DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted and area in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. According, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objection
2. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 1, lines 1-3 recite “A method implemented on at least one machine each of which has at least one processor and a storage device for data storage in magnetic resonance scanning”. For clarification purpose, lines 1-3 should recite “A method implemented on at least one machine each of which has at least one processor and a storage device for data storage in magnetic resonance scanning executed by a magnetic resonance device” (see claim 9).
Examiner Notes
3. Examiner cites particular paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-9 and 16-16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muraki (JP2003116842-public version or JP4182465-patented version, with translation attachment; hereinafter “Muraki”) in view of Zeller (US. Pub. 2018/0095150; hereinafter “Zeller”).
Regarding claim 1, Muraki discloses a method implemented on at least one machine each of which has at least one processor and a storage device for data storage in magnetic resonance scanning (an X-ray CT apparatus that scans a subject by exposing X-rays from multiple directions to the subject, collects raw data, and stores the raw data into a recording medium or storage, see abstract and claim 1), comprising: obtaining a raw data file of a current scanning layer during scanning a target object using a magnetic resonance device (“The data collection unit 22 collects and outputs projection data (raw data) of a plurality of slices of the subject for each rotation of the X-ray tube 12 based on the data collection control signal”.. See paragraph [0031, 35]); determining a target file group corresponding to the raw data file of the current scanning layer according to a preset data slicing rule (determining projection data group of plurality of slices of the subject during scanning to form the raw data file as a storage file according a specified cutout range rule. See at least in [0064-67, 69-71, 80-83]); and storing data of the raw data file of the current scanning layer into a storage space corresponding to the target file group (storing the raw data file into the storage device 24 and/or an external recording device 40. See at least in [0069-71, 80, 83, 92-94]).
Muraki discloses using the X-ray CT scan machine for obtain raw data of a plurality of slices of the subject. Muraki does not explicitly discloses using a magnetic resonance image (MRI) device for obtaining raw image data of the subject. However Muraki mentioned in paragraphs [0183-185] that other various medical image scan apparatuses could be used such as MRI apparatus, SPECT apparatus, IVR-CT apparatus. Zeller discloses a magnetic resonance (MR) apparatus comprising: an MR data acquisition scanner operable to acquire MR measurement data from an object using at least two reception coils of the MR data acquisition scanner with slice multiplexing, in which said MR signals from at least two different slices of the object are detected simultaneously with said at least two reception coil and obtain a data file of said MR data, and to make said data file of said MR data available from said computer in electronic form (see claim 9 and Figs. 1-4)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the medical image scanning system of Muraki by using the MRI apparatus for obtaining raw image data of the subject as taught by Zeller, for purpose of producing superior detailed images of soft tissues and creating multiple planes of imaging, in order to meet the system design and specification requirement.
Regarding claim 2, Muraki discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the data slicing rule includes at least one of: a first rule for grouping raw data files based on a layer count (see [0006, 69,]); a second rule for grouping raw data files based on a scanning time (see [0006, 66, 72, 75-76, 89-90,] and claim 6); or a third rule for grouping raw data files based on a data capacity (see [0006, 97, 145, 148, 171]).
Regarding claim 3, Muraki discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the determining a target file group corresponding to the raw data file of the current scanning layer according to a preset data slicing rule includes: determining, according to the first rule, the target file group corresponding to the raw data file of the current scanning layer based on a scanning layer identifier of the current scanning layer, wherein the first rule includes a correspondence between scanning layer identifiers and file groups (see at least in [0066, 69, 118-119]).
Regarding claim 4, Muraki discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the determining a target file group corresponding to the raw data file of the current scanning layer according to a preset data slicing rule includes: determining, according to the second rule, whether a scanning time of the current scanning layer falls within a storage time interval corresponding to a current file group, wherein the second rule includes a storage time interval corresponding to each file group; and if the scanning time of the current scanning layer falls within the storage time interval corresponding to the current file group, determining the current file group as the target file group; or if the scanning time of the current scanning layer exceeds the storage time interval corresponding to the current file group, determining a file group corresponding to a next storage time interval as the target file group (see at least in [0066, 72, 75-76, 89-90] and claim 6).
