Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous rejection of record has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 U.S.C. 102 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-16, and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20210001877 by Han et al. (hereinafter “Han”), further in view of CN112519770A by Matsuda (hereinafter “Matsuda”).
Regarding claim 1, Han teaches A method, comprising: obtaining an electronic map, wherein the electronic map comprises a road junction that comprises a first upstream lane and a first downstream lane with a vehicle having a vehicle type traveling from the first upstream lane to the first downstream lane; see for example paragraphs [0120] or [0157], where the system is aware of a topological change in the road network, such as an intersection. See also paragraph [0066], where the system transmits the HD map data to vehicles. See also paragraph [0082], where the control module considers physical constraints of the make and model of the vehicle.
generating, see for example paragraph [0159], where the system can generate lane connectors through an intersection.
displaying the M virtual lane lines; see for example paragraph [0228], where the system can display lane line connectivity to a user.
transmitting the electronic map to a vehicle control apparatus of the vehicle; see for example paragraph [0066], where the system transmits the HD map data to vehicles, and paragraphs [0081]-[0082], where the vehicle controls itself based on the received map data.
and entering an instruction to the vehicle control apparatus to perform an operation on the M virtual lane lines. See again paragraphs [0081]-[0082], where the vehicle controls itself based on the received map data.
Han does not explicitly teach generating lane lines based on the vehicle type. Although Han describes consideration of the physical constraints of the vehicle make and model in paragraph [0082], Han does not explicitly explain that those constraints are used in generating lane lines.
However, Matsuda teaches a system where trajectories are generated based on the vehicle type. See for example page 6, third paragraph, where “based on the predetermined set of characteristics and further based on the predetermined constraint set is a time step length t generating path…. The predetermined set of characteristics may include, for example,: path smooth level; at least one of the distance to the lane centre and the length of the path. On the other hand, the predetermined constraint set may further include: the minimum turning radius of the vehicle 1, vehicle 1 (longitudinal) length, vehicle 1 (transverse) width, vehicle 1 (vertical) height, the vehicle 1 of the ground clearance…” (emphasis added).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill to have modified the lane generation system of Han with the vehicle constraint system of Matsuda with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the system to make lanes while considering the constraints inherent to the vehicle type, improving the safety and adaptability of the system.
Claims 11 and 15 have similar limitations to claim 1 above, and are therefore rejected using a similar rationale.
Regarding claim 2, Han teaches wherein generating the M virtual lane lines comprises: generating the M virtual lane lines between the first upstream lane and the first downstream lane based on at least one of a preset vehicle motion characteristic or a driving environment. See for example paragraph [0159], where the system can generate multiple lane connectors through an intersection.
Claim 16 has similar limitations to claim 2 above, and are therefore rejected using a similar rationale.
Regarding claim 4, Han teaches wherein at least two of the M virtual lane lines have different presentation manners, and wherein the different presentation manners comprise: the at least two of the M virtual lane lines have different colors. See for example paragraphs [0165] or [0199]-[0203], where different lane elements, types, and boundaries are displayed in different colors.
Claims 12 and 18 have similar limitations to claim 4 above, and are therefore rejected using a similar rationale.
Regarding claim 5, Han teaches further comprising outputting first information, wherein the first information indicates second information about at least one of the M virtual lane lines, and wherein the second information comprises at least one of: a right of way of the at least one of the M virtual lane lines; or physical information of the at least one of the M virtual lane lines. See for example paragraph [0216], where “In some embodiments, the system may model and automate right of ways for common intersection types. The model may be used for navigation of autonomous vehicles. Right of way may be important for an autonomous vehicle to determine while navigating. Determining right of way can be sometimes be difficult even for human drivers. The system may enumerate all possible pairs of turn lanes at an intersection. For each pair of turn lanes at an intersection: (1) the system may evaluate if the pair of turns lanes overlap spatially (e.g., determine whether vehicles driving on the pair of turns lanes can collide, with example pairs highlighted in yellow in the user interface of FIG. 31), and (2) if there is a possibility of collision, the system may provide the information via a user interface to a user (e.g., to arbitrate a relative priority (an enum with values: high, low, equal) between them, with the one with higher priority having the right of way)” (emphasis added).
Claims 13 and 19 have similar limitations to claim 5 above, and are therefore rejected using a similar rationale.
