DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
i. Applicant argues that the cited prior art fails to disclose a plurality of electrodes arranged along a first direction and extending in a second direction, nor are they discloses as being connected together to a single trace line. Please consider the following respectful grounds of disagreement.
Applicant substantiates the allegation in arguing that the teaching by the reference Kim et al. (2022/0147212) of (Figures 5A – 6B) TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 and PE2 are not arranged along a first direction, nor are they connected together to a single trace.
However, only one among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 and PE2 as analogous first electrode arranged along a first direction. A differing one among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 and PE2 is relied upon for a fair reading of the claimed third electrode. Kim is not relied upon for a teaching of the claimed “…connected to all of the plurality of third electrodes…” descriptor of the third trace line. The reference Kim et al. (2025/0053269; hereinafter Bonkee) reference is instead relied upon for a teaching (Figure 4) of all third electrodes (Comprising 102) connected to the third trace line (Comprising 102m).
ii. Applicant argues that Kim does not disclose a structure corresponding to the claimed fourth trace line. Please consider the following respectful grounds of disagreement.
Applicant substantiates the allegation in arguing that the fourth trace line is required to be commonly connected to one end of each of the plurality of sub-electrodes. The prior and present rejections rely upon the teaching by Bonkee (Figure 4) of a conductive pattern (Comprising 104ml) connected to an equivalent teaching of sub-electrodes (Comprising 104).
iii. Applicant argues the lack of motivation or rationale to modify Kim in view of additionally cited prior art to arrive at the claimed invention. Please consider the following respectful grounds of disagreement.
Applicant neither acknowledges nor contests the passages of prior art explicitly relied upon for motivation to combine.
iv. Arguments directed toward the patentability of claims depending from those reciting language argued above, are moot, in view of the maintained rejection, in light of the reasoning above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
i. Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 11, 20, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (2022/0147212; hereinafter Kim) and Kim et al. (2025/0053269; hereinafter Bonkee; claiming benefit of KR 10-2021-0185633 [previously attached]) in view of Yousefpor et al. (2019/0138152; hereinafter Yousefpor; this combination of references hereinafter referred to as KBY).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses an electronic device ([0002]; Figures 4, 5A) comprising:
a sensor layer (Comprising ISP); and
a sensor driver (Figures 6A, 6B: Comprising 110) configured to operate the sensor layer [0140], wherein the sensor driver is further configured to
operate in a first mode for sensing a touch input ([0131], Figure 7: Comprising F2) or in a second mode for sensing a pen input ([0131], Figure 7: Comprising F1+F2), wherein the sensor layer includes:
a plurality of first electrodes (Figure 5A – 6B: Comprising a first plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2) arranged along a first direction (Comprising one of DR1, DR2) and extending along a second direction (Comprising other one of DR1, DR2) intersecting the first direction;
a plurality of second electrodes (Comprising a second plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2) arranged along the second direction (Comprising other one of DR1, DR2) and extending along the first direction (Comprising one of DR1, DR2);
a plurality of third electrodes (Comprising a third plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2) arranged along the first direction (Comprising one of DR1, DR2) and extending along the second direction (Comprising other one of DR1, DR2);
a fourth electrode (Comprising a fourth plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2), and including a plurality of sub-electrodes (Comprising respective instances of the fourth plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2) arranged along the second direction (Comprising other one of DR1, DR2), extending along the first direction (Comprising one of DR1, DR2), and electrically connected with each other (By respective ones of TBE1, TBE2, GBE1, GBE2, PBE1 or PBE2);
a plurality of first trace lines (Comprising first ones among SL1…SL6) electrically connected to the plurality of first electrodes (Comprising the first plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2), respectively;
a plurality of second trace lines (Comprising second ones among SL1… SL6) electrically connected to the plurality of second electrodes (Comprising the second plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2), respectively;
a third trace line (Comprising a third one among SL1… SL6) electrically connected to all of the plurality of third electrodes (Comprising the third plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2); and
a fourth trace line (Comprising a fourth one among SL1… SL6) electrically connected to the fourth electrode (Comprising the fourth plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2) and connected to an end of the plurality of sub-electrodes (Comprising an end of the respective instances of the fourth plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2), wherein the sensor driver is configured to
output a driving signal (Figures 6B, 7: Comprising TS) to the third trace line (Comprising e.g. a third one among SL1… SL6) in the first mode (Comprising F2).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the third trace line electrically connected to all of the plurality of third electrodes, the fourth trace line is connected to an end of each of the plurality of sub-electrodes.
