DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Atsumi et al. (CN111869058, “Atsumi”, using machine translation).
Re claim 1, Atsumi discloses an electrical machine for driving a motor vehicle ([0041]), the electrical machine comprising
a machine housing 11-14 configured for accommodating a rotor 30, a stator 20, and an output shaft 31 (fig 1, [0045-0046] & [0061]); and
a venting element having a collecting chamber 6, an inlet 12c, and at least one outlet 6a, 6b (figs 1-2, [0052-0054]); wherein
the machine housing 11-14 forms an interior space within which air is located which expands and increases an internal pressure prevailing within the interior space when the electrical machine heats up during operation (figs 1-2, [0052], inherent since air in 11-14 is allowed to escape through 6 & motor heats up & cools during operation);
the inlet 12c of the venting element is connected to the interior of the machine housing (figs 1-2);
the at least one outlet 6a, 6b of the venting element is connected to an external environment of the electrical machine (figs 1-2, [0055]);
the collecting chamber 6 is arranged between the inlet 12c and the at least one outlet 6a, 6b (figs 1-2) and is connected via the inlet 12c to the interior of the machine housing 11-14 (figs 1-2) and via the at least one outlet 6a, 6b to the external environment of the electrical machine (figs 1-2, [0055]);
the venting element connects the interior to the external environment of the electrical machine in such a way that air can escape from the interior via the inlet 12c, the collecting chamber 6 and the at least one outlet 6a, 6b into the external environment when the internal pressure is higher than an external pressure prevailing in the external environment (figs 1-2, [0052], inherent since air in 11-14 is allowed to escape through 6 & motor heats up & cools during operation); and
the venting element is configured to prevent foreign bodies that have penetrated from the external environment of the electrical machine into the collecting chamber 6 from entering the interior via the inlet 12c (fig 2, capable of the claimed function since venting element has labyrinth formed by 7 that prevents bodies from entering 12c from 6a & 6b allows any body traveling through 7 to exit at 6b).
Re claim 3, Atsumi discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the inlet 12c is arranged above the at least one outlet 6b (figs 1-2).
Re claim 4, Atsumi discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the collecting chamber 6 forms a chamber interior (figs 1-2), the volume of which is greater than 10% of an oil volume in the interior (fig 1, [0081-0082], [0086] & [0088], has cooling oil 9 traveling through rotor & sprayed on stator then collecting at bottom of machine housing at 55 & as understood by figs 1-3 & 7, 6 is much larger than 10% of oil volume in housing).
Re claim 5, Atsumi discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the collecting chamber 6 has a condensation surface and a guide rib 7 (fig 2, condensation surface is surface of 15 which is capable of water condensation when motor is cooled);
water from water vapor which has penetrated into the collecting chamber 6 condenses on the condensation surface (fig 2, 6 capable of condensing any water vapor that may enter through 6a after operation of motor when motor is cooling); and the condensed water is guided via the guide rib 7 to the at least one outlet 6b and flows out of the collecting chamber 6 via the at least one outlet 6b (fig 2, by gravity condensed water will be directed by ribs 7 to outlet 6b).
Claims 1, 7-8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tamura et al. (US20170288490, “Tamura”).
Re claim 1, Tamura discloses an electrical machine for driving a motor vehicle ([0022]), the electrical machine comprising
a machine housing 21a, 21r configured for accommodating a rotor 12, a stator 13, and an output shaft 14a (fig 2, [0025]); and
a venting element having a collecting chamber Q, an inlet 48m, and at least one outlet 67 (figs 2-5, [0037], [0039], [0051] & [0059]); wherein
the machine housing 21a, 21r forms an interior space L within which air is located which expands and increases an internal pressure prevailing within the interior space when the electrical machine heats up during operation (figs 2-3, [0060]);
the inlet 48m of the venting element is connected to the interior L of the machine housing 21a, 21r (figs 3-5, [0052]);
the at least one outlet 67 of the venting element is connected to an external environment of the electrical machine (figs 4-5, [0055]);
the collecting chamber 6 is arranged between the inlet 12c and the at least one outlet 6a, 6b (figs 1-2) and is connected via the inlet 12c to the interior of the machine housing 11-14 (figs 1-2) and via the at least one outlet 6a, 6b to the external environment of the electrical machine (figs 1-2, [0055]);
the venting element connects the interior to the external environment of the electrical machine in such a way that air can escape from the interior L via the inlet 48m, the collecting chamber Q and the at least one outlet 67 into the external environment when the internal pressure is higher than an external pressure prevailing in the external environment (figs 3 & 5, [0060]); and
the venting element is configured to prevent foreign bodies that have penetrated from the external environment of the electrical machine into the collecting chamber Q from entering the interior via the inlet 48m (fig 5, [0062-0064], capable of the claimed function since venting element has labyrinth formed by 24-26 that prevents oil from 48m from exiting 67 & is capable of preventing bodies entering from 67 from entering 48m in a similar manner).
Re claim 7, Tamura discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the venting element comprises a first cup-shaped component 22a and a second cup-shaped component 22r (figs 4-5); and the first cup-shaped component 22a is detachably attached to the second cup-shaped component 22r and together the first cup-shaped component and the second cup-shaped component form the collecting chamber Q (figs 4-5).