Regarding claim 6, Han teaches wherein the first upstream lane or the first downstream lane is a first operation lane comprising an operation location or a production device of the first vehicle. See again paragraph [0193], where a lane can have characteristics such as “bus lane”, “slow”, etc., where such control instructions read on operation[s]. Similarly, see paragraph [0105]-[0106] describing lane restrictions and control signage (like speed limits), where such lane characteristics read on operation[s] related to location[s] (changing speed according to the stop or speed limit sign locations) or related to a production device of the first vehicle, where production devices can include, e.g., its engine for producing propulsion, its route planning system for producing a route, etc.
Claims 14 and 20 have similar limitations to claim 6 above, and are therefore rejected using a similar rationale.
Regarding claim 7, Han teaches a method further comprising: step 21: determining, from S upstream lanes and T downstream lanes at the first road junction, a to-be-connected upstream lane and a to-be-connected downstream lane that have a topological relationship, wherein the to-be-connected upstream lane or the to-be- connected downstream lane is a second operation lane, and wherein S and T are positive integers; see again for example paragraph [0159], where the system can generate lane connectors through an intersection.
step 22: determining whether the to-be-connected upstream lane and the to-be- connected downstream lane form a target connection lane pair, wherein the to-be-connected upstream lane and the to-be-connected downstream lane form the target connection lane pair when a second vehicle having a preset vehicle motion characteristic can travel from the to-be- connected upstream lane to the to-be-connected downstream lane within a range of the road junction; again, lanes are connected through the intersection [0159], and a vehicle can traverse from the entrance to the exit lane through an intersection, as described in paragraph [0066], where the system transmits the HD map data to vehicles, and paragraphs [0081]-[0082], where the vehicle controls itself based on the received map data. The transfer from the entrance to the exit lane of the intersection is done within the intersection, reading on within a range of the road junction.
and step 23: setting the to-be-connected upstream lane as the first upstream lane and setting the to-be-connected downstream lane as the first downstream lane when the to-be-connected upstream lane and the to-be-connected downstream lane form the target connection lane pair. The system connects lanes [0159] for the vehicle to traverse through the intersection. See, e.g., Fig. 29.
Regarding claim 8, Han teaches a method further comprising: updating lane type information of the road junction when the to-be-connected upstream lane and the to-be-connected downstream lane do not form the target connection lane pair, wherein updating the lane type information comprises: updating a first lane type of the to-be-connected upstream lane and a second lane type of the to-be-connected downstream lane from an operation lane to a non-operation lane; and re-performing step 21, step 22, and step 23. See for example paragraph [0227], where “if the top ranked predefined lane connectivity template does not match the intersection, the method 3500 may further include creating a new predefined lane connectivity template based on the actual lane connectivity for the intersection.” See also paragraph [0098], where the map data may be updated due to changes to the lane information due to signage changes or construction, or paragraph [0157], where the map can update speed limit sign changes. Depending on the exact change, this would change the “operation” (control) status of the lane, e.g. by adding or removing a stop sign, for example.
Claims 21 and 22 have similar limitations to claims 7 and 8 above combined, and are therefore rejected using a similar rationale.
Regarding claim 9, Han teaches a method further comprises comprising: partitioning a target range in which at least one of the S upstream lanes or the T downstream lanes is adjacent to the road junction; and re-performing step 21, step 22, and step 23 based on the first road junction obtained through the partitioning. See again for example paragraph [0159], where the system can connect predecessor and successor lanes to an intersection, where such connecting of adjacent lanes reads on partition[ed] lanes.
Regarding claim 10, Han teaches a method further comprising: obtaining K lane pairs from the S upstream lanes and the T downstream lanes, wherein each of the K lane pairs comprises one of the S upstream lanes and one of the T downstream lanes, and wherein a preset topological relationship exists between the one of the S upstream lanes and the one of the T downstream lanes in each lane pair; determining a connection priority of each of the K lane pairs; and determining the first upstream lane and the first downstream lane based on the connection priority of each of the K lane pairs. See again for example paragraph [0159], where the system can connect predecessor and successor lanes to an intersection. See also for example paragraph [0221], where the system can connect lanes based on a priority of their relationship.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US20170297621 by Bunderson et al. teaching creation of virtual paths based on vehicle characteristics; see, e.g., paragraph [0020].
US20170010618 by Shashua et al. teaching path generation based on vehicle characteristics; see, e.g., paragraphs [0668] and [0779].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JORDAN T SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666