Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 04/14/2026 was entered. Claims 1-16 are currently pending. Claims 1-5 and 8-16 were amended by the present amendment. The changes to the claims are supported by the originally filed specification and do not add new matter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claim(s) 1 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 4, 6, 8 – 10, 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fadler et al. (US Pub. No. 2005/0094770 A1) in view of Shimizu et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0374325 A1) and Koertge et al. (US Pub. No. 2007/0211861 A1).
With regards to claim 1, Fadler teaches an X-ray system with a C-arm 1, X-ray emitter 2, picture-taking system 3, angular adjustment and orbital adjustment, i.e., two degrees of freedom (Fadler [0013], Fig.1). Fadler teaches a handle 5/servo railing for manual, servo-supported adjustment of the C-arm, where force/travel pickups send signals to closed-loop control unit 6 (Fadler [0014], Fig.1). Fadler teaches memory 4 linked with the closed-loop control unit 6, where memory 4 records one or more travel distances of the C-arm (Fadler [0015], Fig.1).
Fadler further teaches that the C-arm is moved from first position P1 to second position P2 over travel distance W, that travel distance W is stored in memory 4 during travel, and that the C-arm can be moved back to P1 or to an arbitrary other position along W exactly along the way previously moved. (Fadler [0018], Fig.2.) Fadler also teaches that arbitrary motions with angular and orbital components may be executed and that positions P1, P2, and P3 along W may be stored as working positions, indicated, or automatically stopped at. (Fadler [0018], Fig.2).
Fadler does not expressly teach that the stored manual movement path is generated between auto-positioning operations. Fadler also does not expressly disclose the Koertge-style implementation in which time-stamped multi-axis vectors are read out in reverse order.
Shimizu supplies the auto-positioning context. Shimizu explains that auto-positioning is a technique for facilitating positioning of an X-ray tube and detector to reproduce an observation direction and is an auxiliary function to place a support or table in a desired posture (Shimizu [0004]). Shimizu also teaches a sequence auto-reproducing function that automatically reproduces imaging-program switching or auto-positioning in sequence during a medical examination by registering examination sequences in advance (Shimizu [0005]). Shimizu further teaches registered positions tied to positioning numbers, where a support or table is positioned at a desired position by user input of the positioning number (Shimizu [0007]).
Shimizu teaches an X-ray diagnostic apparatus including a support frame 10 that supports an X-ray irradiator and X-ray detector pivotally with respect to a plurality of movable axes, storage 22 that stores posture information, system controller 23, and driving apparatus 32 that individually rotates the support frame and drives the bed (Shimizu [0027]-[0040], Fig.1). Shimizu’s controller acquires current posture, receives a target posture, calculates a pivot amount, and controls the driving apparatus to locate the support frame in the target posture (Shimizu [0042]-[0051], Figs.3-5).
Shimizu also teaches registered posture marks and sequence auto-reproducing posture marks on a clinical angle map, with controller 23 setting target posture information relating to auto-positioning (Shimizu [0070]-[0074], Figs.12-13).
Koertge supplies the reverse-order implementation. Koertge teaches an X-ray diagnostic imaging system having a C-arm 28, patient table 24, computer 106, system memory 108, motion control module 110, collision control module 112, and flight recorder module 118 (Koertge col.3:1-col.4:37, Figs.1-2). Koertge stores the most recent movements, for example the last 10 seconds, of the C-arm and patient table as time-stamped vectors in system memory 108 (Koertge col.4:37-45, Fig.5). When a collision state is detected, the stored vectors are frozen and individually read out in reverse order, so the motors produce a reverse trajectory of the most recent C-arm/table movements (Koertge col.4:45-col.5:17, Figs.3-5).
In view of the utility, to allow an operator flexibility when needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combined Fadler’s manual C-arm pathfinder with Shimizu’s known auto-positioning workflow so that an operator could preserve, undo, and reproduce a manual adjustment made between registered auto-positioning steps in a medical X-ray examination. The combination uses Fadler’s saved manual path for the same purpose Fadler states - high-precision, time-saving return along a previously checked path - in Shimizu’s known registered-position/sequence auto-positioning environment.
A person of ordinary skill would further have used Koertge’s reverse-order vector structure because Koertge teaches that stored trajectory data and existing motorized drives provide a straightforward way to reverse an X-ray system along the same path (Fadler [0005]-[0008], [0018]; Shimizu [0004]-[0007], [0070]-[0074]; Koertge col.1:55-col.2:18; col.4:37-col.5:17).
