DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to an Application filed on 06/13/2024, which is a continuation application of and claims the priority benefit of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/073,580, filed on 12/02/2022, which is a continuation application of and claims the priority benefit of U.S. patent application serial no. 16/995,828, filed on 08/18/2020, which claims the priority benefits of U.S. provisional application serial no. 62/893,802, filed on 08/29/2019.
Currently, claims 1-11 are examined as below.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 16/995,828, filed on 06/12/2020.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
(Marked-Up Version) Electronic Device with Optical Structures for Light Emission Control
(Clean Version) Electronic Device with Optical Structures for Light Emission Control
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2018/0210280 A1 to Chen et al. (“Chen”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Chen in Fig. 10 teaches an electronic device 10 (Fig. 10 & ¶ 48, display device 10), comprising:
a first substrate 148 (¶ 45, encapsulation layer 148);
a second substrate 102 (¶ 48, first substrate 102) disposed opposite to the first substrate 148 (Fig. 10);
a first light emitting diode 100 (Fig. 10, ¶ 20, ¶ 48, the rightmost light-emitting unit 100 is an LED) and a second light emitting diode 100 (Fig. 10, ¶ 20, ¶ 48, light-emitting unit 100, which is an LED, in the middle) disposed between the first substrate 148 and the second substrate 102 and adjacent to each other;
a first optical structure 144, 146 (Fig. 10, ¶ 35, a collective of transparent layer 144 and filter layer 146) and a second optical structure 130R, 142 (Fig. 10, ¶ 34, a collective of second quantum dot portion 130R and filtering portion 142) disposed between the first substrate 148 and the second substrate 102,
wherein an orthographic projection of the first optical structure 144, 146 on the second substrate 102 overlaps an orthographic projection of the first light emitting diode 100 on the second substrate 102 (Fig. 10), and an orthographic projection of the second optical structure 130R, 142 on the second substrate 102 overlaps an orthographic projection of the second light emitting diode 100 on the second substrate 102 (Fig. 2), and
wherein a light emitted from the first light emitting diode 100 passes through the first optical structure 144, 148 to provide a blue light (Fig. 10, ¶ 24, light emits through the aperture 132B is blue light), a light emitted from the second light emitting diode 100 passes through the second optical structure 130R, 142 to provide a light having a color different from blue (Fig. 10, ¶ 39, aperture 132R is of red sub-pixel that emits red light), and the first optical structure 144, 146 comprises a scattering element (¶ 35, scattering particles).
Regarding claim 2, Chen in Fig. 10 further teaches the first light emitting diode 100 is disposed between the second substrate 102 and the first optical structure 144, 146.
Regarding claim 3, Chen in Fig. 10 further teaches the first optical structure 144, 146 further comprises a first color filter element 146 (¶ 35, filter layer 146 is a filter layer used for blue light i.e., color filter element).
Regarding claim 4, Chen in Fig. 10 further teaches the first color filter element 146 is disposed between the first substrate 148 and the scattering element 144.
Regarding claim 5, Chen in Fig. 10 further teaches the second light emitting diode 100 is disposed between the second substrate 102 and the second optical structure 130R, 142.
Regarding claim 6, Chen in Fig. 10 further teaches the second optical structure 130R, 142 comprises a second color filter element 142 (¶ 34, filtering portion 142 blocking blue light).
Regarding claim 9, Chen in Fig. 10 further teaches the second optical structure 130R, 142 further comprises a color conversion element 130R (¶ 23, second quantum dot portion 130R converts light emitted from the light-emitting unit 100 into red light), wherein the second color filter element 142 is disposed between the first substrate 148 and the color conversion element 130R (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 10, Chen in Fig. 10 further teaches a bank layer 134 (¶ 25, first shielding portion 134), wherein the bank layer comprises a first opening (Fig. 10, ¶ 39, the opening between two sections of the first shielding portion 134 corresponding to the rightmost light-emitting unit 100, since a display device includes green sub-pixels, red sub-pixels and blue sub-pixels, each of the sub-pixels correspond to a light-emitting unit 100), and the scattering element 144 is disposed in the first opening (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 11, Chen in Fig. 10 further teaches the bank layer 134 comprises a second opening (Fig. 10, the opening between two sections of the first shielding portion 134 corresponding to the light-emitting unit 100 in the middle), and the color conversion element 13R is disposed in the second opening (Fig. 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of US 2017/0076678 A1 to Lee et al. (“Lee”).
Regarding claim 7, Chen in Fig. 10 teaches a first color filter layer 146 (¶ 35, filter layer 146 is a filter layer used for blue light i.e., color filter layer), wherein a portion of the first color filter layer 146 is the first color filter element 146 of the first optical structure 144, 146; and
a second color filter layer 142 (¶ 34, filtering portion 142 blocking blue light), wherein a portion of the second color filter layer 142 is the second color filter element 142 of the second optical structure 130R, 142.
Chen further discloses the optical structures 144, 146, 130R, 142 are parts of a light conversion layer 108 (Fig. 10, ¶ 20).
Chen does not explicitly disclose another portion of the first color filter layer and another portion of the second color filter layer are stacked to form a light blocking structure.
Lee recognizes a need for preventing color mixing in a display device (¶ 3, ¶ 49). Lee satisfies the need by providing a first color filter layer 320B, 320B’ (Fig. 1, ¶ 48, a collective of blue color filters 320B and 320B’), wherein a portion of the first color filter layer 320B is a first color filter element 320B (Fig. 1, ¶ 48, ¶ 74, blue color filter 320B overlaps the color conversion layer 330B); and
a second color filter layer 320R, 320R’ (Fig. 1, ¶ 48, a collective of red color filters 320R and 320R’), wherein a portion of the second color filter layer 320R is a second color filter element 320R (Fig. 1, ¶ 48, ¶ 74, red color filter 320R overlaps the color conversion layer 330R),
wherein another portion 320B’ (Fig. 1) of the first color filter layer 320B, 320B’ and another portion 320R’ (Fig. 1) of the second color filter layer 320R, 320R’ are stacked to form a light blocking structure 320 (Fig. 1, ¶ 50, partition 320 formed by overlapping the color filters 320R and 320B’ is a light blocking region SA).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify light conversion layer taught by Chen with the structure of the first and second color filter layers taught by Lee, so as to prevent color mixing in a display device (Lee: ¶ 3, ¶ 49).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Chen and Lee further teaches an orthographic projection of the light blocking structure 320 (Lee: Fig. 1; Chen: Fig. 10. Lee’s structure 320 would replace the Chen’s first shielding portion 134 (Chen: ¶ 25)) on (i.e., in proximity to) the second substrate 102 (Chen: Fig. 10) is disposed between the orthographic projection of the first light emitting diode 100 (Chen) on the second substrate 102 and the orthographic projection of the second light emitting diode 100 (Chen) on the second substrate 102.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2018/0182814 A1 to Kim et al. relates to display including a plurality of pixels having a first pixel, a second pixel and a third pixel, in which a first color filter overlapping the first and second pixels, a second color filter overlapping the first and third pixels, and a third color filter overlapping the second and third pixels.
/M.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/ELISEO RAMOS FELICIANO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817