The amendment filed April 6, 2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cook III (US 2017/0107764).
Claim 1: Cook III discloses a 3D composite structure including a 3D lattice structure that includes a plurality of struts (figs. 4I-K interconnecting rod segments); a matrix phase surrounding the 3D lattice structure (lattice structures are dispersed in binder material 324; claim 1) wherein the matrix phase includes a material having a lower modulus and higher toughness than a material used to form the plurality of struts (¶¶ 26, 41, struts are made from hard, high-melting materials including tungsten carbide; ¶ 40, the surrounding matrix is a copper-alloy binder); and a strain limiting structure positioned at or near the center of the 3D lattice structure (figs. 4G-K) which is formed of the same hard mesoscale-structure composition as the remainder of the printed structure (tungsten carbide).
With regard to the relative modulus and toughness of the matrix and strut materials, Cook III teaches forming the mesoscale reinforcing structures of tungsten carbide (¶ 41), and identifying tungsten carbide as an erosion-resistant structure material (¶ 53). Cook III also identifies copper alloy, such as copper-manganese-nickel-zinc, teaching that refractory compositions maintain their form within a copper binder system owing to their inherently high melting temperature and low solubility (¶ 42). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have selected hard tungsten carbide lattice structures dispersed in a copper-alloy binder matrix because the selection is made from a finite number of identified, predictable material options that Cook III discloses for this very purpose, and selecting a known material on the basis of its suitability for its intended use, which is a hard, erosion-resistant, load-bearing reinforcing structure compatible with the infiltration binder is within the level of ordinary skill in the art, and Cook III teaches express motivation for the hard-reinforcement/ductile-matrix pair, teaching that the hard composite is otherwise brittle and prone to stress cracking (¶ 3). The claimed lower elastic modulus and higher toughness of the matrix material than the strut material is the natural result of that obvious selection.
Claim 2: Cook III discloses the 3D lattice structure having a polyhedral shape (¶ 45).
Claim 4: Cook III discloses the mesoscale reinforcing structure may be formed from tungsten (¶¶ 6, 41).
Claim 8: Cook III discloses the strain limiting structure being fixed to a strut (figs. 4G-4J).
Claim 9: Cook III discloses the struts and matrix being formed from fire-retardant materials (tungsten carbide and copper alloy; ¶¶ 40-41).
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cook III, as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, in view of Cook 2 (US 2017/0107764).
Claim 3: Cook III is silent as to a stellated octahedral shape. However, Cook 2 discloses a 3D composite structure including a lattice structure that includes a plurality of struts (¶¶ 44-47), wherein the 3D lattice structure has a stellated octahedron shape (¶¶ 44-47). As taught by Cook 2, this shape is advantageous in packing the reinforcing particles of the reinforcement materials (¶ 44). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have the lattice of Cook III shaped as a stellated octahedron to increase reinforcement particle packing.
Claim 5: Cook 2 discloses the matrix phase including a polymer (¶ 40).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cook III, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Walker (US 2017/0150779).
Claim 10: Cook III is silent as to the materials including an electroreheological material. However, Walker discloses using ER fluids to change the stiffness of a structure under an electric field, establishing that ER materials serve as responsive structural elements (¶ 30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have utilized the ER materials of Walker in the structure of Cook III to provide the ability to change the stiffness of Cook III’s structure under an electric field.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LARRY W THROWER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754