DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
35 USC 103 rejection:
Applicant argues that “the self flow set each element, the flow threshold THR, and the aggregate flow set each element of Luo do not anticipate or render obvious an ‘assigned bandwidth per customer’” and the “self flow set each element, the flow threshold THR, and the aggregate flow set each element of Luo do not anticipate or render obvious ‘currently used bandwidth per customer’”.
Examiner disagrees.
The “flow threshold THR” can reasonably be interpreted as an assigned bandwidth and the “each element in its own flow set MTRS” can be reasonably interpreted as currently used bandwidth per customer.
Therefore, the 35 USC 103 rejection is maintained.
35 USC 102 rejection:
Applicant states that Kang “does not disclose or suggest ‘comparing, by a controller, for a plurality of internet service provider customers, assigned bandwidth per customer to currently used bandwidth per customer, to determine at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from a distributed denial of service attack”.
Examiner disagrees.
The “allocating bandwidth of a network, which detects excessive traffic of a specific user” (paragraph 5) of Kang reasonably demonstrates currently used bandwidth per customer and “providing a balance in the usage of the network resources” (paragraph 5) of Kang reasonably demonstrates “assigned bandwidth” claimed in independent claims 1, 14, 25, and 26.
Therefore, the 35 USC 102 rejection is maintained.
The claim informalities have been overcome due to the amendment dated 09/10/2025.
The 35 USC 101 rejection has been overcome due to the amendment dated 09/10/2025.
Applicant has deferred “resolution of the double patenting rejection until patentable subject matter is agreed upon”.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 31 of U.S. Patent No. 12,052,280. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the mapping below.
Claim 1 of the present Application maps to claim 1 of ‘280.
1. A method comprising:
comparing, by a controller, for a plurality of internet service provider customers, assigned bandwidth per customer to currently used bandwidth per customer, to determine at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from a distributed denial of service attack (“comparing, by the controller, for the plurality of internet service provider customers, the assigned bandwidth per customer to the currently used bandwidth per customer, to determine at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from a distributed denial of service attack”); and
the controller initiating at least one remedial action for the at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from the distributed denial of service attack (“the controller initiating at least one remedial action for the at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from the distributed denial of service attack”).
Claim 2 of the present Application maps to claim 2 of ‘280.
2. The method of Claim 1, further comprising the controller determining, for the plurality of internet service provider customers, a projected bandwidth per customer, wherein the comparing step further comprises comparing the currently used bandwidth per customer to the projected bandwidth per customer (“The method of claim 1, further comprising the controller determining, for the plurality of internet service provider customers, a projected bandwidth per customer, wherein the comparing step further comprises comparing the currently used bandwidth per customer to the projected bandwidth per customer”).
Claim 3 of the present Application maps to claim 3 of ‘280.
3. The method of Claim 2, wherein the controller determining, for the plurality of internet service provider customers, the projected bandwidth per customer comprises the controller determining the projected bandwidth per customer using machine learning (“The method of claim 2, wherein the controller determining, for the plurality of internet service provider customers, the projected bandwidth per customer comprises the controller determining the projected bandwidth per customer using machine learning”).
Claim 4 of the present Application maps to claim 4 of ‘280.
4. The method of Claim 3, wherein the controller determining, for the plurality of internet service provider customers, the projected bandwidth per customer using machine learning comprises the controller carrying out inferencing with a trained neural network, the trained neural network being trained on historical data to project the bandwidth per customer based on measured data (“The method of claim 3, wherein the controller determining, for the plurality of internet service provider customers, the projected bandwidth per customer using the machine learning comprises the controller carrying out inferencing with a trained neural network, the trained neural network being trained on historical data to project the bandwidth per customer based on measured data”).
Claim 5 of the present Application maps to claim 5 of ‘280.
5. The method of Claim 4, further comprising training the neural network on the historical data to project the bandwidth per customer (“The method of claim 4, further comprising training the neural network on the historical data to project the bandwidth per customer”).
Claim 6 of the present Application maps to claim 6 of ‘280.
