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include a unit to convey film to a location above the work because HASHIMOTO teaches that it is positioned above the work, such that it must be conveyed to that position, and automating process steps has been held per se obvious (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claims 4-5, HASHIMOTO does not explicitly show a third protrusion connecting ends of the first and second, but teaches that the opposing protrusions 212 form a hermetic seal (para. 16), where it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include a third and fourth vertical protrusion in order to create a sealed space from continuous first, second, third, and fourth protrusions.
Regarding claim 10, HASHIMOTO shows an example of working upon a material 11 being worked upon with first and second protrusions 212 at a greater height than the top surface of the material (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, HASHIMOTO teaches protrusions having a tip extending in first and second directions perpendicular to the surface of the chamber (fig. 1), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to convey the film in the first direction in order to place the film vertically above the protrusions.
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HASHIMOTO as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of MIURA (US 2018/0141264).
Regarding claim 7, HASHIMOTO teaches utilizing the jig in a coating apparatus comprising a chamber that can form a sealed space and a pressure adjustment unit (figs. 5-6; para. 16). HASHIMOTO does not teach a work elevating unit. MIURA teaches another means of vacuum bonding a film to a workpiece, wherein the apparatus comprises a work elevating unit 10 and 11, such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include a work elevation mechanism of MIURA in the apparatus of HASHIMOTO in order to allow adjustment of the portion of the work that contacts the film (MIURA; fig. 9; paras. 96-98).
Regarding claim 8, the apparatus of the references as combined is capable of performing the vacuum function claimed.
Regarding claim 9, HASHIMOTO does not explicitly teach increasing outer space pressure, but teaches that pipe 311 is a pressure generating device, where a vacuum is just one such device (para. 46). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize an air inlet as the only other option of pressure generating device beside a vacuum generating device, and it was common to include air pressure increase above a film in a vacuum lamination apparatus to facilitate pressing the film to work in a vacuum forming apparatus.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that HASHIMOTO does not teach the film working with the jig to create a sealed space because it functions to divide the chamber. While the film divides the larger chamber, it creates a sealed space within the large chamber with 211 and 212, thereby meeting the limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICKOLAS R HARM/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/PHILIP C TUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745