In the same field of endeavor, Bonkee discloses a multifunctional touch input device [0001] wherein the third trace line (Figure 4: Comprising 102m) electrically connected to all of the plurality of third electrodes (Comprising 102), the fourth trace line (Comprising 104ml) is connected to an end of each of the plurality of sub-electrodes (Comprising 104). This is among measures implemented for noise reduction when detecting touch position [0010].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified wherein the third trace line electrically connected to all of the plurality of third electrodes, the fourth trace line is connected to an end of each of the plurality of sub-electrodes, in view of the teaching of Bonkee, to reduce noise in position detection.
Kim in view of Bonkee does not explicitly disclose the device further configured to output a driving signal to the fourth trace line in a self-capacitance detection mode such that the third trace line and the fourth trace line function as guard lines to reduce capacitive coupling between at least one of the first trace lines or the second trace lines and at least one of the third trace line or the fourth trace line.
In the same field of endeavor, Yousefpor discloses a touch panel [0002] configured to output a driving signal (Figure 10: Comprising V) to the fourth trace line (Figure 10: From respective instance of 1013) in a self-capacitance detection mode such that the third trace line and the fourth trace line (Figures 22…25: Associated with two instances among 2211a…2211d identified with label “F”) function as guard lines to reduce capacitive coupling between at least one of the first trace lines or the second trace lines and at least one of the third trace line or the fourth trace line ([0089]: “…the electrode being driven, but its self capacitance not measured…unwanted parasitic capacitance…can be minimized, so as not to interfere with…the drive electrode…”). This is among measures implemented to effectively distinguish between touching and hovering objects [0004].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified as further configured to output a driving signal to the fourth trace line in a self-capacitance detection mode such that the third trace line and the fourth trace line function as guard lines to reduce capacitive coupling between at least one of the first trace lines or the second trace lines and at least one of the third trace line or the fourth trace line, in view of the teaching of Yousefpor, to more effectively distinguish between touching and hovering objects.
Regarding claim 2, KBY discloses the electronic device of claim 1. Kim discloses the device wherein the first mode includes a mutual-capacitance detection mode ([0147], Figure 7: Comprising MP) in addition to the self-capacitance detection mode (Comprising SP), wherein the sensor driver is configured to output the driving signal (Comprising TS) to the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes (Comprising e.g. TE1, TE2) in the self-capacitance detection mode (Comprising SP).
Regarding claim 4, KBY discloses the electronic device of claim 2. Kim discloses the device wherein the plurality of third electrodes and the fourth electrode are grounded (Figures 5A, 6B: Comprising e.g. GE1, GE2) in the mutual-capacitance detection mode [0136].
Regarding claim 5, KBY discloses the electronic device of claim 2.
Kim does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the driving signal is provided to the plurality of third electrodes and the fourth electrode in the self-capacitance detection mode.
In the same field of endeavor, Yousefpor discloses a touch panel [0002] wherein the driving signal (Figure 22: Comprising V) is provided to the plurality of third electrodes (Comprising e.g. 2211b) and the fourth electrode (Comprising e.g. 2211c) in the self-capacitance detection mode [0089]. This is among measures implemented to effectively distinguish between touching and hovering objects [0004].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified wherein the driving signal is provided to the plurality of third electrodes and the fourth electrode in the self-capacitance detection mode, in view of the teaching of Yousefpor, to more effectively distinguish between touching and hovering objects.
Regarding claim 11, KBY discloses the electronic device of claim 1. Kim discloses the device wherein the sensor layer further includes a plurality of fifth trace lines (Figures 6A: Comprising e.g. SL4) electrically connected to the plurality of third electrodes, respectively (Comprising e.g. PE2).
