DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 6-9 (as numbered by Applicant), filed October 02nd, 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C rejection of claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Specifically, the arguments that the expander motor is not turned off for the entire purging operation in the current art of record. The 35 U.S.C rejection of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 5-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okamoto et al. (JPH10122681), hereinafter Okamoto.
Regarding claim 5, Okamoto discloses a cryocooler (Fig. 2, cryogenic refrigerator R) comprising:
an expander cylinder (Fig. 2, cylinder 2);
a pressure switching valve that switches a pressure inside the expander cylinder (Fig. 2, rotary valve 35; Paragraph 28, Furthermore, a rotary valve (35) is provided in the valve chamber (10) of the motor head (1) that alternately switches between a high-pressure open state, which supplies high-pressure helium gas to the upper pressure chamber (29) and expansion chambers (30), (31) which serve as expansion spaces within the cylinder (2), and a low-pressure open state, which discharges the helium gas from the upper pressure chamber (29) and expansion chambers (30), (31). The rotary valve (35) is rotationally driven by a valve motor (39) located in the motor chamber (6));
a high pressure port and a low pressure port connected to the expander cylinder via the pressure switching valve (Fig. 2, high-pressure gas inlet 4, low-pressure gas outlet 5; Paragraph 24, As shown in Figures 4 and 5, the valve stem (9) has a first gas passage (12) whose lower half is branched into two and communicates the valve chamber (10) with the cylinder (2), and a second gas passage (14) whose one end communicates with the first gas passage (12) via the low-pressure port (37) of the rotary valve (35) described later, and whose other end communicates with the low-pressure gas outlet (5) via the low-pressure passage (13) formed in the motor head (1). The first gas passage (12) is constantly in communication with the intermediate pressure chamber (8) via a capillary tube (15) along its length; Paragraph 28, The switching operation of this rotary valve (35) alternately connects the high-pressure gas inlet (4), that is, the valve chamber (10) communicating with the high-pressure gas inlet (4), and the low-pressure passage (13) communicating with the low-pressure gas outlet (5), that is, the low-pressure passage (13) communicating with the low-pressure gas outlet (5), to the upper pressure chamber (29), the first and second expansion chambers (30), (31) in the cylinder (2));
a connection flow path from the pressure switching valve to the expander cylinder (Fig. 2, first gas passage 12; Paragraph 24, As shown in Figures 4 and 5, the valve stem (9) has a first gas passage (12) whose lower half is branched into two and communicates the valve chamber (10) with the cylinder (2), and a second gas passage (14) whose one end communicates with the first gas passage (12) via the low-pressure port (37) of the rotary valve (35) described later, and whose other end communicates with the low-pressure gas outlet (5) via the low-pressure passage (13) formed in the motor head (1). The first gas passage (12) is constantly in communication with the intermediate pressure chamber (8) via a capillary tube (15) along its length).
a gas receiving port that is different from the high pressure port and the low pressure port and is connected to the connection flow path to allow a gas to flow into the connection flow path (See annotated Fig. 9 of Okamoto below, gas receiving port A),
wherein a flow path cross-sectional area of the gas receiving port is smaller than a flow path cross-sectional area of the connection flow path (See annotated Fig. 9 of Okamoto below, the cross-sectional area B of gas receiving port A is depicted to be smaller than a flow path cross-sectional area C of the first gas passage 12).
Annotated Fig. 9 of Okamoto
Regarding claim 6, Okamoto as modified discloses the cryocooler according to claim 5 (see the rejection of claim 5 above), further comprising:
an expander housing that is coupled to the expander cylinder and accommodates the pressure switching valve (See annotated Fig. 9 of Okamoto below, expander housing D is depicted to be coupled to the cylinder 2 and accommodates the rotary valve 35),
wherein the gas receiving port is provided in the expander housing (See annotated Fig. 9 of Okamoto below, gas receiving port A is depicted to be provided in the expander housing D).