6. The method of Claim 5, further comprising updating the training of the neural network over time for those of the plurality of customers other than the at least one given customer putatively suffering from the distributed denial of service attack (“The method of claim 5, further comprising updating the training of the neural network over time for those of the plurality of customers other than the at least one given customer putatively suffering from the distributed denial of service attack”).
Claim 7 of the present Application maps to claim 7 of ‘280.
7. The method of Claim 3, wherein the comparing step comprises determining that the at least one given customer putatively suffers from the distributed denial of service attack when the currently used bandwidth per customer for the at least one given customer exceeds the projected bandwidth per customer for the at least one given customer and the currently used bandwidth per customer for the at least one given customer is at least equal to:
the assigned bandwidth per customer for the at least one given customer; and
an additional applied amount (“The method of claim 4, wherein the comparing step comprises determining that the at least one given customer putatively suffers from the distributed denial of service attack when the currently used bandwidth per customer for the at least one given customer exceeds the projected bandwidth per customer for the at least one given customer and the currently used bandwidth per customer for the at least one given customer is at least equal to: the assigned bandwidth per customer for the at least one given customer; and an additional applied amount”).
Claim 8 of the present Application maps to claim 8 of ‘280.
8. The method of Claim 7, wherein, in the comparing step, the additional applied amount is determined multiplicatively (“The method of claim 7, wherein, in the comparing step, the additional applied amount is determined multiplicatively”).
Claim 9 of the present Application maps to claim 9 of ‘280.
9. The method of Claim 7, wherein, in the comparing step, the additional applied amount is determined additively (“The method of claim 7, wherein, in the comparing step, the additional applied amount is determined additively”).
Claim 10 of the present Application maps to claim 10 of ‘280.
10. The method of Claim 7, wherein the at least one remedial action initiated by the controller comprises the controller pushing a configuration to a plurality of peering entry points to cause the plurality of peering entry points to block at least one of an IP address and a port associated with the putative distributed denial of service attack (“The method of claim 7, wherein the at least one remedial action initiated by the controller comprises the controller pushing a configuration to the plurality of peering entry points to cause the plurality of peering entry points to block at least one of an IP address and a port associated with the putative distributed denial of service attack”).
Claim 11 of the present Application maps to claim 11 of ‘280.
11. The method of Claim 10, further comprising the plurality of peering entry points blocking the at least one of an IP address and a port associated with the putative distributed denial of service attack in accordance with the pushed configuration (“The method of claim 10, further comprising the plurality of peering entry points blocking the at least one of an IP address and a port associated with the putative distributed denial of service attack in accordance with the pushed configuration”).
Claim 12 of the present Application maps to claim 12 of ‘280.
12. The method of Claim 10, wherein:
the controller comprises a core logic module, a machine learning module coupled to the core logic module, and a configuration push module coupled to the core logic module;
the machine learning module implements the trained neural network;
the controller comparing, for the plurality of internet service provider customers, the assigned bandwidth per customer to the currently used bandwidth per customer and the currently used bandwidth per customer to the projected bandwidth per customer comprises the core logic module obtaining the assigned bandwidth per customer from the customer profile collector, the core logic module obtaining the currently used bandwidth per customer from the IP flows collector, the core logic module obtaining the projected bandwidth per customer from the machine learning module, and the core logic module comparing the assigned bandwidth per customer to the currently used bandwidth per customer and the currently used bandwidth per customer to the projected bandwidth per customer; and
the controller initiating the at least one remedial action comprises the configuration push module pushing the configuration (“The method of claim 10, wherein: the controller comprises a core logic module, an IP flows collector coupled to the core logic module, a customer profile collector coupled to the core logic module, a machine learning module coupled to the core logic module, and a configuration push module coupled to the core logic module; the controller obtaining the assigned bandwidth per customer for the plurality of internet service provider customers comprises the customer profile collector querying the at least one provisioning database; the machine learning module implements the trained neural network; the controller obtaining the currently used bandwidth per customer comprises the IP flows collector obtaining the currently used bandwidth per customer from the plurality of peering entry points of the internet service provider; the controller comparing, for the plurality of internet service provider customers, the assigned bandwidth per customer to the currently used bandwidth per customer and the currently used bandwidth per customer to the projected bandwidth per customer comprises the core logic module obtaining the assigned bandwidth per customer from the customer profile collector, the core logic module obtaining the currently used bandwidth per customer from the IP flows collector, the core logic module obtaining the projected bandwidth per customer from the machine learning module, and the core logic module comparing the assigned bandwidth per customer to the currently used bandwidth per customer and the currently used bandwidth per customer to the projected bandwidth per customer; and the controller initiating the at least one remedial action comprises the configuration push module pushing the configuration”).
