DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1–20 are pending. No claim has been amended; the response filed July 7, 2026 presents the original claims unchanged and traverses the rejections of the Office action mailed April 2, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 7, 2026 have been fully considered. Claims 1–15, 19 and 20 (Yow). Applicant argues that the prior action's mapping of Yow (US 2024/0098952) relied on electromagnetic shield 306 as part of the claimed heat sink, as the claimed grounding shield, and (its legs) as the claimed grounding protrusions, and that this does not show the claimed grounding shield creating an electrical coupling between grounding protrusions of the heat sink and the grounding tracks of the printed circuit board. The argument is persuasive. Claim 1 recites the grounding shield as a structure that creates an electrical coupling between the grounding protrusions and the grounding tracks; a structure cannot create a coupling between itself and the tracks. In Yow the sidewalls of shield 306 are coupled directly to the grounding pins of the printed circuit board by solder (Yow, description of FIG. 2: sidewall portions 120, grounding pins 208, solder 125, made applicable to IC package 300 and PCB 352 by the description of FIG. 3), and heat sink 380 is a separate base-and-fin component thermally coupled, for example by a thermally conductive glue, to the outer surface 386 of the shield (Yow, description of FIG. 3; see also Remarks at 6, citing Yow ¶[0063]). Accordingly, the rejection of claims 1–5 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) over Yow, and the rejections of claims 6–15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Yow in view of Ta and/or Wong, are withdrawn. The rejection of claims 19 and 20, which recite grounding protrusions of the heat sink and a gap bridged by the grounding shield, is withdrawn for the same reason.
Claims 16–18 (Yow). Applicant's statement that the "same deficiency" applies to claim 16 is not persuasive. Claim 16 does not recite grounding protrusions, grounding tracks, or any coupling "between" them. It recites providing a heat sink, a printed circuit board and a grounding shield, coupling the grounding shield to the heat sink, and coupling the grounding shield to the printed circuit board. Yow discloses each step with heat sink 380 read alone as the claimed heat sink and electromagnetic shield 306 read as the claimed grounding shield, as set out below. The rejection of claims 16 and 17 is maintained in restated form; the rejection of claim 18 is restated as a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Ta and Wong. Applicant's statement that Ta and Wong "are silent as to the claimed subject matter" is noted. Neither reference is relied upon in this action for the grounding protrusions of claim 1. Wong is relied upon below only for claim 15.
New grounds; finality. The rejections below of claims 1–15, 19 and 20, and the restated rejections of claims 16–18, rest on references and mappings not previously applied. Because the claims have not been amended, these grounds were not necessitated by amendment, and this action is therefore made NON-FINAL. See MPEP 706.07(a).
Claim Interpretation
The following interpretations under the broadest reasonable interpretation standard (MPEP 2111) are applied in the rejections below.
"Grounding shield" and "heat sink" are distinct elements. Claim 1 lists the heat sink, the grounding shield and the printed circuit board separately, and recites the grounding shield as "configured to create an electrical coupling between the one or more grounding protrusions and the one or more grounding tracks." A structure that creates a coupling between two things is not one of those two things. The grounding shield is therefore read as a conductive structure distinct from the grounding protrusions, interposed in the electrical path between a grounding protrusion of the heat sink and a grounding track of the printed circuit board. This reading is consistent with the specification, in which grounding shield 202 has a grounding rail 501 whose electrical contacts 502 complete a circuit between grounding protrusions 401 of heat sink 201 and grounding track 301, the protrusions being configured not to touch the track so that a gap 801 is bridged by the shield (specification ¶¶ [0029], [0032]), and with claims 11, 19 and 20. The grounding shield may be attached to, and may be an assembly of more than one conductive part (e.g., a rail and a base, or a cap and a fence) that together carry current from the protrusion to the track; claim 5 ("the grounding shield comprises a grounding rail") contemplates a multi-part shield.
"The heat sink comprises one or more grounding protrusions." "Comprises" is open-ended. A grounding protrusion is any conductive portion of the heat sink that projects from a surface of the heat sink toward the printed circuit board (claim 19) and participates in the ground path. It need not be a discrete added part.
