DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/13/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the exact boundaries of the claimed “second metal pattern” and “third metal pattern” as described in the specification. For example, even though the “second metal pattern” is designated as 146b and “third metal pattern” is designated as 146c the Drawings of the current application (i.e., Figures 1-2) does not appear to provide specific delineations between 146b and 146c such that it is unclear what are the exact boundaries for these elements. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 13 and 18-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the first direction direction” in line 2 of the claim, which appears to be a typographical error and thus the Examiner suggests amending the limitation to remove one iteration of “direction”.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “a top surface in the first direction of the connection structure and of the semiconductor chip” in lines 13-14 of the claim, which appears to be grammatical incorrect, because “a top surface” (singular element) is used in association with plural elements, specifically the connection structure and the semiconductor chip. Thus, the Examiner suggests amending the limitation to either “a top surface in the first direction of the connection structure and a top surface of the semiconductor chip” or “respective top surfaces in the first direction of the connection structure and of the semiconductor chip”.
Note the dependent claims 19-20 necessarily inherit the objected subject matter of the claims on which they depend.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee at al. (US 2021/0313276 A1, hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Figure 9 of Lee discloses a semiconductor package comprising:
a redistribution insulation layer 150 (“passivation layer”- ¶0089);
a connection structure 110 (“core structure”- ¶0091) disposed on the redistribution insulation layer 150 in a first direction (i.e., vertical direction) and comprising a base layer 113 (“encapsulant”- ¶0091), a metal pattern 115B (“metal layer”- ¶0091), and a cavity 110HA (“through-holes”- ¶0100);
a semiconductor chip 121 (“semiconductor chip”- ¶0090) disposed on the redistribution insulation layer 150 in the first direction, the semiconductor chip 121 spaced apart from the connection structure 110; and
a molding layer 130 (“encapsulant”- ¶0106) disposed between the connection structure 110 and the semiconductor chip 121, wherein the semiconductor chip 121 and the molding layer 130 are disposed in the cavity 110HA,
wherein the metal pattern 115B is disposed on the redistribution insulation layer 150 in the first direction and at least partially disposed between the base layer 113 and the molding layer 130, the metal pattern 115B comprising a first metal pattern (i.e., the horizontal portion of 115B notated as “1st Metal Pattern”; see above Examiner’s Markup Fig. 9 Lee) extending, in a second direction (i.e., horizontal direction) crossing the first direction, from an inner surface of the connection structure 110 into the base layer 113 and separating at least a portion of the base layer 113 from at least a portion of the redistribution insulation layer 150, since the horizontal portion of 115B separates a vertical portion of base layer 113 from insulation layer 150 in a diagonal direction (i.e., as marked by the dotted line; see above Examiner’s Markup Fig. 9 Lee).
Regarding claim 2, Figure 9 of Lee discloses the connection structure 110 further comprising a plurality of connection pads 111-2a, 111-2b (“wiring layers”- ¶0092), wherein connection pads 111-2a, 111-2b of the plurality of connection pads 111-2a, 111-2b are disposed on different levels in the first direction from each other, the plurality of connection pads 111-2a, 111-2b including a lowermost connection pad 111-2b in the first direction, and wherein the first metal pattern 115B and the lowermost connection pad 111-2b are disposed on a same level in the first direction.
Regarding claim 3, Figure 9 of Lee discloses wherein a length of the first metal pattern in the first direction is equal to a length of the lowermost connection pad 111-2b in the first direction.
Regarding claim 4, Figure 9 of Lee discloses wherein the first metal pattern and the lowermost connection pad 111-2b each include a same material (¶¶0095, 0099).
Regarding claim 5, Figure 9 of Lee discloses the metal pattern 115B further comprising a second metal pattern (i.e., the vertical portion of 115B notated as “2nd Metal Pattern”; see above Examiner’s Markup Fig. 9 Lee) extending in the first direction and disposed between the first metal pattern and the semiconductor chip 121.
Regarding claim 6, Figure 9 of Lee discloses the connection structure further comprising a plurality of connection pads 111-2a, 111-2b (“wiring layers”- ¶0092), wherein connection pads 111-2a, 11-2b of the plurality of connection pads 111-2a, 111-2b are disposed on different levels in the first direction from each other, the plurality of connection pads 111-2a, 111-2b including an uppermost connection pad 111-2a in the first direction, and wherein a top surface in the first direction of the second metal pattern is located on a same plane as a bottom surface in the first direction of the uppermost connection pad 111-2a.
Regarding claim 7, Figure 9 of Lee discloses wherein a width of the second metal pattern in the second direction is equal to a length of the uppermost connection pad 111-2a in the first direction.
Regarding claim 8, Figure 9 of Lee discloses wherein the second metal pattern and the uppermost connection pad 111-2a each include a same material (¶¶0095, 0099).