With regards to claim 2, Fadler teaches semi-automatic return along travel distance W via actuation handle 5 (Fadler [0018]), but fails to expressly teach the manual operation of the user.
Koertge teaches the operator initiates and controls reverse trajectory speed by joystick/dead-man switch. (Koertge col.5:1-31; col.6:1-19, Fig.4).
In view of the utility, to allow an operator flexibility when needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Fadler to include the teachings such as that taught by Koertge.
With regards to claim 3, Fadler teaches manual servo-supported C-arm adjustment and arbitrary angular/orbital components (Fadler [0014], [0018]), but fail to expressly teach the plurality of movable shafts.
Koertge teaches joystick control of plural axes/motors. (Koertge col.3:37-67, Fig.2).
In view of the utility, to allow diagnostic flexibility when needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Fadler to include the teachings such as that taught by Koertge.
With regards to claim 4, Fadler teaches the claimed invention according to claim 1, but fails to expressly disclose the processing circuity to cause the memory to story movement path generated based on the movements of the imaging apparatus in response to the manual operation as claimed.
Shimizu teaches sequence auto-reproducing of auto-positioning and registered posture marks/sequence marks, while Fadler stores manual travel W made between positions. (Shimizu [0005], [0070]-[0074]; Fadler [0018]).
In view of the utility, to allow diagnostic flexibility when needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Fadler to include the teachings such as that taught by Shimizu.
With regards to claim 6, Fadler modified teaches the claimed invention according to claim 1, but fails to teaching the plurality of movable shafts including C-arm of an X-ray apparatus including a plurality of said shafts of a bed.
Koertge teaches plural movable shafts/axes of both C-arm and patient table: RAO/LAO, CRAN/CAUD, SID, Table-X, Table-Tilt. (Koertge col.3:37-67, Fig.2) .
Shimizu also teaches a support frame pivotal with respect to plural movable axes and a bed. (Shimizu [0028], [0040].)
In view of the utility, to allow diagnostic flexibility when needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Fadler to include the teachings such as that taught by Koertge and Shimizu.
With regards to claim 8, Fadler teaches the claimed invention according to claim 1, and further Fadler teaches exact return along the prior way.
Fadler fails to expressly teach the forward direction path is reproduce din a reverse direction as claimed.
Koertge teaches reverse trajectory from reverse-order vectors. (Fadler [0018]; Koertge col.4:45-col.5:17) .
In view of the utility, to allow diagnostic flexibility when needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Fadler to include the teachings such as that taught by Koertge and Shimizu.
With regards to claim 9, Fadler modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 1, but fails to expressly disclose the combination of movements of the plurality of movable shafts as claimed.
Koertge teaches storing N-dimensional time-stamped vectors in ring buffer memory, including axis vector values, and reading from the current pointer in reverse order. (Koertge col.6:40-65; col.7:1-7; Fig.5).
In view of the utility, to allow diagnostic flexibility when needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Fadler to include the teachings such as that taught by Koertge.
With regards to claim 10, Fadler teaches the invention according to claim 1 and further Fadler teaches arbitrary positions P1, P2, P3 along travel distance W can be stored as working positions and that the C-arm can be automatically stopped upon reaching them (Fadler [0018], Fig.2).
Fadler fails to expressly disclose the movements designated by the user as claimed.
Shimizu teaches selecting/designating target posture and driving to it (Shimizu [0044]-[0051], Fig.4).
In view of the utility, to allow diagnostic flexibility when needed with an operator, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Fadler to include the teachings such as that taught by Shimizu.
With regards to claim 16, Fadler teaches the claimed invention according to claim 1. Notice that claim 16 is the method counterpart and as such, refer to the rejection of claim 1. Fadler teaches storing travel distance W during travel and returning exactly along W; Shimizu teaches auto-positioning operations; Koertge teaches reverse-order time-stamped vector movement (Fadler [0018]; Shimizu [0004]-[0007], [0070]-[0074]; Koertge col.4:37-col.5:17).
Claim(s) 5 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fadler et al. (US Pub. No. 2005/0094770 A1) in view of Shimizu et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0374325 A1), Koertge et al. (US Pub. No. 2007/0211861 A1) and Suhm et al. (US Patent 6,814,490 B1).
