DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
i. Applicant argues that the teaching by the reference Yousefpor et al. (2019/0138152) of an electrode structure is fundamentally different from that recited in independent claims of the present invention.
However, Applicant fails to identify how the relied upon equivalent features of Yousefpor do not read fairly upon the claimed invention or consider that said features of Yousefpor are relied upon as modification of the primary reference Kim et al. (2022/0147212). One cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
ii. Applicant argues that the reference Kim et al. (2022/0147212) fails to disclose all of the third electrodes are connected to a single third trace.
However, the reference Kim et al. (2025/0053269; Bonkee) is relied upon for a teaching of this limitation. Please see grounds of rejection below, which will not be repeated here, for brevity.
iii. Applicant argues that the reference Kim et al. (2022/0147212) fails to disclose a fourth electrode…connected to a fourth trace line.
Again, Applicant does not describe how relied upon features of the reference fail to teach the claimed subject matter.
iv. Applicant argues that a configuration in which signals are provided cannot be derived in the reference Kim et al. (2025/0053269; Bonkee) when combined with the reference Yousefpor.
Please consider that the primary reference modified by the teaching of Bonkee is the reference Kim et al. (2022/0147212), not Bonkee.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
i. Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 11, 20, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (2022/0147212; hereinafter Kim) and Kim et al. (2025/0053269; hereinafter Bonkee; claiming benefit of KR 10-2021-0185633 [attached]) in view of Yousefpor et al. (2019/0138152; hereinafter Yousefpor; this combination of references hereinafter referred to as KBY).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses an electronic device ([0002]; Figures 4, 5A) comprising:
a sensor layer (Comprising ISP); and
a sensor driver (Figures 6A, 6B: Comprising 110) configured to operate the sensor layer [0140], wherein the sensor driver is further configured to
operate in a first mode for sensing a touch input ([0131], Figure 7: Comprising F2) or in a second mode for sensing a pen input ([0131], Figure 7: Comprising F1+F2), wherein the sensor layer includes:
a plurality of first electrodes (Figure 5A – 6B: Comprising a first plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2) arranged along a first direction (Comprising one of DR1, DR2) and extending along a second direction (Comprising other one of DR1, DR2) intersecting the first direction;
a plurality of second electrodes (Comprising a second plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2) arranged along the second direction (Comprising other one of DR1, DR2) and extending along the first direction (Comprising one of DR1, DR2);
a plurality of third electrodes (Comprising a third plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2) arranged along the first direction (Comprising one of DR1, DR2) and extending along the second direction (Comprising other one of DR1, DR2);
a fourth electrode (Comprising a fourth plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2), and including a plurality of sub-electrodes (Comprising respective instances of the fourth plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2) arranged along the second direction (Comprising other one of DR1, DR2), extending along the first direction (Comprising one of DR1, DR2), and electrically connected with each other (By respective ones of TBE1, TBE2, GBE1, GBE2, PBE1 or PBE2);
a plurality of first trace lines (Comprising first ones among SL1…SL6) electrically connected to the plurality of first electrodes (Comprising the first plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2), respectively;
a plurality of second trace lines (Comprising second ones among SL1… SL6) electrically connected to the plurality of second electrodes (Comprising the second plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2), respectively;
a third trace line (Comprising a third one among SL1… SL6) electrically connected to all of the plurality of third electrodes (Comprising the third plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2); and
a fourth trace line (Comprising a fourth one among SL1… SL6) electrically connected to the fourth electrode (Comprising the fourth plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2) and connected to an end of the plurality of sub-electrodes (Comprising an end of the respective instances of the fourth plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2), wherein the sensor driver is configured to
output a driving signal (Figures 6B, 7: Comprising TS) to the third trace line (Comprising e.g. a third one among SL1… SL6) in the first mode (Comprising F2).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the third trace line electrically connected to all of the plurality of third electrodes, the fourth trace line is connected to an end of each of the plurality of sub-electrodes.
In the same field of endeavor, Bonkee discloses a multifunctional touch input device [0001] wherein the third trace line (Figure 4: Comprising 102m) electrically connected to all of the plurality of third electrodes (Comprising 102), the fourth trace line (Comprising 104ml) is connected to an end of each of the plurality of sub-electrodes (Comprising 104). This is among measures implemented for noise reduction when detecting touch position [0010].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified wherein the third trace line electrically connected to all of the plurality of third electrodes, the fourth trace line is connected to an end of each of the plurality of sub-electrodes, in view of the teaching of Bonkee, to reduce noise in position detection.