"Configured to align with at least a portion of the one or more grounding tracks." The claim does not require the protrusion to have the same footprint as the track or to touch it (claim 19 recites a gap). It requires that, when the heat sink is coupled to the printed circuit board, a protrusion be positioned in registration with some portion of a grounding track so that the grounding shield can couple the two. A protrusion positioned over, or directly against, a portion of a ground conductor meets the limitation.
"Grounding track." The specification describes grounding track 301 as the structure of printed circuit board 203 with which the grounding protrusion aligns and to which the grounding shield electrically couples the protrusion (specification ¶¶ [0026], [0029], [0032]); it does not further limit the track's form. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation the term reads on any exposed conductor of the printed circuit board that is connected to the board's ground — a trace, a ring of pads, or a ring of plated through-holes connected to a ground plane.
"Grounding rail" (claim 5). An elongated conductive member of the grounding shield that carries the electrical contacts (specification ¶ [0029]). A planar frame or collar from which spring fingers extend is a grounding rail under this reading.
"Configured to" recitations. Recitations such as "configured to deform," "configured to enable airflow … to pass through" and "configured to form a Faraday cage" are read as requiring structure capable of performing the recited function. A prior-art structure that is capable of so performing meets the limitation. MPEP 2114.
"Fan aperture" (claims 13–15). An opening in the heat sink through which a fan moves air. The claim does not require that the fan be mounted in the opening.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yow et al. (US 2024/0098952 A1, hereinafter "Yow"). Yow was published March 21, 2024, before the June 17, 2024 effective filing date of this application, and names another inventor; it was effectively filed September 16, 2022.Re claim 16: Yow discloses a method of creating an electrical shield around one or more central processing units and/or one or more chipsets (electromagnetic shield 306 of IC package 300 encloses chip 304 and prevents EMI noise from radiating through the package; chip 304 corresponds to chip 104, which may be a central processing unit and is a CPU in the illustrated example; Yow, descriptions of FIGS. 1 and 3) comprising steps of: providing a heat sink (heat sink 380, with base 382 and fins 384; Yow, description of FIG. 3), a printed circuit board (PCB 352; Yow, description of FIG. 3), and a grounding shield (electromagnetic shield 306, whose sidewall portions are electrically grounded to the printed circuit board; Yow, descriptions of FIGS. 1–3); coupling the grounding shield to the heat sink (base 382 of heat sink 380 is thermally coupled to the outer surface 386 of shield 306, for example by a thermally conductive glue; Yow, description of FIG. 3); and coupling the grounding shield to the printed circuit board (the sidewall portions of the shield are disposed on the printed circuit board and soldered to its grounding pins to electrically ground the shield to the board; Yow, description of FIG. 2, applicable to the FIG. 3 embodiment, and block 608 of method 600 in FIG. 6).
Re claim 17: Yow discloses using the grounding shield in conjunction with the heat sink and a grounding track on the printed circuit board to form a Faraday cage and/or electrical shielding around the one or more central processing units and/or the one or more chipsets (shield 306, grounded to the printed circuit board through its grounding pins, encloses chip 304 above the board and shields it electromagnetically; heat sink 380 sits on the shield; Yow, descriptions of FIGS. 2, 3 and 6). The grounding pins and the ground conductor to which they connect are a grounding track under the interpretation above.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: (1) determining the scope and contents of the prior art; (2) ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue; (3) resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art; and (4) considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. MPEP 2141.
Ground A — Daughtry in view of Andric
Claims 1–9, 11, 12, 16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daughtry, Jr. et al. (US 2015/0201533 A1, hereinafter "Daughtry") in view of Andric et al. (US 6,515,861 B1, hereinafter "Andric").
