DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 14 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naito (JP 2005277034; hereinafter Naito). Naito is cited by the Applicant.
Regarding Claim 1, embodiment of Fig. 2 of Naito discloses a magnetic sensor device (Fig. 2, item 1) comprising:
a plurality of magnetic detection element arrays (Fig. 2, items 5) formed in a first layer (Fig. 2, item 17); and
a wiring layer (Fig. 2, item 9) that is formed in a second layer (Fig. 2, item 21) different from the first layer (Fig. 2, item 17) and electrically connected to the plurality of magnetic detection element arrays (Fig. 2 and para [0027]; pad electrodes are electrically connected to electrode portions 7 and magnetic elements 5),
wherein the plurality of magnetic detection element arrays (Fig. 2, items 5) include a first magnetic detection element array (Fig. 2, any of items 5).
But the embodiment of Fig. 2 of Naito does not specifically teach in a plane-normal direction from the second layer to the first layer, the wiring layer overlaps the first magnetic detection element array to encompass an entirety of the first magnetic detection element array, and the plurality of magnetic detection element arrays do not overlap an outline of the wiring layer.
However, the embodiment of Fig. 8 of Naito suggests in a plane-normal direction from the second layer to the first layer (para[0043]; thickness direction), the wiring layer (Fig. 8, item 7 with item 31a and 31b) overlaps the first magnetic detection element array (Fig. 8, any of items 45) to encompass an entirety of the first magnetic detection element array (Fig. 8, any of items 45), and the plurality of magnetic detection element arrays (Fig. 8, items 45) do not overlap an outline of the wiring layer (Fig. 8, item 7 with item 31a and 31b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the embodiment of Fig. 2 of Naito in view of the embodiment of Fig. 8 of Naito because Fig. 8 shows that the configurations are not only limited to the case where the sensor element is not affected by the current magnetic field of the electrode portion 7 and the wiring portion 9 (Naito para [0043]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naito in view of Deak et al. (US 2015/0294521 A1; hereinafter Deak).
Regarding Claim 2, the embodiments of Fig. 2 and Fig. 8 of Naito disclose the magnetic sensor device according to claim 1, the embodiment of Fig. 2 of Naito further discloses wherein the plurality of magnetic detection element arrays (Fig. 2, items 5) further include a second magnetic detection element array (Fig. 2, any of items 5), and in the plane-normal direction (para[0043]; thickness direction), the wiring layer (Fig. 8, item 7 with item 31a and 31b) overlaps the second magnetic detection element array (Fig. 8, any of items 45) to encompass an entirety of the second magnetic detection element array (Fig. 8, any of items 45).
But the embodiments of Fig. 2 and Fig. 8 of Naito do not specifically teach the first magnetic detection element array and the second magnetic detection element array are connected in series to each other, with an output port being interposed therebetween to form part of a bridge circuit.
However, Deak suggests the first magnetic detection element array and the second magnetic detection element array are connected in series to each other (para [0021]; preferably, said magnetic sensor elements are connected in series, parallel, or a combination of series and parallel), with an output port being interposed therebetween to form part of a bridge circuit (para [0058]; a full-bridge magnetoresistive sensor chip for a preferred implementation of a magnetic currency verification head).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the combination of the embodiment of Fig. 2 of Naito and Fig. 8 of Naito in view of Deak for the bridge circuit in order to be insensitive to common mode magnetic field or external magnetic interference (Deak, para [0030]) and for the series configuration because it is one of the possible configurations obvious to try (Deak, para [0023]).
Claim(s) 5 – 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naito in view of Ritmanich et al. (US 2022/0109697 A1, hereinafter Ritmanich).
Regarding Claim 5, the embodiments of Fig. 2 and Fig. 8 of Naito disclose the magnetic sensor device according to claim 1.
But the embodiments of Fig. 2 and Fig. 8 of Naito do not specifically teach an angle sensor comprising the magnetic sensor device according to claim 1.
However, Ritmanich suggests an angle sensor comprising the magnetic sensor device according to claim 1 (para [0034]; may include sensors or sensor systems like angle sensors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the combination of the embodiment of Fig. 2 of Naito and Fig. 8 of Naito in view of Ritmanich in order to provide sensors and other devices for the proper operation, maintenance, monitoring, and the like of the respective systems (Ritmanich, para [0046]).
Regarding Claim 6, the embodiments of Fig. 2 and Fig. 8 of Naito disclose the magnetic sensor device according to claim 1.
