DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Note
This Office Action is in response to application filed on 6/14/2024, where claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 13, 14, 16, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tunks et al., (US 11,249,525 B1) (hereinafter Tunks).
Referring to claim 1, Tunks teaches a system, comprising:
resource components (4:7-38, fig. 1, processor subsystem 120);
a cooling system (6:17-21, fig. 1, cooling module 192);
a sensor system including at least one temperature sensor and at least one power usage sensor (7:44-60, fig. 2, “the temperature management computing module 204 can determine whether the processor 208 is in the steady-state condition by evaluating a temperature 250 and a power 260”. Examiner notes, it is implied that at least one temperature sensor and at least one power usage sensor are included in order to get the temperature and power data for evaluation.); and
a controller (7:44-60, fig. 2, temperature management computing module 204) that executes computer executable instructions that cause the controller to perform operations comprising:
receiving temperature sensor data from the at least one temperature sensor, the temperature sensor data corresponding to an operating temperature of the resource components (7:44-60, fig. 2, “the temperature management computing module 204 can determine whether the processor 208 is in the steady-state condition by evaluating a temperature 250…of the processor 208.”);
receiving power usage data from the at least one power usage sensor, the power usage data corresponding to a combined power usage of at least the resource components and the cooling system (7:44-60, fig. 2, “the temperature management computing module 204 can determine whether the processor 208 is in the steady-state condition by evaluating…a power 260 of the processor 208.” 1:65-2:28, “The power of the information handling system includes the power of the processor and a power of the cooling module.”);
determining a control level for the cooling system to optimize an output of the cooling system to reduce the operating temperature of the resource components while maintaining the combined power usage as power usage of the cooling system is increased and the power usage of the resource components is decreased due to the reduced operating temperature of the resource components (6:22-44, “the information handling system 100 may provide temperature control of the processor subsystem 120 (and/or the information handling system 100 itself) to minimize an operating power of the processor subsystem 120. Specifically, the power at which the processor subsystem 120 can operate can be dependent upon the temperature of the processor subsystem 120. The temperature management computing module 190 can identify an optimal operating temperature of the processor subsystem 120 such that power used by the processor subsystem 120 is minimized (while maintaining a desired performance level).”); and
causing the cooling system to operate at the determined control level (8:25-32, “The temperature management computing module 204, in response to determining that the processor 208 is in the steady-state condition, can increase the cooling parameter 220 of the cooling module 206 to decrease the temperature 250 of the processor 208.”)
Referring to claim 2, Tunks further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the resource components comprise at least one of a compute resource component or a data storage resource component, wherein the compute resource component includes at least one of a central processing unit ("CPU") -based resource component, a graphics processing unit ("GPU") -based resource component, a neural processing unit ("NPU") -based resource component, or a field-programmable gate array ("FPGA") -based resource component, wherein the data storage resource component includes at least one of a random access memory ("RAM") -based resource component, a dual in-line memory module ("DIMM") -based resource component, a solid-state drive ("SSD") -based resource component, or a hard disk drive ("HDD") -based resource component (4:7-38, fig. 1, processor subsystem 120).
Referring to claim 4, Tunks further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the operations comprise:
repeating the processes of receiving the temperature sensor data, receiving the power usage data, determining the control level, and causing the cooling system to operate at the determined control level (9:1-16, “in response to determining that the processor 208 is in the steady-state condition, the temperature management computing module 204, when the power 260 used by the processor 208 has decreased, iteratively increases the cooling parameter 220 of the cooling module 206 until the power 260 used by the processor 208 stops decreasing to identify the operating temperature of the processor 208 where the processor 208 is operating at a minimal power.”)
Referring to claim 5, Tunks further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the system is a server (4:7-38, “information handling system 100 may also represent other types of information handling systems, including…server systems”)
Regarding claims 8 and 13, these claims recite the computer-implemented method that performed by the system of claims 1 and 4 respectively; therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Referring to claim 14, Tunks further teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 8, wherein the resource components, the cooling system, the at least one temperature sensor, the at least one power usage sensor, and the controller are contained within a server (6:64-7:12, fig. 2, “The information handling system 202 can include a temperature management computing module 204, a cooling module 206, and a processor 208 (or processors 208).”)
