DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-13 were previously pending. Claims 1-6 have been withdrawn and claims 7-13 have been elected due to a Requirement for Restriction/Election. Claim 7 has been amended. No claims have been cancelled or newly added. Accordingly, claims 1-13 remain pending, while claims 7-13 have been examined in this application.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs/columns and line numbers or figures in the
references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the
specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific
limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is
respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the
references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as
the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is
reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the
language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant's definition which is not specifically set forth in the disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Examiner note: The limitations of activating a receiver, thereby reducing the voltage of the energy source as recited in claim 8 would be sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection if claim 7 were amended to include these limitations.
Claims 7 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claims are either directed to a hand-held unit, which is one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES)
The examiner has identified claim 7 as the claim that represents the claimed invention for analysis. Claim 7 recites the limitations of:
“A hand-held unit for communication with a motor vehicle, comprising: a wireless receiver; an energy source; and a processing device configured to: negotiate a time interval with the motor vehicle on the strength of a capability of the energy source of the hand-held unit, receive a series of wireless impulses transmitted from different positions on the motor vehicle in a manner offset by the time interval, and determine a location of the hand-held unit in relation to the motor vehicle on the basis of intervals of time between reception times of the wireless impulses at the hand-held unit.”
The limitations of negotiating a time interval and determining a location, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components and also a mathematical process. That is, other than reciting “a processing device configured to”, nothing in the claim element precludes the step of negotiating a time interval from practically being performed in the human mind. For example, but for the “a processing device configured to” language, negotiating a time interval in the context of the claim encompasses a person mentally deciding or selecting the frequency at which wireless impulses should be sent based on an observed level of the energy source. For example, a person could select impulses to be sent every 2 seconds when the energy source is fully charged, but select impulses to be sent every 10 seconds when the energy source falls below a certain level. The limitations of determining a location is a mathematical process that can be performed by triangulating the location of the unit based on the different transmitting/receiving times between different known points in the vehicle. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “mental processes” grouping of abstract ideas. (Step2A-Prong 1: YES. The claims are abstract)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Limitations that are
not indicative of integration into a practical application include: (1) Adding the words "apply it"
(or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract
idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP
2106.05.f), (2) Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP
2106.05.g), (3) Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological
environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05.h).
In particular, the claims recite additional elements of using a processing device to perform the recited steps. The processing device is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing generic computer functions) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The wireless receiver and energy source are also recited at a high-level of generality. The limitations of receiving a series of wireless impulses is merely transmitting/receiving signals which has been held to be considered well-understood, routine, and conventional activity. Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore claim 7 is directed to an abstract idea without a practical application. Claim 9 recites a buffer store, which is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a generic capacitor or the like). Claim 11 recites a reset generator, which is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a generic voltage detector or the like). Claim 12 recites a wireless interface, which is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a generic wireless interface). (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO. The additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application)
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, they do not add significantly more (also known as an "inventive concept") to the exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amounts to no more than generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements claimed amount to insignificant extra-solution activities. See 2106.05(g) for more details. The limitations of receiving a series of wireless impulses is merely transmitting/receiving signals which has been held to be considered well-understood, routine, and conventional activity. Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, cannot provide an inventive concept- rendering the claim patent ineligible. Thus claim 7 is not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claims do not provide significantly more)
Claims 9-13 further define the abstract idea that is present in their respective independent claims and hence are abstract for at least the reasons presented above. The dependent claims do not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Therefore, the dependent claims are directed to an abstract idea. Thus, the aforementioned claims are not patent-eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghabra (US 2015/0296348 A1) in view of Smith (US 2015/0230055 A1) and Laifenfeld (US 2016/0320469 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Ghabra discloses a hand-held unit for communication with a motor vehicle (see at least Figs. 1-2, [0017] – wireless device 12… vehicle 18), comprising: a wireless receiver (see at least Fig. 2, [0022] – transmitter/receiver 32); an energy source (see at least Fig. 2, [0023] – battery 36); and a processing device (see at least Fig. 2, [0022] – microcontroller 30) configured to: negotiate a time interval with a motor vehicle, receive a series of wireless impulses transmitted from different positions on the motor vehicle in a manner offset by the time interval (see at least Figs. 4-6, [0035-0040, 0046-0047] – to determine the location of the wireless device 12 with respect to the vehicle 18, wireless device 12 transmits a polling signal periodically to base stations 14 and 16 and then receives signals with time stamps).
