DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase " if necessary" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). The examiner notes that is not readily clear what is considered necessary. For purpose of examination the claim will be interpret as not including the sixth and seventh temperature sensors.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "a cooling efficiency (cooling ability/compression work)". This limitation is unclear and confusing because is unclear if the scope of the claim includes the cooling ability or compression work.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kyoichi et al. (JP 2017040396), hereinafter referred to as Kyoichi, in view of Okazaki et al. (US 20100205987), hereinafter referred to as Okazaki.
Re claim 1, Kyoichi teaches a cooling mechanism for cooling a processing-assisting contributive liquid (see description, “The cooling device 1 is a device for cooling and controlling the temperature of a heat medium such as water”) used in a processing apparatus (intended use; see description, “The present invention relates to a cooling device for cooling an object to be cooled, such as an industrial machine such as a machine tool”), comprising:
a controller (e.g. 10);
a compressor (e.g. 22) for compressing a CO2 coolant (e.g. abstract, “a carbon dioxide refrigerant”);
a water-cooling gas cooler (e.g. 6) for cooling the CO2 coolant that has retained heat generated when compressed by the compressor;
a vaporizer (e.g. 8) for vaporizing the CO2 coolant 8 functions as an evaporator), and cooling the processing-assisting contributive liquid (the examiner notes that it cools the water) used in the processing apparatus;
a first pathway (e.g. 3) interconnecting the compressor and the water-cooling gas cooler (Fig 1);
a second pathway (e.g. line from 6 to 8) interconnecting the water-cooling gas cooler and the vaporizer (Fig 1);
a third pathway (e.g. line from 8 to 5) interconnecting the vaporizer and the compressor (Fig 1);
a fourth pathway having a water control valve (e.g. 61) for introducing industrial water (see description, “The gas cooler 6 cools the high-temperature and high-pressure refrigerant gas by exchanging heat with the cooling fluid … The cooling fluid may be a liquid such as water”) into the water-cooling gas cooler (see description, “When the cooling fluid is liquid, it is practical to control the flow rate of the cooling fluid by controlling the opening degree of the flow rate control valve 61 as shown in the figure”); and
a bypass pathway (e.g. 4) interconnecting a first joint (see joint point in Fig 1 to the right of 6) joined to the first pathway and a second joint (see joint point in Fig 1 to the left of 8) joined to the second pathway and having a variable bypass valve (e.g. 9),
the cooling mechanism further includes
a variable expansion valve (e.g. 7) that is disposed on the second pathway between the internal heat exchanger and the second joint (see Fig 1; the examiner notes that in a close loop the valve is considered to be between the internal heat exchanger and the second joint) and regulates a flow rate of the CO2 coolant that has been cooled (e.g. see description, “the cooling efficiency control unit 12 changes and controls the opening degree of the expansion valve 7 so that the detected value of the second pressure detector 322 becomes the optimum pressure P max”),
a first pressure sensor (e.g. 321) that is disposed on either the second pathway or the third pathway between the variable expansion valve and the compressor and measures a pressure of the CO2 coolant (see Fig 1),
a second pressure sensor (e.g. 322) that is disposed on either the first pathway or the second pathway between the compressor and the variable expansion valve and measures the pressure of the CO2 coolant that has been compressed by the compressor (see Fig 1),
a first temperature sensor (e.g. 212) for measuring a temperature of the processing-assisting contributive liquid that flows out of the vaporizer (see Fig 1),
a second temperature sensor (e.g. 211) for measuring the temperature of the processing-assisting contributive liquid that flows into the vaporizer (see Fig 1),
a fourth temperature sensor (e.g. 313) for measuring the temperature of the CO2 coolant delivered from the compressor (see Fig 1),
a fifth temperature sensor (e.g. 312) for measuring the temperature of the CO2 coolant delivered from the water-cooling gas cooler,
see above 112b rejection regarding the interpretation of this limitation),
see above 112b rejection regarding the interpretation of this limitation), and
an eighth temperature sensor (e.g. 311) for measuring the temperature of the CO2 coolant delivered into the compressor,
