DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
As of the Office Action dated December 4, 2025 claims 1, 3-9, 11 and 13-20 were pending and claims 1, 3-9, 11 and 13-20 stood rejected. Claims 1, 8-9, 11 and 20 have been amended. No claims have been added or cancelled. Claims 1, 3-9, 11 and 13-20 are therefore currently pending and are presented for examination on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4-9, 11 and 14-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 3 and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-9, 11, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyd et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0076262, hereinafter referred to as Boyd) in view of Hsu (U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0403399)
As per claims 1, 11 and 20
Boyd discloses one or more processors (0064 “The APS 120 includes a processor 210, a communication unit 212, a display unit 214, and a memory 216. The processor may be associated with logic or modules to process information, including a MIC generator 220 and a verification system 222 with a verification Application Programming Interface (API) 224”)
Boyd discloses non-transitory computer-readable storage media encoding instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors (0011 “The first party system includes a first computer programmed to perform operations according to first instructions. The second party system includes a second computer programmed to perform operations according to second instructions. The first party system has received from an authorizing party system (APS) a mobile identification credential (MIC). The APS includes an APS computer programmed to perform operations according to APS instructions”, 0072 “The memory 216 may be associated with a database of MICs 230. A given MIC may include Biographic Information (BGI) and Biometric Information (BMI), which can be selectively requested and provided, e.g., as MIC user information, when the MIC is provisioned onto a UMD. The MIC also can include other information, such as privileges pertaining to the user”)
Boyd discloses store a mobile driver’s license of an individual in the mobile wallet, wherein the mobile wallet is a program executed on the computer system, and wherein the mobile wallet stores additional items (0046 “FIG. 1 shows an example of an overall system 100 employing mobile identification credentials in transactions between parties. In an environment that supports its use, a Mobile Identification Credential (MIC) can enable a user to conveniently prove the user's identity. One embodiment of a MIC is a mobile driver's license (mDL) issued by an official agency such as a state Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Another embodiment of a MIC is a mobile passport. A mobile passport may, for example, be issued by the U.S. Department of State or a foreign ministry of another nation. The MIC can include various information, such as information relating to identity or privileges pertaining to the user”, “0074 “The structure of the MIC enables the other information to be added, such as when provisioning the MIC from the APS to a UMD, or after provisioning the MIC to the UMD, such as when the user enters information into the MIC via the UMD. For example, a user enters supplemental information into the MIC via the UMD, e.g., emergency contact information. Information on the MIC may be compartmentalized and separately accessible”)
Boyd discloses receive extended information from the individual, wherein the information is configurable by the individual (“0074 “The structure of the MIC enables the other information to be added, such as when provisioning the MIC from the APS to a UMD, or after provisioning the MIC to the UMD, such as when the user enters information into the MIC via the UMD. For example, a user enters supplemental information into the MIC via the UMD, e.g., emergency contact information. Information on the MIC may be compartmentalized and separately accessible”)
Boyd discloses add the extended information to the mobile wallet that is associated with the mobile driver’s license, the extended information being additional authentication information associated with the individual (0065 “…The MIC generator creates a framework to build the MIC for the user and populates the MIC with corresponding official biographic and official biometric information, e.g., as available locally at the DMV office… In an example, the APS may be located at the DMV, and an agent of the DMV collects and manually verifies proof of identity that the user provides to the agent in person. In an embodiment, a kiosk at the DMV performs a liveness check of the user and/or otherwise performs unattended verification of the proof of identity that the user provides to the kiosk”, 0109 “…For an in-person transaction, any biographic or biometric information can be obtained live from the person at the RPS using biometric devices or readers (e.g., fingerprint matching or recognition by a fingerprint reader, iris or retina matching or recognition by iris or retina scanner, facial matching or recognition by a facial imaging device, voice matching or recognition by a voice recording device, etc.). For an online transaction, such information can be obtained from a trusted source and/or a liveness check can be required to obtain the biometric information”)
Boyd discloses receive a request to authenticate the individual, the request including request information (0131 “In step 1320, the RPS requests user ID information from the UMD in response to the request for the services. The request may be in the form of a KYC template sent to the UMD to be filled out by the individual requesting party. The individual user may be notified of the request via a display or some other user interface on the UMD”)
Boyd discloses calculate an authentication score based upon a comparison of the request information to the extended information (0136 “Furthermore, the MIC user information may be used to evaluate the KYC information contained in the completed KYC form, optionally with additional biometric and/or biographic information provided by the user, and to calculate a user trust score. The subject passes the vetting when the calculated trust score is at or above the preset threshold and the subject fails the vetting when the calculated composite trust score is below the preset threshold”)
Boyd discloses return a determination of authentication in response to the request (0136 “Furthermore, the MIC user information may be used to evaluate the KYC information contained in the completed KYC form, optionally with additional biometric and/or biographic information provided by the user, and to calculate a user trust score. The subject passes the vetting when the calculated trust score is at or above the preset threshold and the subject fails the vetting when the calculated composite trust score is below the preset threshold”)
Boyd does not explicitly disclose at least one payment credential comprising a virtual representation of a payment card synchronized with the mobile wallet and usable to conduct a transaction. Hsu teaches at least one payment credential comprising a virtual representation of a payment card synchronized with the mobile wallet and usable to conduct a transaction (Figures 2 and 3, 0023 “As used herein, the term “identity credential,” “user credential,” “credential,” or “credential document” (referred to using reference numeral 200) may include any form of identity credential, credential document, identification, or other documentation associated with a user that may be used to identify the user… Likewise, in some embodiments, identity credentials 200 may include transaction instruments, such as payment cards (e.g., credit and debit cards).”, 0056 “Where the identity credential 200 is a digital identity credential 204, the digital identity credential 204 is displayed on the screen of the user computing device 110 of the credential owner. The image of the digital identity credential 204 may be a photo or scan of the screen of the user computing device 110, on which the digital identity credential 204 is actively displayed.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the mobile identification credential of Boyd with the identity authentication of Hsu for the purpose of enabling more secure presentation of digital documents via digital wallets, which can facilitate document proofing and enrollment within their service ecosystems (Hsu at 0004).