Kim in view of Bonkee does not explicitly disclose the device further configured to output a driving signal to the fourth trace line.
In the same field of endeavor, Yousefpor discloses a touch panel [0002] configured to output a driving signal (Figure 10: Comprising V) to the fourth (Figures 22…25: Comprising fourth grouping among 2211a…2211d) trace line (Figure 10: From respective instance of 1013). This is among measures implemented to effectively distinguish between touching and hovering objects [0004].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified as further configured to output a driving signal to the fourth trace line, in view of the teaching of Yousefpor, to more effectively distinguish between touching and hovering objects.
Regarding claim 2, KBY discloses the electronic device of claim 1. Kim discloses the device wherein the first mode includes a mutual-capacitance detection mode ([0147], Figure 7: Comprising MP) and a self-capacitance detection mode (Comprising SP), wherein the sensor driver is configured to output the driving signal (Comprising TS) to the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes (Comprising e.g. TE1, TE2) in the self-capacitance detection mode (Comprising SP).
Regarding claim 4, KBY discloses the electronic device of claim 2. Kim discloses the device wherein the plurality of third electrodes and the fourth electrode are grounded (Figures 5A, 6B: Comprising e.g. GE1, GE2) in the mutual-capacitance detection mode [0136].
Regarding claim 5, KBY discloses the electronic device of claim 2.
Kim does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the driving signal is provided to the plurality of third electrodes and the fourth electrode in the self-capacitance detection mode.
In the same field of endeavor, Yousefpor discloses a touch panel [0002] wherein the driving signal (Figure 22: Comprising V) is provided to the plurality of third electrodes (Comprising e.g. 2211b) and the fourth electrode (Comprising e.g. 2211c) in the self-capacitance detection mode [0089]. This is among measures implemented to effectively distinguish between touching and hovering objects [0004].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified wherein the driving signal is provided to the plurality of third electrodes and the fourth electrode in the self-capacitance detection mode, in view of the teaching of Yousefpor, to more effectively distinguish between touching and hovering objects.
Regarding claim 11, KBY discloses the electronic device of claim 1. Kim discloses the device wherein the sensor layer further includes a plurality of fifth trace lines (Figures 6A: Comprising e.g. SL4) electrically connected to the plurality of third electrodes, respectively (Comprising e.g. PE2).
Regarding claim 20, Kim discloses an electronic device ([0002]; Figures 4, 5A) comprising:
a sensor layer (Comprising ISP) including
a plurality of first electrodes (Comprising a first plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2) arranged along a first direction (Comprising one of DR1, DR2) and extending along a second direction (Comprising other one of DR1, DR2) intersecting the first direction,
a plurality of second electrodes (Comprising a second plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2) arranged along the second direction (Comprising other one of DR1, DR2) and extending along the first direction (Comprising one of DR1, DR2),
a plurality of third electrodes (Comprising a third plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2) arranged along the first direction (Comprising one of DR1, DR2) and extending along the second direction (Comprising other one DR1, DR2),
a fourth electrode (Comprising a fourth plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2) arranged along the second direction (Comprising other one of DR1, DR2), and extending along the first direction (Comprising one of DR1, DR2) and including
a plurality of sub-electrodes (Comprising respective instances of the fourth plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2) connected with each other (By respective ones of TBE1, TBE2, GBE1, GBE2, PBE1 or PBE2),
a plurality of first trace lines (Comprising a first one among SL1…SL6) electrically connected to the plurality of first electrodes (Comprising the first plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2), respectively,
a plurality of second trace lines (Comprising a second one among SL1…SL6) electrically connected to the plurality of second electrodes (Comprising a second plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2), respectively,
a third trace line (Comprising a third one among SL1…SL6) electrically connected to first ends of the plurality of third electrodes (Comprising an end of the third plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2),
a fourth trace line (Comprising a fourth one among SL1…SL6) electrically connected to the fourth electrode (Comprising the fourth plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2) and connected to the end of the plurality of sub-electrodes (Comprising an end of the respective instances of the fourth plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2), and
a plurality of fifth trace lines (Comprising a fifth one among SL1…SL6); and
a sensor driver (Figures 6A, 6B: Comprising110) configured to drive the sensor layer [0140], and