Claim 13 of the present Application maps to claim 13 of ‘280.
13. The method of Claim 12, further comprising displaying, on a graphical user interface, data related to the putative distributed denial of service attack (“The method of claim 12, further comprising displaying, on a graphical user interface, data related to the putative distributed denial of service attack”).
Claim 14 of the present Application maps to claim 14 of ‘280.
14. A system comprising:
a memory (“A system comprising: a memory”); and
at least one processor, coupled to the memory, and operative to (“and at least one processor, coupled to the memory, and operative to”):
compare, for a plurality of internet service provider customers, assigned bandwidth per customer to currently used bandwidth per customer, to determine at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from a distributed denial of service attack (“compare, for the plurality of internet service provider customers, the assigned bandwidth per customer to the currently used bandwidth per customer, to determine at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from a distributed denial of service attack”); and
initiate at least one remedial action for the at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from the distributed denial of service attack (“and initiate at least one remedial action for the at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from the distributed denial of service attack”).
Claim 15 of the present Application maps to claim 15 of ‘280.
15. The system of Claim 14, wherein the at least processor is further operative to determine, for the plurality of internet service provider customers, a projected bandwidth per customer, wherein the comparing further comprises comparing the currently used bandwidth per customer to the projected bandwidth per customer (“The system of claim 14, wherein the at least one processor is further operative to determine, for the plurality of internet service provider customers, a projected bandwidth per customer, wherein the comparing further comprises comparing the currently used bandwidth per customer to the projected bandwidth per customer”).
Claim 16 of the present Application maps to claim 16 of ‘280.
16. The system of Claim 15, wherein the at least processor is operative to determine, for the plurality of internet service provider customers, the projected bandwidth per customer using machine learning (“The system of claim 15, wherein the at least one processor is operative to determine, for the plurality of internet service provider customers, the projected bandwidth per customer using machine learning”).
Claim 17 of the present Application maps to claim 17 of ‘280.
17. The system of Claim 16, wherein the at least processor implements a trained neural network, and wherein the at least one processor is operative to determine, for the plurality of internet service provider customers, the projected bandwidth per customer, using machine learning, by carrying out inferencing with the trained neural network, the trained neural network being trained on historical data to project the bandwidth per customer based on measured data (“The system of claim 16, wherein the at least one processor implements a trained neural network, and wherein the at least one processor is operative to determine, for the plurality of internet service provider customers, the projected bandwidth per customer, using the machine learning, by carrying out inferencing with the trained neural network, the trained neural network being trained on historical data to project the bandwidth per customer based on measured data”).
Claim 18 of the present Application maps to claim 18 of ‘280.
18. The system of Claim 17, wherein the at least processor is further operative to train the neural network on the historical data to project the bandwidth per customer (“The system of claim 17, wherein the at least one processor is further operative to train the neural network on the historical data to project the bandwidth per customer”).
Claim 19 of the present Application maps to claim 19 of ‘280.
19. The system of Claim 18, wherein the at least processor is further operative to update the training of the neural network over time for those of the plurality of customers other than the at least one given customer putatively suffering from the distributed denial of service attack (“The system of claim 18, wherein the at least one processor is further operative to update the training of the neural network over time for those of the plurality of customers other than the at least one given customer putatively suffering from the distributed denial of service attack”).
Claim 20 of the present Application maps to claim 20 of ‘280.
20. The system of Claim 16, wherein the at least one processor is operative to determine that the at least one given customer putatively suffers from the distributed denial of service attack when the currently used bandwidth per customer for the at least one given customer exceeds the projected bandwidth per customer for the at least one given customer and the currently used bandwidth per customer for the at least one given customer is at least equal to:
the assigned bandwidth per customer for the at least one given customer; and
an additional applied amount (“The system of claim 17, wherein the at least one processor is operative to determine that the at least one given customer putatively suffers from the distributed denial of service attack when the currently used bandwidth per customer for the at least one given customer exceeds the projected bandwidth per customer for the at least one given customer and the currently used bandwidth per customer for the at least one given customer is at least equal to: the assigned bandwidth per customer for the at least one given customer; and an additional applied amount”).
