DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima (US Patent No. 10,174,974), hereinafter Nakashima in view of Nobori et al. (JP 2000039183), hereinafter Noori, Hirawa et al. (US Patent No. 11,428,421), hereinafter Hirawa, and Large (US Patent No. 4,577,450), hereinafter Large.
Regarding claim 1, Nakashima discloses a cryocooler compressor (Fig. 1, compressor 1 specifically the components inside of the box identified as compressor 1) comprising:
a compressor casing that includes a front panel (See annotated Fig. 1 of Nakashima below, compressor casing 1A, front panel 1b), and
a pipe connection (Fig. 1, cooling water pipe connection 1);
a port to which a refrigerant gas pipe for a cold head is connected, and a cold heat connector to which an electric wire for supplying power to the cold heat is connected (Fig. 1, pipes 7, power cable 8; Col. 2, lines 45-58, The pipes 7 are connected to the expander 10 and the compressor 1 and circulate a refrigerant gas between the expander 10 and the compressor 1. The pipes 7 include a low-pressure pipe 7a and a high-pressure pipe 7b. A low-pressure refrigerant gas flowing from the expander 10 to the compressor 1 flows in the low-pressure pipe 7a. On the other hand, a high-pressure refrigerant gas flowing from the compressor 1 to the expander 10 flows in the high-pressure pipe 7b. The pressure sensor 70 measures the pressure of a refrigerant gas flowing in the pipes 7. The power cable 8 is connected to the compressor 1 and the expander 10. The power cable 8 is used to supply, from the compressor 1, electrical power that serves as power for the expander 10).
However, Nakashima does not disclose a control panel; and
the compressor casing to accommodate the control panel,
wherein the front panel includes a first panel portion that provides the pipe connection, and a second panel portion that is removably connected to the first panel portion and on which the control panel is mounted.
Nobori teaches a control panel (Fig. 1, outdoor control section 20i, control box 40a); and
the compressor casing to accommodate the control panel (Fig. 1 of Nobori depicts the outdoor control section 20i and control box 40a to be accommodated inside of the housing 20a),
wherein the front panel includes a first panel portion that provides the pipe connection, and a second panel portion that is removably connected to the first panel portion and on which the control panel is mounted (See annotated Fig. 1 of Nobori below, first panel portion 1b’ is provided with connection potion 30a and removeable service panel 40 includes control box 40a which contains control section 20i); and
wherein the second panel portion is removably connected to the first panel portion by a fastener (Pg. 5, the service panel 40 is formed integrally with a control box section 40a that houses the outdoor control section 20i. It is detachably attached to the housing 20a by screws or the like).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cryocooler compressor of Nakashima to include a control panel accommodated in the compressor casing wherein the front panel includes a first panel portion that provides the pipe connection, and a second panel portion that is removably connected to the first panel portion and on which the control panel is mounted; and wherein the second panel portion is removably connected to the first panel portion by a fastener as taught by Nobori. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable a service work such as a repair and maintenance work to be easily carried out (Nobori, Abstract).
However, Nakashima as modified does not explicitly wherein the first panel portion comprises the port to which the refrigerant gas pipe for the cold head is connected, and the second panel portion comprise the cold head connector to which the electric wire for supplying power to the cold heat is connected.
Nakashima teaches the use of refrigerant gas pipes and the cold head connector connected to the electric wire for connecting flow of fluid and electricity between the compressor casing and the cold head (Nakashima, Fig. 1, pipes 7, power cable 8; Col. 2, lines 45-58, The pipes 7 are connected to the expander 10 and the compressor 1 and circulate a refrigerant gas between the expander 10 and the compressor 1. The pipes 7 include a low-pressure pipe 7a and a high-pressure pipe 7b. A low-pressure refrigerant gas flowing from the expander 10 to the compressor 1 flows in the low-pressure pipe 7a. On the other hand, a high-pressure refrigerant gas flowing from the compressor 1 to the expander 10 flows in the high-pressure pipe 7b. The pressure sensor 70 measures the pressure of a refrigerant gas flowing in the pipes 7. The power cable 8 is connected to the compressor 1 and the expander 10. The power cable 8 is used to supply, from the compressor 1, electrical power that serves as power for the expander 10).