Regarding claim 16, the claim recites the controller performs the same method steps as performed by the system of claim 1; therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Referring to claim 17, Tunks further teaches the controller of claim 16, wherein the resource components, the cooling system, the at least one temperature sensor, the at least one power usage sensor, and the controller are contained within a server (6:64-7:12, fig. 2, “The information handling system 202 can include a temperature management computing module 204, a cooling module 206, and a processor 208 (or processors 208).”)
Referring to claim 20, Tunks further teaches the controller of claim 16, wherein the cooling system comprises a plurality of fans (7:13-16, “the cooling module 206 can include an air-cooled cooling module (e.g., a fan cooling module).”), wherein the at least one control level corresponds to a pulse-width modulation ("PWM") signal for controlling the plurality of fans (10:31-34, “the values of the cooling parameter 220 (e.g., fan speed in percentage of PWM)”), wherein the resource components comprise at least one of a compute resource component or a data storage resource component, wherein the compute resource component includes at least one of a central processing unit ("CPU") -based resource component, a graphics processing unit ("GPU") -based resource component, a neural processing unit ("NPU") -based resource component, or a field-programmable gate array ("FPGA") -based resource component, wherein the data storage resource component includes at least one of a random access memory ("RAM") -based resource component, a dual in-line memory module ("DIMM") -based resource component, a solid-state drive ("SSD") -based resource component, or a hard disk drive ("HDD") -based resource component (4:7-38, fig. 1, processor subsystem 120).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tunks as applied to claims 1, 8, and 16 above, and in view of Franz et al., (US 2019/0037734 A1) (hereinafter Franz).
Referring to claim 6, Tunks further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the resource components, the cooling system, and the sensor system are contained within a server (6:64-7:12, fig. 2, “The information handling system 202 can include a temperature management computing module 204, a cooling module 206, and a processor 208 (or processors 208).”) However, Tunks does not explicitly teach the controller is external to the server.
Franz teaches the controller is external to the server (¶ [0011], fig. 1, “an example controller 100 for a chassis cooling resource consistent with the present disclosure. The controller 100 may perform a function related to chassis cooling resource…the controller 100 can be a controller for a plurality of server chassis coupled to the server rack.”)
Tunks and Franz are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are concerning with system for providing cooling to equipment (i.e., same field of endeavor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention having Tunks and Franz before them to modify the system for controlling operating temperature of an information handling system of Tunks to incorporate the function of external controller by Franz. One of ordinary skill in the art would have combined the elements as claimed by known methods as disclosed by Franz (¶ [0007]-[0018]), because the function of external controller does not depend on the system for controlling operating temperature of an information handling system. That is the function of external controller performs the same function independent on which interface it is incorporated onto, and therefore, the result of the combination would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. The motivation to combine would have been to reduce complexity of the system by using one controller to control a plurality of server chassis as suggested by Franz (¶ [0011]).
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites the computer-implemented method that performed by the system of claim 6; therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites the controller performs the same method steps as performed by the system of claim 6; therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Claims 3, 7, 9-12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tunks as applied to claims 1, 8, and 16 above, and in view of Barron et al., (US 11,035,371 B2) (hereinafter Barron).
Referring to claim 3, Tunks further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the cooling system comprises fan (7:13-16, “the cooling module 206 can include an air-cooled cooling module (e.g., a fan cooling module).”)
Tunks teaches the limitations above. However, Tunks does not explicitly teach a plurality of fans.
Barron teaches a plurality of fans (3:34-48, fig. 1, array 120 of large fans).
Tunks and Barron are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are concerning with system for providing cooling to equipment (i.e., same field of endeavor).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention having Tunks and Barron before them to substitute the plurality of fans as taught by Barron for the generic fan of Tunks. Because both Tunks and Barron teach cooling component using fans, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute one known method for the other to achieve the predictable result of cooling component. The motivation would have been to increase efficiency of cooling with a plurality of large fans as suggested by Barron (3:34-48).
