DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/14/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 13, the recitations of “a first capacitor that is connected in series to a first of the first pair of flat plates of the splitter” is unclear because “a first” is not clearly defined. Is the applicant meant by “a first flat plate” of the first pair of flat plates? Further clarification is needed. And similarly, “a second inductor that is connected in series to a second of the first pair of flat plates of the splitter” is rejected in the same manner as discussed above.
In Claim 13, the recitations “a first inductor that is shunt connected to the first flat plate”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Clarification is needed.
In Claim 13, the recitations “a second capacitor that is shunt connected to the second flat plate”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Clarification is needed.
Claim 14 is rejected in the same manner as discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barton et al. (US 20180205348 A1, of record, hereinafter Barton) in view of Embar et al. (US 20150155838 A1, of record, hereinafter Embar).
Regarding claim 1:
Barton discloses in Fig. 3:
a power amplifier circuit comprising:
a first power splitter (Fig. 3, Power divider) that is configured to split an input signal into a first input signal and a second input signal;
and a control amplifier (Control PA) that is configured to amplify the second input signal and to output
Barton discloses RF-input Doherty amplifiers (the current topology of choice for the commercial base station industry) etc., with advantages including reduced baseband signal processing and the ability to work with standard linearization methods but does not a carrier amplifier and a peak amplifier.
Embar discloses a Doherty amplifier comprising carrier amplifier and peaking amplifier including its input terminals connected to power splitter and its output terminals connected to a combine node 28.
Barton and Embar are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely power amplifier.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious in view of the reference, taken as a whole, to have modified the circuit of Barton to have included carrier amplifier and peaking amplifier, as taught by Embar. Such a modification would have imparted the advantageous benefit of improving high efficiency, a desired linearity and performance improved power-added efficiency and linearity of the amplifier, see paragraphs [0013], [0017], as taught by Embar to Barton reference, thereby suggesting the obviousness of such a modification.
Accordingly, as an obvious consequence above, the combination further discloses a Doherty amplifier circuit that comprises a carrier amplifier and a peak amplifier (see Fig. 4, carrier 20 and peaking 22 amplifiers), and that is configured to amplify the first input signal and to output an output signal to an output terminal; and the control amplifier (Fig. 3, control PA) that is configured to amplify the second input signal and to output, to the Doherty amplifier circuit, a control signal that controls a load impedance of the Doherty amplifier circuit.
Regarding claim 2:
The combination (Barton and Embar) further discloses wherein the Doherty amplifier circuit further comprises a second power splitter (power splitter which connected to the input terminals of amplifiers Pmains) that is configured to split the first input signal into a first signal and a second signal, wherein the carrier amplifier operates in class A or class AB (see paragraph 0002), and is configured to amplify the first signal and to output a first amplified signal, wherein the peak amplifier operates in class C (see paragraph 0002) and is configured to amplify the second signal and to output a second amplified signal, wherein the Doherty amplifier circuit further comprises a combiner that is configured to combine the first amplified signal and the second amplified signal, and to output the output signal to the output terminal, and wherein the control signal is inputted to the combiner.
Regarding claims 3 & 4:
The combination (Barton and Embar) further discloses wherein the control amplifier operates in class C / AB (see paragraph 0020, Class C mode) and it is noted that the applicant used class C / AB interchangeably, thus class AB which considered as intended use.
Regarding claim 5:
The combination (Barton and Embar) further discloses wherein the combiner comprises a parallel plate coupler having a pair of flat plates that are parallel to each other (as can be seen from Fig. 3, an output coupler which appears analogous art to the element 134 of the application) .
Regarding claim 6:
The combination (Barton and Embar) further discloses wherein the combiner comprises a λ/4 line coupler having a wiring with a line length that is one-fourth of a wavelength of a frequency of the input signal (see paragraph 0026, 90 degrees of coupler).
Regarding claim 7:
The combination (Barton and Embar) further discloses wherein the combiner comprises a branch line coupler (see Fig. 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8-9 & 12 are allowable since the closest prior art does not disclose about further comprising: a first impedance matching circuit electrically connected in series between the Doherty amplifier circuit and the control amplifier, wherein the first impedance matching circuit comprises a transmission line transformer.
Claims 10-11 are allowable since the closest prior art does not disclose about
further comprising: a second impedance matching circuit electrically connected in series between the Doherty amplifier circuit and the output terminal, wherein the second impedance matching circuit comprises a transmission line transformer.
Claims 13 & 14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph and if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20110140775 A1: Hong discloses a Doherty power amplifier which includes a power splitter for splitting an input power, and outputting the split powers to a carrier amplification units and peaking amplification units, wherein an output combiner connected to output of carrier amplifiers and peaking amplifiers.
/KHIEM D NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2843