Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/14/24 and 4/22/25 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camous et al. (US 2023/0074860 A1) in view of Thomas et al. (KPConv: Flexible and Deformable Convolution for Point Clouds, cited by Camous).
As to Claim 1, Camous teaches An apparatus, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories and configured to:
obtain, with a backbone artificial neural network, an original feature map of point cloud data (Camous, [0079, 0105-0106] and Fig 5B below
);
deform the point cloud data, with a deformation artificial neural network, into a plurality of deformed point cloud objects based on the original feature map of point cloud data (Camous discloses pooling function in [0070, 0081]; “One or both of the selected LiDAR point clouds may be transformed to align the respective LiDAR point clouds to account for different locations and/or orientations of the LiDAR sensor that captured the LiDAR point cloud” in [0092], see also misalignment transformation in [0119,0122]. Thomas further discloses “we propose a deformable version of our convolution [7], which consists of learning local shifts applied to the kernel points (see Figure 3)… In contrast, KPConv combines features locally according to the 3D geometry, thus capturing the deformations of the surfaces” at p. 2; “We define the offsets ∆k(x) as the output of a rigid KPConv mapping Din input features to 3K values, as shown in Figure 3… With this loss, the network generates shifts that fit the local geometry of the input point cloud” at p. 4);
combine the plurality of deformed point cloud objects into a mixed point cloud (Camous discloses “For example, the at least one functional network 510E, 510F, 510G may receive one feature map in the case that the at least two LiDAR point clouds are merged… The at least one functional network may not include the concatenation network 510E in the case that the at least two LiDAR point clouds are processed as a merged point cloud” in [0107]);
extract, with the backbone artificial neural network, a mixed feature map from the mixed point cloud; extract a plurality of deformed feature maps from the plurality of deformed point cloud objects (Camous discloses “The classifier network may extract features from the pair of LiDAR point clouds, and compute a probability score of the pair of LiDAR point clouds being aligned or misaligned” in [0022]; “The feature backbone 510C may be a feature extraction network” in [0106]; see also [0096]); and
compute, with a contrastive module, a loss for the backbone artificial neural network and for the deformation artificial neural network based on the mixed feature map and the plurality of deformed feature maps (Camous discloses “The output datasets may include a binary classification (aligned or misaligned), a probability score, and/or a confidence score, and the like.” in [0098]; “For instance, the classifier network 504 may be trained on training data including labeled sets of misaligned and aligned pairs of LiDAR point clouds with appropriate loss functions providing feedback to adjust the classifier network 504.” in [0117]; see also Fig 7B. Thomas further discloses “KP-CNN training. We use a Momentum gradient Descent optimizer to minimize a cross-entropy loss… In the case of deformable kernels, the regularization loss is added to the output loss” at p. 11;
at p.4.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Camous with the teaching of Thomas so as to generate shifts to fit the local geometry of the input point cloud with a loss (Thomas, p. 4).
As to Claim 2, Camous in view of Thomas teaches The apparatus of claim 1, in which the deformation artificial neural network comprises a multilayer perceptron (Camous discloses “In some embodiments, perception system 402, planning system 404, localization system 406, and/or control system 408 implement at least one machine learning model (e.g., at least one multilayer perceptron (MLP), at least one convolutional neural network (CNN), at least one recurrent neural network (RNN), at least one autoencoder, at least one transformer, and/or the like)” in [0066]. See also Thomas’s Pointwise MLP networks at p. 2.)
As to Claim 3, Camous in view of Thomas teaches The apparatus of claim 1, in which the one or more processors is further configured to combine the plurality of deformed point cloud objects by performing linear interpolation between the plurality of deformed point cloud objects (Thomas discloses “bilinear interpolation” at p. 4.)
As to Claim 4, Camous in view of Thomas teaches The apparatus of claim 1, in which the one or more processors is further configured to deform the point cloud data by mapping each point cloud feature of the original feature map of point cloud data to a control point perturbation to obtain a set of control point perturbations in a lattice and to deform the lattice (Thomas discloses mapping input points to a set of kernel points in Fig 1; “Furthermore, we propose a deformable version of our convolution [7], which consists of learning local shifts applied to the kernel points (see Figure 3)” at p. 2; see also kernel points at p. 13.)
As to Claim 5, Camous in view of Thomas teaches The apparatus of claim 1, in which the one or more processors is further configured to optimize the backbone artificial neural network and the deformation artificial neural network based on the loss (Thomas discloses “To tackle this behaviour, we propose a “fitting” regularization loss which penalizes the distance between a kernel point and its closest neighbor among the input neighbors… With this loss, the network generates shifts that fit the local geometry of the input point cloud. We show this effect in the supplementary material” at p. 4, see also Fig 11.)
As to Claim 6, Camous in view of Thomas teaches The apparatus of claim 5, in which the one or more processors is further configured to compute the loss based on a regularization that penalizes similarity between the plurality of deformed point cloud objects (Thomas discloses “To tackle this behaviour, we propose a “fitting” regularization loss which penalizes the distance between a kernel point and its closest neighbor among the input neighbors. In addition, we also add a “repulsive” regularization loss between all pair off kernel points when their influence area overlap, so that they do not collapse together… With this loss, the network generates shifts that fit the local geometry of the input point cloud. We show this effect in the supplementary material” at p. 4, see also Fig 11.)
As to Claim 7, Camous in view of Thomas teaches The apparatus of claim 1, in which the deformation artificial neural network comprises two instances of an artificial neural network (Camous, [0104] and Fig 5B.)
Claim 8 recites similar limitations as claim 1 but in a method form. Therefore, the same rationale used for claim 1 is applied.
Claim 9 is rejected based upon similar rationale as Claim 2.
Claim 10 is rejected based upon similar rationale as Claim 3.
Claim 11 is rejected based upon similar rationale as Claim 4.
Claim 12 is rejected based upon similar rationale as Claim 5.
Claim 13 is rejected based upon similar rationale as Claim 6.
Claim 14 is rejected based upon similar rationale as Claim 7.
Claim 15 recites similar limitations as claim 1 but in a computer readable medium form. Therefore, the same rationale used for claim 1 is applied.
Claim 16 is rejected based upon similar rationale as Claim 2.
Claim 17 is rejected based upon similar rationale as Claim 3.
Claim 18 is rejected based upon similar rationale as Claim 4.
Claim 19 is rejected based upon similar rationale as Claim 5.
Claim 20 is rejected based upon similar rationale as Claim 6.
Conclusion
/WEIMING HE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611