Regarding claim 20, Kim discloses an electronic device ([0002]; Figures 4, 5A) comprising:
a sensor layer (Comprising ISP) including
a plurality of first electrodes (Comprising a first plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2) arranged along a first direction (Comprising one of DR1, DR2) and extending along a second direction (Comprising other one of DR1, DR2) intersecting the first direction,
a plurality of second electrodes (Comprising a second plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2) arranged along the second direction (Comprising other one of DR1, DR2) and extending along the first direction (Comprising one of DR1, DR2),
a plurality of third electrodes (Comprising a third plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2) arranged along the first direction (Comprising one of DR1, DR2) and extending along the second direction (Comprising other one DR1, DR2),
a fourth electrode (Comprising a fourth plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2) arranged along the second direction (Comprising other one of DR1, DR2), and extending along the first direction (Comprising one of DR1, DR2) and including
a plurality of sub-electrodes (Comprising respective instances of the fourth plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2) connected with each other (By respective ones of TBE1, TBE2, GBE1, GBE2, PBE1 or PBE2),
a plurality of first trace lines (Comprising a first one among SL1…SL6) electrically connected to the plurality of first electrodes (Comprising the first plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2), respectively,
a plurality of second trace lines (Comprising a second one among SL1…SL6) electrically connected to the plurality of second electrodes (Comprising a second plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2), respectively,
a third trace line (Comprising a third one among SL1…SL6) electrically connected to first ends of the plurality of third electrodes (Comprising an end of the third plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2),
a fourth trace line (Comprising a fourth one among SL1…SL6) electrically connected to the fourth electrode (Comprising the fourth plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2) and connected to the end of the plurality of sub-electrodes (Comprising an end of the respective instances of the fourth plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2), and
a plurality of fifth trace lines (Comprising a fifth one among SL1…SL6); and
a sensor driver (Figures 6A, 6B: Comprising110) configured to drive the sensor layer [0140], and
operate in a pen sensing mode for sensing a pen input ([0131], Figure 7: Comprising F1+F2) or in a touch sensing mode for sensing a touch input ([0131], Figure 7: Comprising F2), wherein, in the pen sensing mode, the sensor driver is configured to
apply a current ([0133]: Uplink signals) to one of a plurality of pads (Figure 5A: Unnumbered, connected to ends of SL1…SL6 not connected to SE, TE, PE, GE) connected to the third trace line and the plurality of fifth trace lines (Respectively, third and fifth ones among SL1…SL6),
receive current via another pad, and detect coordinates for the pen input based on a current ([0138]: Input tool coordinates, on the basis of downlink signals) provided from the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes (Comprising first and second pluralities of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2), wherein the sensor driver is configured to
output the driving signal (Comprising TS) to the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes (e.g. TE receiving TS [0145] comprising TE1, TE2 in Figure 5A) in the touch sensing mode (Comprising F2),
calculate input coordinates [0061] by sensing a change in capacitance ([0145]: Via RS) of each of the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes ([0145]: Comprising e.g. TE; TE1, TE2).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the plurality of sub-electrodes is connected in parallel with each other, the third trace line electrically connected to first ends of all of the plurality of third electrodes, the fourth trace line is connected to the end of each of the plurality of sub-electrodes, and the plurality of fifth trace lines is connected to second ends of the plurality of third electrodes, respectively.
In the same field of endeavor, Bonkee discloses a multifunctional touch input device [0001] wherein the plurality of sub-electrodes (Figure 4: Comprising 104) is connected in parallel with each other (By 104ml), the third trace line (Comprising 102m) electrically connected to first ends of all of the plurality of third electrodes (Comprising 102), the fourth trace line (Comprising 104ml) is connected to the end of each of the plurality of sub-electrodes (Comprising 104), and the plurality of fifth trace lines (Carrying STX) is connected to second ends of the plurality of third electrodes (Comprising 102), respectively. This is among measures implemented for noise reduction when detecting touch position [0010].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified wherein the plurality of sub-electrodes is connected in parallel with each other, the third trace line electrically connected to first ends of all of the plurality of third electrodes, the fourth trace line is connected to the end of each of the plurality of sub-electrodes, and the plurality of fifth trace lines is connected to second ends of the plurality of third electrodes, respectively, in view of the teaching of Bonkee, to reduce noise in position detection.