Claim 21 of the present Application maps to claim 21 of ‘280.
21. The system of Claim 20, wherein the at least one processor is operative to initiate the at least one remedial action by pushing a configuration to a plurality of peering entry points to cause the plurality of peering entry points to block at least one of an IP address and a port associated with the putative distributed denial of service attack (“The system of claim 20, wherein the at least one processor is operative to initiate the at least one remedial action by pushing a configuration to the plurality of peering entry points to cause the plurality of peering entry points to block at least one of an IP address and a port associated with the putative distributed denial of service attack”).
Claim 22 of the present Application maps to claim 22 of ‘280.
22. The system of Claim 21, further comprising the plurality of peering entry points, wherein the plurality of peering entry points are configured to blocking the at least one of an IP address and a port associated with the putative distributed denial of service attack in accordance with the pushed configuration (“The system of claim 21, further comprising the plurality of peering entry points, wherein the plurality of peering entry points are configured to blocking the at least one of an IP address and a port associated with the putative distributed denial of service attack in accordance with the pushed configuration”).
Claim 23 of the present Application maps to claim 23 of ‘280.
23. The system of Claim 21, wherein:
the at least one processor is operative to instantiate a core logic module, a machine learning module coupled to the core logic module, and a configuration push module coupled to the core logic module;
a controller comprises the core logic module, the machine learning module coupled to the core logic module, and the configuration push module coupled to the core logic module;
the machine learning module implements the trained neural network;
the controller comparing, for the plurality of internet service provider customers, the assigned bandwidth per customer to the currently used bandwidth per customer and the currently used bandwidth per customer to the projected bandwidth per customer comprises the core logic module obtaining the assigned bandwidth per customer from the customer profile collector, the core logic module obtaining the currently used bandwidth per customer from the IP flows collector, the core logic module obtaining the projected bandwidth per customer from the machine learning module, and the core logic module comparing the assigned bandwidth per customer to the currently used bandwidth per customer and the currently used bandwidth per customer to the projected bandwidth per customer; and
the controller initiating the at least one remedial action comprises the configuration push module pushing the configuration (“The system of claim 21, wherein: the at least one processor is operative to instantiate a core logic module, an IP flows collector coupled to the core logic module, a customer profile collector coupled to the core logic module, a machine learning module coupled to the core logic module, and a configuration push module coupled to the core logic module; a controller comprises the core logic module, the IP flows collector coupled to the core logic module, the customer profile collector coupled to the core logic module, the machine learning module coupled to the core logic module, and the configuration push module coupled to the core logic module; the controller obtaining the assigned bandwidth per customer for the plurality of internet service provider customers comprises the customer profile collector querying the at least one provisioning database; the machine learning module implements the trained neural network; the controller obtaining the currently used bandwidth per customer comprises the IP flows collector obtaining the currently used bandwidth per customer from the plurality of peering entry points of the internet service provider; the controller comparing, for the plurality of internet service provider customers, the assigned bandwidth per customer to the currently used bandwidth per customer and the currently used bandwidth per customer to the projected bandwidth per customer comprises the core logic module obtaining the assigned bandwidth per customer from the customer profile collector, the core logic module obtaining the currently used bandwidth per customer from the IP flows collector, the core logic module obtaining the projected bandwidth per customer from the machine learning module, and the core logic module comparing the assigned bandwidth per customer to the currently used bandwidth per customer and the currently used bandwidth per customer to the projected bandwidth per customer; and the controller initiating the at least one remedial action comprises the configuration push module pushing the configuration”).
Claim 24 of the present Application maps to claim 24 of ‘280.
24. The system of Claim 23, wherein the at least one processor is further operative to cause display, on a graphical user interface, of data related to the putative distributed denial of service attack (“The system of claim 23, wherein the at least one processor is further operative to cause display, on a graphical user interface, of data related to the putative distributed denial of service attack”).