Re claim 8, Tamura discloses claim 7 as discussed above and further discloses one of the first and second cup-shaped components 22r is configured to be replaced by an alternative cup-shaped component having a different shape, so that a volume of the chamber interior is changed (figs 2-5, since 22r is attached to 22a it is capable of being replaced by a different sized 22r for different motor configurations).
Re claim 9, Tamura discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses an upper part of the machine housing 21a, 21r has an outer surface which forms an inwardly directed bulge (figs 3 & below); and the venting element is arranged inside the bulge (figs 3 & below).
Claims 1-2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. (CN117439322, “Zhu”, using machine translation).
Re claim 1, Zhu discloses an electrical machine for driving a motor vehicle ([0040]), the electrical machine comprising
a machine housing 200 configured for accommodating a rotor, a stator, and an output shaft (fig 1, [0005] & [0028], stator & rotor inherent for rotating electrical machine & shaft inherent to drive driven parts); and
a venting element 100 having a collecting chamber 100’, an inlet 122, and at least one outlet 126 (figs 2-4, [0028-0032]); wherein
the machine housing 200 forms an interior space within which air is located which expands and increases an internal pressure prevailing within the interior space when the electrical machine heats up during operation (figs 1-3, [0033-0034]);
the inlet 122 of the venting element is connected to the interior of the machine housing (figs 2-3, [0033]);
the at least one outlet 126 of the venting element is connected to an external environment of the electrical machine (figs 2 & 4, [0034]);
the collecting chamber 100’6 is arranged between the inlet 122 and the at least one outlet 126 (figs 2-4) and is connected via the inlet 122 to the interior of the machine housing 200 (figs 2-3, [0033]) and via the at least one outlet 126 to the external environment of the electrical machine (figs 2 & 4, [0034]);
the venting element 100 connects the interior to the external environment of the electrical machine in such a way that air can escape from the interior via the inlet 122, the collecting chamber 100’ and the at least one outlet 126 into the external environment when the internal pressure is higher than an external pressure prevailing in the external environment (figs 2-3, [0018]); and
the venting element 100 is configured to prevent foreign bodies that have penetrated from the external environment of the electrical machine into the collecting chamber 100’ from entering the interior via the inlet 122 (figs 2-4, [0037] & [0050]).
Re claim 2, Zhu discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the at least one outlet 126 is arranged at a lower surface of the collecting chamber 100’ (figs 2 & 4, [0033]), and an upper surface and a lateral surface of the collecting chamber 100 are closed (figs 1-3, [0043-0046]).
Re claim 6, Zhu discloses claim 2 as discussed above and further discloses a first outlet 126 is arranged at a first position on the lower surface of the collecting chamber 100’ (figs 2 & 4, left side of fig 4); a second outlet 126 is arranged at a second position on the lower surface of the collecting chamber 100’ (figs 2 & 4, left side of fig 4); and the first position is at a distance from the second position (figs 2 & 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Furuuchi et al. (US20170324297, “Furuuchi”).
Re claim 10, Zhu discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the venting element 100 has a plug 124 (fig 3, [0033]) and a funnel-shaped oil condensation element 123 with an upper opening and a lower opening (fig 3, [0034-0035] & [0041], upper & lower openings of 123;” breathable membrane 124 of the breathing plug 100 achieves waterproof and breathable functions, allowing only gas to pass through while blocking liquid from passing through”);
the lower opening of the funnel-shaped oil condensation element is connected to the inlet 122 of the venting element 100 (fig 3));
the upper opening of the funnel-shaped oil condensation element 123 is connected to the collecting chamber 100’ (fig 3);
the lower opening of the funnel-shaped oil condensation element 123 has a smaller inner diameter than the upper opening (fig 3);
the plug 124 is inserted into the upper opening (fig 3), the plug 124 is permeable to air ([0033]); and
the venting element 100 is configured so that an oil mist penetrating from the interior of the machine housing 200 into the funnel-shaped oil condensation element 123 cools down on an inner wall of the funnel-shaped oil condensation element 123 and on the plug 124, so that oil contained in the oil mist condenses, sinks by gravity and flows off into the interior via the inlet 122 of the venting element 100 (fig 3, [0034], capable of the above function since 124 does not let liquid out).
Zhu discloses claim 10 but is silent with respect to a knitted wire mesh plug.
Furuuchi discloses plug 210 is made of a knitted wire mesh (fig 2, [0080], metal mesh).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the plug of Zhu as a knitted wire mesh, as disclosed by Furuuchi, in order to employ one material of known types of materials for plugs, as taught by Furuuchi ([0080]).
Re claim 11, Zhu in view of Furuuchi discloses claim 10 as discussed above and further discloses the venting element 100 has a labyrinth structure 112 (Zhu, fig 3, [0049-0050]); and the upper opening of the funnel-shaped oil condensation element 123 is connected to the collecting chamber 100’ via the labyrinth structure 112 (Zhu, fig 3), so that dust particles which enter the collecting chamber 100’ from the external environment are prevented from reaching the knitted wire mesh plug 124 via the labyrinth structure 112 (Zhu, fig 3; Furuuchi knitted wire mesh plug).
Conclusion
/ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834