operate in a pen sensing mode for sensing a pen input ([0131], Figure 7: Comprising F1+F2) or in a touch sensing mode for sensing a touch input ([0131], Figure 7: Comprising F2), wherein, in the pen sensing mode, the sensor driver is configured to
apply a current ([0133]: Uplink signals) to one of a plurality of pads (Figure 5A: Unnumbered, connected to ends of SL1…SL6 not connected to SE, TE, PE, GE) connected to the third trace line and the plurality of fifth trace lines (Respectively, third and fifth ones among SL1…SL6),
receive current via another pad, and detect coordinates for the pen input based on a current ([0138]: Input tool coordinates, on the basis of downlink signals) provided from the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes (Comprising first and second pluralities of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2), wherein the sensor driver is configured to
output the driving signal (Comprising TS) to the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes (e.g. TE receiving TS [0145] comprising TE1, TE2 in Figure 5A) in the touch sensing mode (Comprising F2),
calculate input coordinates [0061] by sensing a change in capacitance ([0145]: Via RS) of each of the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes ([0145]: Comprising e.g. TE; TE1, TE2).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the plurality of sub-electrodes is connected in parallel with each other, the third trace line electrically connected to first ends of all of the plurality of third electrodes, the fourth trace line is connected to the end of each of the plurality of sub-electrodes, and the plurality of fifth trace lines is connected to second ends of the plurality of third electrodes, respectively.
In the same field of endeavor, Bonkee discloses a multifunctional touch input device [0001] wherein the plurality of sub-electrodes (Figure 4: Comprising 104) is connected in parallel with each other (By 104ml), the third trace line (Comprising 102m) electrically connected to first ends of all of the plurality of third electrodes (Comprising 102), the fourth trace line (Comprising 104ml) is connected to the end of each of the plurality of sub-electrodes (Comprising 104), and the plurality of fifth trace lines (Carrying STX) is connected to second ends of the plurality of third electrodes (Comprising 102), respectively. This is among measures implemented for noise reduction when detecting touch position [0010].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified wherein the plurality of sub-electrodes is connected in parallel with each other, the third trace line electrically connected to first ends of all of the plurality of third electrodes, the fourth trace line is connected to the end of each of the plurality of sub-electrodes, and the plurality of fifth trace lines is connected to second ends of the plurality of third electrodes, respectively, in view of the teaching of Bonkee, to reduce noise in position detection.
Kim in view of Bonkee does not explicitly disclose the device further configured to output the driving signal to at least some of the third trace line, the fourth trace line, and the plurality of fifth trace lines in the touch sensing mode.
In the same field of endeavor, Yousefpor discloses a touch panel [0002] configured to output the driving signal (Figures 10, 22 – 25: Comprising V) to at least some of the third trace line, the fourth trace line, and the plurality of fifth trace lines in the touch sensing mode (Third, fourth and fifth grouping among 2211a…2211d coupled to corresponding instance of 1013). This is among measures implemented to effectively distinguish between touching and hovering objects [0004].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified as configured to output the driving signal to at least some of the third trace line, the fourth trace line, and the plurality of fifth trace lines in the touch sensing mode, in view of the teaching of Yousefpor, to more effectively distinguish between touching and hovering objects.
Regarding claim 21, KBY discloses the electronic device of claim 20.
Kim does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the driving signal is provided to the plurality of third electrodes and the fourth electrode in the touch sensing mode.
In the same field of endeavor, Yousefpor discloses a touch panel [0002] wherein the driving signal (Figures 22: Comprising V) is provided to the plurality of third electrodes (Comprising e.g. 2211b) and the fourth electrode (Comprising e.g. 2211c) in the touch sensing mode [0089]. This is among measures implemented to effectively distinguish between touching and hovering objects [0004].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified wherein the driving signal is provided to the plurality of third electrodes and the fourth electrode in the touch sensing mode, in view of the teaching of Yousefpor, to more effectively distinguish between touching and hovering objects.
ii. Claims 7, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KBY as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (2022/0069018; hereinafter Soowon).
Regarding claim 7, KBY discloses the electronic device of claim 1.
KBY does not explicitly disclose the device further comprising: a switch connected between the fourth electrode and the fourth trace line, wherein the switch is turned off in the first mode and is turned on in the second mode.