Kim in view of Bonkee does not explicitly disclose the device further configured to output the driving signal to at least some of the third trace line, the fourth trace line, and the plurality of fifth trace lines in the touch sensing mode such that the at least some of the third trace line and the fourth trace line function as guard lines to reduce capacitive coupling between at least one of the first trace lines or the second trace lines and at least one of the third trace line or the fourth trace line.
In the same field of endeavor, Yousefpor discloses a touch panel [0002] configured to output the driving signal (Figures 10, 22 – 25: Comprising V) to at least some of the third trace line, the fourth trace line, and the plurality of fifth trace lines in the touch sensing mode (Third, fourth and fifth grouping among 2211a…2211d coupled to corresponding instance of 1013) such that the at least some of the third trace line and the fourth trace line (Figures 22…25: Associated with two instances among 2211a…2211d identified with label “F”) function as guard lines to reduce capacitive coupling between at least one of the first trace lines or the second trace lines and at least one of the third trace line or the fourth trace line ([0089]: “…the electrode being driven, but its self capacitance not measured…unwanted parasitic capacitance…can be minimized, so as not to interfere with…the drive electrode…”). This is among measures implemented to effectively distinguish between touching and hovering objects [0004].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified as configured to output the driving signal to at least some of the third trace line, the fourth trace line, and the plurality of fifth trace lines in the touch sensing mode such that the at least some of the third trace line and the fourth trace line function as guard lines to reduce capacitive coupling between at least one of the first trace lines or the second trace lines and at least one of the third trace line or the fourth trace line, in view of the teaching of Yousefpor, to more effectively distinguish between touching and hovering objects.
Regarding claim 21, KBY discloses the electronic device of claim 20.
Kim does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the driving signal is provided to the plurality of third electrodes and the fourth electrode in the touch sensing mode.
In the same field of endeavor, Yousefpor discloses a touch panel [0002] wherein the driving signal (Figures 22: Comprising V) is provided to the plurality of third electrodes (Comprising e.g. 2211b) and the fourth electrode (Comprising e.g. 2211c) in the touch sensing mode [0089]. This is among measures implemented to effectively distinguish between touching and hovering objects [0004].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified wherein the driving signal is provided to the plurality of third electrodes and the fourth electrode in the touch sensing mode, in view of the teaching of Yousefpor, to more effectively distinguish between touching and hovering objects.
ii. Claims 7, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KBY as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (2022/0069018; hereinafter Soowon).
Regarding claim 7, KBY discloses the electronic device of claim 1.
KBY does not explicitly disclose the device further comprising: a switch connected between the fourth electrode and the fourth trace line, wherein the switch is turned off in the first mode and is turned on in the second mode.
In the same field of endeavor, Soowon discloses an input sensing part [0049] comprising: a switch (Figure 12: Comprising SW4) connected between the fourth electrode (SE2) and the fourth trace line (Comprising RL), wherein the switch is turned off in the first mode and is turned on in the second mode [0157]. This is among measures implemented to improve sensing reliability [0002].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Kim to further comprise a switch connected between the fourth electrode and the fourth trace line, wherein the switch is turned off in the first mode and is turned on in the second mode, in view of the teaching of Soowon, to improve sensing reliability.
Regarding claim 8, KBY discloses the electronic device of claim 1.
KBY does not explicitly disclose the device further comprising: a plurality of switches connected between the plurality of sub-electrodes, wherein the plurality of switches are turned off in the first mode and are turned on in the second mode.
In the same field of endeavor, Soowon discloses an input sensing part [0049] comprising: a plurality of switches (Figure 12: Comprising SW4) connected between the plurality of sub-electrodes (Comprising SE2), wherein the plurality of switches are turned off in the first mode and are turned on in the second mode [0157]. This is among measures implemented to improve sensing reliability [0002].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Kim to further comprise a plurality of switches connected between the plurality of sub-electrodes, wherein the plurality of switches are turned off in the first mode and are turned on in the second mode, in view of the teaching of Soowon, to improve sensing reliability.
iii. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KBY as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Zhao et al. (2022/0326810; hereinafter Zhao).
Regarding claim 9, KBY discloses the electronic device of claim 1.
