DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This Office action is in response to the amendment received September 29, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-16, and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KANATANI et al (2005/0244739), HAGIWARA et al (6,071,667) and/or ONO et al (2015/0337116).
The claimed invention now recites.
KANATANI et al disclose polyimide precursors wherein X is disclosed to meet (A1) and (A3) with (A4) of formula (I), see Example 14, page 14, para. [0163], wherein the polymer blend of PSP-4 and PSP-5 are formulated with N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone and ethyl lactate solvents. PSP-4 and PSP-5 and Example 14 are defined below:
KANATANI et al lack the use of a diamine meeting formula (7), however equivalent diamines are found on page 5, para. [0052] shown below:
such as 3,3’-dihydroxy-4-4’-diaminobenzophenone and others in the box.
The solvents for the resin composition can be found in para [0120] on page 11 shown below such as γ-butyrolactone, dimethyl sulfoxide and N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone wherein these can be use alone or in a mixture.
HAGIWARA et al disclose polyimide precursors made from dianhydrides found in column 4, lines 15-50 shown below:
and diamines made from R2 from column 7, line 62 to column 8, line 53 shown below:
ONO et al report a photosensitive resin composition comprising a photosensitive polyimide precursor meeting the recited polyamic acid of formula (18) by disclosing a hydroxyethyl methacrylate side group having two different dianhydrides and two different diamines, see Synthesis Example 7, Polymer IV from page 12, paragraph [0106].
The negative-type photosensitive composition is met by Example 15 from Table 1 on page 15 wherein the photosensitizer is an oxime ester (c2) found in paragraph [0143], see below:
ONO et al has been discussed above for the negative-type composition having the polyamic acid ester and acid generator in Table 1, Example 15.
With respect to condition (I), Applicants are directed to Synthesis Examples 1-3 in paragraphs [0099] to [0102] wherein the precursor ingredients for the polyimide precursor dianhydrides are synthesized. Synthesis Example 7 report the use of mixture of PMDA (Syn Ex. 1) and an ODPA (Syn. Ex. 3) the use of the dianhydrides alone or in mixture suggest to the skilled artisan that any mixture of the three dianhydrides would be suitable for use such as PMDA and BPDA.
ONO et al lacks the structures in claim 5 for formula (7), (9) and (10) in a working example, however para. [0023] and [0024] report dianhydrides which meet X1 and X2, see below wherein pyromellitic dianhydride can be use singly and para. [0024] report a second dianhydride precursor:
Likewise, the reference lacks a working example having a diamine of formula (7) of claim 6, however para. [0029] report equivalent diamines for the polyimide precursor, see below:
The diamines can be use singly or in combination.
And the two solvents for the negative-type composition in claims 8 and 10 are found on page 10, paragraphs [0076] – [0077]. The N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone is used in the working example, however the claimed second dimethyl sulfoxide is missing in the example but is reported as equivalent and can be additive as disclosed paragraph [0076] and [0077]. ONO et al teach that those listed solvents may be use singly or in combination.
With respect to the claims 2-13 and 18, KANATANI et al disclose the components of (A1) – (A3) and A4 above.
With respect to claims 14-17, the solvents have been disclosed above in para. [0052].
With respect to the claims 19-25 are met by the disclosure in KANATANI et al for-oxime compounds, in para. [0103].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of photosensitive resin composition for polyamic ester to use a blend of two dianhydride as disclosed in Example 14 of KANATANI et al or HAGIWARA et al above with one or two diamines and a mixture of solvents, such as γ-butyrolactone, dimethyl sulfoxide and N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone as reported above with the reasonable expectation of having a composition which is high in adhesion, high in chemical and heat resistance, excellent in storage stability and excellent in resolution as disclosed in ONO et al.
The general formula (18) has been addressed in the current Office action wherein ONO et al disclose that the dianhydrides used to synthesize the polyimide precursor can be used singly or in combination, thus addressing the two different repeating units recited for general formula (18) in claims 1 and 2, which were highlighted in the Remarks (X1 and X2 and Y1 and Y2 were addressed in the previous Office action).
In addition, the Office notes that R1 and R2 recite groups in the alternative such that they can be hydrogen, saturated aliphatic group having 1 to 30 carbon atoms, aromatic group, monovalent organic group represented by the following general formula (2) or general formula (3).
It noted that the solvents are disclosed in the art of ONO et al and are taught to be used singly or in combination.
With respect to the negative limitation amendment to exclude melamine resin, this scope is acknowledged, however the rejection stands as the ONO et al and HAGIWARA et al references do not require a melamine resin and the remaining presence of the KITATANI et al reference support the disclosed use of two dianhydrides and two diamines in a solvent blend as claimed.
Applicants are directed to column 6, line 64 – column 7, line 13 wherein the use of an additional diamine having a structure meeting claimed general formula (7) in amended claim 1 can be used as an additional precursor, see below:
The structure of general formula (8) is met by the disclosure in column 4, lines 18-33 and column 6, line 17-31, wherein a benzophenone tetracarboxylic acid is reported as a dianhydride precursor, as well as a 1,1,1,3,3,3-hexafluoro-bis-dicarboxyphenyl propane for the polyamic acid resin, see below:
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/John S. Chu/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737
J. Chu
November 3, 2025