Claim 25 of the present Application maps to claim 25 of ‘280.
25. A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising processor executable instructions which when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform the method of (“A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising processor executable instructions which when executed by a processor cause a processor to perform the method of”):
comparing, for a plurality of internet service provider customers, assigned bandwidth per customer to currently used bandwidth per customer, to determine at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from a distributed denial of service attack (“comparing, for the plurality of internet service provider customers, the assigned bandwidth per customer to the currently used bandwidth per customer, to determine at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from a distributed denial of service attack”); and
initiating at least one remedial action for the at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from the distributed denial of service attack (“initiating at least one remedial action for the at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from the distributed denial of service attack”).
Claim 26 of the present Application maps to claim 26 of ‘280.
26. A hardware system comprising (“A system comprising”):
a core logic module, implemented using at least one hardware device, configured to compare, for a plurality of internet service provider customers, assigned bandwidth per customer to currently used bandwidth per customer, to determine at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from a distributed denial of service attack (“a core logic module, coupled to the customer profile collector and the IP flows collector, and configured to compare, for the plurality of internet service provider customers, the assigned bandwidth per customer to the currently used bandwidth per customer, to determine at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from a distributed denial of service attack”); and
a configuration push module, coupled to the core logic module, and configured to initiate at least one remedial action for the at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from the distributed denial of service attack (“a configuration push module, coupled to the core logic module, and configured to initiate at least one remedial action for the at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from the distributed denial of service attack”).
Claim 27 of the present Application maps to claim 27 of ‘280.
27. The hardware system of Claim 26, further comprising:
a machine learning module, implementing a trained neural network, coupled to the core logic module, and configured to determine, for the plurality of internet service provider customers, a projected bandwidth per customer, by carrying out inferencing with the trained neural network, the trained neural network being trained on historical data to project the bandwidth per customer based on measured data;
wherein the core logic module is further configured to compare the currently used bandwidth per customer to the projected bandwidth per customer to determine the at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from the distributed denial of service attack (“The system of claim 26, further comprising: a machine learning module, implementing a trained neural network, coupled to the core logic module, and configured to determine, for the plurality of internet service provider customers, a projected bandwidth per customer, by carrying out inferencing with the trained neural network, the trained neural network being trained on historical data to project the bandwidth per customer based on measured data; wherein the core logic module is further configured to compare the currently used bandwidth per customer to the projected bandwidth per customer to determine the at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from the distributed denial of service attack”).
Claim 28 of the present Application maps to claim 28 of ‘280.
28. The hardware system of Claim 27, wherein the core logic module is configured to determine the at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from the distributed denial of service attack when the currently used bandwidth per customer for the at least one given customer exceeds the projected bandwidth per customer for the at least one given customer and the currently used bandwidth per customer for the at least one given customer is at least equal to:
the assigned bandwidth per customer for the at least one given customer; and
an additional applied amount (“The system of claim 27, wherein the core logic module is configured to determine the at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from the distributed denial of service attack when the currently used bandwidth per customer for the at least one given customer exceeds the projected bandwidth per customer for the at least one given customer and the currently used bandwidth per customer for the at least one given customer is at least equal to: the assigned bandwidth per customer for the at least one given customer; and an additional applied amount”).
Claim 29 of the present Application maps to claim 29 of ‘280.
29. The hardware system of Claim 28, wherein the configuration push module is configured to initiate the at least one remedial action for the at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from the distributed denial of service attack by pushing a configuration to the plurality of peering entry points to cause the plurality of peering entry points to block at least one of an IP address and a port associated with the putative distributed denial of service attack (“The system of claim 28, wherein the configuration push module is configured to initiate the at least one remedial action for the at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from the distributed denial of service attack by pushing a configuration to the plurality of peering entry points to cause the plurality of peering entry points to block at least one of an IP address and a port associated with the putative distributed denial of service attack”).
Claim 30 of the present Application maps to claim 30 of ‘280.
