DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/14/2024 and 03/31/2026 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 Step 1 recites “disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function of acquiring environmental temperature data, state of charge data, and battery material data of a battery module, and establishing a measurement frequency and a thermal runaway threshold according to a preset expert library (see, e.g., paragraphs [0016], [0032] of the specification),”.The specification is nowhere understood to disclose with any particularity how to obtain data for preset expert library.
Step 2 recites “measuring a capacitive reactance curve of the battery module at the measurement frequency” the frequency is not is not disclosed or how is the frequency obtained. The alternating current injection method not disclosed, ”using an alternating current injection method”, (see, e.g., paragraphs [0015], [0032]-[0033] of the specification), the specification is nowhere understood to disclose with any particularity how (e.g., steps or an algorithm) to use an alternating current injection method.
Step 3: recites “determining a thermal runaway level of the battery module according to the capacitive reactance curve, and performing thermal runaway early warning” (see, e.g., paragraphs [0016], [0032], [0038] of the specification), the specification is nowhere understood to disclose with any particularity how (e.g., steps or an algorithm) to use an alternating current injection method.
Claim 3: recites “…wherein the capacitive reactance value of the battery module is calculated by using the following formula: ZIE ≈
1
j
ω
(
1
C
E
S
C
1
+
1
C
E
S
C
2
+
K
+
1
C
E
S
C
n
)
..”, (see, e.g., paragraphs [0024], [0027], [0034] of the specification), the constant “K” of the equation is not defined in the specification. The scope of claim 3 is unclear
Claim 5: recites “…establishes a thermal runaway threshold and a measurement frequency based on battery material data of the battery module…” (see, e.g., paragraphs [0012], [0038]-[0039] of the specification), the specification does not provide adequate steps to perform the claimed function establishes a thermal runaway threshold and a measurement frequency.
The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. (FP 7.31.01).
Claims 2-4 and 6 depend from claims 1 and 5, respectively, and have a similarly broad scope (e.g., without limitations to make the scope of the methods commensurate with the teachings of the disclosure). Dependent claims 2-4 and 6 therefore fail to further limit the scope of the claims in such a way as to overcome the scope of enablement rejection of claims 1 and 5.
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Step 1 recites “establishing a measurement frequency and a thermal runaway threshold according to a preset expert library”. The written description fails
to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or method for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or method to the function. It is unclear how a measurement frequency and a thermal runaway threshold is established. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which structure or method of the preset expert library is used to establish the measurement frequency and the thermal runaway threshold.
Step 2 recites “measuring a capacitive reactance curve of the battery module at the measurement frequency by using an alternating current injection method”. The “measurement frequency by using an alternating current injection method” is unclear since the measurement frequency is undefined. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which method and structure is used in alternating current injection method.
Step 3 recites “determining a thermal runaway level of the battery module according to the capacitive reactance curve, and performing thermal runaway early warning” . It is unclear how the capacitive reactance curve is used determine the thermal runaway level of the battery module, since the capacitive reactance curve is not defined. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Claim 2-4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite by virtue of its dependence from claim 1.
Claim 3 recites “Claim 3: recites “…wherein the capacitive reactance value of the battery module is calculated by using the following formula: ZIE ≈
1
j
ω
(
1
C
E
S
C
1
+
1
C
E
S
C
2
+
K
+
1
C
E
S
C
n
)
..”, the equation capacitive reactance value has an undefined variable “K”. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand what “K” defines to perform the claimed function. In view of this ambiguity, the scope of the claim is unclear. Clarification is required so that the scope of the claim is clear. For purposes of the present examination “K” is understood to be constant. The claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim 5 recites ” BMS management system, and establishes a thermal runaway threshold and a measurement frequency”. The written description fails
to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or method for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or method to the function. It is unclear how a measurement frequency and a thermal runaway threshold is established. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which structure or method of the BMS management system is used to establish the measurement frequency and the thermal runaway threshold.
Claim 5 recites “measuring a capacitive reactance curve of the battery module at the measurement frequency by using an alternating current injection method”. The “measurement frequency by using an alternating current injection method” is unclear since the measurement frequency is undefined. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which method and structure is used in alternating current injection method.
