Detailed Action
This communication is in response to the Arguments and Amendments filed on 12/11/2025.
Any previous objection/rejection not mentioned in this Office Action has been withdrawn by the Examiner.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Claims 1-20 are rejected. Hence, this action has been made Final.
Claims 1, 10, and 16 are independent, are method, apparatus, and apparatus claims, respectively.
Apparent priority: 6/16/2023.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/27/2026 6/4/2026 3/26/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The Applicant has amended the claims to include “from a persistent data storage controlled by the user;” and “session, and where the current session is allocated a temporary data storage controlled by the first foundation model;” “model, where the second session state is allocated a second temporary data storage controlled by the second foundation model;”
With regard to the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejections, Applicant notes (2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (hereinafter "2019 PEG")). Step 1 of the 2019 PEG entails considering whether the claimed subject matter falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. § 101 (process, machine, manufacture, and composition of matter). Claims 1- 20 recite methods and apparatus that e.g., obtain a user context from a persistent data storage controlled by the user; and cause the allocation of a temporary data storage controlled by the first foundation model. Consequently, the presented claims are directed to statutory subject matter under Step 1 of the § 101 analysis.
Examiner notes Claim 1 is a method claim and directed to the machine or manufacture category of patentable subject matter. Claim 10 is an apparatus claim and directed to the process category of patentable subject matter. Claim 16 is an apparatus claim and is directed to the machine or manufacture category of patentable subject matter.
Applicant notes Step 2A of the 2019 PEG is a two-prong inquiry. Under the first prong, the Office must determine if the claimed subject matter recites a judicial exception; if a claim does not recite a judicial exception, then the claim is patent eligible. A claim that falls within a judicial exception requires further analysis under the second prong. First Prong: The 2019 PEG recognizes three judicial exceptions: (a) mathematical concepts,
(b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and (c) mental processes. The Office has failed to identify any judicial exception that the claims fall under. Per pages 2 and 3 of the Office Action, the Office notes (with emphasis added) Applicant reminds the Examiner that they must identify which judicial exception they are analyzing the claim under, such that the Applicant may appropriately respond. Applicant further notes that since no judicial exception has been articulated (and Applicant believes none applies), the claims should be patent eligible under the first prong of Step 2A.
Claims 1-20 are not directed to a judicial exception under the first prong of Step 2A, the claims are patent eligible for at least a first basis.
Examiner notes that claims 1, 10, and 16 are directed to patentable subject matter (method, apparatus and apparatus). “Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title.”
Examiner notes The claims are directed to judicial exception mental process grouping.
Examiner notes the claims at a high level recite the performance of cognitive or mental-like tasks (e.g., A human can… “obtain a prompt”, “obtain context”, “open a session”, “generate a state”, “initialize”, and “transmit”). Courts and the USPTO have recognized that claims, which at a high level, recite the performance of cognitive or mental tasks may be placed in the mental process grouping, even if implemented by machines (see examples in the August 2025 Memo and cases like SAP, Electric Power Group). Examiner notes the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Applicant notes Second Prong: Even assuming arguendo that claims 1-20 are subsumed within the aforementioned judicial exception (a point the Applicant does not concede), Applicant notes that a claim that integrates a judicial exception into a practical application is patent eligible under the second prong of Step 2A. According to the 2019 PEG, a judicial exception that is applied with (or applied by use of) a particular machine, may be indicative of integration within a practical application. Amended claims 1-20 recite persistent data storage controlled by a user, and a temporary data storage allocated to a foundation model. Applicant submits that this suffices to integrate the claimed subject matter within a practical application. Consequently, Applicant believes the presented claims constitute patent eligible subject matter under the second prong of Step 2A. Claims 1-20 integrates a judicial exception into a practical application under the second prong of Step 2A, the claims are patent eligible for at least a second basis. Applicant notes Step 2B of the 2019 PEG While Applicant believes that the claimed subject matter survives either/both prongs of the Step 2A analysis, Applicant provides additional comments with regard to Step 2B of the 2019 PEG. Applicant believes claims 1-20 (as amended herein) each contain additional elements that render the claim patent eligible in view of the "significantly