Further, it is noted there are only a finite number of ways to arrange a refrigerant gas pipe, a cold head connector with and the cold head connector connected to the electric wire for connecting flow of fluid and electricity between the compressor casing and the cold head between the first panel portion and the second panel portion. The following finite arrangements including: both the refrigerant gas pipe and the cold head connector located on the first panel portion, both the refrigerant gas pipe and the cold head connector located on the second panel portion, the refrigerant gas pipe located on the first panel portion and the and the cold head connector located on the second panel portion, or the refrigerant gas pipe located on the second panel portion and the and the cold head connector located on the first panel portion. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify cryocooler compressor wherein the first panel portion comprises the port to which the refrigerant gas pipe for the cold head is connected, and the second panel portion comprise the cold head connector to which the electric wire for supplying power to the cold heat is connected to enable a service work such as a repair and maintenance work to be easily carried out (Nobori, Abstract).
Moreover, Nakashima as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the first panel portion includes a first panel side surface, and a second panel side surface opposite to the first panel side surface of the first panel portion,
wherein the second panel portion includes a panel side surface in contact with the first panel side surface of the first panel portion,
wherein the first panel side surface of the first panel portion and the panel side surface of the second panel portion are removably connected to each other.
Hirawa teaches wherein the first panel portion includes a first panel side surface, and a second panel side surface opposite to the first panel side surface of the first panel portion (Fig. 4, front panel 24, first panel 24a, end part 245 is depicted to be opposite first flange 243), and
wherein the second panel portion includes a panel side surface in contact with the first panel side surface of the first panel portion (Fig. 4, front panel 24, second panel 24b, end part 246 is depicted to be opposite the second flange 244),
wherein the first panel side surface of the first panel portion and the panel side surface of the second panel portion are removably connected to each other (Col. 8, lines 26-38, The second panel 24b is attached to the casing 2 before the first panel 24a. When the first panel 24a is attached, the first panel 24a and the second panel 24b overlap in the panel thickness direction in such a manner that the second flange 244 of the second panel 24b is on an inner side and the first flange 243 of the first panel 24a is on a front side. This overlapping region is referred to as an overlapping region 240. The overlapping region 240 extends vertically downward from an upper end of the front panel 24, descends smoothly obliquely downward to the right on the way, and then extends vertically downward).
Nakashima as modified fails to teach wherein the first panel portion includes a first panel side surface, and a second panel side surface opposite to the first panel side surface of the first panel portion, wherein the second panel portion includes a panel side surface in contact with the first panel side surface of the first panel portion, wherein the first panel side surface of the first panel portion and the panel side surface of the second panel portion are removably connected to each other, however Hirawa teaches that it is a known method in the art of compressor casings to include wherein the first panel portion includes a first panel side surface, and a second panel side surface opposite to the first panel side surface of the first panel portion, wherein the second panel portion includes a panel side surface in contact with the first panel side surface of the first panel portion, wherein the first panel side surface of the first panel portion and the panel side surface of the second panel portion are removably connected to each other. This is strong evidence that modifying Nakashima as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. the service person can access the electric component box only by detaching the first panel, which is part of the front panel. The present invention reduces workload of the service person, and is generally useful for the outdoor unit (Hirawa, Col. 12, lines 15-18)). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakashima as modified by Hirawa and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of the service person can access the electric component box only by detaching the first panel, which is part of the front panel. The present invention reduces workload of the service person, and is generally useful for the outdoor unit (Hirawa, Col. 12, lines 15-18).