Claim 5 recites “determining a thermal runaway level of the battery module according to the capacitive reactance curve, and performing thermal runaway early warning” . It is unclear how the capacitive reactance curve is used determine the thermal runaway level of the battery module, since the capacitive reactance curve is not defined. The claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite by virtue of its dependence from claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. CN 115327392 A (hereinafter referred to as Wang) in view of in view of Liu et al. CN 114689195 A (hereinafter referred to as Liu)
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a method for predicting thermal runaway in a lithium battery based on reactance analysis (fig. 1-5, par. [0029]-[0059]), wherein the method for detecting thermal runaway in a lithium battery (fig. 1, 5, elm. 21, par. [0026], [0029]) comprises: Step 1: acquiring environmental temperature data (temperature collecting device, par. [0029]), and establishing a measurement frequency (AC impedance collecting device, par. 0033]-[0037]) and a thermal runaway threshold (threshold value judging of temperature, par. [0029]) (clm. 6) according to a preset expert library (fig. 1, 5, data collecting device, par. [0029]); Step 2: measuring a reactance curve of the battery module at the measurement frequency by using an alternating current injection method (fig. 2-4, par. [0032]-[0042]); and Step 3: determining a thermal runaway level of the battery module according to the reactance curve, and performing thermal runaway early warning (fig. 1-2, 5, thermal runaway three-stage early warning, par. [0033], [0046]).
Wang does not disclose state of charge data; and battery material data of a battery module, capacitive reactance analysis; measuring a capacitive reactance curve of the battery module at the measurement frequency by using an alternating current injection method; determining a thermal runaway level of the battery module according to the capacitive reactance curve.
Liu discloses state of charge data (fig. 1, S101, par. [0048]-[0052]; battery module at the measurement frequency by using an alternating current injection method (fig. 4, test module is located outside the battery. EIS test module connected with the battery transmits excitation signal such as square wave or sine wave in set frequency range with set excitation current amplitude range. For example, the set excitation current amplitude value range is 100 to 2000mA. The set frequency range can be 10kHz to 0.01Hz. The excitation signal acts on the battery connected with the EIS test module, par. [0111]), and battery material data of a battery module (parameter related to the active material inner part, par. [0045]); measuring a capacitive reactance curve of the battery module (fig. 4, EIS test module collects the first EIS parameter value of the battery under the first frequency point the first EIS parameter value comprises one or more of the following: real impedance value, virtual impedance value, phase angle value, par. [0111]),
determining a thermal runaway level of the battery module according to the capacitive reactance curve (strong relevance of the battery EIS parameter and the temperature in the corresponding relation ensures the reliability of the temperature test result. The EIS parameter value of the single-point frequency determines the battery temperature inner part the test time is less than the second level, can realize the real-time detection. pre recognition temperature change of the battery inner part which is a thermal runaway pre-warning provides signal, par. [0118]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a battery temperature management, test method and system, device, storage medium, as taught in Liu in modifying the apparatus of (hereinafter referred to as Name)The motivation would be to improve the accuracy of estimating the temperature of the battery inner part (see Liu: background).