Re claim 1: Daughtry discloses a system (heat-dissipating EMI/RFI shield 100 mounted on a printed circuit board; ¶[0013], ¶[0023], FIGS. 1A, 2) comprising: a heat sink (heat sink 150, having platform 152, fins 154 and shoe or boss 156, of aluminum, copper or steel; ¶[0019]), a grounding shield (shield cap 130 together with shield base 110 — the cap has top 132, collar 136 and spring fingers 138 along the collar perimeter, the base has sidewalls 112 and mounting legs 114, both are electrically conductive and the cap is attached to the base; ¶[0014], ¶[0017]; the two may be constructed as a single unit, ¶[0018]), and a printed circuit board (PCB 200; ¶[0021]); wherein the heat sink comprises one or more grounding protrusions (boss 156 projects from the underside of platform 152 toward the printed circuit board; it is an inverted "U" with top 182 and sidewalls 184, and is the part of the heat sink through which the heat sink is grounded; ¶[0019], ¶[0024], ¶[0025], FIGS. 1B, 5); wherein the printed circuit board comprises one or more grounding tracks (plated through-holes 211, arranged in a ring around component 210 and connected to a ground plane within the board; ¶[0021], FIG. 2); wherein the one or more grounding protrusions are configured to align with at least a portion of the one or more grounding tracks when the heat sink is coupled to the printed circuit board — see the discussion of Andric below; and wherein the grounding shield is configured to create an electrical coupling between the one or more grounding protrusions and the one or more grounding tracks when the heat sink is coupled to the printed circuit board (spring fingers 138 of the cap frictionally engage boss 156; the cap is attached to the base; the base's legs 114 are soldered into the ground-connected through-holes 211; the heat sink is thereby "electrically connected, and grounded, to the shield cap 130, shield base 110, and PCB 200"; ¶[0019], ¶[0021], ¶[0024], ¶[0027]). Daughtry does not disclose that the grounding protrusion is positioned in registration with a portion of the grounding track. In Daughtry the boss 156 sits over component 210 at the center of the assembly while the ring of ground through-holes 211 lies at the periphery, under the base's legs (FIG. 2). Andric discloses a heatsink 120 for an integrated circuit having a base 122, fins 124 and a projecting portion 126 around the base (col. 3, ll. 7–12). The projecting portion extends from the base toward the package for a distance sufficient to electrically couple the heatsink to an exposed ground plane 116 of the package, which is exposed as a ring around the die (col. 4, ll. 5–14; col. 3, ll. 52–56), so that the heatsink, its projecting portion and the ground plane together form a Faraday cage around the die (col. 4, l. 66 – col. 5, l. 10). Andric teaches that the projecting portion need not be continuous (col. 5, ll. 11–17), that its height is chosen to provide tolerance in the assembly (col. 4, ll. 30–34), and that the electrical interface between the projecting portion and the ground conductor may be made by a conductive material other than solder (col. 4, ll. 17–28). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the heat sink 150 of Daughtry with a conductive projecting portion extending from platform 152 toward the printed circuit board at the periphery of the heat sink, positioned over the ring of ground-connected through-holes 211, with the spring fingers 138 of shield cap 130 engaging that projecting portion, as taught by Andric. The motivation is Andric's: a grounded projecting portion at the periphery of the heat sink closes the sides of the shielding enclosure and makes the heat sink itself a wall of the Faraday cage around the component (col. 4, l. 66 – col. 5, l. 10), and placing the projection over the ground conductor gives the shortest ground path. Daughtry already grounds the heat sink through the cap and base to those through-holes (¶[0024]) and already contemplates that the cap, base and heat sink may take any shape appropriate to the component (¶[0017], ¶[0032]) and that the spring fingers need not extend along the entire collar perimeter (¶[0020]); the modification uses the existing ground path with the engagement point moved to the periphery. In the modified Daughtry the projecting portion of the heat sink is aligned with the ring of grounding through-holes 211 when the heat sink is coupled to the board, and the shield cap and base create the electrical coupling between that projecting portion and the through-holes, as claimed.Re claim 2: Daughtry discloses wherein the printed circuit board comprises one or more central processing units and/or one or more chipsets (component 210 is a semiconductor circuit "such as but not limited to a microprocessor"; ¶[0011], ¶[0021]). The modified Daughtry discloses wherein the one or more grounding protrusions are configured to form a shielding perimeter around the one or more central processing units and/or the one or more chipsets (Andric's projecting portion 126 extends around the base of the heatsink and encloses the die, col. 3, ll. 7–12, col. 5, ll. 1–10; Daughtry's own boss sidewalls 184 likewise surround component 210, ¶[0025]).
