DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 1-6 of claim 1, the chain of priority should be changed as case 18028504 has no restriction so the current application cannot be a divisional application. However, it can be a continuation application or a continuation in part application,
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9, 11-12, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dehan et al. (US 20130274656 A1) (“Dehan”) in view of Davis (US. 4842581).
Re Claim 1, Dehan discloses a driving piston set (28, 15, ¶0072) of an injector (2, 3, 13, 14, Fig. 1-7) configured to be used in the injector and be connected to a driving mechanism (23, 20, Fig. 3, ¶0063), and the driving piston set having: a piston cylinder having a piston room (15 and room for 28, Fig. 3); and a valve connecting end segment defined on an end of the piston cylinder (lower end of 15 at valve 32, Fig, 4); a valve assembled to the valve connecting end segment of the piston cylinder (32) and a piston rod mounted in the piston cylinder (28, Fig. 3), but it fails to disclose that the piston cylinder having an input one-way valve being only opened in a direction towards the piston cylinder; and an output one-way valve being only opened in a direction outward from the piston cylinder; and being linearly movable, and detachably connected to the driving mechanism.
However, Davis discloses a medical syringe (Fig. 1) and wherein the valve connecting end segment (54, 56, 60) is assembled with the valve (104, 106, 102) and is mounted in the valve base segment (Fig. 2); the valve has an input one-way valve (104) connected to the input adapter (61) and an output one-way valve (106) connected to the output adapter (100); the piston rod (70, 24) is mounted in the piston cylinder (32, 28) and is capable of moving linearly; the piston rod is detachably connected to the driving unit of the driving mechanism (72).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify device of Dehan to include inlet one-way valve and outlet one-way valve so that the valve connecting end segment having an input one-way valve being only opened in a direction towards the piston cylinder; and an output one-way valve being only opened in a direction outward from the piston cylinder; and being linearly movable, and detachably connected to the driving mechanism as taught by Davis for the purpose of using double action of stroke motion of the syringe by allowing suction and delivery actions (Davis, Col. 3, lines 20-25, abstract).
Re Claim 2, Dehan discloses wherein the driving piston set is mounted in a conversion mechanism of the injector (5, 8, 10, 11) and is connected to a medicament container (2 or 3) containing medicament (¶0060) and a needle output mechanism (13, 14) having a needle set via the conversion mechanism (Fig, 2), such that the driving mechanism drives the piston rod in the piston cylinder to draw the medicament from the medicament container and to inject the medicament via the needle set of the needle output mechanism (¶0061).
Re Claim 3, Dehan discloses wherein an inner cylinder wall of the piston cylinder has at least one sliding groove (groove near 22, Fig. 3); and an outer annular surface of the piston rod has at least one sliding block (22 can be slide with respect to the rod 28), each of the at least one sliding block is mounted in a corresponding one of the at least one sliding groove for guiding the piston rod to move linearly in the piston cylinder (¶0072).
Re Claim 7, Dehan discloses a conversion mechanism of an injector (5, 8, 10, 11,Fig. 1-7 and the injector 13, 14, 3, 2), configured to be used in the injector and be connected to a driving mechanism having a driving unit (20,23) and the conversion mechanism having: a conversion connecting base (5) having an input adapter ( close to 32) and an output adapter (close to 13, Fig. 3); and a driving piston set (22, 15) mounted in the conversion connecting base (Fig, 2) and having a piston cylinder having a piston room (15 and room for 28, Fig. 3); and a valve connecting end segment defined on an end of the piston cylinder (Lower end of 15, Fig. 3); and a piston rod (28) mounted in the piston cylinder and being linearly movable, and detachably connected to the driving mechanism (¶0060), and further discloses input valve but it fails to disclose a valve assembled to the valve connecting end segment of the piston cylinder and having an input one-way valve connected to the input adapter and being only opened in a direction from the input adapter to the piston cylinder; and an output one-way valve connected to the output adapter and being only opened in a direction from the piston cylinder to the output adapter.
However, Davis discloses a medical syringe (Fig. 1) and wherein the valve connecting end segment (54, 56, 60) is assembled with the valve (104, 106, 102) and is mounted in the valve base segment (Fig. 2); the valve has an input one-way valve (104) connected to the input adapter (61) and an output one-way valve (106) connected to the output adapter (100); the piston rod (70, 24) is mounted in the piston cylinder (32, 28) and is capable of moving linearly; the piston rod is detachably connected to the driving unit of the driving mechanism (72).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify device of Dehan to include inlet one-way valve and outlet one-way valve so that a valve assembled to the valve connecting end segment of the piston cylinder and having an input one-way valve connected to the input adapter and being only opened in a direction from the input adapter to the piston cylinder; and an output one-way valve connected to the output adapter and being only opened in a direction from the piston cylinder to the output adapter as taught by Davis for the purpose of using double action of stroke motion of the syringe by allowing suction and delivery actions (Davis, Col. 3, lines 20-25, abstract).
