DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: composition adjuster (e.g. a separator) in at least claim 1; throttle mechanism (e.g. a valve) in at least claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kamei (WO 2019216312A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Kamei teaches an air control system for adjusting a composition of inside air in a storage (see par. 2), the air control system comprising: a dehumidifying unit 150 having a first separation membrane 151 for allowing water vapor to permeate therethrough and configured to dehumidify target air; and a composition adjuster 40, 60 having a second separation membrane 85 for separating the target air dehumidified by the dehumidifying unit into first air and second air having different compositions, the first air or second air having flowed out of the composition adjuster being supplied to the storage (see par. 157).
Regarding claim 2,
Kamei teaches an air pump 231 configured to supply the target air to the dehumidifying unit; and a first throttle mechanism 224 provided for a passage of the target air from the dehumidifying unit toward the composition adjuster.
Regarding claim 3,
Kamei teaches wherein the composition adjuster takes air having not permeated through the second separation membrane as the first air and air having permeated through the second separation membrane as the second air (see par. 138), and the air control system further comprises a second throttle mechanism 46 provided for a passage of the first air having flowed out of the composition adjuster.
Regarding claim 4,
Kamei teaches wherein the dehumidifying unit applies water vapor having permeated through the first separation membrane 85 to the first air or the second air having flowed out of the composition adjuster toward an inside of the storage (see pars. 49, 76, 85, 216, 218, 236).
Regarding claim 5,
Kamei teaches a humidifying unit 260 configured to apply water vapor to the first air or second air having flowed out of the composition adjuster toward the inside of the storage (see pars. 7-8, 21-22, 27).
Regarding claim 6,
Kamei teaches a gas-liquid separator 41, 61 configured to separate water in a liquid state from the target air to be sent to the dehumidifying unit.
Regarding claim 7,
Kamei teaches the air control system of claim 1; and a refrigerant circuit (see pars. 13, 73) configured to perform a refrigeration cycle to adjust an internal temperature of the storage.
Regarding claim 8,
Kamei teaches a transport container 1 comprising: the refrigeration apparatus of claim 7; and a container body 2 to which the refrigeration apparatus is attached and which forms the storage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Saul, Cahill-O-Brien teach air control systems.
/Steve S TANENBAUM/ Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763