DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s election, without traverse, of Group I, claims 1-7, in the reply filed on September 01st, 2026, is acknowledged. Non-elected invention of Groups III and III, claims 8-20 have been withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Action on merits of Group I, claims 1-7 as follows.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 06/17/2024 are acceptable.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nendai (US 2017/0133443, hereinafter as Nend ‘443) in view of Li (US 2020/0064734, hereinafter as Li ‘734).
Regarding Claim 1, Nend ‘443 teaches a display panel, wherein the display panel comprises a substrate layer (Fig. 6, (103); [0033]), and an anode layer (Fig. 6, (111); [0033]), a first pixel define layer (Fig. 6, (151); [0033]), a polymer film layer (Fig. 6, (152); [0049]), an organic functional layer (Fig. 6, (112-115); [0033]), and a cathode layer (Fig. 6, (116); [0033]) sequentially disposed on a surface of the substrate layer;
Thus, Nend ‘443 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “the polymer film layer is formed by reacting the first pixel define layer with the organic light-induced material under a predetermined condition, wherein the organic light-induced material at least comprises a hydroxyl group and an unsaturated carbon-carbon double bond”.
Li ‘734 teaches the polymer film layer is formed by the reaction of the organic light-induced material coated on the surface, distal from the anode layer, of the first pixel define layer and the first pixel define layer under the predetermined condition, and the organic light-induced material at least comprises the hydroxyl group and the unsaturated carbon-carbon double bond (e.g. benzophenone; Fig. 9; [0055] and [0074]-[0083]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Nend ‘443 by forming a polymer film layer by reacting the first pixel define layer with the organic light-induced material under a predetermined condition, wherein the organic light-induced material at least comprises a hydroxyl group and an unsaturated carbon-carbon double bond for the purpose of providing a pixel definition structure which preventing the inkjet solution from spreading on the top of the pixel definition structure to contaminate adjacent pixels, causing cross-coloring) (see para. [0004]) as suggested by Li ‘734.
Product by process limitation:
The expression “is formed by the reaction of the organic light-induced material coated on the surface, distal from the anode layer, of the first pixel define layer and the first pixel define layer under the predetermined condition” as recited in base claim 1 and “the first polymer is generated by decomposing the first pixel define layer under ultraviolet light irradiation” as recited in dependent claim 3, are taken to be a product by process limitation and is given no patentable weight. A product by process claim directed to the product per se, no matter how actually made, In re Hirao, 190 USPQ 15 at 17 (footnote 3). See In re Fessman, 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974); In re Marosi et al., 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972); In re Pilkington, 411 F.2d 1345, 1348, 162 USPQ 145, 147 (CCPA 1969); Buono v. Yankee Maid Dress Corp., 77 F.2d 274, 279, 26 USPQ 57, 61 (2d. Cir. 1935); and particularly In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), all of which make it clear that it is the patentability of the final structure of the product “gleaned” from the process steps, which must be determined in a “product by process” claim, and not the patentability of the process. See also MPEP 2113. Moreover, an old and obvious product produced by a new method is not a patentable product, whether claimed in “product by process” claims or not.
Fig. 6 (Nend ‘443)
Regarding Claims 2, Li ‘734 teaches ultraviolet light irradiation (see para. [0048] and [0067]).
Regarding Claims 3, Li ‘734 teaches the first polymer is generated by decomposing the first pixel define layer under ultraviolet light irradiation (see Fig. 9; [0067], reacting with the hydroxyl group of the organic light-induced material (e.g. benzophenone; [0055]), and polymerizing (see para. [0048] and [0078]-[0080]) with the unsaturated carbon-carbon double bond of the organic light-induced material.
Regarding Claims 4, Li ‘734 teaches the organic light-induced material further comprises a benzophenone functional group; and the first polymer at least comprises the benzophenone functional group (see para. [0055]).
Regarding Claim 5, Li ‘734 teaches the polymer film layer at least comprises the second polymer (see Fig. 10); wherein the second polymer is generated by decomposing the first pixel define layer twice under ultraviolet light irradiation, reacting with the hydroxyl group of the organic light-induced material, and polymerizing with the unsaturated carbon-carbon double bond of the organic light-induced material (e.g benzophenone; [0055]).
Regarding Claim 6, Li ‘734 teaches the benzophenone functional group; and the second polymer at least comprises the benzophenone functional group (see para. [0055]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nend ‘443 and Li ‘734 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakamura (US 2012/0228603, hereinafter as Naka ‘603).
Regarding Claim 7, Li ‘734 teaches a polymer film (black dot; see Fig. 10; para. [0077]).
Thus, Nend ‘443 and Li ‘734 are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “a second pixel define layer, wherein the second pixel define layer is disposed between the polymer film layer and the organic functional layer”.
Naka ‘603 teaches a second pixel define layer (Fig. 2a, (150); [0037]), wherein the second pixel define layer (150) is disposed between the barrier layer (143b) and the organic functional layer (160).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Nend ‘443 and Li ‘734 by having a second pixel define layer, wherein the second pixel define layer is disposed between the polymer film layer and the organic functional layer in order to provide an organic EL display that has a reduced optical loss and high efficiency (see para. [0017]) as suggested by Naka ‘603.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to semiconductor devices:
Kim et al. (US 2018/0261656 A1)
Matsumoto (US 2018/0113383 A1)
Park (US 2015/0333110 A1)
Kim (US 2011/0114957 A1)
Park et al. (US 2005/0046342 A1)
For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
/DZUNG TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893