In the same field of endeavor, Soowon discloses an input sensing part [0049] comprising: a switch (Figure 12: Comprising SW4) connected between the fourth electrode (SE2) and the fourth trace line (Comprising RL), wherein the switch is turned off in the first mode and is turned on in the second mode [0157]. This is among measures implemented to improve sensing reliability [0002].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Kim to further comprise a switch connected between the fourth electrode and the fourth trace line, wherein the switch is turned off in the first mode and is turned on in the second mode, in view of the teaching of Soowon, to improve sensing reliability.
Regarding claim 8, KBY discloses the electronic device of claim 1.
KBY does not explicitly disclose the device further comprising: a plurality of switches connected between the plurality of sub-electrodes, wherein the plurality of switches are turned off in the first mode and are turned on in the second mode.
In the same field of endeavor, Soowon discloses an input sensing part [0049] comprising: a plurality of switches (Figure 12: Comprising SW4) connected between the plurality of sub-electrodes (Comprising SE2), wherein the plurality of switches are turned off in the first mode and are turned on in the second mode [0157]. This is among measures implemented to improve sensing reliability [0002].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Kim to further comprise a plurality of switches connected between the plurality of sub-electrodes, wherein the plurality of switches are turned off in the first mode and are turned on in the second mode, in view of the teaching of Soowon, to improve sensing reliability.
iii. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KBY as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Zhao et al. (2022/0326810; hereinafter Zhao).
Regarding claim 9, KBY discloses the electronic device of claim 1.
KBY does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the third trace line includes a first portion extending along the first direction and electrically connected to the plurality of third electrodes, a second portion extending along the second direction from a first end of the first portion, and a third portion extending along the second direction from a second end of the first portion.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhao discloses a touch display screen [0004] wherein the third trace line (Figure 3: Comprising 04) includes a first portion extending along the first direction (Portion parallel with 07) and electrically connected to the plurality of third electrodes (Comprising 02), a second portion extending along the second direction (One of two portions parallel with 03) from a first end of the first portion (One of leftmost, rightmost ends of portion parallel with 07), and a third portion extending along the second direction (Other one of two portions parallel with 03) from a second end of the first portion (Other one of leftmost, rightmost ends of portion parallel with 07). This is among measures implemented to increase pixel aperture ratio [0065].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified wherein the third trace line includes a first portion extending along the first direction and electrically connected to the plurality of third electrodes, a second portion extending along the second direction from a first end of the first portion, and a third portion extending along the second direction from a second end of the first portion, in view of the teaching of Zhao, to increase pixel aperture ratio.
iv. Claims 14, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Yousefpor.
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses an electronic device ([0002]; Figures 4, 5A) comprising:
a sensor layer (Comprising ISP) including
a plurality of first electrodes (Comprising a first plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2),
a plurality of second electrodes (Comprising a second plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2),
a plurality of third electrodes (Comprising a third plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2),
a fourth electrode (Comprising a fourth plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2), and
a plurality of trace lines (Comprising at least one among groups of SL1…SL6); and
a sensor driver (Figures 6A, 6B: Comprising 110) configured to operate the sensor layer [0140], wherein the sensor driver is further configured to operate in
a mutual-capacitance detection mode ([0147]: MP),
a self-capacitance detection mode ([0147]: SP), or
a pen sensing mode including a charging time period ([0133]: During which sensor controller providing uplink signal) and a pen sensing time period ([0133]: During which input tool provides downlink signal), wherein the sensor driver is configured to, in the self-capacitance detection mode (Figure 7: Comprising SP),
output a driving signal (Comprising TS) to the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes (e.g. TE receiving TS [0145] comprising TE1, TE2 in Figure 5A), and
calculate input coordinates [0061] by sensing a change in capacitance ([0145]: Via RS) of each of the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes ([0145]: Comprising e.g. TE; TE1, TE2).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the sensor driver further configured to output the driving signal to at least one of a trace line connected to all of the plurality of third electrodes or a trace line connected to the fourth electrode in the self-capacitance detection mode.
In the same field of endeavor, Yousefpor discloses a touch panel [0002] configured to output the driving signal (Figure 10: Comprising V) to at least one of a trace line (Comprising 1013) connected all of to the plurality of third electrodes or a trace line connected to the fourth electrode in the self-capacitance detection mode (Figures 22 – 25: Comprising third, fourth grouping among 2211a…2211d). This is among measures implemented to effectively distinguish between touching and hovering objects [0004].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified wherein the sensor driver is configured to output the driving signal to at least one of a trace line connected to all of the plurality of third electrodes or a trace line connected to the fourth electrode in the self-capacitance detection mode, in view of the teaching of Yousefpor, to more effectively distinguish between touching and hovering objects.