Regarding independent claim 9, Figure 9 of Lee discloses a semiconductor package comprising:
a redistribution insulation layer 150 (“passivation layer”- ¶0089);
a connection structure 110 (“core structure”- ¶0091) disposed on the redistribution insulation layer 150 in a first direction (i.e., vertical direction) and comprising a base layer 113 (“encapsulant”- ¶0091), a metal pattern 115B (“metal layer”- ¶0091), and a cavity 110HA (“through-holes”- ¶0100);
a semiconductor chip 121 (“semiconductor chip”- ¶0090) disposed on the redistribution insulation layer 150 in the first direction, the semiconductor chip 121 spaced apart from the connection structure 110; and
a molding layer 130 (“encapsulant”- ¶0106) disposed between the connection structure 110 and the semiconductor chip 121, wherein the semiconductor chip 121 and the molding layer 130 are disposed in the cavity 110HA,
wherein the metal pattern 115B is disposed on the redistribution insulation layer 150 in the first direction and at least partially disposed between the base layer 113 and the molding layer 130, the metal pattern 115B comprising:
a first metal pattern (i.e., the horizontal portion of 115B notated as “1st Metal Pattern”; see above Examiner’s Markup Fig. 9 Lee) extending, in a second direction (i.e., horizontal direction) crossing the first direction, from an inner surface of the connection structure 110 into the base layer 113 and separating at least a portion of the base layer 113 from at least a portion of the redistribution insulation layer 150, since the horizontal portion of 115B separates a vertical portion of base layer 113 from insulation layer 150 in a diagonal direction (i.e., as marked by the dotted line; see above Examiner’s Markup Fig. 9 Lee);
a second metal pattern (i.e., the vertical portion of 115B notated as “2nd Metal Pattern”; see above Examiner’s Markup Fig. 9 Lee #2) disposed on an inner surface of the first metal pattern and extending in the first direction; and
a third metal pattern (i.e., the horizontal portion of 115B notated as “3rd Metal Pattern”; see above Examiner’s Markup Fig. 9 Lee) disposed on a top surface in the first direction of the second metal pattern and extending, in the second direction, from an inner surface (i.e., the inner side surface of the “2nd Metal Pattern”) of the second metal pattern toward the connection structure 110.
Regarding claim 10, Figure 9 of Lee discloses the connection structure further comprising a plurality of connection pads 111-2a, 111-2b (“wiring layers”- ¶0092),
wherein connection pads 111-2a, 111-2b of the plurality of connection pads 111-2a, 111-2b are disposed on different levels in the first direction from each other, the plurality of connection pads 111-2a, 111-2b including a lowermost connection pad 111-2b in the first direction,
wherein the first metal pattern and the lowermost connection pad 111-2b are disposed on a same level in the first direction, and
wherein the first metal pattern and the lowermost connection pad 111-2b each include a same material (¶¶0095, 0099).
Regarding claim 11, Figure 9 of Lee discloses the connection structure further comprising a plurality of connection pads 111-2a, 111-2b (“wiring layers”- ¶0092),
wherein connection pads 111-2a, 111-2b of the plurality of connection pads 111-2a, 111-2b are disposed on different levels in the first direction from each other, the plurality of connection pads 111-2a, 111-2b including an uppermost connection pad 111-2a in the first direction,
wherein a top surface in the first direction of the second metal pattern is located on a same plane as a bottom surface in the first direction of the uppermost connection pad 111-2a, and
wherein the second metal pattern and the uppermost connection pad 111-2a each include a same material (¶¶0095, 0099).
Regarding claim 12, Figure 9 of Lee discloses the connection structure further comprising a plurality of connection pads 111-2a, 111-2b (“wiring layers”- ¶0092),
wherein connection pads 111-2a, 111-2b of the plurality of connection pads 111-2a, 111-2b are disposed on different levels in the first direction from each other, the plurality of connection pads 111-2a, 111-2b including an uppermost connection pad 111-2a in the first direction, and
wherein the third metal pattern and the uppermost connection pad 111-2a are disposed on a same vertical level.
Regarding claim 13, Figure 9 of Lee discloses wherein a length of the third metal pattern in the first direction direction is equal to a length of the uppermost connection pad 111-2a in the first direction.
Regarding claim 14, Figure 9 of Lee discloses wherein the third metal pattern and the uppermost connection pad 111-2a each include a same material (¶¶0095, 0099).
Regarding claim 15, Figure 9 of Lee discloses wherein a width of the second metal pattern in the second direction is equal to a length of the third metal pattern in the first direction.
Regarding claim 16, Figure 9 of Lee discloses wherein the second metal pattern and the third metal pattern each include a same material (¶¶0095, 0099).
Regarding claim 17, Figure 9 of Lee discloses wherein the second metal pattern and the third metal pattern are integrated with each other.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the objected subject matter set forth in this Office action.