Ghabra does not appear to explicitly disclose negotiate a time interval on the strength of a capability of the energy source of the hand-held unit.
Smith, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: negotiate a time interval on the strength of a capability of the energy source of the hand-held unit (see at least Fig. 6F, [0111-0112] – the mobile device may detect/determine that the amount of power remaining in the mobile device battery is below a predetermined threshold, the mobile device may transmit a signal or otherwise inform grouped mobile devices of the detected low battery condition, initiate operations to converse power, such as by turn off its radio and/or reducing its participation in exchanging information with grouped mobile devices, the mobile device and/or the informed grouped mobile devices may adjust the update intervals with respect to the mobile device to reduce the load on the mobile device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the teachings of Smith into the invention of Ghabra with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of reducing battery consumption when the device has a low battery condition (Smith – [0111]).
Ghabra does not appear to explicitly disclose determine (by the processing device of the hand-held unit) a location of the hand-held unit in relation to the motor vehicle on the basis of intervals of time between reception times of the wireless impulses at the hand-held unit.
However, Ghabra does disclose determine (by the vehicle) a location of the hand-held unit in relation to the motor vehicle on the basis of intervals of time between reception times of the wireless impulses at the hand-held unit (see at least Figs. 4-6, [0035-0040, 0046-0047] – to determine the location of the wireless device 12 with respect to the vehicle 18, wireless device 12 transmits a polling signal periodically to base stations 14 and 16 and then receives signals with time stamps).
Therefore, in this aspect the different between Ghabra and the claim is that Ghabra makes the determination at the vehicle, not the processing device of the hand-held unit.
Laifenfeld, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: determine (by the processing device of the hand-held unit) a location of the hand-held unit in relation to the motor vehicle (see at least [0028-0029] - The key fob 41 can measure the performance characteristics of the received short-range wireless signals and then either calculate its position relative to the vehicle 10 or transmit the data for each received signal back to the vehicle 10 where location calculations can be carried out.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the teachings of Laifenfeld into the invention of Ghabra with a reasonable expectation of success. Since Laifenfeld teaches either making the determination of location of the hand-held unit at the hand-held unit or at the vehicle, this demonstrates that the determination step could be implemented at the hand-held unit to yield predictable results. This would increase processing speed because the hand-held unit doesn’t have to send the signal characteristics/measurements to the vehicle for processing and can perform self-contained processing.
Regarding claim 8, Ghabra discloses wherein the receiver is activated only if the arrival of a wireless impulse is expected (see at least [0047, 0051] – wireless device 12 is configured to turn off for a time period), and wherein a voltage of the energy source is reduced while the receiver is activated (see at least [0023, 0047, 0051] – battery 36 powers the microcontroller 30 and the transceiver 32… wireless device 12 when monitoring for the receipt of a response signal).
Regarding claim 10, Ghabra does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the time interval is extended if a voltage of the energy source drops below a predetermined threshold value during activation of the wireless receiver.
Smith, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: wherein the time interval is extended if a voltage of the energy source drops below a predetermined threshold value during activation of the wireless receiver (see at least Fig. 6F, [0111-0112] – the mobile device may detect/determine that the amount of power remaining in the mobile device battery is below a predetermined threshold, the mobile device may transmit a signal or otherwise inform grouped mobile devices of the detected low battery condition, initiate operations to converse power, such as by turn off its radio and/or reducing its participation in exchanging information with grouped mobile devices, the mobile device and/or the informed grouped mobile devices may adjust the update intervals with respect to the mobile device to reduce the load on the mobile device).
The motivation to combine Ghabra and Smith is the same as in the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 11, Ghabra does not appear to explicitly disclose further comprising: a reset generator configured to put the processing device into a predetermined state if the voltage drops below the predetermined threshold value.