Re claim 3: Daughtry discloses wherein the grounding shield is configured to surround the one or more central processing units and/or the one or more chipsets along the shielding perimeter (shield base 110 is configured to surround component 210; shield cap 130 attaches to the base and, with the other components, encases the component; ¶[0014], ¶[0017]).Re claim 4: Daughtry discloses wherein a combination of the heat sink, the grounding shield, and the one or more grounding protrusions is configured to form a Faraday cage around the one or more central processing units and/or the one or more chipsets (with the base connected to the board's ground layer, the base, cap and heat sink are each grounded and the assembly "may have the structure of a Faraday cage" with the component between the shield and the ground plane; ¶[0026]). Andric teaches the same result for a heatsink with a grounded projecting portion (col. 4, l. 66 – col. 5, l. 10).Re claim 5: Daughtry discloses wherein the grounding shield comprises a grounding rail (collar 136 of the cap, an elongated conductive member along whose perimeter the spring fingers 138 are positioned; ¶[0017], FIG. 1B).Re claim 6:
Daughtry discloses wherein the grounding rail comprises a plurality of electrical contacts (a plurality of spring fingers 138 positioned along the collar perimeter; ¶[0017], ¶[0020]).
Re claim 7: Daughtry discloses wherein each of the plurality of electrical contacts are configured to deform when engaged with the one or more grounding protrusions (the fingers are springs that frictionally engage the boss when it is inserted through the collar; ¶[0019], ¶[0020], ¶[0024]). A spring finger that frictionally grips an inserted member deflects to do so.
Re claim 8: Daughtry discloses wherein each of the plurality of electrical contacts are spaced apart from each other to form spacings along the grounding rail (the fingers 138 are discrete fingers spaced along the collar, FIGS. 1B and 5; some embodiments omit fingers along part of the perimeter, ¶[0020]).
Re claim 9: Daughtry discloses wherein one or more of the plurality of electrical contacts comprise a spring clip (spring fingers 138; Daughtry names clips and springs among the structures that engage the boss; ¶[0017], ¶[0020]).
Re claim 11: Daughtry discloses wherein the grounding shield comprises one or more fasteners configured to secure and/or fix the grounding shield to the heat sink (push pins 170 pass through heat sink apertures 158 and anchor in the board, providing "a compressive fit between the heat sink 150, shield cap 130, shield base 110 and PCB 200"; ¶[0022]; screws, bolts, clips and the like may be used instead, ¶[0022]). The pins fix the cap against the heat sink's platform 152 (¶[0019]).
Re claim 12: Daughtry discloses wherein the one or more fasteners are configured to enable electrical contacts to move relative to the one or more grounding protrusions when the one or more fasteners are fixed to the heat sink (with the pins 170 set, the spring fingers 138 remain resilient members that frictionally engage the boss and can deflect relative to it; ¶[0019], ¶[0020], ¶[0022]).
Re claim 16: Daughtry discloses a method of creating an electrical shield around one or more central processing units and/or one or more chipsets (the shield assembly limits transmission of EMI/RFI from component 210, which may be a microprocessor; ¶[0011], ¶[0026]) comprising steps of: providing a heat sink, a printed circuit board, and a grounding shield (heat sink 150, PCB 200, shield cap 130 with shield base 110; ¶[0013], ¶[0034]); coupling the grounding shield to the heat sink (the heat sink is mounted to the cap by inserting boss 156 through collar 136 so that fingers 138 engage it; ¶[0024], ¶[0034]); and coupling the grounding shield to the printed circuit board (the base's legs 114 are reflow-soldered into through-holes 211 and the cap is pressed onto the base; ¶[0021], ¶[0034]). Claim 16 is included in this ground so that claims 19 and 20 may be addressed on the same art; it is separately anticipated by Yow as set out above.
Re claim 19: Daughtry discloses providing one or more grounding protrusions extending from a surface of the heat sink toward the printed circuit board when the heat sink, the grounding shield, and the printed circuit board are assembled together (boss 156 extends from the underside of platform 152 through the collar toward the board; ¶[0019], ¶[0025], ¶[0034]); and providing a gap between the one or more grounding protrusions and the printed circuit board when the heat sink, the grounding shield, and the printed circuit board are assembled together (the boss stops at component 210, which rests in channel 180 against top 182; the boss does not reach the board; ¶[0025], FIG. 3). In the modified Daughtry the peripheral projecting portion likewise stops short of the board, Andric's projection height being chosen for assembly tolerance (col. 4, ll. 30–34), and the shield cap's fingers engage it above the board.Re claim 20: Daughtry discloses configuring the grounding shield to electrically bridge the gap between the one or more grounding protrusions and the printed circuit board when the heat sink, the grounding shield, and the printed circuit board are assembled together (the cap's fingers engage the boss above the board; the cap attaches to the base; the base's legs are soldered into the board's ground-connected holes; the heat sink is grounded to the board through the cap and base; ¶[0024], ¶[0027]).