Regarding independent claim 18, Figure 9 of Lee (as viewed upside down) discloses a semiconductor package comprising:
a first redistribution structure 140 (“connection structure”- ¶0092) comprising a plurality of first redistribution line patterns 142 (“redistribution layer”- ¶0111) and a first redistribution insulation layer 141 (“insulation layer”- ¶0111) at least partially surrounding the plurality of first redistribution line patterns 142;
a connection structure 110 (“core structure”- ¶0091) disposed on the first redistribution structure 140 in a first direction (i.e., vertical direction) and comprising a metal pattern 115B (“metal layer”- ¶0091), a cavity 110HA (“through-holes”- ¶0100), a plurality of connection pads 111-2a, 111-2b (“wiring layers”- ¶0092), a plurality of connection vias 111-3 (“via layer”- ¶0092), and a base layer 113 (“encapsulant”- ¶0091) at least partially surrounding the plurality of connection vias 111-3, wherein connection pads 111-2a, 111-2b of the plurality of connection pads 111-2a, 111-2b are disposed on different levels in the first direction from each other, and wherein the plurality of connection vias 111-3 interconnect the plurality of connection pads 111-2a, 111-2b;
a semiconductor chip 121 (“semiconductor chip”- ¶0090) disposed on the first redistribution structure 140 in the first direction;
a molding layer 130 (“encapsulant”- ¶0106) disposed between the connection structure 110 and the semiconductor chip 121 and covering a top surface in the first direction of the connection structure 110 and of the semiconductor chip 121, wherein the semiconductor chip 121 and the molding layer 130 are disposed in the cavity 110HA; and
a second redistribution structure 132/150 (collectively 132 and 150) disposed on the semiconductor chip 121 in the first direction and comprising a plurality of second redistribution line patterns 132 (“metal pattern layer”- ¶0107) and a second redistribution insulation layer 150 (“passivation layer”- ¶0089) at least partially surrounding the plurality of second redistribution line patterns 132,
wherein the metal pattern 115B is at least partially disposed between the base layer 113 and the molding layer 130, the metal pattern 115B comprising:
a first metal pattern (i.e., the horizontal portion of 115B notated as “3rd Metal Pattern”; see above Examiner’s Markup Fig. 9 Lee) extending, in a second direction crossing the first direction, from an inner surface of the connection structure 110 into the base layer 113 and separating at least a portion of the base layer 113 from at least a portion of the first redistribution structure 140;
a second metal pattern (i.e., the vertical portion of 115B notated as “2nd Metal Pattern”; see above Examiner’s Markup Fig. 9 Lee) disposed on an inner surface of the first metal pattern; and
a third metal pattern (i.e., the horizontal portion of 115B notated as “1st Metal Pattern”; see above Examiner’s Markup Fig. 9 Lee) disposed on a top surface in the first direction of the second metal pattern and from an inner surface of the second metal pattern toward the base layer 113.
Lee does not expressly disclose a plurality of base layers at least partially surrounding the plurality of connection vias such that wherein the metal pattern is at least partially disposed between the plurality of base layers and the molding layer, the first metal pattern extending, in the second direction crossing the first direction, from the inner surface of the connection structure into the plurality of base layers and separating at least a portion of the plurality of base layers from at least a portion of the first redistribution structure, the second metal pattern disposed on an inner surface of the first metal pattern and extending in the first direction from a top surface in the first direction of the first redistribution structure to a top surface in the first direction of an uppermost base layer in the first direction of the plurality of base layers and the third metal pattern disposed on a top surface in the first direction of the second metal pattern and of the uppermost base layer and extending, in the second direction, from an inner surface of the second metal pattern toward the plurality of base layers.
Thus, regarding independent claim 18 (which claims 19-20 depend from), the prior art of record including Lee, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including, but not limited to, “a plurality of base layers at least partially surrounding the plurality of connection vias”, “wherein the metal pattern is at least partially disposed between the plurality of base layers and the molding layer”, “a first metal pattern extending, in a second direction crossing the first direction, from an inner surface of the connection structure into the plurality of base layers and separating at least a portion of the plurality of base layers from at least a portion of the first redistribution structure”, “a second metal pattern disposed on an inner surface of the first metal pattern and extending in the first direction from a top surface in the first direction of the first redistribution structure to a top surface in the first direction of an uppermost base layer in the first direction of the plurality of base layers” and “a third metal pattern disposed on a top surface in the first direction of the second metal pattern and of the uppermost base layer and extending, in the second direction, from an inner surface of the second metal pattern toward the plurality of base layers”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kwon et al. (US 2019/0295944 A1), which disclose a semiconductor package comprising a first metal pattern formed on sidewalls of a cavity surrounding a semiconductor chip.
/JAY C CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817