Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu (US Pub App 2014/0159065).
Regarding claim 1, Hu discloses a device of mass transferring chips (Abstract), comprising:
a first substrate (200, Fig.6D), comprising a chip-connecting area (204, Fig.6D) configured to connect a chip (475);
a second substrate (300, Fig.6D), comprising a support layer (300) and a first adhesive layer (302), wherein the chip (475, Fig.6D) is between the first substrate (200, Fig.6D) and the second substrate (300, Fig.6D), and the first adhesive layer (302) comprises:
a first surface (top surface of 302) with a chip-receiving area configured to attach the chip from the first substrate;
a second surface (bottom surface of 302) opposite to the first surface and in contact with a first side of the support layer; and
a patterned recess (between each of 302), disposed on the first surface and spaced apart from the chip-receiving area (Fig.6D).
Regarding claim 2, Hu further discloses wherein the patterned recess (between each of 302) comprises a trench laterally extending to a side surface of the first adhesive layer (Fig.6D).
Regarding claim 3, Hu further discloses wherein a depth of the trench is from about 20% to about 80% of a thickness of the first adhesive layer (Fig.6D).
Regarding claim 4, Hu further discloses wherein the patterned recess comprises a first patterned through hole penetrating from the first surface to the second surface (between each of 302).
Regarding claim 6, Hu further discloses a second adhesive layer disposed on a second side of the support layer and physically contacting the support layer (Fig.1D).
Regarding claim 7, Hu further discloses wherein a thickness of the second adhesive layer is greater than a thickness of the first adhesive layer by about 20% to about 50% of the thickness of the first adhesive layer (Fig.1D).
Regarding claim 8, Hu further discloses a laser source configured to provide a laser, wherein a first absorption of the laser by the first adhesive layer is different from a second absorption of the laser by the second adhesive layer (Para.41).
Regarding claim 9, Hu further discloses wherein the laser is absorbed by the first adhesive layer and passes through the second adhesive layer (Para.41).
Regarding claim 11, Hu further discloses wherein the first adhesive layer has a first portion below the chip-receiving area and a second portion below the patterned recess, and a thickness of the first portion of the first adhesive layer is thicker than a thickness of the second portion of the first adhesive layer (Para.39).
Regarding claim 12, Hu further discloses wherein the first substrate comprises a recess, wherein a projection of the recess on the first surface is spaced apart from the chip-connecting area (Fig.6D).
Regarding claim 13, Hu further discloses wherein the first substrate comprises a through hole (207) disposed spaced apart from the chip-connecting area (Fig.6D).
Regarding claim 14, Hu further discloses wherein the through hole of the first substrate aligns with the patterned recess of the second substrate (Fig.6D).
Regarding claim 15, Hu further discloses wherein the patterned recess comprises a plurality of line structures which cross each other (Para.58).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (US Pub App 2014/0159065) in view of Gardner (CN 107210293).
Regarding claim 10, Hu does not further specifically disclose wherein a wavelength of the laser is about 355 nanometers.
Gardner teaches an LED array on backplane and manufacturing method thereof wherein a wavelength of the laser is about 355 nanometers (10-400nm) (Para.4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified Hu in view of Gardner to have a wavelength of the laser be about 355 nanometers in order to use light energy of the ultraviolet range.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 16-18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the claimed invention as set forth in claim 5 and subsequent dependent claims. The prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious a second patterned through hole positioned in alignment with the first patterned through hole.
The prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the claimed invention as set forth in claim 16 and subsequent dependent claims. The prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious the patterned recess comprises a scattered pattern and a plurality of line structures connecting the scattered pattern to a side surface of the first adhesive layer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hanajima, Li, Xie, Itou and Achi further disclose elements of a device of mass transferring chips.
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/ASHLEY K ROMANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3652