30. The hardware system of Claim 29, further comprising the plurality of peering entry points, wherein the plurality of peering entry points are configured to block the at least one of an IP address and a port associated with the putative distributed denial of service attack in accordance with the pushed configuration (“The system of claim 29, further comprising the plurality of peering entry points, wherein the plurality of peering entry points are configured to block the at least one of an IP address and a port associated with the putative distributed denial of service attack in accordance with the pushed configuration”).
Claim 31 of the present Application maps to claim 31 of ‘280
31. The hardware system of Claim 30, further comprising a graphical user interface coupled to the core logic module and configured to display data related to the putative distributed denial of service attack (“The system of claim 30, further comprising a graphical user interface coupled to the core logic module and configured to display data related to the putative distributed denial of service attack”).
The current claim language is not rejected under statutory double patenting because the independent claims of the present Application are broader than the claim language in ‘280.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 14, 25, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (CN 112866243 A (English translation)) (DDoS Attack Detection Method Based on Single Packet Traceability) in view of Kang et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0355440) (Method and Apparatus for Bandwidth Allocation in Network to Enhance Balance Thereof).
1.1 Regarding claim 1, Luo disclose the method comprising:
comparing, by a controller, for a plurality of internet service provider customers, assigned bandwidth per customer to currently used bandwidth per customer, to determine at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from a distributed denial of service attack (Fig. 3; Abstract “DDoS attack detection method based on single packet traceability”; p. 5, bottom paragraph “step 302, comparing each element in its own flow set MTRS with the flow threshold THR, and adding the autonomous domain node corresponding to the flow quantity greater than the threshold value to the abnormal autonomous domain set AA”).
However, Luo do not disclose the controller initiating at least one remedial action for the at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from the distributed denial of service attack.
In the same filed of invention, Kang teach controller initiating at least one remedial action for the at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from the distributed denial of service attack (paragraph 27 “fairly allocate a network resource … it is possible to make the reduction of the management costs for the network bandwidth and prevent the network resources from occupying primarily for some users owing to excessive P2P or DDoS (Distributed Denial of Service) attack”; paragraph 40 “the traffic respond unit 130 notices a possibility of occurrence of DDoS (Distributed Denial of Service) attacks and moves the specific source IP address which incurs the excessive packets to the black list group”).
Examiner notes that Kang discloses DDoS attack detection (paragraph 17 “inform the possibility of the occurrence of DDoS (Distributed Denial of Service) attack”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the remedial action of Kang with the DDoS attack detection of Luo since the remediation of a DDoS attack is commonplace and advantageous for proper operation of the invention of Luo.
1.2 Per claims 14, 25, and 26, the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 applies fully.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 14, 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0355440) (Method and Apparatus for Bandwidth Allocation in Network to Enhance Balance Thereof).
2.1 Regarding claim 1, Kang disclose a method comprising:
comparing, by a controller, for a plurality of internet service provider customers, assigned bandwidth per customer to currently used bandwidth per customer, to determine at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from a distributed denial of service attack (paragraph 5 “allocating bandwidth of a network, which detects excessive traffic of a specific user in a router or switch stage on an IP network and controls the excessive traffic so that the services requested by other users can be maintained, thereby providing a balance in the usage of the network resources”; paragraph 27 “fairly allocate a network resource by actively coping with the increase in the amount of network usage for a particular user … prevent the network resources from occupying primarily for some users owing to excessive P2P or DDoS (distributed Denial of Service) attack”; paragraph 17 “inform the possibility of the occurrence of DDoS (Distributed Denial of Service) attack”); and
the controller initiating at least one remedial action for the at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from the distributed denial of service attack (paragraph 27 “fairly allocate a network resource … it is possible to make the reduction of the management costs for the network bandwidth and prevent the network resources from occupying primarily for some users owing to excessive P2P or DDoS (Distributed Denial of Service) attack”; paragraph 40 “the traffic respond unit 130 notices a possibility of occurrence of DDoS (Distributed Denial of Service) attacks and moves the specific source IP address which incurs the excessive packets to the black list group”).
