DETAILED ACTION
The following is a first action on the merits of application serial no. 18/744507 filed 6/14/2024.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 6/14/24 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, 10, 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim 20210319947 in view of Park 6186603. As to claim 1, Kim discloses a coil assembly (120) of a solenoid valve (20) disposed in a bore (within 10) of a hydraulic block (10) having inlet flow (shown within side of 10 in Figure 2) and outlet flow paths (shown within bottom of 10 in Figure 2), the coil assembly comprising: a bobbin (110) having a through hole defined by an inner surface of the bobbin, the bobbin including a winding portion around which a coil is wound ([0047]); the coil wound around the winding portion of the bobbin to generate a magnetic force according to an electrical signal (via 50-130); a case (140), wherein at least a part of the bobbin is disposed inside the case; and a first heat transfer material ([0050]-[0051]) disposed between the top of hydraulic block (10) and the case (140) in which at least a part of the bobbin is disposed. However, Kim doesn’t explicitly disclose the material between a recessed portion formed at an end of the bore of the block and the case as recited.
Park discloses a coil assembly (7a) of a solenoid valve (7) disposed in a bore (within 31) of a hydraulic block (31) and shows that it is well known in the art to provide a heat transfer material (50) disposed between a recessed portion formed at an end of the bore of the hydraulic block (multiple bores within 31 as shown in Figure 2) and a case (18) in which the coil assembly is disposed.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the heat transfer material in Kim between a recessed portion formed at end of block bore and bobbin case in view of Park to disperse heat generated from the solenoid valves effectively, thereby preventing damage of the coils during operation of assembly.
As to claim 3, Kim discloses wherein the bobbin has a metal material ([0054]).
As to claim 8, Kim discloses a solenoid valve (20) disposed in a bore (within 10) of a hydraulic block (10) having an inlet flow and outlet flow paths, the solenoid valve comprising: a magnet core (surrounding 220) disposed in the bore of the hydraulic block and having a through hole in the magnet core; a sleeve (230) coupled to an outer surface of the magnet core; an armature (220) disposed in the sleeve; a valve seat (surrounding 210) fixed in the through hole of the magnet core and including an orifice (210); a plunger (220 functions as plunger; [0045]) movably positioned in the through hole of the magnet core to open or close the orifice of the valve seat; a return spring (not reference, but shown between 210 and 220 in Figure 9) configured to press the plunger toward the armature; and a coil assembly (120) configured to provide a magnetic force to the armature, wherein the coil assembly comprises: a bobbin (110) having a through hole defined by an inner surface of the bobbin, the bobbin including a winding portion around which a coil is wound ([0047]); the coil wound around the winding portion of the bobbin to generate a magnetic force according to an electrical signal (via 50-130); a case (140), wherein at least a part of the bobbin is disposed inside the case; and a first heat transfer material ([0050]-[0051]) disposed between the top of hydraulic block (10) and the case (140) in which at least a part of the bobbin is disposed. However, Kim doesn’t explicitly disclose the material between a recessed portion formed at an end of the bore of the block and the case as recited.
Park discloses a coil assembly (7a) of a solenoid valve (7) disposed in a bore (within 31) of a hydraulic block (31) and shows that it is well known in the art to provide a heat transfer material (50) disposed between a recessed portion formed at an end of the bore of the hydraulic block (multiple bores within 31 as shown in Figure 2) and a case (18) in which the coil assembly is disposed.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the heat transfer material in Kim between a recessed portion formed at end of block bore and bobbin case in view of Park to disperse heat generated from the solenoid valves effectively, thereby preventing damage of the coils during operation of assembly.
As to claim 10, Kim discloses wherein the bobbin has a metal material ([0054]).