Ground B (alternative) — Gilliland in view of Andric
Claims 1–9, 11, 12, 16, 19 and 20 are, in the alternative, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilliland et al. (US 2007/0097653 A1, hereinafter "Gilliland") in view of Andric.
Re claim 1: Gilliland discloses a system (heat sink assembly 300 on a printed circuit board; ¶[0026], FIGS. 3, 6) comprising: a heat sink (heat sink 310, of aluminum or copper, with fins; ¶[0027], ¶[0029]), a grounding shield (grounding spring 302, an electrically conductive, elastically deformable planar member with central aperture 306 and a plurality of double-jointed spring fingers 304, interposed between the heat sink and the printed circuit board; ¶[0024], ¶[0027], ¶[0030]), and a printed circuit board (the PCB on which the module is mounted; ¶[0024], ¶[0031]; PCB 510 in FIG. 5);
wherein the printed circuit board comprises one or more grounding tracks (conductive pads on the surface of the PCB electrically connected to its ground plane; ¶[0031]; solder pads 640, connected to a ground plane in PCB 605, along the side edges of the module, ¶[0037], FIG. 6); wherein the grounding shield is configured to create an electrical coupling between the heat sink and the one or more grounding tracks when the heat sink is coupled to the printed circuit board (the spring's base portion contacts peripheral surface 314 of the heat sink and is secured and electrically connected to it by screws 320; the tips of fingers 304 contact the conductive pads; "heat sink 310 is grounded thereto through the grounding spring 302"; ¶[0027], ¶[0031]). Gilliland does not disclose wherein the heat sink comprises one or more grounding protrusions or wherein the one or more grounding protrusions are configured to align with at least a portion of the one or more grounding tracks: the peripheral surface 314 on which the spring is mounted is a flat surface recessed relative to the central surface 312 (¶[0028]), and nothing projects from it toward the pads. Andric discloses the heatsink projecting portion 126 described in Ground A above: a conductive projection around the base of the heatsink extending toward the package to a ground ring, discontinuous if desired, with its height chosen for tolerance, completing a Faraday cage around the die (col. 3, ll. 7–12; col. 4, ll. 5–14, 30–34; col. 4, l. 66 – col. 5, l. 17). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the heat sink 310 of Gilliland with a conductive projecting portion extending from its peripheral surface 314 toward the printed circuit board over the ground pads, with the fingers 304 of grounding spring 302 bridging from that projection to the pads, as taught by Andric, in order to close the sides of the shielded volume around the module and make the heat sink a wall of the Faraday cage (Andric col. 4, l. 66 – col. 5, l. 10). Gilliland's spring is designed to accommodate a wide variety of installed heights of the heat sink relative to the PCB (¶[0035]); a projection that shortens the remaining gap is within the spring's working range, and Andric expressly contemplates an electrical interface other than solder at the projection (col. 4, ll. 17–28). In the modified Gilliland the projecting portion of the heat sink is aligned with the ground pads when the heat sink is coupled to the board, and the grounding spring creates the electrical coupling between the projection and the pads, as claimed.
Re claims 2–4: Gilliland discloses that the module is an EMI-producing electronic component such as a microprocessor (¶[0027]) and that the eight fingers 304 extend from each side of aperture 306 "so that the module will be surrounded thereby" (¶[0031]); Andric's projecting portion extends around the heatsink base and encloses the die (col. 3, ll. 7–12; col. 5, ll. 1–10) and, with the grounded heatsink, forms a Faraday cage (col. 4, l. 66 – col. 5, l. 10). The modified Gilliland therefore meets claims 2, 3 and 4 for the reasons stated for those claims in Ground A.
Re claims 5–9: Gilliland discloses a grounding rail (the generally planar base portion of grounding spring 302 from which the fingers extend; ¶[0024], ¶[0033]) carrying a plurality of electrical contacts (fingers 304; ¶[0031]) that deform when engaged (the spring is elastically deformable and the fingers are compressed on installation, movement of the tip being limited to the z-axis; ¶[0030], ¶[0035]), spaced apart along the rail (two fingers on each side of the aperture; ¶[0031], FIG. 3), and that are spring fingers, i.e. spring clips (¶[0026], ¶[0033]).