Re Claim 8, Dehan discloses wherein the conversion mechanism is assembled with a needle output mechanism having a needle set to form an injection module (13, 14); the input adapter of the conversion mechanism is connected to a medicament container containing medicament (3 or 2); the output adapter of the conversion mechanism is connected to the needle output mechanism (13); and the driving mechanism drives the piston rod in the piston cylinder to draw the medicament from the medicament container to the needle output mechanism and to inject the medicament via the needle set of the needle output mechanism (¶0061).
Re Claim 9, Dehan discloses wherein an inner cylinder wall of the piston cylinder has at least one sliding groove (groove near 22, Fig. 3); and an outer annular surface of the piston rod has at least one sliding block (22 can be slide with respect to the rod 28), each of the at least one sliding block is mounted in a corresponding one of the at least one sliding groove for guiding the piston rod to move linearly in the piston cylinder (¶0072).
Re Claim 11, Dehan discloses wherein the conversion connecting base has a base body (8); and a valve base segment mounted on the base body (11) and having a sleeving opening ( opening for 32); the input adapter is mounted on a side of the valve base segment opposite to the sleeving opening ( close to 6, 7, Fig. 5); and the output adapter is mounted in the base body ( close to 13); wherein the input adapter and the output adapter are connected to the sleeving opening (Fig. 3).
Re Claim 12, Dehan discloses wherein the conversion connecting base has a base body (8); and a valve base segment mounted on the base body (11) and having a sleeving opening ( opening for 32); the input adapter is mounted on a side of the valve base segment opposite to the sleeving opening ( close to 6, 7, Fig. 5); and the output adapter is mounted in the base body ( close to 13); wherein the input adapter and the output adapter are connected to the sleeving opening (Fig. 3).
Re Claim 17, Dehan discloses wherein the driving mechanism has a case ( case of 20), the driving unit is mounted in the case (23), a side of the case has a connecting sleeve segment (22) detachably sleeved on the piston cylinder (Fig. 1, 3), and the driving unit is linearly movable in the connecting sleeve segment (¶0061).
Re Claim 18, Dehan discloses wherein the driving mechanism has a case ( case of 20), the driving unit is mounted in the case (23), a side of the case has a connecting sleeve segment (22) detachably sleeved on the piston cylinder (Fig. 1, 3), and the driving unit is linearly movable in the connecting sleeve segment (¶0061).
Claim(s) 4-6, 10, 13, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dehan in view of Davis and further in view of Sharifi et al. (US. 20080167618A1) (“Sharifi”).
Re Claim 4, Dehan fails to disclose the piston rod is a hollow rod and has at least one L-shaped buckling groove, so the piston rod and the driving mechanism is assembled by rotating to engage and the piston rod is driven by the driving mechanism.
However, Sharifi discloses an infusion pump (Fig, 1-10) and wherein the piston rod (22) is a hollow rod (Fig. 6) and has at least one L-shaped buckling groove (47 and step at 53 has a L-shape , Fig. 6), so the piston rod and the driving mechanism is assembled by rotating to engage and the piston rod is driven by the driving mechanism (drive 15, Fig. 8, ¶0027).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify device of Dehan so that the piston rod is a hollow rod and has at least one L-shaped buckling groove, so the piston rod and the driving mechanism is assembled by rotating to engage and the piston rod is driven by the driving mechanism as taught by Sharifi for the purpose of facilitating motion of the piston rod by engaging the driving mechanism and the piston (Sharifi, ¶0027 abstract).
Re Claim 5, Dehan fails to disclose wherein the piston rod is a hollow rod and has at least one L-shaped buckling groove, so the piston rod and the driving mechanism is assembled by rotating to engage and the piston rod is driven by the driving mechanism.
However, Sharifi discloses an infusion pump (Fig, 1-10) and wherein the piston rod (22) is a hollow rod (Fig. 6) and has at least one L-shaped buckling groove (47 and step at 53 has a L-shape , Fig. 6), so the piston rod and the driving mechanism is assembled by rotating to engage and the piston rod is driven by the driving mechanism (drive 15, Fig. 8, ¶0027).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify device of Dehan so that the piston rod is a hollow rod and has at least one L-shaped buckling groove, so the piston rod and the driving mechanism is assembled by rotating to engage and the piston rod is driven by the driving mechanism as taught by Sharifi for the purpose of facilitating motion of the piston rod by engaging the driving mechanism and the piston (Sharifi, ¶0027 abstract).
Re Claim 6, Dehan fails to disclose wherein the piston rod is a hollow rod and has at least one L-shaped buckling groove, so the piston rod and the driving mechanism is assembled by rotating to engage and the piston rod is driven by the driving mechanism.
However, Sharifi discloses an infusion pump (Fig, 1-10) and wherein the piston rod (22) is a hollow rod (Fig. 6) and has at least one L-shaped buckling groove (47 and step at 53 has a L-shape , Fig. 6), so the piston rod and the driving mechanism is assembled by rotating to engage and the piston rod is driven by the driving mechanism (drive 15, Fig. 8, ¶0027).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify device of Dehan so that the piston rod is a hollow rod and has at least one L-shaped buckling groove, so the piston rod and the driving mechanism is assembled by rotating to engage and the piston rod is driven by the driving mechanism as taught by Sharifi for the purpose of facilitating motion of the piston rod by engaging the driving mechanism and the piston (Sharifi, ¶0027 abstract).