But the embodiments of Fig. 2 and Fig. 8 of Naito do not specifically teach a magnetic compass comprising the magnetic sensor device according to claim 1.
However, Ritmanich suggests a magnetic compass comprising the magnetic sensor device according to claim 1 (para [0039]; examples of sensors include magnetic compasses).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the combination of the embodiment of Fig. 2 of Naito and Fig. 8 of Naito in view of Ritmanich in order to provide sensors and other devices for the proper operation, maintenance, monitoring, and the like of the respective systems (Ritmanich, para [0046]).
Regarding Claim 7, the embodiments of Fig. 2 and Fig. 8 of Naito disclose the magnetic sensor device according to claim 1.
But the embodiments of Fig. 2 and Fig. 8 of Naito do not specifically teach a current sensor comprising the magnetic sensor device according to claim 1.
However, Ritmanich suggests a current sensor comprising the magnetic sensor device according to claim 1 (para [0037]; examples of electromagnetic sensors include current sensors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the combination of the embodiment of Fig. 2 of Naito and Fig. 8 of Naito in view of Ritmanich in order to provide sensors and other devices for the proper operation, maintenance, monitoring, and the like of the respective systems (Ritmanich, para [0046]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naito in view of Shahparnia et al. (US 11,700,441 B1; hereinafter Shahparnia).
Regarding Claim 8, the embodiments of Fig. 2 and Fig. 8 of Naito disclose the magnetic sensor device according to claim 1.
But the embodiments of Fig. 2 and Fig. 8 of Naito do not specifically teach a camera module comprising an autofocus mechanism and/or an optical image stabilization mechanism including the magnetic sensor device according to claim 1.
However, Shahparnia suggests a camera module comprising an autofocus mechanism and/or an optical image stabilization mechanism including the magnetic sensor device according to claim 1 (column 9, line 12 to line 64; an actuator of a camera system, may include an optics assembly that may be held in an optics holder that also carries position sensor magnets (or probe magnets), e.g., to implement autofocus movements of the optics assembly; a magnet holder may hold position control magnets and position sensors, which may be any magnetic sensor or other applicable sensor; the position control magnets may create magnetic fields, which the interior coils (including autofocus coil and/or optical image stabilization coil)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the combination of the embodiment of Fig. 2 of Naito and Fig. 8 of Naito in view of Shahparnia in order to provide sense and react to external excitation/disturbance by adjusting location of the optical lens and/or the image sensor for small form factor cameras that include autofocus mechanisms which may also incorporate optical image stabilization (OIS) mechanisms (Shahparnia, column 1, lines 40 – 46).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 3, the prior art of record does not teach claimed limitation: “further comprising a dummy pattern that is formed in the second layer and not electrically connected to the plurality of magnetic detection element arrays, wherein the plurality of magnetic detection element arrays further include a second magnetic detection element array, and in the plane-normal direction, the dummy pattern overlaps the second magnetic detection element array to encompass an entirety of the second magnetic detection element array, and the plurality of magnetic detection element arrays do not overlap an outline of the dummy pattern” in combination with all other claimed limitations of claim 3.
Regarding Claim 4, the claim would be allowable as it further limit claim 3.
Claims 9 – 14 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 9, the prior art of record does not teach claimed limitation: “a dummy pattern that is formed in the second layer and not electrically connected to the plurality of magnetic detection element arrays, wherein the plurality of magnetic detection element arrays include a second magnetic detection element array, and in a plane-normal direction from the second layer to the first layer, the dummy pattern overlaps the second magnetic detection element array to encompass an entirety of the second magnetic detection element array, and the plurality of magnetic detection element arrays do not overlap an outline of the wiring layer and an outline of the dummy pattern” in combination with all other claimed limitations of claim 9.
Regarding Claims 10 – 14, the claims are allowed as they further limit allowed claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Saito et al. (US 11,619,659 B2) teaches a magnetic sensor device comprising: a first detection circuit that includes a magnetic detection element configured to detect an applied magnetic field (see claim 1).
Aratono et al. (US 2013/0249531 A1) suggests the magnetic sensor units each including a first magnetic sensor element and a second magnetic sensor element (see claim 1).
Cai et al. (US 2020/0386578 A1) discloses magnetic position detection devices are used for detecting a lens position in a camera module having an optical image stabilization mechanism and an autofocus mechanism incorporated in a smartphone (see para [0002]).
/GIOVANNI ASTACIO-OQUENDO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858 3/20/2026