the controller includes a setting section for setting at least a first pressure value to be detected by the first pressure sensor (e.g. see description, “The actual temperature is used for the refrigerant temperature and pressure at point D”; the examiners notes that the controller sets the low-pressure to be the actual value on the controller), a second pressure value to be detected by the second pressure sensor (e.g. see description, “the second pressure detector 322 becomes the optimum pressure”), a first temperature to be detected by the first temperature sensor or a second temperature to be detected by the second temperature sensor (e.g. see description “the heat medium temperature detectors 211 and 212 become a predetermined target temperature”), a fourth temperature to be detected by the fourth temperature sensor (e.g. see description, “the procedure for obtaining the positions of points A, B, and C when the set value of the high-pressure side pressure is the pressure P has been described. Here, when the set value of the high-pressure side pressure is set to pressure P ′ (where P ′> P), points A, B, and C move to points A ′, B ′, and C ′, respectively”; point A set to A’ is the temperature detected by the fourth temperature sensor), a fifth temperature to be detected by the fifth temperature sensor (e.g. see description, “the target temperature of the refrigerant on the gas cooler 6 output side (point B) is a constant (for example, 30 ° C.)”), and an eighth temperature to be detected by the eighth temperature sensor (e.g. see description, “The actual temperature is used for the refrigerant temperature and pressure at point D”; the examiners notes that the controller sets the suction temperature to be the actual value on the controller), and
the controller controls a degree of opening of the variable expansion valve (see description, “When the cooling efficiency control unit 12 obtains the optimum pressure P max as described above, the cooling efficiency control unit 12 changes and controls the opening degree of the expansion valve 7 so that the detected value of the second pressure detector 322 becomes the optimum pressure P max” … “This change in the cooling capacity also affects the temperature control of the heat medium by the temperature control unit 13”) and a rotational speed (e.g. see description “the temperature control unit 13 controls the rotation speed of the compressor 5 so that the temperature of the heat medium (cooling target) becomes the target value”; the examiner notes that the efficiency control unit controls the opening degree and that affects the cooling capacity and the temperature unit is used to control that) of the compressor to cause the CO2 coolant to follow a route that is defined by the set pressure values and temperatures (see Fig 2, ABCD) in surrounding relation to a critical point specified by a critical temperature of 31.1° C. and a critical pressure of 7.38 Mpa (see Fig 2 provided below which is the p-h diagram for a CO2 refrigeration cycle; CP is the critical point; ABCD surround the critical point), in order for a temperature value measured by the first temperature sensor or the second temperature sensor to reach the set temperature (see description, “so that the detection values of the heat medium temperature detectors 211 and 212 become a predetermined target temperature”; the examiner notes that the opening degree is controlled based on the set values which in turn controls the speed of the compressor in order to reach the set temperature of the industrial water).
[AltContent: oval]
Kyoichi does not teach the limitation of an internal heat exchanger for being supplied with the CO2 coolant that has been cooled by the water-cooling gas cooler; the vaporizer vaporizing the CO2 coolant delivered from the internal heat exchanger; a third temperature sensor for measuring a temperature of the industrial water flowing into the water-cooling gas cooler.
However, Okazaki teaches a refrigeration cycle comprising an internal heat exchanger (e.g. 5) for being supplied with CO2 coolant (e.g. ¶ 43, “using carbon dioxide (hereinafter, CO2) as a refrigerant”) that has been cooled by a water-cooling gas cooler (e.g. 2; the examiner notes that 2 cools the CO2 by heating the water exchanging heat therein); a vaporizer (e.g. 4) vaporizing the CO2 coolant (inherent function of an evaporator) delivered from the internal heat exchanger (see Fig 1); a third temperature sensor (41) for measuring a temperature of the water flowing into the water-cooling gas cooler (see Fig 1).
Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Kyoichi and integrated an internal heat exchanger for being supplied with the CO2 coolant that has been cooled by the water-cooling gas cooler; the vaporizer vaporizing the CO2 coolant delivered from the internal heat exchanger; a third temperature sensor for measuring a temperature of the industrial water flowing into the water-cooling gas cooler, as taught by Okazaki, in order to more stably achieve efficient operations (see Okazaki ¶ 17).