Regarding claim 19, Kim in view of Yousefpor discloses the electronic device of claim 14.
Kim does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the sensor driver is configured to, in the mutual-capacitance detection mode, output a transmission signal to the plurality of first electrodes, receive a reception signal from the plurality of second electrodes, and calculate input coordinates by sensing a change in mutual capacitance between the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes, wherein the plurality of third electrodes and the fourth electrode are grounded in the mutual-capacitance detection mode.
In the same field of endeavor, Yousefpor discloses a touch panel [0002] wherein the sensor driver is configured to, in the mutual-capacitance detection mode, output a transmission signal (Figure 14: Comprising DRIVE VOLTAGE V) to the plurality of first electrodes (Comprising e.g. 1411a), receive a reception signal from the plurality of second electrodes (Comprising e.g. 1411d), and calculate input coordinates [0071] by sensing a change in mutual capacitance (Comprising Yee) between the plurality of first electrodes (Comprising e.g. 1411a) and the plurality of second electrodes (Comprising e.g. 1411d), wherein the plurality of third electrodes (Comprising e.g. 1411b) and the fourth electrode (Comprising e.g. 1411c) are grounded in the mutual-capacitance detection mode. This is among measures implemented to effectively distinguish between touching and hovering objects [0004].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified wherein the sensor driver is configured to, in the mutual-capacitance detection mode, output a transmission signal to the plurality of first electrodes, receive a reception signal from the plurality of second electrodes, and calculate input coordinates by sensing a change in mutual capacitance between the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes, wherein the plurality of third electrodes and the fourth electrode are grounded in the mutual-capacitance detection mode, in view of the teaching of Yousefpor, to more effectively distinguish between touching and hovering objects.
v. Claims 15, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Yousefpor, as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Bonkee (this combination of references hereinafter referred to as KYB).
Regarding claim 15, Kim in view of Yousefpor discloses the electronic device of claim 14. Kim discloses the device wherein the fourth electrode includes a plurality of sub-electrodes (Figure 5A: Comprising respective instances of the fourth plurality of serially connected ones of TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2) electrically connected each other (By respective ones of TBE1, TBE2, GBE1, GBE2, PBE1 or PBE2), wherein the plurality of trace lines include: a plurality of first trace lines (Comprising first ones among SL1…SL6) electrically connected to the plurality of first electrodes (Comprising the first plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2), respectively; a plurality of second trace lines (Comprising second ones among SL1…SL6) electrically connected to the plurality of second electrodes (Comprising a second plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2), respectively; a third trace line (Comprising a third one among SL1…SL6) connected to a first end of each of the plurality of third electrodes (Comprising a third plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2); a fourth trace line (Comprising a fourth one among SL1…SL6) electrically connected to the fourth electrode (Comprising the fourth plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2) and connected to an end of the plurality of sub-electrodes (Comprising an end of the respective instances of the fourth plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2); and a plurality of fifth trace lines (Comprising e.g. SL4) connected to second ends of the plurality of third electrodes (Comprising e.g. PE2), respectively, wherein the sensor driver is configured to output the driving signal (Figure 6B, 7: Comprising TS) to the third trace line (Comprising e.g. a third one among SL1…SL6) in the self-capacitance detection mode (Comprising F2).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the device further configured to output a driving signal to the fourth trace line.
In the same field of endeavor, Yousefpor discloses a touch panel [0002] configured to output a driving signal (Figure 10: Comprising V) to the fourth (Figures 22…25: Comprising fourth grouping among 2211a…2211d) trace line (Figure 10: From respective instance of 1013). This is among measures implemented to effectively distinguish between touching and hovering objects [0004].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified as further configured to output a driving signal to the fourth trace line, in view of the teaching of Yousefpor, to more effectively distinguish between touching and hovering objects.
Kim in view of Yousefpor does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the fourth trace line is connected to an end of each of the plurality of sub-electrodes.