Nakashima as modified further does not disclose wherein the second panel side surface of the first panel portion includes an opening portion for enabling access to the fastener from an outside of the compressor casing.
Large teaches the first panel portion includes an opening portion for enabling access to the fastener from an outside of the panel (Fig. 4, float space 94, tubular cup 48, bolt 60, portion 32a, upper plate 12, lower plate 14, panel 10).
Nakashima as modified fails to teach wherein the second panel side surface of the first panel portion includes an opening portion for enabling access to the fastener from an outside of the compressor casing, however Large teaches that it is a known method in the art of joining panels to include an opening portion for enabling access to the fastener from an outside of the panel. This is strong evidence that modifying Nakashima as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. to provide a clean aesthetic with no visible fasteners). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakashima as modified by Large and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of to provide a clean aesthetic with no visible fasteners.
Annotated Fig. 1 of Nakashima
Annotated Fig. 1 of Nobori
Regarding claim 4, Nakashima as modified discloses the cryocooler compressor according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above),
wherein the control panel is capable of being extracted forward from the compressor casing together with the second panel portion (Nobori, Pg. 5, In other words, according to the air conditioner 1 and the outdoor unit 20 of the present embodiment, the service panel 40 is pulled out in the direction of the arrow in FIG. The control box section 40a can be pulled out at the same time, so that the outdoor control section 20i can be easily inspected). Further, the limitations of claim 4 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 5, Nakashima as modified discloses the cryocooler compressor according to claim 4 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 4 above),
wherein the compressor casing includes a bottom panel, and a caster fixation portion which is provided at an upper surface end portion of the bottom panel (See annotated Fig. 1 of Nakashima below, bottom panel 1c, caster fixation portion A is provided at an upper surface end portion of the bottom panel 1c), and
wherein a width of a bottom surface of the control panel is narrower than a width of the second panel portion such that the control panel is extracted forward from the compressor casing together with the second panel portion without interfering with the caster fixation portion (See Fig. 2 of Nobori, the entirety of the control section 20i, including its bottom surface, is depicted to be narrower than a width of the removeable service panel 40 such that the control panel is extracted forward from the compressor casing together with the second panel portion without interfering with the caster fixation portion). Further, the limitations of claim 5 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Annotated Fig. 1 of Nakashima
Annotated Fig. 2 of Nobori
Regarding claim 9, Nakashima as modified discloses the cryocooler compressor according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above),
wherein the first panel portion and the second panel portion are adjacent to each other in an up-down direction in front view, and are combined with each other to form the front panel (See annotated Fig. 1 of Nobori below, first panel portion 1b’ and removeable service panel 40 are depicted to be adjected to each other in an up-down direction and are combined with each other to form the front panel). Further, the limitations of claim 9 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Annotated Fig. 1 of Nobori
Regarding claim 12, Nakashima as modified discloses the cryocooler compressor according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the control panel is mounted to a back surface of the second panel portion facing an interior of the compressor casing (See annotated Fig. 1 of Nobori below, outdoor control section 20i is depicted to me mounted to a back surface of removable service panel 40 facing an interior of the compressor housing 20a). Further, the limitations of claim 9 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Annotated Fig. 1 of Nobori
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima as modified by Nobori, Hirawa, and Large as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Townsend (US 20160116194), hereinafter Townsend.
Regarding claim 6, Nakashima as modified discloses the cryocooler compressor according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), further comprising:
a plurality of electric components accommodated in the compressor casing (Nobori, Pg. 4, The outdoor control unit 20i includes the propeller fan 20c, the compressor 20f, and the other outdoor unit 20. It performs operation control and the like, and is composed of various electric circuit elements).
However, as modified does not disclose wherein the control panel includes a plurality of connectors connected to the plurality of electric components on a back surface of the control panel.