Annotated Fig. 9 of Okamoto
Regarding claim 8, Mizuno as modified discloses the cryocooler according to claim 5 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 5 above), wherein the gas receiving port has a size different from sizes of the high pressure port and the low pressure port (See annotated Fig. 9 of Okamoto below, gas receiving port A is depicted to have a different size form the high-pressure gas inlet 4 and the low-pressure gas outlet 5).
Annotated Fig. 9 of Okamoto
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamoto et al. (JPH10122681), hereinafter Okamoto in view of Park (WO 2007066852), hereinafter Park
Regarding claim 7, Okamoto as modified discloses the cryocooler according to claim 6 (see the rejection of claim 6 above).
However, Okamoto does not disclose wherein a gas outlet port is provided in the expander housing in addition to the high pressure port, the low pressure port, and the gas receiving port.
Park teaches wherein a gas outlet port is provided in the expander housing in addition to the high pressure port, the low pressure port (Fig. 2, supply line 7, discharge line 8, relief valve 9).
Okamoto fails to teach wherein a gas outlet port is provided in the expander housing in addition to the high pressure port, the low pressure port, and the gas receiving port, however Park teaches that it is a known method in the art of cryocoolers to include wherein a gas outlet port is provided in the expander housing in addition to the high pressure port, the low pressure port. This is strong evidence that modifying Okamoto as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. allowing for depressurization of the housing to improve overall user safety). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Okamoto by Park and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of allowing for depressurization of the housing to improve overall user safety.
Notice of Reason for Allowance
Claims 1-4 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 1, the prior at does not anticipate nor render obvious the combination set forth in the independent claims, and specifically does not disclose the following: wherein the expander motor remains stopped until the purging is completed.
Although the closet prior art of record Mizuno (US Patent No. 10,551,093), hereinafter Mizuno in view Cryogenic Systems and Receiver Maintenance, hereinafter NPL-2 and CTI Decontamination Procedure, hereinafter NPL-3 disclose an expander of a cryocooler, the expander including an expander cylinder, a pressure switching valve that switches a pressure inside the expander cylinder, a connection flow path from the pressure switching valve to the expander cylinder, and an expander motor that drives the pressure switching valve (Fig. 1, expander 14, cryocooler 10, cylinder 28, valve portion 34, gas expansion chamber 40, housing gas flow path 36, drive mechanism 48, motor 4a, scotch yoke mechanism 48b; Col. 6, lines 28-35, Although it is described below in detail, the valve portion 34 is configured to control the pressure of the gas expansion chamber 40 to be synchronized with the reciprocation of the displacer 24. The valve portion 34 functions as a portion of a supply path for supplying a high-pressure gas to the gas expansion chamber 40, and function as a portion of a discharging path for discharging a low-pressure gas from the gas expansion chamber 40).
However, Mizuno does not disclose a gas replacement method for an expander of a cryocooler the gas replacement method comprising:
disassembling and reassembling the expander under an ambient environment;
after the disassembling and reassembling, connecting a nonflammable gas source to the connection flow path or the expander cylinder; and
purging a residual gas in the expander cylinder with a nonflammable gas from the nonflammable gas source.