In the same field of endeavor, Bonkee discloses a multifunctional touch input device [0001] wherein the fourth trace line (Figure 4: Comprising 104ml) is connected to an end of each of the plurality of sub-electrodes (Comprising 104). This is among measures implemented for noise reduction when detecting touch position [0010].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified wherein the fourth trace line is connected to an end of each of the plurality of sub-electrodes, in view of the teaching of Bonkee, to reduce noise in position detection.
Regarding claim 16, KYB discloses the electronic device of claim 15.
Kim does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the driving signal is provided to the plurality of third electrodes and the fourth electrode in the self-capacitance detection mode.
In the same field of endeavor, Yousefpor discloses a touch panel [0002] wherein the driving signal (Figure 22: Comprising V) is provided to the plurality of third electrodes (Comprising e.g. 2211b) and the fourth electrode (Comprising e.g. 2211c) in the self-capacitance detection mode [0089]. This is among measures implemented to effectively distinguish between touching and hovering objects [0004].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified wherein the driving signal is provided to the plurality of third electrodes and the fourth electrode in the self-capacitance detection mode, in view of the teaching of Yousefpor, to more effectively distinguish between touching and hovering objects.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, 10, 12, 13, 17, 18, 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, KBY discloses the electronic device of claim 2.
The cited prior art fails to singularly or collectively disclose the device wherein the self-capacitance detection mode includes a first time period and a second time period, wherein the sensor driver is configured to: output the driving signal to the plurality of first trace lines in the first time period; and output the driving signal to the plurality of second trace lines, the third trace line, and the fourth trace line in the second time period.
Thus, claim 3 is objected to.
Regarding claim 6, KBY discloses the electronic device of claim 2.
The cited prior art fails to singularly or collectively disclose the device wherein the plurality of third electrodes and the fourth electrode are electrically separated from the plurality of third trace lines and the fourth trace line in the self-capacitance detection mode.
Thus, claim 6 is objected to.
Regarding claim 10, KBY discloses the electronic device of claim 9.
The cited prior art fails to singularly or collectively disclose the device further comprising: a plurality of switches connected between the first portion and the second portion and between the first portion and the third portion, respectively, wherein the plurality of switches are turned off in the first mode and turned on in the second mode.
Thus, claim 10 is objected to.
Regarding claim 12, KBY discloses the electronic device of claim 11.
The cited prior art fails to singularly or collectively disclose the device further comprising: a plurality of switches connected between the plurality of fifth trace lines and the plurality of third electrodes, respectively, wherein the plurality of switches are turned off in the first mode and are turned on in the second mode.
Thus, claim 12 is objected to.
Regarding claim 13, KBY discloses the electronic device of claim 1.
The cited prior art fails to singularly or collectively disclose the device wherein the second mode includes a charging section and a pen sensing section, wherein the plurality of first electrodes, the plurality of second electrodes, and the fourth electrode are grounded in the charging section, wherein, in the pen sensing section, the plurality of third electrodes and the fourth electrode are grounded, and the sensor driver is configured to detect coordinates for the pen input based on a current provided from the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes.
Thus, claim 13 is objected to.
Regarding claim 17, KYB discloses the electronic device of claim 15.
The cited prior art fails to singularly or collectively disclose the device wherein the plurality of third electrodes and the fourth electrode are electrically separated from the plurality of third trace lines and the fourth trace line in the self-capacitance detection mode.
Thus, claim 17 is objected to.
Regarding claim 18, KYB discloses the electronic device of claim 15.
The cited prior art fails to singularly or collectively disclose the device wherein the sensor driver is configured to, in the charging section, apply a current to one of a plurality of pads connected to the third trace line and the plurality of fifth trace lines and to receive current via another pad, and wherein the plurality of first electrodes, the plurality of second electrodes, and the fourth electrode are grounded in the charging section, wherein the sensor driver is configured to detect coordinates for a pen input based on a current provided from the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes in the pen sensing section, and wherein the plurality of third electrodes and the fourth electrode are grounded in the pen sensing section.
Thus, claim 18 is objected to.
Regarding claim 22, KBY discloses the electronic device of claim 20.
The cited prior art fails to singularly or collectively disclose the device wherein the plurality of third electrodes and the fourth electrode are electrically separated from at least some of the plurality of third trace lines, the fourth trace line, and the plurality of fifth trace lines in the touch sensing mode, and are not provided with the driving signal.
Thus, claim 22 is objected to.
Inquiries
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON MIDKIFF/
Examiner, Art Unit 2621
/AMR A AWAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2621