Regarding claim 2, Wang and Liu discloses the method for detecting thermal runaway in a lithium battery according to claim 1, Liu discloses wherein the measuring a capacitive reactance curve of the battery module (strong relevance of the battery EIS parameter and the temperature in the corresponding relation ensures the reliability of the temperature test result. The EIS parameter value of the single-point frequency determines the battery temperature inner part the test time is less than the second level, can realize the real-time detection. pre recognition temperature change of the battery inner part which is a thermal runaway pre-warning provides signal, par. [0118]) at the measurement frequency (fig. 3, EIS test module connected with the battery transmits excitation signal such as square wave or sine wave in set frequency range with set excitation current amplitude range. For example, the set excitation current amplitude value range is 100 to 2000mA. The set frequency range can be 10kHz to 0.01Hz. The excitation signal acts on the battery connected with the EIS test module. The EIS test module collects the first EIS parameter value of the battery under the first frequency point the first EIS parameter value comprises one or more of the following: real impedance value, virtual impedance value, phase angle value, par. [0111]) by using an alternating current injection method comprises: detecting a capacitive reactance value of a battery cell in the battery module in real time at the measurement frequency by using the alternating current injection method (fig. 4, test module is located outside the battery. EIS test module connected with the battery transmits excitation signal such as square wave or sine wave in set frequency range with set excitation current amplitude range. For example, the set excitation current amplitude value range is 100 to 2000mA. The set frequency range can be 10kHz to 0.01Hz. The excitation signal acts on the battery connected with the EIS test module, par. [0111]); and solving a capacitive reactance value of the battery module according to the capacitive reactance value of the battery cell, and establishing a capacitive reactance curve of the battery module changing with temperature (fig. 4, the first set of frequency point comprises one or more first frequency point Illustratively, the battery management module can store each first frequency point relation of one or more battery temperature inner part one or more real impedance, or storing the corresponding relation of each first frequency point one or more battery temperature inner part one or more imaginary impedance, or each of the first frequency point, par. [0115]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Wang and Liu discloses the method for detecting thermal runaway in a lithium battery according to claim 1, Wang discloses wherein before the determining a thermal runaway level (fig. 1-2, 5, thermal runaway three-stage early warning, par. [0033], [0046]) of the battery module according to the capacitive reactance curve, the method further comprises: establishing thermal runaway level states according to the thermal runaway threshold (data processing mode comprises a threshold value judging of temperature and alternating current impedance, calculating a first derivative, par. [0031]), comprising: thermal runaway does not occur; a thermal runaway trend appears; and thermal runaway occur (fig. 1-2, 5, thermal runaway three-stage early warning, par. [0033], [0046]).
Wang does not disclose wherein before the determining a thermal runaway level of the battery module according to the capacitive reactance curve
Liu discloses wherein before the determining a thermal runaway level of the battery module according to the capacitive reactance curve (battery EIS parameter and the temperature in the corresponding relation ensures the reliability of the temperature test result. The EIS parameter value of the single-point frequency determines the battery temperature inner part the test time is less than the second level, can realize the real-time detection. pre recognition temperature change of the battery inner part which is a thermal runaway pre-warning provides signal, par. [0118]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses a system for predicting thermal runaway in a lithium battery based on capacitive reactance analysis (fig. 1, alternating current impedance real-time monitoring system and early warning method, par. [0029]), wherein the system for predicting thermal runaway in a lithium battery (fig. 1, elm. 1, par. [0029]), an impedance measurement apparatus (alternating current impedance collecting device, par. [0029]), a BMS management system (fig.1, upper computer, par. [0029]), and a thermal runaway management system(fig. 1, online monitoring and pre-warning system comprises an upper computer, par. [0029]); MCU controller , acquires environmental temperature data (temperature collecting device 7, par. [0037]) and establishes a thermal runaway threshold (par. [0029]) (clm. 6); the MCU controller is communicatively connected to the impedance measurement apparatus, and the impedance measurement apparatus performs reactance measurement on the battery module at the measurement frequency, transfers a measurement result to the MCU controller (par. [0029]).
Wang does not disclose MCU controller an impedance measurement apparatus a BMS management system the MCU controller is communicatively connected to the BMS management system; and the MCU controller acquires environmental temperature data and state of charge data of a battery module by using the BMS management system, and a measurement frequency based on battery material data of the battery module; the impedance measurement apparatus performs capacitive reactance measurement on the battery module at the measurement frequency, transfers a measurement result to the MCU controller, and establishes a capacitive reactance curve of the battery module; and the MCU controller is communicatively connected to the thermal runaway management system, and the MCU controller performs thermal runaway early warning according to the capacitive reactance curve by using the thermal runaway management system.