As to claim 14, Kim discloses an electronic brake system ([0041]) comprising: a hydraulic block (10) in which a bore (within 10) provided with inlet flow and outlet flow paths are formed; a solenoid valve (20) disposed in the bore; and an electronic controller (40) configured to control to open or close the solenoid valve, wherein the solenoid valve comprises: a magnet core (surrounding 220) disposed in the bore of the hydraulic block and having a through hole in the magnet core; a sleeve (230) coupled to an outer surface of the magnet core; an armature (220) disposed in the sleeve; a valve seat (surrounding 210) fixed in the through hole of the magnet core and including an orifice (210); a plunger (220 functions as plunger; [0045]) movably positioned in the through hole of the magnet core to open or close the orifice of the valve seat; a return spring (not reference, but shown between 210 and 220 in Figure 9) configured to press the plunger toward the armature; and a coil assembly (120) configured to provide a magnetic force to the armature, wherein the coil assembly comprises: a bobbin (110) having a through hole defined by an inner surface of the bobbin, the bobbin including a winding portion around which a coil is wound ([0047]); the coil wound around the winding portion of the bobbin to generate a magnetic force according to an electrical signal (via 50-130); a case (140), wherein at least a part of the bobbin is disposed inside the case; and a first heat transfer material ([0050]-[0051]) disposed between the top of hydraulic block (10) and the case (140) in which at least a part of the bobbin is disposed. However, Kim doesn’t explicitly disclose the material between a recessed portion formed at an end of the bore of the block and the case as recited.
Park discloses a coil assembly (7a) of a solenoid valve (7) disposed in a bore (within 31) of a hydraulic block (31) and shows that it is well known in the art to provide a heat transfer material (50) disposed between a recessed portion formed at an end of the bore of the hydraulic block (multiple bores within 31 as shown in Figure 2) and a case (18) in which the coil assembly is disposed.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the heat transfer material in Kim between a recessed portion formed at end of block bore and bobbin case in view of Park to disperse heat generated from the solenoid valves effectively, thereby preventing damage of the coils during operation of assembly.
As to claim 16, Kim discloses wherein the bobbin has a metal material ([0054]).
Claim(s) 2, 9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Park as applied to claims 1, 8 and 14 above, and further in view of Jencks et al 4166262. Kim in view of Park discloses a heat transfer material (50 in Park) disposed between a recessed portion formed at an end of the bore of the hydraulic block (multiple bores within 31 as shown in Figure 2 in Park) and a case (18 in Park) in which the coil assembly is disposed, but doesn’t disclose that the material is a heat conductive resin as recited.
Jencks discloses a coil assembly of a solenoid valve and shows that it is well known in the art to provide a heat transfer material (32; column 2, lines 55-65) between a coil assembly case (14) and a device surface (V-1) that is made of a heat conductive resin.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Kim in view of Park with a heat conductive resin further in view of Jencks to increase durability and reduce degrading of assembly during operation.
Claim(s) 4, 11 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Park as applied to claims 1, 8 and 14 above, and further in view of Ohtani et al 4216454. Kim in view of Parks discloses a bobbin made of metal material ([0054 in Kim), but doesn’t explicitly disclose the material is aluminum or aluminum alloy as recited.
Ohtani discloses a coil assembly of a solenoid and discloses that it is well known in the art to have a bobbin (16) made of aluminum (column 3, lines 62-65).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Kim in view of Park with an aluminum bobbin further in view of Ohtani to ensure excellent thermal resistance of assembly during operation.
Claim(s) 5-7, 12, 13, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Park as applied to claims 1, 8 and 14 above, and further in view of JP 201138630 (with machine translation and also IDS cited art). Kim in view of Park discloses a coil assembly within a case, but doesn’t disclose a heat transfer material disposed between the coil and an inner surface of the case.
JP discloses a coil assembly of a solenoid valve and shows that it is well known in the art to provide a heat transfer material (35) between a coil (34) and an inner surface of a case (30), wherein the heat transfer material includes a heat conductive resin (abstract) and contacts the coil and the inner surface of the case (abstract) in which the material is provided as a gap pad contacting the coil and the inner surface of the case (as shown in Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Kim in view of Park with a heat transfer material between the coil and case further in view of JP to disperse heat generated from the solenoid valves effectively, thereby preventing damage of the coils during operation of assembly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Mueller et al 6048041 discloses a coil assembly of a solenoid valve and shows that it is well known in the art to provide a resin material (36) between an end bore of a valve block (12) and a case (26) of coil assembly (material is only heat resistance, not conductive).
-DE 19725289 discloses a coil assembly of a solenoid and shows that it is well known in the art to provide a heat transfer material (19) between the coil case (23) and top of valve block (2).
Tdl
/TISHA D LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619 July 10, 2026