NPL-2 teaches a gas replacement method for a cryocooler (Pg. 36-37, Refrigerator Purging and Pressurization Procedure) the gas replacement method comprising:
the gas replacement method comprising:
disassembling and reassembling the expander under an ambient environment (Pg. 34-35; you can dismantle the cold head displacer from the cylinder: Important! Delicate task. Working with gloves, grease where necessary. You need some experience! When opening the cold head from cylinder there may lead dust be freed up! 1. Attach the charging adaptors to both helium ports. 2. Open both adaptor valves to discharge the pressure from the refrigerator. Remove charging cylinder. 3. Remove the four #10 Hex head screws securing the refrigerator to the cylinder and withdraw the refrigerator, thus removing the displacers from the cylinder. 4. Perform steps 1 through 3 on the replacement unit. 5. Carefully place the second stage seal suppressor over the seal on the replacement unit. 6. Clean the inside of the cylinder in the Dewar with a suitable solvent (petroleum ether is preferred, however, alcohol can be used). Make sure that the cylinder is completely clean and dry before proceeding. 7. Clean the “O” ring grove on top of the cylinder and install a new “O” ring coated very lightly with apiezon grease. 8. Carefully insert the displacers into the cylinder until the crosshead mates with the cylinder and bolt in place using a crossed pattern tightening procedure which insures that the bolts are tightened evenly);
after the disassembling and reassembling, connecting a nonflammable gas source to the connection flow path or the expander cylinder (Pg. 35, Step 9. Perform steps 1 through 6 of the system purging procedure); and
purging a residual gas in the expander cylinder with a nonflammable gas from the nonflammable gas source (Pg. 36-37, Read your manual of your cold head and compressor! Example procedure: 1. In order to get a successful purge of the system the helium lines must be removed from the refrigerator when the system is as cold as possible. Trapping the contamination in the refrigerator. Disconnect while running the supply line and then immediately the supply line to the compressor. 2. Allow the refrigerator to warm to room temperature before proceeding. 3. Attach purging and charging adaptors to both the supply and return helium lines on the refrigerator. 4. Attach a regulated supply of ultra pure helium to the charging adaptor on the supply side of the refrigerator and adjust the regulator pressure to 50 PSI. 5. Apply electrical power to the refrigerator by attaching the cable from the compressor and turning on both switches on compressor. 6. Open the valves on both charging adaptors and allow helium to flow through the refrigerator for at least one minute. 7. Close the exhaust valve on the return side of the refrigerator and allow the pressure in the refrigerator to equalize. 8. Close the valve on the supply side of the refrigerator, the supply valve on the helium tank and remove the charging adaptors. 9. Return the normal helium line connections to the refrigerator and begin a normal cool down cycle as the refrigerator is now ready for use).
Mizuno fails to teach a gas replacement method for an expander of a cryocooler the gas replacement method comprising: disassembling and reassembling the expander under an ambient environment; after the disassembling and reassembling, connecting a nonflammable gas source to the connection flow path or the expander cylinder; and purging a residual gas in the expander cylinder with a nonflammable gas from the nonflammable gas source, however NPL-2 teaches that it is a known method in the art of cryocoolers to include a gas replacement method for an expander of a cryocooler the gas replacement method comprising: disassembling and reassembling the expander under an ambient environment; after the disassembling and reassembling, connecting a nonflammable gas source to the connection flow path or the expander cylinder; and purging a residual gas in the expander cylinder with a nonflammable gas from the nonflammable gas source. This is strong evidence that modifying Mizuno as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. restoring a cold head to its intended operational capacity (NPL-2, Pg. 34-37)). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mizuno by NPL-2 and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of restoring a cold head to its intended operational capacity (NPL-2, Pg. 34-37).
Further, Mizuno as modified does not disclose the purging to be done while the expander motor is stopped.
However, NPL-2 directs the user to read the manual of the specific cold head before using their procedure.
NPL-3, which is a cryocooler operation manual teaches the purging to be done while the expander motor is stopped (Pg. 3-5, DECONTAMINATION PROCEDURE NO. 1… (2) Shut down the CRYO-TORR high-vacuum pump…. (7) Attach a helium bottle, regulator, and charging line to the evacuation
and charging adapter and purge the charging line and regulator of air… (8) Perform the following sequence of steps (a) through (d): (a) Pressurize the cold head with helium to the static charge
pressure (see Table 1). (b) Depressurize the cold head to 30 psig. (c) Perform flushing steps (a) and (b) four more times).
Mizuno as modified fails to teach the purging to be done while the expander motor is stopped, however NPL-3 teaches that it is a known method in the art of cryocooler purging to include the purging to be done while the expander motor is stopped. This is strong evidence that modifying Mizuno as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. allowing for improved pressure control during the purging operation for precise pressure equalization). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mizuno as modified by NPL-3 and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of allowing for improved pressure control during the purging operation for precise pressure equalization.
However, there is no teaching in the prior art of record that would, reasonably and absent impermissible hindsight, motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the prior art to provide wherein the expander motor remains stopped until the purging is completed, in combination with all other claimed features.
Claims 2-4 are also allowed by virtue of dependency.
Conclusion
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 October 27th, 2026