Smith, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: a reset generator configured to put the processing device into a predetermined state if the voltage drops below the predetermined threshold value (see at least Fig. 6F, [0111-0112] – the mobile device may detect/determine that the amount of power remaining in the mobile device battery is below a predetermined threshold, the mobile device may transmit a signal or otherwise inform grouped mobile devices of the detected low battery condition, initiate operations to converse power, such as by turn off its radio and/or reducing its participation in exchanging information with grouped mobile devices, the mobile device and/or the informed grouped mobile devices may adjust the update intervals with respect to the mobile device to reduce the load on the mobile device).
The motivation to combine Ghabra and Smith is the same as in the rejection of claim 7.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghabra in view of Smith, Laifenfeld, and Hein (US 2008/0252432 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Ghabra does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the energy source comprises a buffer store in order to briefly provide an increased electric current.
Hein, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: wherein the energy source comprises a buffer store in order to briefly provide an increased electric current (see at least Fig. 3, [0023-0024] – Remote control 22 includes battery 64 and energy harvest component 92. Electrical energy generated by harvest component 92 is stored in capacitor 94. Regulator 96 regulates the voltage output from battery 64 as supplied to battery-only bus 98. Regulator 100 regulates the voltage stored in capacitor 94 as supplied to switched bus 102.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the teachings of Hein into the invention of Ghabra with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of extending the battery life and increasing the usefulness of the remote device (Hein – [0006]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghabra in view of Smith, Laifenfeld, and DeLong (US 2024/0080765 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Ghabra does not appear to explicitly disclose further comprising: a further wireless interface for communication with the motor vehicle.
DeLong, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: a further wireless interface for communication with the motor vehicle (see at least Fig. 2, [0027, 0044] – The portable device 104 may communicate with the vehicle TCU 114 by using wireless transceivers… BLE transceiver 222… UWB transceiver 224).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the teachings of DeLong into the invention of Ghabra with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of minimizing power consumption of the key fob (DeLong – [0015, 0059]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghabra in view of Smith, Laifenfeld, and Amadi (US 2022/0172530 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Ghabra discloses wherein the hand-held unit is configured to request a predetermined function of the motor vehicle (see at least [0018-0019] - lock and unlock the vehicle 18 in response to command signals as provided by the wireless device 12).
Ghabra does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the hand-held unit is configured to carry out a bilateral authentication with the motor vehicle.
Amadi, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: wherein the hand-held unit is configured to carry out a bilateral authentication with the motor vehicle (see at least [0009, 0021] - a two-way authentication protocol that validates the physical presence and temporal state of the key fob or mobile phone relative to the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the teachings of Amadi into the invention of Ghabra with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a more secure authentication protocol by validating an unlocking session and protecting against relay attacks (Amadi – [0009, 0059]).
Response to Arguments
Examiner note: Applicant’s remarks filed 4/7/2026 state that claims 7-12 have been withdrawn. However, it is claims 1-6 that have been withdrawn, while claims 7-13 are being examined.
In light of the amendments to the claims, the previous 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 4-6 filed 4/7/2026, with respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues against the examiner’s interpretation of negotiating a time interval. The arguments regarding the broadest reasonable interpretation of this limitation are addressed in detail below in the response to the arguments regarding the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections. Taking into account that the claim is directed to a hand-held unit and also taking into account the explanation of what is meant by negotiating a time interval (see paragraph [0053] of the specification) the broadest reasonable interpretation of this limitation in the claim is the hand-held unit suggesting one or more intervals. Other than reciting that this is capable of being performed by a processing device of a hand-held unit, this is something that can be done in the human mind by selecting, recommending, or suggesting one or more intervals.
Applicant further argues that the analysis of “determining a location” is flawed because the limitation does not facially recite a mathematical relationship, formula, equation, or calculation. Using known intervals of time to determine a location indicates a mathematical relationship between the intervals of time and the location. Even if this limitation could not reasonably fall under the mathematical concept grouping, it could fall under the mental process grouping because it is a step that could be performed with the aid of pen and paper or calculator. This limitation recites an abstract idea.