Re claims 11 and 12: Gilliland discloses fasteners securing the grounding shield to the heat sink (four screws 320 through the spring into threaded holes in the heat sink, "to thereby secure and electrically connect grounding spring 302 to heat sink 310"; ¶[0027]) and that with the screws fixed the fingers remain free to compress relative to the heat sink and, in the modified Gilliland, relative to the projecting portion (¶[0035]).
Re claims 16, 19 and 20: Gilliland discloses providing a heat sink, a printed circuit board and a grounding spring, securing the spring to the heat sink (screws 320; ¶[0027]) and contacting the spring's fingers to the ground pads of the printed circuit board (¶[0031]) to suppress EMI from the module (¶[0024]). In the modified Gilliland the projecting portion extends from the heat sink's peripheral surface toward the board, stops short of it (Andric col. 4, ll. 30–34; the fingers accommodate the installed height, Gilliland ¶[0035]), and the spring electrically bridges the remaining gap between the projection and the pads (¶[0031]), meeting claims 19 and 20.Claim 10 — Wahl
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daughtry in view of Andric, or in the alternative over Gilliland in view of Andric, and further in view of Wahl et al. (US 6,111,746, hereinafter "Wahl").
Re claim 10: The modified Daughtry and the modified Gilliland each disclose the spring-clip contacts of claim 9 engaging the heat sink's grounding protrusion. Neither discloses wherein the spring clip comprises a substantially u-shaped profile; Daughtry's fingers 138 are tabs along the collar and Gilliland's fingers 304 fold back through two v-shaped joints (¶[0033], FIG. 4). Wahl discloses a ground/EMI-shield spring clip 58 whose body is an elongated gripping portion 60 "in the form of a channel" that is urged onto the peripheral edge 54a of a conductive component so that the channel grips the edge (col. 3, ll. 1–6, 13–17); resilient legs 66 extend from the channel to contact a grounded chassis member (col. 3, ll. 18–24). In end view the channel is a U with two legs joined by a closed end (FIG. 8). Wahl teaches that such a channel clip easily engages an edge portion, holds without screws, and maintains or enhances ground contact and EMI/RFI shielding through expanded contact points (col. 3, ll. 53–61). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the spring contacts of the modified Daughtry (or modified Gilliland) as channel clips of substantially u-shaped profile that grip the edge of the heat sink's projecting portion, as taught by Wahl, in order to obtain a secure, screwless engagement of the contact with the protrusion that maintains ground contact over an extended contact area (Wahl col. 3, ll. 53–61). A u-shaped channel gripping a conductive edge is a known form for a grounding spring clip, and selecting it for the contacts of the grounding shield involves only the substitution of one known spring-clip profile for another with predictable results. See also MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B) (change of shape).
Claims 13 and 14 — Liu
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daughtry in view of Andric, or in the alternative over Gilliland in view of Andric, and further in view of Liu et al. (US 6,122,169, hereinafter "Liu"). Re claim 13: The modified Daughtry and the modified Gilliland each disclose the system of claim 2. Neither discloses wherein the heat sink comprises a fan aperture; both heat sinks are passive finned bodies. Liu discloses a die-cast conductive heat sink housing 32 having a base 34 from which a heat sink portion 40 and a shielding portion 54 both depend downward (col. 2, ll. 40–45). The heat sink portion defines an arch-shaped space 44 enclosed by a peripheral wall 42, with a cutout 52 at one end serving as an inlet for a fan 26 fixed within the space, fins 46 within the space, and an open end 421 (col. 2, ll. 44–62; FIGS. 1, 2). The shielding portion is integral with the heat sink portion, and its peripheral side wall forms a sealed space with the base around CPU 22 to provide EMI shielding (col. 2, ll. 63–67; col. 3, ll. 49–52). Liu's stated objects are EMI shielding of the protected component, good heat sink effectiveness with easy manufacture, and an even retaining force, against a prior art described as too high in profile (col. 1, ll. 20–23, 51–60). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the heat sink of the modified Daughtry (or modified Gilliland) with a fan aperture — an opening in the heat sink body receiving a fan — as taught by Liu, in order to increase the air moved across the fins and so the heat dissipated while keeping the assembly low in profile (Liu col. 1, ll. 20–23, 55–57; col. 2, ll. 53–62). Forced-air cooling of a finned heat sink is conventional, and placing the fan in an opening of the heat sink body is the arrangement Liu uses to achieve it.