With regards to claim 5, Fadler modified disclose the claimed invention according to claim 1, but fails to expressly state that the manual operation is related to auto-positioning that reads out and executes a pre-registered motion setting of the movable shafts
Suhm teaches that lengths and temporal succession of displacements performed during initial positioning may be stored in data memory and reproduced by activating a computer-stored control function (Suhm col.3:18-32). Suhm also teaches that stored positions/projections can be automatically reproduced from any given position by retrieval of stored data and that the control function may be activated via control console or voice commands such as “position 1” and “position 2.” (Suhm col.3:33-47; col.8:36-52).
In view of the utility, to allow flexibility where it’s needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use Suhm’s stored-position / temporal-succession reproduction with Fadler and Shimizu to reproduce selected X-ray apparatus positions while reducing setup time and repeated image positioning.
With regards to claim 14, Fadler teaches the claimed invention according to claim 1 and further teaches storing travel distance W and returning along it exactly (Fadler [0018], Fig.2).
Fadler modified fail to expressly disclose that, while the apparatus is moving in reverse order of a first path, the processing circuitry stores that reverse-order movement path as a second path and later moves in reverse order of the second path.
Koertge teaches reading stored time-stamped vectors in reverse order to produce reverse trajectory (Koertge col.4:45-col.5:17; col.6:40-65, Figs.4-5).
Suhm teaches storing the lengths and temporal succession of displacements performed during positioning in data memory and reproducing them by activating a control function (Suhm col.3:18-32).
Suhm further teaches that any position/projection occupied by the C-bow can be determined by calculating the lengths and temporal succession of displacements of all drive devices and stored in data memory, and may later be reproduced (Suhm col.8:36-52).
Once Fadler modified provide reverse movement of a first stored path, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Fadler to include the teachings such as that taught by Koertge and Suhm to store that reverse movement as another temporal succession of displacements under Suhm so the operator can later reverse it again and return forward. This is a predictable duplication of the same store-and-reproduce control function for a newly traveled reverse path (Koertge col.4:45-col.5:17; Suhm col.3:18-32; col.8:36-52).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fadler et al. (US Pub. No. 2005/0094770 A1) in view of Shimizu et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0374325 A1), Koertge et al. (US Pub. No. 2007/0211861 A1) and Noda et al. (JP 2019-088380 A).
With regards to claim 7, Fadler modified disclose the claimed invention as claim 6, but fail to expressly teach that the plurality of movable shafts further includes a movement shaft of an X-ray CT apparatus with respect to the bed, with the X-ray CT apparatus moved in combination with an X-ray angiography apparatus.
Noda teaches an angio CT apparatus including an X-ray diagnostic apparatus 1, CT gantry 50, console apparatus, and a bed apparatus common to the angio apparatus and CT apparatus. (Noda [0093]-[0098], Figs.19-21.) Noda teaches that CT gantry 50 is moved along rail r2 to an imaging position and retracted along the rail, while the C-arm of the X-ray diagnostic apparatus is set for angiography use. (Noda [0121]-[0123].) Noda also teaches CT imaging control that synchronously controls the CT gantry and bed for CT imaging and CT positioning scan. (Noda [0115].)
It would have been obvious to apply the stored-path and reverse-movement controls of the base combination to Noda’s angio CT arrangement because Noda places the X-ray angiography apparatus, CT gantry, and bed in close proximity and expressly coordinates their motion. Coordinated stored/reverse movement predictably improves repositioning and collision-aware operation in that shared angio-CT space (Noda [0093]-[0098], [0115], [0121]-[0123]; Koertge col.1:55-col.2:18).
Claim(s) 11 - 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fadler et al. (US Pub. No. 2005/0094770 A1) in view of Shimizu et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0374325 A1), Koertge et al. (US Pub. No. 2007/0211861 A1), Suhm et al. (US Patent 6,814,490 B1) and Rosen et al. (US Pub. No. 2008/0028323 A1).
With regards to claim 11, Fadler modified teach the claimed invention according to claim 1, but fails to expressly disclose displaying a pseudo image of the imaging apparatus as a moving image, a seek bar that lets the user designate an arbitrary frame as a stop position, or display/bookmark-style specific positions on the moving image
Suhm teaches a computer-controlled embodiment that permits visualizing the planned displacement of the C-bow on a display screen to avoid collisions during automatic positioning (Suhm col.3:47-52; col.8:5-13).