Townsend teaches wherein the control panel includes a plurality of connectors connected to the plurality of electric components on a back surface of the control panel (Fig. 11, control panel 180, switches 184, connection wires 190; Pg. 5, paragraph 52, The timer 188 can be connected to the control panel 180, including switches 184, via one or more connection wires 190. The connection wires 190 can connect the timer 188 to one or more power sources and/or to the motor 162, blower 144 and/or pump 134).
Nakashima as modified fails to teach wherein the control panel includes a plurality of connectors connected to the plurality of electric components on a back surface of the control panel, however Townsend teaches that it is a known method in the art of control panels to include wherein the control panel includes a plurality of connectors connected to the plurality of electric components on a back surface of the control panel. This is strong evidence that modifying Nakashima as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing wire management to reduce clutter and improve electrical safety of the system). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakashima as modified by Townsend and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing wire management to reduce clutter and improve electrical safety of the system.
Regarding claim 7, Nakashima as modified discloses the cryocooler compressor according to claim 6 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 6 above), wherein the plurality of connectors are collectively disposed at a specific location on the back surface of the control panel (Fig. 11 of Townsend depicts the switches 184 to be collectively disposed at a specific location on the back surface of the control panel 180). Further, the limitations of claim 7 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 6 above.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima (US Patent No. 10,174,974), hereinafter Nakashima in view of Nobori et al. (JP 2000039183), hereinafter Nobori and Hirawa et al. (US Patent No. 11,428,421), hereinafter Hirawa.
Regarding claim 11, Nakashima discloses a cryocooler compressor (Fig. 1, compressor 1 specifically the components inside of the box identified as compressor 1) comprising:
a compressor casing that includes a front panel (See annotated Fig. 1 of Nakashima below, compressor casing 1A, front panel 1b), and
a pipe connection (Fig. 1, cooling water pipe connection 1).
However, Nakashima does not disclose a control panel; and
the compressor casing to accommodate the control panel,
wherein the front panel includes a first panel portion that provides the pipe connection, and a second panel portion that is removably connected to the first panel portion and on which the control panel is mounted,
wherein the first panel portion and the second panel portion are adjacent to each other in a left-right direction or an up-down direction in front view, and are combined with each other to form the front panel
Nobori teaches a control panel (Fig. 1, outdoor control section 20i, control box 40a); and
the compressor casing to accommodate the control panel (Fig. 1 of Nobori depicts the outdoor control section 20i and control box 40a to be accommodated inside of the housing 20a),
wherein the front panel includes a first panel portion that provides the pipe connection, and a second panel portion that is removably connected to the first panel portion and on which the control panel is mounted (See annotated Fig. 1 of Nobori below, first panel portion 1b’ is provided with connection potion 30a and removeable service panel 40 includes control box 40a which contains control section 20i),
wherein the first panel portion and the second panel portion are adjacent to each other in an a left-right direction or an up-down direction in front view, and are combined with each other to form the front panel (See annotated Fig. 1 of Nobori below, first panel portion 1b’ and removeable service panel 40 are depicted to be adjected to each other in an up-down direction and are combined with each other to form the front panel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cryocooler compressor of Nakashima to include a control panel accommodated in the compressor casing wherein the front panel includes a first panel portion that provides the pipe connection, and a second panel portion that is removably connected to the first panel portion and on which the control panel is mounted wherein the first panel portion and the second panel portion are adjacent to each other in an up-down direction in front view, and are combined with each other to form the front panel as taught by Nobori. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable a service work such as a repair and maintenance work to be easily carried out (Nobori, Abstract).
Further, Nakashima as modified does not disclose the first panel portion and the second panel portion to be coplanar.
Hirawa teaches disclose the first panel portion and the second panel portion to be coplanar (Fig. 4, front panel 24, first panel 24a, end part 245 is depicted to be opposite first flange 243).