Re claim 2, Kyoichi, as modified, teaches the cooling mechanism according to claim 1. Kyoichi teaches the limitation of wherein, for reducing an extent to which the processing-assisting contributive liquid used in the processing apparatus is to be cooled (this is a result of the control operation), the controller reduces the degree of opening of the variable expansion valve to reduce the flow rate of the CO2 coolant flowing in the vaporizer (see description, “the opening degree of the expansion valve 7 is increased to decrease the pressure at the point B, and if the detected pressure value is smaller than the optimum pressure P max , Feedback control is performed so as to increase the pressure at point B by decreasing the opening”), and increases a degree of opening of the variable bypass valve on the bypass pathway so as to prevent the rotational speed of the compressor from reaching a lower limit value due to the reduction of the flow rate of the CO2 coolant in the vaporizer (see description, “ When the rotational speed of the compressor 5 reaches its minimum rotational speed and the cooling capacity is adjusted to be less than feared, the rotational speed of the compressor 5 is fixed to the minimum rotational speed and the flow rate control valve 9 of the bypass passage 4 is fixed. Is adjusted to 0 or more, and the low-temperature refrigerant in the circulation path 3 is mixed with the high-temperature refrigerant from the bypass path 4 and flows into the heat exchanger 8”; the examiner notes that the “less than feared” indicates an even lower value than the minimum and thus operation of the bypass is started), to increase the flow rate of the CO2 coolant flowing in the vaporizer (this is a result of the control operation).
Re claim 3, Kyoichi, as modified, teaches the cooling mechanism according to claim 1. Kyoichi teaches the limitation of wherein, for increasing the extent to which the processing-assisting contributive liquid used in the processing apparatus is to be cooled (this is a result of the control operation), the controller increases the degree of opening of the variable expansion valve (see description, “the opening degree of the expansion valve 7 is increased to decrease the pressure at the point B, and if the detected pressure value is smaller than the optimum pressure P max , Feedback control is performed so as to increase the pressure at point B by decreasing the opening”), and increases the rotational speed of the compressor to increase the flow rate of the CO2 coolant flowing in the vaporizer (see description, “ As described above, the temperature control unit 13 controls the rotation speed of the compressor 5 so that the temperature of the heat medium (cooling target) becomes the target value. The compressor 5 is driven by a drive unit 51 that performs inverter drive. The temperature control unit 13 can change the rotation speed of the compressor 5 by changing the drive frequency of the drive unit 51, thereby changing and controlling the cooling capacity of the cooling device 1. The temperature control unit 13 changes and controls the rotation speed of the compressor 5 so that the detection values of the heat medium temperature detectors 211 and 212 become a predetermined target temperature.”), thereby vaporizing, in the internal heat exchanger, liquid CO2 that remains in the CO2 coolant delivered from the vaporizer, so that a burden on the compressor is reduced (this is a result of the control operation).
Re claim 4, Kyoichi, as modified, teaches the cooling mechanism according to claim 1. Okazaki teaches the limitation of wherein the controller adjusts a degree of opening of the water control valve on a basis of the temperature of the industrial water that is detected by the third temperature sensor (see ¶ 45, “hot water storage operation is performed in which supplied water is heated up to a predetermined temperature. When a heat dissipation loss is large and the temperature in the hot water storage tank 21 decreases such as in winter, the on-off valves 23, 25 are closed, the on-off valve 24 is opened, and circulation heating operation is performed in which low-temperature hot water in the hot water storage tank 21 is re-boiled”), thereby regulating a flow rate of the industrial water introduced into the water-cooling gas cooler, to control the cooling of the CO2 coolant (this is a result of the control operation).
Re claim 5, Kyoichi, as modified, teaches the cooling mechanism according to claim 1. Okazaki teaches the limitation of wherein the controller reduces the degree of opening of the variable expansion valve to increase a pressure value detected by the second pressure sensor or increases the degree of opening of the variable expansion valve to reduce a pressure value detected by the second pressure sensor, to adjust the pressure value to the set pressure value (see description, “and the opening degree of the expansion valve 7 is controlled so that the detected value of the second pressure detector 322 becomes the optimum pressure”) and thereby control a cooling efficiency (cooling ability/compression work) (this is a result of the control operation).
Re claim 8, Kyoichi, as modified, teaches the cooling mechanism according to claim 1. Okazaki teaches the limitation of wherein the sixth temperature sensor and the seventh temperature sensor are dispensed with (the examiner notes that Kyoichi, as modified, does not include the sixth and seventh temperature sensor).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (ss PTO-892).
/NELSON J NIEVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763 11/19/2025
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763