Regarding claim 5, Muraki discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the determining a target file group corresponding to the raw data file of the current scanning layer according to a preset data slicing rule includes: evaluating, according to the third rule, whether a data capacity of a storage space of a current file group is greater than or equal to a preset data capacity threshold, wherein the third rule includes a data capacity threshold corresponding to a storage space of each file group; and if the data capacity of the storage space of the current file group is less than the data capacity threshold, determining the current file group as the target file group; or if the data capacity of the storage space of the current file group is greater than or equal to the data capacity threshold, determining a next file group as the target file group (see at least in [0015, 64-66, 83, 118-119, 133] claim 5).
Regarding claim 6, Muraki discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining whether a scanning completion command or a protocol sequence suspending command is received; and if the scanning completion command or the protocol sequence suspending command is received, terminating a storage task; or if neither the scanning completion command nor the protocol sequence suspending command is received, obtaining a raw data file of a next scanning layer as the raw data file of the current scanning layer, and determining the target file group corresponding to the raw data file of the current scanning layer according to the preset data slicing rule (see Figs. 9-10 and [0093-94, 118-120]).
Regarding claim 7, Muraki discloses the method of claim 6, further comprising: in response to receiving the protocol sequence suspending command, controlling the magnetic resonance device to stop scanning the target object, recording a layer count of scanning layers that have been scanned, and generating a task execution log file (see Figs. 9-10 and [0093-94, 118-120]).
Regarding claim 8, Muraki discloses the method of claim 7, further comprising: in response to receiving a suspending protocol sequence activation command, searching for the task execution log file, retrieving the layer count of scanning layers that have been scanned, and scanning layers that have not been scanned (see Figs. 9-10 and [0093-94, 118-120, 123-124]).
Regarding claim 9, Muraki discloses a method implemented on at least one machine each of which has at least one processor and a storage device for magnetic resonance scanning executed by a magnetic resonance device (an X-ray CT apparatus that scans a subject by exposing X-rays from multiple directions to the subject, collects raw data, and stores the raw data into a recording medium or storage, see abstract and claim 1), comprising: obtaining a target scanning protocol selected by a user via a protocol scanning interface (Fig. 1 shows that a central control unit 28 coupled to an user interface or display unit 32 for a user to operate the X-ray CT 1. By using the user interface 32 or 33c, the user can obtain a target scanning protocol such as describing in paragraphs [0032, 47-48, 51, 143, 164-165, 175-179]); navigating to a slice selection interface based on the target scanning protocol (see Figs. 7-8 and also Figs. 4-6 and 13), obtaining a preset data slicing rule selected by the user via the slice selection interface (such as “By using such a user interface, the cutout range of the raw data can be set after grasping the specific position of the organ or the like in the scanogram, so that unnecessary data need not be saved”, see at least in [0175]), and scanning a target object to generate a raw data file of a current scanning layer (“The data collection unit 22 collects and outputs projection data (raw data) of a plurality of slices of the subject for each rotation of the X-ray tube 12 based on the data collection control signal”.. See paragraph [0031, 35]); and storing the raw data file of the current scanning layer according to the preset data slicing rule (determining projection data group of plurality of slices of the subject during scanning to form the raw data file as a storage file according a specified cutout range rule. See at least in [0064-67, 69-71, 80-83]), and storing data of the raw data file of the current scanning layer into a storage space corresponding to a target file group (storing the raw data file into the storage device 24 and/or an external recording device 40. See at least in [0069-71, 80, 83, 92-94]).