Re claim 14: Liu discloses wherein at least a portion of the shielding perimeter forms at least a portion of the fan aperture: the fan space 44 lies directly against the shielding portion 54, and the wall that bounds the fan space on that side is the outer side wall of the shielding portion itself, the fan inlet cutout 52 being located at the junction of the two (FIG. 2). The heat sink portion and the shielding portion are integral parts of one die-cast conductive housing (col. 2, ll. 40–45, 63–67). In the combination the shielding perimeter of the heat sink (the grounding projection around the component) bounds one side of the fan opening in the same way, for the same reason Liu gives: an integrated housing in which the shielding wall and the fan cavity share structure yields a compact, easily manufactured assembly (col. 1, ll. 55–57; col. 3, ll. 49–55).
Claim 15 — Liu and Wong
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daughtry in view of Andric, or in the alternative over Gilliland in view of Andric, and further in view of Liu and Wong (US 6,205,026, hereinafter "Wong").Re claim 15: The modified Daughtry and the modified Gilliland each disclose the system of claim 8, in which the electrical contacts of the grounding rail are spaced apart to form spacings along the rail. Neither discloses wherein the heat sink comprises a fan aperture. Liu discloses a heat sink with a fan aperture as set out for claim 13, and the same reasoning applies. Neither reference expressly states wherein the spacings between each of the plurality of electrical contacts is configured to enable airflow from the fan aperture to pass through. Wong discloses a heat sink 106 grounded to a circuit board 101 through an EMI frame 260 having spaced spring tabs 264 and spaced legs 266, the frame closing "portions of the vertical space between the bottom of heat sink 106 and circuit board 101," with the width and spacing of the legs selected per application (col. 3, ll. 38–55), and a fan 302 mounted to the heat sink to move air across it (col. 4, ll. 22–25; FIG. 5). The spaces between the frame's tabs and legs are open, and air moved by the fan across the heat sink passes through them. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the spacings between the contacts of the grounding rail in the modified Daughtry (or modified Gilliland), once a fan aperture is provided in the heat sink as taught by Liu, are open passages through which the fan's airflow passes, as in Wong; the spacings are structurally capable of passing air, which is all the "configured to" recitation requires (MPEP 2114). Leaving the spacings open rather than closing them is the arrangement each of Daughtry, Gilliland and Wong already uses, and it preserves cooling airflow at the base of the heat sink, which a person of ordinary skill would have recognized as desirable once a fan is added.
Claim 18 — Yow in view of Gilliland
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yow in view of Gilliland.
Re claim 18: Yow discloses the method of claim 16 as set out above. Yow does not disclose configuring at least a portion of the grounding shield to be able to move relative to the heat sink when the grounding shield is coupled to the heat sink; Yow's shield 306 is fixed to base 382 of heat sink 380, for example by a thermally conductive glue (Yow, description of FIG. 3). Gilliland discloses a grounding shield (grounding spring 302) coupled to a heat sink by screws (¶[0027]) in which a portion of the shield — the spring fingers 304 — remains able to move relative to the heat sink, compressing along the z-axis on installation, so that the shield accommodates a wide variety of installed heights of the heat sink relative to the printed circuit board while keeping the tips on the ground pads (¶[0024], ¶[0035]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the grounding shield of Yow's method with a portion able to move relative to the heat sink when coupled to it — compliant spring contacts between the shield and the printed circuit board's ground conductors — as taught by Gilliland, in order to accommodate variation in the installed height of the heat sink and package relative to the board and keep the ground contact reliable (Gilliland ¶[0035]). Yow's own design faces the same height-tolerance concern: the shield's sidewall portions must protrude beyond the substrate, about 0.5 mm to 1 mm, to reach the board's grounding pins (Yow, description of FIG. 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2004/0012939 – an EMI shield with spring tabs and ground pins between a flat-bottomed heat sink and a circuit board.
US 2001/0026440 – an EMI reduction device with spring fingers between a heat sink base and a circuit board.
/ZHENGFU J FENG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841October 9, 2026