Liu discloses MCU controller (battery management circuit., par. [0107]), an impedance measurement apparatus (EIS test module, par. [0111]) a BMS management system (fig. 3, elm. 301, par. [0103]), the MCU controller is communicatively connected to the BMS management system; and the MCU controller acquires environmental temperature data (par. [0045]) and state of charge data (SOC, par. [0045]) of a battery module (fig. 3, elm. 303, par. [0103]) by using the BMS management system and a measurement frequency based on battery material data of the battery module (par. [0046]); the MCU controller is communicatively connected to the impedance measurement apparatus, and the impedance measurement apparatus performs capacitive reactance measurement on the battery module at the measurement frequency (first frequency), transfers a measurement result to the MCU controller, and establishes a capacitive reactance curve of the battery module (fig. 4, the first EIS parameter value (can be real impedance, virtual impedance, any one parameter value in the phase angle) and the corresponding relation according to the first frequency point the EIS test module collected by the EIS test module acquire to the first EIS parameter value, par. [0116]); and the MCU controller is communicatively connected to the thermal runaway management system (par. [0115]-[0118]), and the MCU controller performs thermal runaway early warning according to the capacitive reactance curve by using the thermal runaway management system (strong relevance of the battery EIS parameter and the temperature in the corresponding relation ensures the reliability of the temperature test result. The EIS parameter value of the single-point frequency determines the battery temperature inner part the test time is less than the second level, can realize the real-time detection. pre recognition temperature change of the battery inner part which is a thermal runaway pre-warning provides signal, par. [0118]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Wang and Liu discloses the system for predicting thermal runaway in a lithium battery according to claim 5, wherein the MCU controller comprises an expert library module (fig. 1, 5, data collecting device, par. [0029]) and a three-stage thermal runaway prediction module (fig. 1-2, 5, thermal runaway three-stage early warning, par. [0033], [0046]); the expert library module establishes the measurement frequency (AC impedance collecting device, par. 0033]-[0037]) according to the environmental temperature data (temperature collecting device, par. [0029]), and sends the measurement frequency to the impedance measurement apparatus; and the expert library module further establishes the thermal runaway threshold, and sends the thermal runaway threshold to the three-stage thermal runaway prediction module (fig. 1-2, 5, thermal runaway three-stage early warning, par. [0033], [0046])
Wang does not disclose the state of charge data from the BMS management system and the battery material data, the three-stage thermal runaway prediction module establishes the capacitive reactance curve of the battery module according to the measurement result of the impedance measurement apparatus, establishes a thermal runaway prediction result according to the thermal runaway threshold, and sends the thermal runaway prediction result to the thermal runaway management system.
Liu discloses the state of charge data (SOC, par. [0045]) from the BMS management system (fig. 3, elm. 301, par. [0103]),and the battery material data (parameter related to the active material inner part, par. [0045]), the three-stage thermal runaway prediction module establishes the capacitive reactance curve of the battery module (fig. 4, the first set of frequency point comprises one or more first frequency point Illustratively, the battery management module can store each first frequency point relation of one or more battery temperature inner part one or more real impedance, or storing the corresponding relation of each first frequency point one or more battery temperature inner part one or more imaginary impedance, or each of the first frequency point, par. [0115]) according to the measurement result of the impedance measurement apparatus, establishes a thermal runaway prediction result according to the thermal runaway threshold, and sends the thermal runaway prediction result to the thermal runaway management system (battery EIS parameter and the temperature in the corresponding relation ensures the reliability of the temperature test result. The EIS parameter value of the single-point frequency determines the battery temperature inner part the test time is less than the second level, can realize the real-time detection. pre recognition temperature change of the battery inner part which is a thermal runaway pre-warning provides signal, par. [0118]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of in view of Liu as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Gray et al. US 20200379049 A1(hereinafter referred to as Gray)
Regarding claim 3, Wang and Liu discloses the method for detecting thermal runaway in a lithium battery according to claim 2, Wang and Liu do not disclose, wherein the capacitive reactance value of the battery module is calculated by using the following formula: ZIE ≈
1
j
ω
(
1
C
E
S
C
1
+
1
C
E
S
C
2
+
K
+
1
C
E
S
C
n
)
wherein jω a complex frequency domain unit; and Cescn is the capacitive reactance value of the battery cell.
Gray discloses wherein the capacitive reactance value of the battery module is calculated by using the following formula: ZIE ≈
1
j
ω
(
1
C
E
S
C
1
+
1
C
E
S
C
2
+
K
+
1
C
E
S
C
n
)
wherein jω a complex frequency domain unit; and Cescn is the capacitive reactance value of the battery cell (fig. 39, par. [0366]-[0371]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide various examples of impedance such as may be implemented within a configurable impedance circuit, as taught in Gary in modifying the apparatus of Wang and Liu. The motivation would be any one or more of the impedances within a given configurable impedance circuit may include variability or adjustability. (see Gray: par. [0371]).
Conclusion
/COURTNEY G MCDONNOUGH/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 5/20/2026