more" guidance. Specifically, the additional elements recited in the claims provide-9 - "significantly more" than the judicial exception (at least) because the additional elements recite more than well-understood, routine, and/or conventional computer functionality. As but one such example, amended claim 1 recites "generating a personalization state based on the user context and a record of the previous session; initializing the current session with the personalization state." In other words, the current session which is running from temporary data storage allocated to a foundation model, is initialized based on a personalization state that has been retrieved from persistent data storage controlled by a user. This allows the user to e.g., maintain a persistent context window regardless of the foundation model pruning the ongoing sessions (see also, par. [0055] of Applicant's specification as filed'). Thus, the claims, when viewed as a whole, perform activities other than conventional computer processing. Applicant submits that each of the claims encompass inventive concepts that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Examiner notes the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using processor, storage, and general-purpose CPU, model (Naming neural components without structure, constrained parameterizations or training/regimen steps, does not automatically transform an abstract mental processing claim into a patent eligible claim) is noted as a general computer. The recited elements appear to be routine, conventional uses of models and generic software components, and therefore fail to supply an inventive concept. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Further, the additional limitations in the claims noted above are directed towards insignificant solution activity. The claims are not patent eligible.
The Applicant’s arguments and amendments do not overcome the 35 U.S. C. 101 rejection.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of the independent claims 1, 10 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, Applicant’s amendments to the independent claims have caused a new interpretation of the claims. Hence, a new grounds of rejection have been made in view of Bendale (U.S. Patent Number US 20230281466 A1).
Regarding claims 2-5, 11-15 and 17-18, rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 Applicant notes the claims depend on independent claims and are therefore novel. Examiner notes the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, Applicant’s amendments to the independent claims have caused a new interpretation of the claims. Hence, a new grounds of rejection have been made in view of Bendale (U.S. Patent Number US 20230281466 A1) in view of ANANTHANARAYANAN (U.S. Patent Number US 20240419698 A1).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 Applicant notes the claims depend on independent claims and are therefore novel. Examiner notes the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, Applicant’s amendments to the independent claims have caused a new interpretation of the claims. Hence, a new grounds of rejection have been made in view of Bendale (U.S. Patent Number US 20230281466 A1) in view of Agarwal (U.S. Patent Number US 20180067991 A1) in view of ANANTHANARAYANAN (U.S. Patent Number US 20240419698 A1).
Regarding claims 6-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 Applicant notes The claims depend on claim 5 and incorporate its novel features. Examiner notes claim 5 the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, Applicant’s amendments to the independent claims have caused a new interpretation of the claims. Hence, a new grounds of rejection have been made in view of
in view of Bendale (U.S. Patent Number US 20230281466 A1) in view of ANANTHANARAYANAN (U.S. Patent Number US 20240419698 A1), and further in view of He (U.S. Patent Number US 20240362286 A1)/DUTTA (U.S. Patent Number US 20210192800 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The independent Claims are directed to statutory categories:
Claim 1 is a method claim and directed to the machine or manufacture category of patentable subject matter.
Claim 10 is an apparatus claim and directed to the process category of patentable subject matter.
Claim 16 is an apparatus claim and is directed to the machine or manufacture category of patentable subject matter.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Claim 1 recites,
“1. A method for emulating session persistence, comprising: obtaining a prompt from a user;
obtaining a user context from a persistent data storage controlled by the user; [This relates to a human obtaining context through observation in the human mind.]
opening a current session with a first foundation model, where the current session is different than a previous session, and where the current session is allocated a temporary data storage controlled by the first foundation model; [This relates to a human opening a session.]
generating a personalization state based on the user context and a record of the previous session; [This relates to a human generating a personalization state using pen and paper.]
initializing the current session with the personalization state; and [This relates to a human initializing a session using pen and paper.]
transmitting the prompt to the first foundation model within the current session. [This relates to a human transmitting a prompt using pen and paper.]