KBY does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the third trace line includes a first portion extending along the first direction and electrically connected to the plurality of third electrodes, a second portion extending along the second direction from a first end of the first portion, and a third portion extending along the second direction from a second end of the first portion.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhao discloses a touch display screen [0004] wherein the third trace line (Figure 3: Comprising 04) includes a first portion extending along the first direction (Portion parallel with 07) and electrically connected to the plurality of third electrodes (Comprising 02), a second portion extending along the second direction (One of two portions parallel with 03) from a first end of the first portion (One of leftmost, rightmost ends of portion parallel with 07), and a third portion extending along the second direction (Other one of two portions parallel with 03) from a second end of the first portion (Other one of leftmost, rightmost ends of portion parallel with 07). This is among measures implemented to increase pixel aperture ratio [0065].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified wherein the third trace line includes a first portion extending along the first direction and electrically connected to the plurality of third electrodes, a second portion extending along the second direction from a first end of the first portion, and a third portion extending along the second direction from a second end of the first portion, in view of the teaching of Zhao, to increase pixel aperture ratio.
iv. Claims 14, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Yousefpor.
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses an electronic device ([0002]; Figures 4, 5A) comprising:
a sensor layer (Comprising ISP) including
a plurality of first electrodes (Comprising a first plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2),
a plurality of second electrodes (Comprising a second plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2),
a plurality of third electrodes (Comprising a third plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2),
a fourth electrode (Comprising a fourth plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2), and
a plurality of trace lines (Comprising at least one among groups of SL1…SL6); and
a sensor driver (Figures 6A, 6B: Comprising 110) configured to operate the sensor layer [0140], wherein the sensor driver is further configured to operate in
a mutual-capacitance detection mode ([0147]: MP),
a self-capacitance detection mode ([0147]: SP), or
a pen sensing mode including a charging time period ([0133]: During which sensor controller providing uplink signal) and a pen sensing time period ([0133]: During which input tool provides downlink signal), wherein the sensor driver is configured to, in the self-capacitance detection mode (Figure 7: Comprising SP),
output a driving signal (Comprising TS) to the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes (e.g. TE receiving TS [0145] comprising TE1, TE2 in Figure 5A), and
calculate input coordinates [0061] by sensing a change in capacitance ([0145]: Via RS) of each of the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes ([0145]: Comprising e.g. TE; TE1, TE2).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the sensor driver further configured to output the driving signal to at least one of a trace line connected to all of the plurality of third electrodes or a trace line connected to the fourth electrode in the self-capacitance detection mode such that the at least one of a trace line connected to all of the plurality of third electrodes and the trace line connected to the fourth electrode function as guard lines to reduce capacitive coupling between elements of the sensor driver.
In the same field of endeavor, Yousefpor discloses a touch panel [0002] configured to output the driving signal (Figure 10: Comprising V) to at least one of a trace line (Comprising 1013) connected all of to the plurality of third electrodes or a trace line connected to the fourth electrode in the self-capacitance detection mode (Figures 22 – 25: Comprising third, fourth grouping among 2211a…2211d) such that the at least one of a trace line connected to all of the plurality of third electrodes and the trace line connected to the fourth electrode (Figures 22…25: Associated with two instances among 2211a…2211d identified with label “F”) function as guard lines to reduce capacitive coupling between elements of the sensor driver ([0089]: “…the electrode being driven, but its self capacitance not measured…unwanted parasitic capacitance…can be minimized, so as not to interfere with…the drive electrode…”). This is among measures implemented to effectively distinguish between touching and hovering objects [0004].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified wherein the sensor driver is configured to output the driving signal to at least one of a trace line connected to all of the plurality of third electrodes or a trace line connected to the fourth electrode in the self-capacitance detection mode such that the at least one of a trace line connected to all of the plurality of third electrodes and the trace line connected to the fourth electrode function as guard lines to reduce capacitive coupling between elements of the sensor driver, in view of the teaching of Yousefpor, to more effectively distinguish between touching and hovering objects.
Regarding claim 19, Kim in view of Yousefpor discloses the electronic device of claim 14.