Rosen teaches object annotation tools including a video scrub tool (Rosen [0041]). Rosen teaches that the video scrub tool controls video playback with play, pause, fast forward, fast reverse, one-frame forward, one-frame reverse, and a sliding scroll bar that lets the user immediately position playback to a particular frame of the video (Rosen [0057]). Rosen further teaches selecting a single frame or range of frames and adding a bookmark represented by an icon located under the scroll bar to indicate the selected frame(s) (Rosen [0057]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Fadler with Rosen’s familiar moving-image seek-bar interface to review and select positions along a stored apparatus movement path in addition to Suhm, as Suhm already teaches visualizing planned C-arm displacement on a display to avoid collisions. The modification is a predictable user-interface choice for time-ordered stored movement data, using the same seek/scrub concepts to designate a frame/position along a displayed path (Suhm col.3:47-52; Rosen [0041], [0057]).
With regards to claim 12, Fadler modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 11, but fails to expressly disclose causing the display to further display a seek bar that allows the user to designate a position corresponding to the frame and the operators needs.
Rosen teaches a sliding scroll bar that lets a user position playback to a particular frame, and selecting/bookmarking frames; applied to the displayed pseudo moving image, this provides the seek-bar designation of an arbitrary frame/stop position (Rosen 0057]).
In view of the utility, to allow flexibility, especially on the display where it’s needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Fadler with the teachings such as that taught by Rosen.
With regards to claim 13, Fadler modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 11, but fails to expressly disclose a processing circuity further configured to cause memory to story specific positions movement paths, for a predetermined time, at a designated speed while causing the display to display the specific position on the moving image.
Koertge teaches time-stamped vectors and identifiable movement positions; Rosen teaches frame/range bookmarks represented by icons under the scroll bar (Koertge col.6:40-65, Fig.5; Rosen [0057]).
In view of the utility, to allow flexibility, especially on the display where it’s needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Fadler with the teachings such as that taught by Koertge and Rosen.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fadler et al. (US Pub. No. 2005/0094770 A1) in view of Shimizu et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0374325 A1), Koertge et al. (US Pub. No. 2007/0211861 A1), Suhm et al. (US Patent 6,814,490 B1) and Wang et al. (CN 105455834 B).
With regards to claim 15, Fadler modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 1, Fadler teaches arbitrary positions along a stored travel distance (Fadler [0018]).
Fadler modified fails to expressly disclose the movements being made including the shortest path instead of the movement path stored in the memory.
Shimizu teaches current posture detection, target posture designation, a determination of locatability, calculation of pivot amount from current posture to target posture, and driving the support frame to the target posture (Shimizu [0042]-[0051], Figs.3-5).
Suhm teaches stored positions/projections automatically reproduced from any given position by retrieval of stored data (Suhm col.3:33-47).
Wang teaches X-ray-machine movement trajectory planning for one-key positioning. It sets target positions for the X-ray generating device and X-ray receiving device, acquires current positions in real time during movement, calculates movement-axis speeds when the current positions differ from the target positions, and controls the devices to move based on the calculated speeds (Wang [0007]-[0011], [0053]-[0057], Fig.1; machine-EN, Summary).
Wang further teaches that path planning and obstacle avoidance are the key control issue after the user sets a target point with one-key positioning, and uses artificial-potential-field calculations for repulsive and attractive forces so the tube/chest-film box move toward target positions while avoiding collision (Wang [0064]-[0065], [0072]-[0075], [0084]-[0112], Figs.3,6,7; Wang machine-EN, Detailed Description).
It would have been obvious to provide a selectable current-position-to-target-position route as an alternative to replaying a stored movement path because Shimizu and Suhm already teach moving an X-ray apparatus from a current/arbitrary position to a selected target or stored posture, while Wang teaches X-ray-machine trajectory planning from current position to target position with real-time axis-speed control. Selecting the shortest/direct route when the user chooses speed over exact stored-path reproduction would have been an ordinary route-optimization design choice for reducing movement time, subject to the same locatability and collision-avoidance constraints already taught by Shimizu/Wang. (Shimizu [0042]-[0051]; Suhm col.3:33-47; Wang [0007]-[0011], [0064]-[0065], [0084]-[0112].)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DJURA MALEVIC/Examiner, Art Unit 2884 /UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884