The Dependent Claim does not include additional limitations that could incorporate the abstract idea into a practical application or cause the Claim as a whole to amount to significantly more than the underlying abstract idea.
Regarding Independent Claim 10, Claim 10 recites,
An apparatus, comprising: a processor; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
retrieve a conversation state from a persistent data storage controlled by a user; [This relates to a human retrieving a conversation state in the human mind.]
create a first session state with a first foundation model, where the first session state is allocated a temporary data storage controlled by the first foundation model, and where the first session state is initialized based on the conversation state; [This relates to a human creating a session state using pen and paper.]
and update the conversation state based on the first session state. [This relates to a human updating a conversation state using pen and paper.]
The Dependent Claim does not include additional limitations that could incorporate the abstract idea into a practical application or cause the Claim as a whole to amount to significantly more than the underlying abstract idea.
Regarding Independent Claim 16, Claim 16 recites,
An apparatus, comprising: a processor; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
open a first session state with a first foundation model, where the first session state is allocated a first temporary data storage controlled by the first foundation model; [This relates to a human opening a session state in the human mind using pen and paper or in the mind]
close the first session state with the first foundation model; [This relates to a human closing a session state in the human mind using pen and paper or in the mind]
update a conversation state based on the first session state in a persistent data storage controlled by a user; [This relates to a human updating a conversation state using pen and paper.]
open a second session state with a second foundation model, where the second session state is allocated a second temporary data storage controlled by the second foundation model; [This relates to a human opening a session state using pen and paper or in the human mind.]
and initialize the second session state based on the conversation state. [This relates to a human initializing a session using pen and paper.]
The Dependent Claim does not include additional limitations that could incorporate the abstract idea into a practical application or cause the Claim as a whole to amount to significantly more than the underlying abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claims 10 and 16 recites additional elements of “processor” “and storage “medium” For example, in [0183-0184] of the as filed specification, there is description of using processor and storage media and general-purpose CPU. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using processor, storage medium, and general-purpose CPU is noted as a general computer. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Further, the additional limitation in the claims noted above are directed towards insignificant solution activity. The claims are not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 2 recites,
“2. The method of claim 1, where the user context comprises at least one of an instantaneous user context, an accumulated user context, or a user profile. [This relates to a human creating user context using observation and pen and paper.] No additional limitations present.
Dependent claim 3 recites,
“3. The method of claim 1, where the previous session was previously opened and closed by the first foundation model. [This relates to a human opening and closing a model.] A model is an additional limitation.
Dependent claim 4 recites,
“4. The method of claim 1, where the previous session was previously opened and remains concurrently running on a second foundation model different than the first foundation model. [This relates to a human keeping an open session.] A model is an additional limitation.
Dependent claim 5 recites,
“5. The method of claim 1, where the first foundation model is a large language model. A model is an additional limitation.
Dependent claim 6 recites,
“6. The method of claim 5, where the user context comprises captions generated from computer-vision analysis of an image, and the record of the previous session comprises a text transcript. [This relates to a human generating captions using pen and paper.] No additional limitations present.
Dependent claim 7 recites,
“7. The method of claim 5, where the record of the previous session defines a user-specific token and the prompt references the user-specific token. [This relates to a human generating a token for reference using pen and paper.] No additional limitations present.
Dependent claim 8 recites,
“8. The method of claim 7, where the user-specific token is mapped to a combination of embedding vectors trained from a generic library. [This relates to a human mapping vectors to a library using pen and paper] No additional limitations present.
Dependent claim 9 recites,
“9. The method of claim 8, where the combination of embedding vectors encodes a relationship of the user-specific token to the user that is inferred from the user context. [This relates to a human encoding a vector of a relationship of a token to the user from the context using pen and paper] No additional limitations present.
Dependent claim 11 recites,
“11. The apparatus of claim 10, where the instructions further cause the processor to: create a second session state with a second foundation model, where the second session state is initialized based on the conversation state; and where the conversation state is updated based on a selected portion from the first session state or the second session state. [This relates to a human creating a session state using using pen and paper] A model is an additional limitation.
