DETAILED ACTION
This is a NON-FINAL OFFICE ACTION in response to the Amendment/ Remarks filed 02/17/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending in the Application, of which Claims 1 and 19 are independent.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Continuity/ Priority Information
The present Application 18744887 filed 06/17/2024 claims foreign priority to INDIA, Application 202441033760, filed 04/29/2024. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Amendment/ Remarks filed 02/17/2026 with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ABSHISHEK et al. (Pub. No. US 20160169966), have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore the rejection has been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Shah et al. (Pub. No. US 20190011500) Pub. Date: 2019-01-10, as set forth in the present office action.
Applicant argues that ABSHISHEK fails to disclose “configuration dataset comprising a respective scan chain identifier and a respective test pattern”, and to “identify a respective scan chain, and load the respective test pattern in the identified respective scan chain.
In response to Applicant arguments, under a new ground(s) of rejection, Shah et al. discloses the above feature as follows: [0014] FIG. 1 The testing system 106 includes memory 108 for storing one or more test scan patterns 114. During a test sequence referred to herein as “scan chain testing,” the test controller 112 selects test scan patterns 114 and transmits control signals to the user function block 104 for selectively programming (loading) individual elements of the scan chain 110 with values of each selected test scan pattern, as described below. [0027] In FIG. 3, multiplexors (e.g., 330, 332, 334) are present to facilitate selection of a scan chain (e.g., 304, 306, 308, 310) for loading either serial or parallel fashion with one another.
Clearly, the Claimed limitation as recited in Claim 1, is functionally equivalent to the “scan chain testing” disclosed by Shah.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shah et al. (Pub. No. US 20190011500) Pub. Date: 2019-01-10.
Regarding independent Claims 1 and 19, Shah discloses programmable scan shift testing for a scan chain, comprising:
a critical logic circuit comprising a critical path; and a plurality of scan chains coupled to the critical logic circuit and associated with activation of the critical path; [0013] FIG. 1. The semiconductor chip 102 includes one or more function blocks 104 “critical logic circuit”, and each function block includes one or more scan chains110 for performing scan tests on the associated function block. [0015] An example portion 134 of the scan chain 110 includes a number of flip-flops (e.g., FF1, FF2, FF3) connected in series. Each of the flip-flops is provided with inputs through a corresponding multiplexor 118. [0016] When a clock pulse (CLK) is allowed to excite the scan-flops, a combinatorial logic block 126 “critical path” receives as inputs the outputs of each of the scan-flops as well as other system inputs. The combinatorial logic block 126 “critical path” then performs a combinatorial logic function on the inputs received from each one of the scan-flops to produce a logic function output.
a control circuit coupled to the plurality of scan chains configured to receive a plurality of configuration datasets, wherein each configuration dataset comprises a respective scan chain identifier and a respective test pattern, [0014] The testing system 106 includes memory 108 for storing one or more test scan patterns 114. During a test sequence referred to herein as “scan chain testing,” the test controller 112 selects test scan patterns 114 and transmits control signals to the user function block 104 for selectively programming (loading) individual elements of the scan chain 110 with values of each selected test scan pattern, as described below.
the control circuit is configured to identify a respective scan chain associated with the respective scan chain identifier, and load the respective test pattern in the identified respective scan chain. [0027] In FIG. 3, multiplexors (e.g., 330, 332, 334) are present to facilitate selection of a scan chain (e.g., 304, 306, 308, 310) i.e. corresponding to “identify a respective scan chain”, for loading either serial or parallel fashion with one another. Gates 318, 320, 322 and 324 can either mask the respective chain or permit loading of the chain from a SCAN_IN port based on input from PROG_SCAN_IN. Block 314 is responsible for the compression of the test data output when scan chains are operated in parallel mode.
Regarding Claims 2-4, 7-9, 13-16, 20, Shah discloses the scan chains are sequentially loaded with test patterns. [0015] FIG. 1. During a test mode of operation, each of the flip-flops receives data from the SI input. Each flip-flop and its corresponding multiplexor are together herein referred to as a “scan-flop” (e.g., scan-flops 128, 130, and 132). The different scan-flops 128, 130, and 132 are connected in a serial shift register fashion during a test mode such that the output of each scan-flop becomes an input to the next scan-flop when the SI input is selected.
[0016] In one implementation, a scan chain test sequence includes three phases: loading or “shift-in”, capture, and un-loading or “shift-out.” An initial loading phase is initiated by configuring the scan-flops for the test mode by asserting ‘1’ values along selection lines (SE) to selecting the SI inputs and loading one of the test scan patterns 114 (e.g., a sequence of 1's and 0's) into the scan-flops in the chain 110.
Regarding Claims 5, 6, Shah discloses wherein the activation of the critical path is enabled based on an asserted state of the mode signal.
[0016] In one implementation, a scan chain test sequence includes three phases: loading or “shift-in”, capture, and un-loading or “shift-out.” An initial loading phase is initiated by configuring the scan-flops for the test mode by asserting ‘1’ values along selection lines (SE) to selecting the SI inputs and loading one of the test scan patterns 114 (e.g., a sequence of 1's and 0's) into the scan-flops in the chain 110.
Regarding Claims 10-12, Shah discloses plurality of pattern bits is loaded in the first scan chain based on an asserted state of the first select signal; [0014] Prior to loading, values of a selected test scan pattern are decompressed by de-compression logic 116 and provided to a scan-in port 122 of the scan chain 110. In a final stage of testing for each of the test scan patterns 114, values stored in the scan chain 110 are unloaded at a scan-out port 124, compressed by the compression sub-block 120, and transmitted back to the test controller 112 for processing.
Regarding Claims 17, 18, Shah discloses logic elements that are activated based on activation bits, derived from the set of predetermined values, and wherein the plurality of critical paths are activated simultaneously. [0027] In FIG. 3, multiplexors (e.g., 330, 332, 334) are present to facilitate selection of a scan chain (e.g., 304, 306, 308, 310) for loading either serial or parallel fashion “activated simultaneously” with one another. Gates 318, 320, 322 and 324 can either mask the respective chain or permit loading of the chain from a SCAN_IN port based on input from PROG_SCAN_IN. Block 314 is responsible for the compression of the test data output when scan chains are operated in parallel mode.
Prior Art References Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See References Cited on PTO-892 form.
Conclusion
/JAMES C KERVEROS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111
Date: March 3, 2026
Non-Final Rejection 20260303
JAMES C. KERVEROS
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111
James.Kerveros@USPTO.GOV