Muraki discloses using the X-ray CT scan machine for obtain raw data of a plurality of slices of the subject. Muraki does not explicitly discloses using magnetic resonance image (MRI) device for obtaining raw image data of the subject. However Muraki mentioned in paragraphs [0183-185] that other various medical image scan apparatuses could be used such as MRI apparatus, SPECT apparatus, IVR-CT apparatus. Zeller discloses a magnetic resonance (MR) apparatus comprising: an MR data acquisition scanner operable to acquire MR measurement data from an object using at least two reception coils of the MR data acquisition scanner with slice multiplexing, in which said MR signals from at least two different slices of the object are detected simultaneously with said at least two reception coil and obtain a data file of said MR data, and to make said data file of said MR data available from said computer in electronic form (see claim 9 and Figs. 1-4)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the medical image scanning system of Muraki by using the MRI apparatus for obtaining raw image data of the subject as taught by Zeller, for purpose of producing superior detailed images of soft tissues and creating multiple planes of imaging, in order to meet the system design and specification requirement.
Regarding claim 16, Muraki discloses a system (an X-ray CT apparatus in Fig. 1) for magnetic resonance scanning, comprising a protocol manager module (processing units 23, 25, 27 and a central control unit 28), a checklist module (such as an operation unit 31 and image display unit 32), and a data storage module (storage units 24, 26, 40), wherein: the protocol manager module is configured to obtain a target scanning protocol selected by a user via a protocol scanning interface and transmit the target scanning protocol to the checklist module (Fig. 1 shows that the processing units and central control unit communicated with to an operation unit and user interface or display unit for a user to operate the X-ray CT 1. By operating from the user interface, the user can obtain a target scanning protocol such as describing in paragraphs [0032, 47-48, 51, 143, 164-165, 175-179])); the checklist module is configured to navigate to a slice selection interface based on the target scanning protocol (see Figs. 7-8 and also Figs. 4-6 and 13), obtain a preset data slicing rule (determining projection data group of plurality of slices of the subject during scanning to form the raw data file as a storage file according a specified cutout range rule. See at least in [0064-67, 69-71, 80-83]) selected by the user via the slice selection interface (such as “By using such a user interface, the cutout range of the raw data can be set after grasping the specific position of the organ or the like in the scanogram, so that unnecessary data need not be saved”, see at least in [0175]), and scan a target object to generate a raw data file of a current scanning layer (“The data collection unit 22 collects and outputs projection data (raw data) of a plurality of slices of the subject for each rotation of the X-ray tube 12 based on the data collection control signal”.. See paragraph [0031, 35]); and the data storage module is configured to store the raw data file of the current scanning layer according to the preset data slicing rule (storing the raw data file into the storage device 24 and/or an external recording device 40. See at least in [0069-71, 80, 83, 92-94]).
Muraki discloses using the X-ray CT scan machine for obtain raw data of a plurality of slices of the subject. Muraki does not explicitly discloses using magnetic resonance image (MRI) device for obtaining raw image data of the subject. However Muraki mentioned in paragraphs [0183-185] that other various medical image scan apparatuses could be used such as MRI apparatus, SPECT apparatus, IVR-CT apparatus. Zeller discloses a magnetic resonance (MR) apparatus comprising: an MR data acquisition scanner operable to acquire MR measurement data from an object using at least two reception coils of the MR data acquisition scanner with slice multiplexing, in which said MR signals from at least two different slices of the object are detected simultaneously with said at least two reception coil and obtain a data file of said MR data, and to make said data file of said MR data available from said computer in electronic form (see claim 9 and Figs. 1-4)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the medical image scanning system of Muraki by using the MRI apparatus for obtaining raw image data of the subject as taught by Zeller, for purpose of producing superior detailed images of soft tissues and creating multiple planes of imaging, in order to meet the system design and specification requirement.
Regarding claim 17, Muraki discloses the system of claim 16, further comprising a suspending module and an activation module, wherein: the suspending module is configured to obtain a protocol sequence suspending command based on the protocol scanning interface and when the protocol sequence suspending command is received, control a magnetic resonance device to stop scanning the target object, record a layer count of scanning layers that have been scanned, generate a task execution log file, and transmit the task execution log file to the data storage module for storage; and the activation module is configured to obtain a suspending protocol sequence activation command based on the protocol scanning interface, search for the task execution log file in the data storage module, retrieve the layer count of scanning layers that have been scanned, and scan layers that have not been scanned (see Figs. 9-10 and [0093-94, 118-120, 123-124]).