Dependent claim 12 recites,
“12. The apparatus of claim 11, further comprising a user interface and where the instructions further cause the processor to: obtain a user prompt from a user; This relates to a human obtaining a prompt from a user using pen and paper or voice]
generate a first query for the first foundation model and a second query for the second foundation model based on the user prompt; This relates to a human generating a prompt using pen and paper]
receive a first response from the first foundation model and a second response from the second foundation model; This relates to a human receiving a response using observation in the human mind.]
and select a single response from the first response and the second response to present to the user. [This relates to a human selecting a response using pen and paper] A model is an additional limitation.
Dependent claim 13 recites,
“13. The apparatus of claim 12, where the conversation state is updated based on the single response. [This relates to a human updating a conversation state on a single response using pen and paper.] No additional limitations present.
Dependent claim 14 recites,
“14. The apparatus of claim 12, where at least one of the first session state and the second session state is closed based on the single response. [This relates to a human closing a conversation state on a single response using pen and paper.] No additional limitations present.
Dependent claim 15 recites,
“15. The apparatus of claim 12, where both the first session state and the second session state are closed based on the single response. [This relates to a human closing a conversation state on a single response using pen and paper.] No additional limitations present.
Dependent claim 17 recites,
“17. The apparatus of claim 16, where the instructions further cause the processor to: generate a first query for the first foundation model based on first user context; and present a first response to the first query. [This relates to a human generating a query using pen and paper] A model is an additional limitation.
Dependent claim 18 recites,
“18. The apparatus of claim 17, where the instructions further cause the processor to: update the conversation state based on the first response and the first query; [This relates to a human updating a state based on a response and first query using pen and paper] generate a second query for the second foundation model based on second user context; and present a second response to the second query which references information from the first query. [This relates to a human generating a query based on a response and first query using pen and paper] A model is an additional limitation.
Dependent claim 19 recites,
“19. The apparatus of claim 17, further comprising a sensor and where the first query comprises instantaneous user context based on data captured by the sensor. [This relates to a human using sensory data to collect instantaneous context in the human mind.] No additional limitations present.
Dependent claim 20 recites,
“20. The apparatus of claim 17, further comprising a user-specific database and where the first query comprises accumulated user context retrieved from the user-specific database. [This relates to a human retrieving context from a database using visual data.] No additional limitations present.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Bendale (U.S. Patent Number US 20230281466 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Bendale teaches 1. (Currently amended) A method for emulating session persistence, comprising:
obtaining a prompt from a user; (see Bendale [0020] “input from a user”) obtaining a user context (see Bendale [0023] “the computing system may determine a context response corresponding to the input based on the input and interaction history”) from a persistent data storage controlled by the user; (see Bendale Figure 3, long-term memory (examiner interprets persistent data storage as long-term memory) session 1 storing information from user input, session 2 storing information from user input, session 3 stored information is retrieved (examiner notes the user inputs what information is retained by the system)”) opening a current session with a first foundation model, (see Bendale [0037] “To maintain the conversational model, the computing system may generate a conversational model with an initial seed data when a user interacts with the computing system”)(examiner interprets foundation model as “conversational model… seed data”) where the current session is different than a previous session, (see Bendale [0034] Session1, Session 2…”) and where the current session is allocated a temporary data storage controlled by the first foundation model; (see Bendale [0037] “The generated interaction summary may be stored to a data store at step 502.”) generating a personalization state based on the user context and a record of the previous session; (see Bendale [0038] “The machine-learning-based context engine 120 may start with seed data creating an initial model of a digital agent.”) initializing the current session with the personalization state; and (see Bendale [0038] “When the user asks a question to the digital agent, the machine-learning-based context engine 120 may formulate one or more queries for one or more external knowledge sources such as a search engine or knowledge graph by understanding the context of the question. While formulating the queries, the machine-learning-based context engine 120 may consider the expressed context of the question as well as long-term context from previous interactions (long-term memory).”) transmitting the prompt to the first foundation model within the current session.” (see Bendale [0038] “When an input 601, such as a question, from the user arrives, the machine-learning-based context engine 120 may generate a based response 602 using the conversational model 620. The machine-learning-based context engine 120 may also formulate one or more queries at step 603 based on context of the input and interaction history or query history stored in the data store 630.”)