Nakashima as modified fails to teach the first panel portion and the second panel portion to be coplanar, however Hirawa teaches that it is a known method in the art of compressor casings to include the first panel portion and the second panel portion to be coplanar. This is strong evidence that modifying Nakashima as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. the service person can access the electric component box only by detaching the first panel, which is part of the front panel. The present invention reduces workload of the service person, and is generally useful for the outdoor unit (Hirawa, Col. 12, lines 15-18)). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakashima as modified by Hirawa and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of the service person can access the electric component box only by detaching the first panel, which is part of the front panel. The present invention reduces workload of the service person, and is generally useful for the outdoor unit (Hirawa, Col. 12, lines 15-18).
Annotated Fig. 1 of Nakashima
Annotated Fig. 1 of Nobori
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima as modified by Nobori, Hirawa, and Large as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Meade et al. (US 20150033771), hereinafter Meade.
Regarding claim 13, Nakashima as modified discloses the cryocooler compressor according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the second panel portion comprises the cold head connector (Nakashima, Fig. 1, power cable 8; See the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Nakashima as modified does not disclose wherein the second panel portion comprises a power breaker.
Meade teaches the compressor casing to comprise a power breaker (Fig. 4, chiller system 100, power source 102, cabinet 150; Pg. 2, paragraph 38, With reference to FIG. 1, a front view of a chiller system 100 is depicted. The chiller system 100 generally includes a power source 102. The power source 102 may include for example, an electrical source, batteries and/or fuel cells, electromechanical systems such as generators and alternators, solar power, and any combination thereof; Pg. 2-3, paragraph 47, FIG. 4 illustrates a right side view of the chiller system 100. There may be a connection a power source 102, such as two voltage in lines as depicted in FIG. 4. On the right side of chiller system 100, there may be a handle 154 on cabinet 150. In another embodiment, the power source 102 may be connected to another portion and/or side of the cabinet 150).
Nakashima as modified fails to teach wherein the second panel portion comprises a power breaker feature, however Meade teaches that it is a known method in the art of compressor casings to include the compressor casing to comprise a power breaker. This is strong evidence that modifying Nakashima as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing electrical power to system components to carry out system operations). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakashima as modified by Meade and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing electrical power to system components to carry out system operations. Furthermore, the courts have held that rearrangement of parts requires only ordinary skill in the art and hence is considered a routine expedient. “In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950): Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.” MPEP § 2144.04-VI-C.
Regarding claim 14, Nakashima as modified discloses the cryocooler compressor according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Nakashima as modified does not disclose wherein the compressor casing further includes an operation panel on which an operation interface for operating the cryocooler compressor is provided.
Meade teaches wherein the compressor casing further includes an operation panel on which an operation interface for operating the compressor is provided (Fig. 1, chiller system 100, user interface 106, cabinet 150; Pg. 2, paragraph 39, Although depicted on the front of the chiller system 100, at least one status light 104 and user interface 106 may optionally be provided at any location on the exterior or interior of cabinet 150 of the chiller system 100; Pg. 2, paragraph 41, User interface 106 may be used to show operations indicia, such as energy levels, capacity, output, measurement of time to complete a cycle, warnings, status updates, etc. Other known display information may be shown on the user interface 106. User interface 106 may be a screen, such as an LCD, LED, touch panel, keypad, sensor, etc. In an embodiment, user interface 106 may be partially or fully removable and/or remotely accessible to provide an operator information on the status of the chiller system 100. In an embodiment, user interface 106 may serve as a control system for controlling and protecting a motor of a compressor 300 and an expansion valve 250, depending on facility needs).
Nakashima as modified fails to teach wherein the compressor casing further includes an operation panel on which an operation interface for operating the cryocooler compressor is provided, however Meade teaches that it is a known method in the art of compressor casings to include wherein the compressor casing further includes an operation panel on which an operation interface for operating the compressor is provided. This is strong evidence that modifying Nakashima as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing an interface between a user and the system to allow for control of system operations). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakashima as modified by Meade and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing an interface between a user and the system to allow for control of system operations.
Conclusion
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 September 29th, 2026