Re Claim 10, Dehan fails to disclose the piston rod is a hollow rod and has at least one L-shaped buckling groove, so the piston rod and the driving mechanism is assembled by rotating to engage and the piston rod is driven by the driving mechanism.
However, Sharifi discloses an infusion pump (Fig, 1-10) and wherein the piston rod (22) is a hollow rod (Fig. 6) and has at least one L-shaped buckling groove (47 and step at 53 has a L-shape , Fig. 6), so the piston rod and the driving mechanism is assembled by rotating to engage and the piston rod is driven by the driving mechanism (drive 15, Fig. 8, ¶0027).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify device of Dehan so that the piston rod is a hollow rod and has at least one L-shaped buckling groove, so the piston rod and the driving mechanism is assembled by rotating to engage and the piston rod is driven by the driving mechanism as taught by Sharifi for the purpose of facilitating motion of the piston rod by engaging the driving mechanism and the piston (Sharifi, ¶0027 abstract).
Re Claim 13, Dehan discloses wherein the conversion connecting base has a base body (8); and a valve base segment mounted on the base body (11) and having a sleeving opening ( opening for 32); the input adapter is mounted on a side of the valve base segment opposite to the sleeving opening ( close to 6, 7, Fig. 5); and the output adapter is mounted in the base body ( close to 13); wherein the input adapter and the output adapter are connected to the sleeving opening (Fig. 3).
Re Claim 19, Dehan discloses wherein the driving mechanism has a case ( case of 20), the driving unit is mounted in the case (23), a side of the case has a connecting sleeve segment (22) detachably sleeved on the piston cylinder (Fig. 1, 3), and the driving unit is linearly movable in the connecting sleeve segment (¶0061).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dehan in view of Davis and further in view of Yoko et al. (US. 20100049129) ("Yoko ").
Re Claim 14, Dehan fails to disclose wherein the base body has a connecting board, and the connecting board has two clamping segments located respectively on two opposite sides of the connecting board and a hook segment, so the connecting board engages with the needle output mechanism.
However, Yoko discloses an infusion pump (Fig, 1-10) and wherein the base body ( top sheet of 1b, Fig. 4) has a connecting board (21), and the connecting board has two clamping segments located respectively on two opposite sides of the connecting board (at the hook) and a hook segment (see the annotated Fig, , so the connecting board engages with the needle output mechanism (1c, Fig. 4, Annotated Fig. 7 of Yoko).
Annotated Fig. 7 of Yoko
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify device of Dehan so that the base body has a connecting board, and the connecting board has two clamping segments located respectively on two opposite sides of the connecting board and a hook segment, so the connecting board engages with the needle output mechanism as taught by Yoko for the purpose of automatically insertion and retraction of the needle and suppressing accidental puncturing of the needle (Yoko, ¶0014, abstract).
Re Claim 15, Dehan fails to disclose wherein the base body has a connecting board, and the connecting board has two clamping segments located respectively on two opposite sides of the connecting board and a hook segment, so the connecting board engages with the needle output mechanism.
However, Yoko discloses an infusion pump (Fig, 1-10) and wherein the base body ( top sheet of 1b, Fig. 4) has a connecting board (21), and the connecting board has two clamping segments located respectively on two opposite sides of the connecting board (at the hook) and a hook segment (see the annotated Fig, , so the connecting board engages with the needle output mechanism (1c, Fig. 4, Annotated Fig. 7 of Yoko).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify device of Dehan so that the base body has a connecting board, and the connecting board has two clamping segments located respectively on two opposite sides of the connecting board and a hook segment, so the connecting board engages with the needle output mechanism as taught by Yoko for the purpose of automatically insertion and retraction of the needle and suppressing accidental puncturing of the needle (Yoko, ¶0014, abstract).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dehan in view of Davis and Sharifi and further in view of Yoko et al. (US. 20100049129) ("Yoko ").
Re Claim 16, Dehan fails to disclose wherein the base body has a connecting board, and the connecting board has two clamping segments located respectively on two opposite sides of the connecting board and a hook segment, so the connecting board engages with the needle output mechanism.
However, Yoko discloses an infusion pump (Fig, 1-10) and wherein the base body ( top sheet of 1b, Fig. 4) has a connecting board (21), and the connecting board has two clamping segments located respectively on two opposite sides of the connecting board (at the hook) and a hook segment (see the annotated Fig, , so the connecting board engages with the needle output mechanism (1c, Fig. 4, Annotated Fig. 7 of Yoko).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify device of Dehan so that the base body has a connecting board, and the connecting board has two clamping segments located respectively on two opposite sides of the connecting board and a hook segment, so the connecting board engages with the needle output mechanism as taught by Yoko for the purpose of automatically insertion and retraction of the needle and suppressing accidental puncturing of the needle (Yoko, ¶0014, abstract).
Conclusion
/HAMZA A DARB/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /CHELSEA E STINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783