Kim does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the sensor driver is configured to, in the mutual-capacitance detection mode, output a transmission signal to the plurality of first electrodes, receive a reception signal from the plurality of second electrodes, and calculate input coordinates by sensing a change in mutual capacitance between the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes, wherein the plurality of third electrodes and the fourth electrode are grounded in the mutual-capacitance detection mode.
In the same field of endeavor, Yousefpor discloses a touch panel [0002] wherein the sensor driver is configured to, in the mutual-capacitance detection mode, output a transmission signal (Figure 14: Comprising DRIVE VOLTAGE V) to the plurality of first electrodes (Comprising e.g. 1411a), receive a reception signal from the plurality of second electrodes (Comprising e.g. 1411d), and calculate input coordinates [0071] by sensing a change in mutual capacitance (Comprising Yee) between the plurality of first electrodes (Comprising e.g. 1411a) and the plurality of second electrodes (Comprising e.g. 1411d), wherein the plurality of third electrodes (Comprising e.g. 1411b) and the fourth electrode (Comprising e.g. 1411c) are grounded in the mutual-capacitance detection mode. This is among measures implemented to effectively distinguish between touching and hovering objects [0004].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified wherein the sensor driver is configured to, in the mutual-capacitance detection mode, output a transmission signal to the plurality of first electrodes, receive a reception signal from the plurality of second electrodes, and calculate input coordinates by sensing a change in mutual capacitance between the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes, wherein the plurality of third electrodes and the fourth electrode are grounded in the mutual-capacitance detection mode, in view of the teaching of Yousefpor, to more effectively distinguish between touching and hovering objects.
v. Claims 15, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Yousefpor, as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Bonkee (this combination of references hereinafter referred to as KYB).
Regarding claim 15, Kim in view of Yousefpor discloses the electronic device of claim 14. Kim discloses the device wherein the fourth electrode includes a plurality of sub-electrodes (Figure 5A: Comprising respective instances of the fourth plurality of serially connected ones of TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2) electrically connected each other (By respective ones of TBE1, TBE2, GBE1, GBE2, PBE1 or PBE2), wherein the plurality of trace lines include: a plurality of first trace lines (Comprising first ones among SL1…SL6) electrically connected to the plurality of first electrodes (Comprising the first plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2), respectively; a plurality of second trace lines (Comprising second ones among SL1…SL6) electrically connected to the plurality of second electrodes (Comprising a second plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2), respectively; a third trace line (Comprising a third one among SL1…SL6) connected to a first end of each of the plurality of third electrodes (Comprising a third plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2); a fourth trace line (Comprising a fourth one among SL1…SL6) electrically connected to the fourth electrode (Comprising the fourth plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2) and connected to an end of the plurality of sub-electrodes (Comprising an end of the respective instances of the fourth plurality of serially connected ones among TE1, TE2, GE1, GE2, PE1 or PE2); and a plurality of fifth trace lines (Comprising e.g. SL4) connected to second ends of the plurality of third electrodes (Comprising e.g. PE2), respectively, wherein the sensor driver is configured to output the driving signal (Figure 6B, 7: Comprising TS) to the third trace line (Comprising e.g. a third one among SL1…SL6) in the self-capacitance detection mode (Comprising F2).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the device further configured to output a driving signal to the fourth trace line.
In the same field of endeavor, Yousefpor discloses a touch panel [0002] configured to output a driving signal (Figure 10: Comprising V) to the fourth (Figures 22…25: Comprising fourth grouping among 2211a…2211d) trace line (Figure 10: From respective instance of 1013). This is among measures implemented to effectively distinguish between touching and hovering objects [0004].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified as further configured to output a driving signal to the fourth trace line, in view of the teaching of Yousefpor, to more effectively distinguish between touching and hovering objects.
Kim in view of Yousefpor does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the fourth trace line is connected to an end of each of the plurality of sub-electrodes.
In the same field of endeavor, Bonkee discloses a multifunctional touch input device [0001] wherein the fourth trace line (Figure 4: Comprising 104ml) is connected to an end of each of the plurality of sub-electrodes (Comprising 104). This is among measures implemented for noise reduction when detecting touch position [0010].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified wherein the fourth trace line is connected to an end of each of the plurality of sub-electrodes, in view of the teaching of Bonkee, to reduce noise in position detection.