Referring to claim 7, Tunks further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the operations comprise:
…the optimized output of the cooling system to reduce the operating temperature of the resource components while maintaining the combined power usage as power usage of the cooling system is increased and the power usage of the resource components is decreased due to the reduced operating temperature of the resource components (6:22-44, “the information handling system 100 may provide temperature control of the processor subsystem 120 (and/or the information handling system 100 itself) to minimize an operating power of the processor subsystem 120. Specifically, the power at which the processor subsystem 120 can operate can be dependent upon the temperature of the processor subsystem 120. The temperature management computing module 190 can identify an optimal operating temperature of the processor subsystem 120 such that power used by the processor subsystem 120 is minimized (while maintaining a desired performance level).”)…
wherein the control level corresponds to a pulse-width modulation ("PWM") signal for controlling the cooling system (10:31-34, “the values of the cooling parameter 220 (e.g., fan speed in percentage of PWM)”).
Tunks teaches the limitations above. However, Tunks does not explicitly teach receiving optimization data corresponding to the optimized output of the cooling system and determining the control level for the cooling system is based on the received optimization data.
Barron teaches receiving optimization data corresponding to the optimized output of the cooling system and determining the control level for the cooling system is based on the received optimization data (3:58-4:6, fig. 1, “Fan control unit 130 receives input of a process variable…through…communication, and uses that process variable to calculate an optimization criterion (or optimization criteria). Then, the speed of one or more fans can be set by the fan control unit 130 to implement a cooling strategy. Temperature or cooling efficiency may be optimized in some embodiments as part of the cooling strategy.”)
Tunks and Barron are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are concerning with system for providing cooling to equipment (i.e., same field of endeavor).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention having Tunks and Barron before them to substitute the receiving input data through communication as taught by Barron for the generic method of receiving input data of Tunks. Because both Tunks and Barron teach methods of receiving input data for optimizing cooling, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute one known method for the other to achieve the predictable result of receiving input data. The motivation would have been to increase flexibility of the system by allowing input data be received through measurement or communication as suggested by Barron (3:58-4:6).
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites the computer-implemented method that performed by the system of claim 3; therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Referring to claim 10, Tunks further teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 9, wherein causing the cooling system to operate at the at least one control level or based on the optimization data includes using a pulse-width modulation ("PWM") signal for controlling the plurality of fans to operate at the at least one control level or based on the optimization data (9:44-47, “when the cooling module 206 includes an air-cooled cooling module, the cooling module 206 can increase the cooling parameter 220 by increasing a fan speed of the cooling module 206.” 10:31-34, “the values of the cooling parameter 220 (e.g., fan speed in percentage of PWM)”)
Referring to claim 11, Tunks teaches the limitations above. However, Tunks does not explicitly teach the at least one control level includes a single control level that controls the plurality of fans as a single temperature zone.
Barron further teaches the at least one control level includes a single control level that controls the plurality of fans as a single temperature zone (4:63-5:10, fig. 2, “an efficient cooling strategy would be to turn off the less efficient small fans and only use the large fans to provide the necessary CFM…The large fans in array 220 are set to an intermediate speed, as illustrated by the light shading.”)
Referring to claim 12, Tunks teaches the limitations above. However, Tunks does not explicitly teach the plurality of fans includes a plurality of groups of fans corresponding to a plurality of temperature zones, wherein the at least one control level includes a plurality of different control levels that each controls a corresponding group of fans as a corresponding one of the plurality of temperature zones.
Barron further teaches the plurality of fans includes a plurality of groups of fans corresponding to a plurality of temperature zones, wherein the at least one control level includes a plurality of different control levels that each controls a corresponding group of fans as a corresponding one of the plurality of temperature zones (5:11-28, fig. 3, “an efficient cooling strategy would be to use the two large fans in the center and right of array 320 to cool the high heat regions along the right two-thirds of the heat generation plane 360. In addition, the leftmost fan in array 320 could be turned on to a low speed. Therefore, all of the sections are cooled with a baseload of flow from the efficient large fans in array 320.”)
Regarding claim 19, the claim recites the controller performs the same method steps as performed by the system of claim 7; therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 2023/0418344 (Ahmed) – discloses system for calculating minimum required cooling fan speeds for an information handling system.
US 2023/0137596 (Gerdes) – discloses systems and methods for unified control of cooling in computers.
US 11,277,944 (Chainer) – discloses method and system for controlling cooling system to cool components.
/MONG-SHUNE CHUNG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118