DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-5) in the reply filed on March 24, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP3,885,120 to Johanson et al.
Regarding claim 1, Johanson et al disclose a method for manufacturing of a subsea power cable, the method comprising the steps of: a) providing at least a cable core (see Fig. 2) comprising an electrical conductor (3) and an electrically insulating system (4), arranged radially outside of the electrical conductor (3); b) adding a liquid material (see Par. 29 and 38) comprising a polymer, radially outside of the at least one cable core, thereby forming a buffer layer (7); and c) applying a water barrier layer (5) radially outside of the buffer layer (7),wherein a viscosity of the liquid material of the buffer layer is at least 1000 mPa.s (inherence because the Johanson et al using the same liquid material as disclosed by Applicant).
Regarding claims 2-3, Johanson et al disclose d) hardening the buffer and the volume of the buffer layer after hardening in step d) is at least 75% of the volume of the buffer layer after step c) (see Par. 42).
Regarding claim 4, Johanson et al disclose providing a metal plate (5); surrounding the buffer layer with the metal plate; welding the metal plate to form the water barrier layer (see Par. 41).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johanson et al in view of U.S Patent Applicantion 2023/0335310 to Johanson.
Johanson et al does on explicitly disclose the step of corrugating the water barrier (5, see Col. 7, lines 3-6). Johanson teaches the step of corrugating the water barrier (5, see Fig. 3) for improving bending stiffness (see Par. 97) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Johanson et al by corrugating the water barrier layer as taught by Johanson for improving bending stiffness with only minimal increase in weight and cost.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Prior art cited for their general teachings of manufacturing a submarine power cable.
/DN/ /DONGHAI D NGUYEN/May 30, 2026 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3729