Regarding claim 16, KYB discloses the electronic device of claim 15.
Kim does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the driving signal is provided to the plurality of third electrodes and the fourth electrode in the self-capacitance detection mode.
In the same field of endeavor, Yousefpor discloses a touch panel [0002] wherein the driving signal (Figure 22: Comprising V) is provided to the plurality of third electrodes (Comprising e.g. 2211b) and the fourth electrode (Comprising e.g. 2211c) in the self-capacitance detection mode [0089]. This is among measures implemented to effectively distinguish between touching and hovering objects [0004].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified wherein the driving signal is provided to the plurality of third electrodes and the fourth electrode in the self-capacitance detection mode, in view of the teaching of Yousefpor, to more effectively distinguish between touching and hovering objects.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, 10, 12, 13, 17, 18, 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, KBY discloses the electronic device of claim 2.
The cited prior art fails to singularly or collectively disclose the device wherein the self-capacitance detection mode includes a first time period and a second time period, wherein the sensor driver is configured to: output the driving signal to the plurality of first trace lines in the first time period; and output the driving signal to the plurality of second trace lines, the third trace line, and the fourth trace line in the second time period.
Thus, claim 3 is objected to.
Regarding claim 6, KBY discloses the electronic device of claim 2.
The cited prior art fails to singularly or collectively disclose the device wherein the plurality of third electrodes and the fourth electrode are electrically separated from the plurality of third trace lines and the fourth trace line in the self-capacitance detection mode.
Thus, claim 6 is objected to.
Regarding claim 10, KBY discloses the electronic device of claim 9.
The cited prior art fails to singularly or collectively disclose the device further comprising: a plurality of switches connected between the first portion and the second portion and between the first portion and the third portion, respectively, wherein the plurality of switches are turned off in the first mode and turned on in the second mode.
Thus, claim 10 is objected to.
Regarding claim 12, KBY discloses the electronic device of claim 11.
The cited prior art fails to singularly or collectively disclose the device further comprising: a plurality of switches connected between the plurality of fifth trace lines and the plurality of third electrodes, respectively, wherein the plurality of switches are turned off in the first mode and are turned on in the second mode.
Thus, claim 12 is objected to.
Regarding claim 13, KBY discloses the electronic device of claim 1.
The cited prior art fails to singularly or collectively disclose the device wherein the second mode includes a charging section and a pen sensing section, wherein the plurality of first electrodes, the plurality of second electrodes, and the fourth electrode are grounded in the charging section, wherein, in the pen sensing section, the plurality of third electrodes and the fourth electrode are grounded, and the sensor driver is configured to detect coordinates for the pen input based on a current provided from the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes.
Thus, claim 13 is objected to.
Regarding claim 17, KYB discloses the electronic device of claim 15.
The cited prior art fails to singularly or collectively disclose the device wherein the plurality of third electrodes and the fourth electrode are electrically separated from the plurality of third trace lines and the fourth trace line in the self-capacitance detection mode.
Thus, claim 17 is objected to.
Regarding claim 18, KYB discloses the electronic device of claim 15.
The cited prior art fails to singularly or collectively disclose the device wherein the sensor driver is configured to, in the charging section, apply a current to one of a plurality of pads connected to the third trace line and the plurality of fifth trace lines and to receive current via another pad, and wherein the plurality of first electrodes, the plurality of second electrodes, and the fourth electrode are grounded in the charging section, wherein the sensor driver is configured to detect coordinates for a pen input based on a current provided from the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes in the pen sensing section, and wherein the plurality of third electrodes and the fourth electrode are grounded in the pen sensing section.
Thus, claim 18 is objected to.
Regarding claim 22, KBY discloses the electronic device of claim 20.
The cited prior art fails to singularly or collectively disclose the device wherein the plurality of third electrodes and the fourth electrode are electrically separated from at least some of the plurality of third trace lines, the fourth trace line, and the plurality of fifth trace lines in the touch sensing mode, and are not provided with the driving signal.
Thus, claim 22 is objected to.
Inquiries
/AARON MIDKIFF/
Examiner, Art Unit 2621
/AMR A AWAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2621