2.2 Per claim 14, Kang teach a system comprising:
a memory (paragraph 50 “Because the computer program instructions may be stored in a computer using memory or computer readable memory”); and
at least one processor, coupled to the memory (paragraph 50 “processor … Because the computer program instructions may be stored in a computer using memory or computer readable memory”), and operative to:
compare, for a plurality of internet service provider customers, assigned bandwidth per customer to currently used bandwidth per customer, to determine at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from a distributed denial of service attack (paragraph 5 “allocating bandwidth of a network, which detects excessive traffic of a specific user in a router or switch stage on an IP network and controls the excessive traffic so that the services requested by other users can be maintained, thereby providing a balance in the usage of the network resources”; paragraph 27 “fairly allocate a network resource by actively coping with the increase in the amount of network usage for a particular user … prevent the network resources from occupying primarily for some users owing to excessive P2P or DDoS (distributed Denial of Service) attack”; paragraph 17 “inform the possibility of the occurrence of DDoS (Distributed Denial of Service) attack”); and
initiate at least one remedial action for the at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from the distributed denial of service attack (paragraph 27 “fairly allocate a network resource … it is possible to make the reduction of the management costs for the network bandwidth and prevent the network resources from occupying primarily for some users owing to excessive P2P or DDoS (Distributed Denial of Service) attack”; paragraph 40 “the traffic respond unit 130 notices a possibility of occurrence of DDoS (Distributed Denial of Service) attacks and moves the specific source IP address which incurs the excessive packets to the black list group”).
2.3 Regarding claim 25, Kang disclose a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising processor executable instructions which when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform (paragraph 50 “computer readable memory”) the method of:
comparing, for a plurality of internet service provider customers, assigned bandwidth per customer to currently used bandwidth per customer, to determine at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from a distributed denial of service attack (paragraph 5 “allocating bandwidth of a network, which detects excessive traffic of a specific user in a router or switch stage on an IP network and controls the excessive traffic so that the services requested by other users can be maintained, thereby providing a balance in the usage of the network resources”; paragraph 27 “fairly allocate a network resource by actively coping with the increase in the amount of network usage for a particular user … prevent the network resources from occupying primarily for some users owing to excessive P2P or DDoS (distributed Denial of Service) attack”; paragraph 17 “inform the possibility of the occurrence of DDoS (Distributed Denial of Service) attack”); and
initiating at least one remedial action for the at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from the distributed denial of service attack (paragraph 27 “fairly allocate a network resource … it is possible to make the reduction of the management costs for the network bandwidth and prevent the network resources from occupying primarily for some users owing to excessive P2P or DDoS (Distributed Denial of Service) attack”; paragraph 40 “the traffic respond unit 130 notices a possibility of occurrence of DDoS (Distributed Denial of Service) attacks and moves the specific source IP address which incurs the excessive packets to the black list group”).
2.4 Per claim 26, Kang teach a hardware system comprising:
a core logic module, implemented using at least one hardware device (paragraph 51 “the respective blocks or the respective sequences may indicate modules, segments, or …”), configured to compare, for a plurality of internet service provider customers, assigned bandwidth per customer to currently used bandwidth per customer, to determine at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from a distributed denial of service attack (paragraph 5 “allocating bandwidth of a network, which detects excessive traffic of a specific user in a router or switch stage on an IP network and controls the excessive traffic so that the services requested by other users can be maintained, thereby providing a balance in the usage of the network resources”; paragraph 27 “fairly allocate a network resource by actively coping with the increase in the amount of network usage for a particular user … prevent the network resources from occupying primarily for some users owing to excessive P2P or DDoS (distributed Denial of Service) attack”; paragraph 17 “inform the possibility of the occurrence of DDoS (Distributed Denial of Service) attack”); and
a configuration push module (paragraph 51 “the respective blocks or the respective sequences may indicate modules, segments, or …”), coupled to the core logic module, and configured to initiate at least one remedial action for the at least one given customer of the plurality of internet service provider customers putatively suffering from the distributed denial of service attack (paragraph 27 “fairly allocate a network resource … it is possible to make the reduction of the management costs for the network bandwidth and prevent the network resources from occupying primarily for some users owing to excessive P2P or DDoS (Distributed Denial of Service) attack”; paragraph 40 “the traffic respond unit 130 notices a possibility of occurrence of DDoS (Distributed Denial of Service) attacks and moves the specific source IP address which incurs the excessive packets to the black list group”).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KENNETH R COULTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445
/KRC/