As per claims 4 and 14
Boyd discloses associating the extended information with the mobile driver's license (0046 “FIG. 1 shows an example of an overall system 100 employing mobile identification credentials in transactions between parties. In an environment that supports its use, a Mobile Identification Credential (MIC) can enable a user to conveniently prove the user's identity. One embodiment of a MIC is a mobile driver's license (mDL) issued by an official agency such as a state Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Another embodiment of a MIC is a mobile passport. A mobile passport may, for example, be issued by the U.S. Department of State or a foreign ministry of another nation. The MIC can include various information, such as information relating to identity or privileges pertaining to the user”, 0136 “Furthermore, the MIC user information may be used to evaluate the KYC information contained in the completed KYC form, optionally with additional biometric and/or biographic information provided by the user, and to calculate a user trust score. The subject passes the vetting when the calculated trust score is at or above the preset threshold and the subject fails the vetting when the calculated composite trust score is below the preset threshold”)
As per claims 5 and 15
Boyd discloses wherein the extended information is immutable (0055 “The RPS needs to know, or trust, that the MIC user information obtained from the UMD is unchanged and matches official records. Part of this trustworthiness may be based on how the MIC was securely provisioned or placed onto the UMD, e.g., according to International Organization for Standardization (ISO) standards”)
As per claims 6 and 16
Boyd discloses wherein the request is associated with accessing an account (claim 8 “receiving, by the second party system from the first party system, a request to open a financial account with the financial institution; and upon verifying the identity of the first party, providing, to the first party system, account information of an opened financial account for the first party”)
As per claims 7 and 17
Boyd discloses wherein the authentication score is calculated on a scale (0136 “Furthermore, the MIC user information may be used to evaluate the KYC information contained in the completed KYC form, optionally with additional biometric and/or biographic information provided by the user, and to calculate a user trust score. The subject passes the vetting when the calculated trust score is at or above the preset threshold and the subject fails the vetting when the calculated composite trust score is below the preset threshold”)
As per claims 8 and 18
Boyd discloses synchronizing the mobile wallet with a client device (0052 “The UMD digitally signs the MIC user information using the electronic certificate from the APS. The UMD can retrieve the electronic certificate at the time of the transaction, either from the APS or from a certificate repository”)
As per claims 9 and 19
Boyd discloses receiving the mobile driver's license from a governmental agency (0046 “In an environment that supports its use, a Mobile Identification Credential (MIC) can enable a user to conveniently prove the user's identity. One embodiment of a MIC is a mobile driver's license (mDL) issued by an official agency such as a state Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Another embodiment of a MIC is a mobile passport. A mobile passport may, for example, be issued by the U.S. Department of State or a foreign ministry of another nation. The MIC can include various information, such as information relating to identity or privileges pertaining to the user”)
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyd in view of Hsu as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0070178, hereinafter referred to as Lee).
As per claims 3 and 13
Boyd and Hsu, while disclosing the limitations of claims 1 and 12, does not explicitly disclose wherein the extended information is at least one of an email address and a phone number. Lee teaches wherein the extended information is at least one of an email address and a phone number (0083 “ID types that may be associated with the eID system may include, among others, a certificate ID, an email, a phone number, a permanent ID, a pseudonym, a certified ID (such as a social security number, a driver's license number, etc.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the mobile identification credential in know your customer assessment of Boyd with the identity authentication of Hsu further with the self-managed trust in internet of things networks of Lee for the purpose of improving privacy and security at the network (Abstract)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
“Mobile Driver’s License Implementation Guidelines: Version 1.2, American Association of Motor Vehicles Administrators, 60 pages, January 2023 outlines the standards for a mobile driver’s license with regard to data fields and protocols
ISO/IEC DIS 18013-5, Draft International Standard, Part 5: Mobile driving licence (mDL) application, ISO/IEC 2020, December 10, 2019, 126 pages, also outlines the standards for a mobile driver’s license with regard to data fields and protocols
/JAMES D NIGH/ Senior Examiner, Art Unit 3699