Applicant further argues integration into a practical application, however this argument relies upon the vehicle and the vehicle’s capabilities when the claim as a whole is only directed to the hand-held unit and the hand-held unit’s capabilities. The time offset nature of the wireless impulses received is still an additional element that is considered to be well-understood, routine, and conventional. The courts have held that transmitting/receiving signals is considered to be well-understood, routine, and conventional. The claim does not require limitations performed by the vehicle, such as setting intervals at the vehicle to specific intervals from varying locations at the vehicle and transmitting at the specific intervals from the specific locations. The claim requires a hand-held unit that negotiates (i.e., suggests according to the specification) a time interval, receives impulses at different times, and determines a location based on the time differences. Applicant is relying on features performed by the vehicle, when the claim is directed towards the hand-held unit.
Accordingly, the examiner maintains the rejection of claims 7 and 9-13 under 35 U.S.C. 101. After further consideration, the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection of claim 8 has been withdrawn because it appears to integrate the otherwise abstract idea into a practical application by activating a receiver (a step that cannot be performed in the human mind). Claim 8 also appears to incorporate the technical improvement, which is power-saving.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 6-7 filed 4/7/2026, with respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the claims require bilateral, interactive negotiation between the hand-held unit and the motor vehicle – a mutual agreement, not a unilateral adjustment by one device. Smith discloses no protocol by which a hand-held unit proposes a time interval to a vehicle and the vehicle agrees to that interval, or vice versa. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
During patent examination, the pending claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification. Therefore, the first step is to ascertain the broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitations of the claim. Under a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. The plain meaning of a term means the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time. The ordinary and customary meaning of a term may be evidenced by a variety of sources, including the words of the claims themselves, the specification, drawings, and prior art. However, the best source for determining the meaning of a claim term is the specification - the greatest clarity is obtained when the specification serves as a glossary for the claim terms. Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1315, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (en banc). It is noted that the terms “bilateral, interactive negotiation” or “mutual agreement”, which Applicant uses to argue against Smith, are not present in the claims or specification. It is also noted that the term negotiate/negotiating/negotiated are only mentioned 7 times in the specification. Paragraph [0053] of the specification provides the only description of what is meant by negotiating. The description is minimal, merely stating that the hand-held unit suggests one or more time intervals and the motor vehicle confirms one of the offered time intervals, so that both sides (the hand-held unit and the motor vehicle) know which time interval is used for positioning. The specification does not provide any explanation as to what is meant by “confirm” in paragraph [0053], other than it meaning that both sides know which time interval is used. Therefore, when read in light of the specification, the broadest reasonable interpretation of negotiating a time interval is the a hand-held unit is only required to suggest one time interval and the motor vehicle confirms/knows/adopts/implements that time interval is. This explanation in the specification does not specifically define or suggest back-and-forth negotiations, counteroffers, an explicit confirmation/acceptance messaging, or any other sophisticated protocols.
Ghabra also discloses that the polling period can be set after the device is paired with the vehicle, and each brand or model of vehicle can have its own period (see at least paragraph [0046] of Ghabra) which also reads on negotiating a time interval. By not considering this, Applicant is attacking Smith individually and not considering that the combination of Ghabra and Smith read on the limitation being argued.
Furthermore, looking to claim 7, it recites in part “A hand-held unit for communication with a motor vehicle, comprising… a processing device configured to: negotiate a time interval with a motor vehicle on the strength of a capability of the energy source of the hand-held unit…”. Claim 7 as a whole is directed towards a hand-held unit, not directed towards a vehicle, towards a system (comprising the motor vehicle and the hand-held unit), or towards a method/process (performed between the motor vehicle and the hand-held unit). Therefore, claim 7 requires a hand-held unit comprising the recited components (wireless receiver, energy source, and processing device) and the recited capabilities of the processing device. Therefore, the claim does not require any steps to be performed by a motor vehicle or even capabilities of a motor vehicle, just the recited components and recited capabilities of the hand-held unit. Specifically, the claim does not require any confirmation, negotiation, or the like from the vehicle to the hand-held unit. The claim instead requires that the hand-held unit suggest one or more intervals.
Therefore, the examiner maintains that the combination of Ghabra, Smith, and Laifenfeld render the limitations of claim 7 obvious.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.R.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669