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 10-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 10, the cited references, alone or in combination, do not disclose nor fairly suggest:
“ … when the scanning sequence is in the suspending state, controlling the magnetic resonance device to stop scanning the target object and recording a completed scanning task and a raw data file corresponding to the completed scanning task, wherein the scanning task is associated with at least one of scanned layers of the magnetic resonance scanning and a magnetic resonance signal corresponding to each of the scanned layers; detecting whether the user activates the scanning sequence; and in response to determining that the user activates the scanning sequence, determining an activation position of the scanning sequence based on a trigger state of the protocol sequence suspending command; and continuing to perform subsequent scanning of the scanning sequence based on the activation position” in combination with all other elements as claimed in claim 9.
As to claim(s) 11-13, the claims are allowed as they further limit allowed claim 10.
Regarding claim 18, the cited references, alone or in combination, do not disclose nor fairly suggest:
“ … when the scanning sequence is in the suspending state, control the magnetic resonance device to stop scanning the target object and record a completed scanning task and a raw data file corresponding to the completed scanning task, wherein the scanning task is associated with at least one of scanned layers of the magnetic resonance scanning, and a magnetic resonance signal corresponding to each of the scanned layers; and the activation module is further configured to: detect whether the user activates the scanning sequence; and in response determining that the user activates the scanning sequence, determine an activation position of the scanning sequence based on a trigger state of the protocol sequence suspending command; and continue to perform subsequent scanning of the scanning sequence based on the activation position” in combination with all other elements as claimed in claim 9.
As to claim(s) 19-23, the claims are allowed as they further limit allowed claim 16.
Prior Art of Record
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zeller (U.S Pub. 2019/0101606) discloses a method and magnetic resonance (MR) apparatus for simultaneous multi-contrast recording, at least two different slices are repeatedly excited to generate echo signals of the respective slices, and the echo signals are recorded as scan data. In one repetition of the excitation and recording, one of the at least two slices is excited using desired first contrasting scan parameters for generating scan data weighted with a first contrast, and at least one other of the at least two slices is excited using desired second contrasting scan parameters for generating scan data weighted with a second contrast. The repetitions are repeated using the different desired first and second contrasting parameters, so that in each repetition, scan data of one slice weighted according to a first contrast and scan data from another slice weighted according to a second contrast are recorded and stored as scan data sets. A strongly accelerated recording of scan data with an increased information content without quality losses is thereby enabled. (see specification for more details). Beck (U.S Pub. 2018/0267123) discloses a magnetic resonance imaging method and apparatus for generating a number of image data sets of an image recording region of an examination object, at least one set of reference magnetic resonance raw data is acquired from the image recording region. Furthermore, a number of magnetic resonance raw data sets are acquired temporally sequentially. At least some of the magnetic resonance raw data sets are recorded with an SMS image recording sequence and a number of image data sets are reconstructed on the basis of the acquired magnetic resonance raw data sets. A number of SMS image data sets are each reconstructed on the basis of one of the magnetic resonance raw data sets recorded with an SMS image recording sequence, and each on the basis of one and the same set of reference magnetic resonance raw data. (see specification for more details).
Wolfe (U.S Pub. 2021/0361167) discloses a method comprising: obtaining, by one or more processors, magnetic resonance data acquired from a magnetic resonance system; generating, by the one or more processors, at least one k-space map of the obtained magnetic resonance data; amplifying, by the one or more processors, spatiotemporal signatures of magnetic relaxation associated with myelin-restricted water at myelin-associated regions of the at least one k-space map, or components thereof, to generate a myelin-amplified k-space map; and reconstructing, by the one or more processors, in part, the myelin-amplified k-space map to generate a MRI quantification and/or visualization dataset of myelin associated tissue structure; wherein the generated MRI quantification and/or visualization dataset of the myelin associated tissue structure are outputted to a display or to storage. (see specification for more details).
Conclusion
/THANG X LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858
5/11/2026