Regarding Independent Claim 10, Bendale teaches 10. (Currently amended) An apparatus, comprising: a processor; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: (see Bendale [0070] claim 20 “one or more processors; and a non-transitory memory coupled to the processors”) retrieve a conversation state from a persistent data storage controlled by a user; (see Bendale [0023] “the computing system may determine a context response corresponding to the input based on the input and interaction history”) create a first session state with a first foundation model, (see Bendale [0037] “To maintain the conversational model, the computing system may generate a conversational model with an initial seed data when a user interacts with the computing system”)(examiner interprets foundation model as “conversational model… seed data”) where the first session state is allocated a temporary data storage controlled by the first foundation model, and(see Bendale [0037] “The generated interaction summary may be stored to a data store at step 502.”) where the first session state is initialized based on the conversation state; and (see Bendale [0038] “When the user asks a question to the digital agent, the machine-learning-based context engine 120 may formulate one or more queries for one or more external knowledge sources such as a search engine or knowledge graph by understanding the context of the question. While formulating the queries, the machine-learning-based context engine 120 may consider the expressed context of the question as well as long-term context from previous interactions (long-term memory).”) update the conversation state based on the first session state. (see Bendale [0037] “The computing system may update the conversational model based on the queried interaction summaries.”)
Regarding Independent Claim 16, Bendale teaches 16. An apparatus, comprising: a processor; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: (see Bendale [0070] claim 20 “one or more processors; and a non-transitory memory coupled to the processors”) open a first session state with a first foundation model, where the first session state is allocated a first temporary data storage controlled by the first foundation model; (see Bendale [0037] “FIG. 5 illustrates an example scenario for updating a conversational model. When a new user interacts with the computing system 200 for a first time by sending a first input, the machine-learning-based context engine 120 may generate a conversational model 520 (examiner interprets first model as “520”) for the user using a seed data 510 at step 501. At the end of session 1, the machine-learning-based context engine 120 may generate an interaction summary 530A. The machine-learning-based context engine 120 may extract high level features from raw conversational data to understand the category and topics of the conversation. Salient features/topics of the conversation may be stored in memory in form of interaction summary 530A.”) close the first session state with the first foundation model; (see Bendale [0037] end of session 1 (examiner interprets close as “end of session 1”) update a conversation state based on the first session state in a persistent data storage controlled by a user; (see Bendale [0037] “the machine-learning-based context engine 120 may generate an interaction summary 530A…. the conversation may be stored in memory in form of interaction summary 530A”) open a second session state with a second foundation model, where the second session state is allocated a second temporary data storage controlled by the second foundation model; and (see Bendale [0037] “When a second input from the user arrives, the machine-learning-based context engine 120 may query information 540A relevant to the second input from the stored interaction summary. The machine-learning-based context engine 120 may update the context model with the queried information 540A at step 503. The updated context model 520A (examiner interprets second foundation model as “520A”)”) (see Bendale [0037] “At step 504, the machine-learning-based context engine 120 may update the stored interaction summaries with the newly generated interaction summary 530B.”) initialize the second session state based on the conversation state. (see Bendale [0037] “may be used for generating a response corresponding to the second input from the user. At the end of the session, the machine-learning-based context engine 120 may generate an interaction summary 530B. At step 504, the machine-learning-based context engine 120 may update the stored interaction summaries with the newly generated interaction summary 530B.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 and 11-15, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bendale (U.S. Patent Number US 20230281466 A1) in view of ANANTHANARAYANAN (U.S. Patent Number US 20240419698 A1).
As to Claim 2, Bendale teaches 2. The method of claim 1,
Bendale does not specifically teach where the user context comprises at least one of an instantaneous user context, an accumulated user context, or a user profile. However, ANANTHANARAYANAN does teach this limitation (see ANANTHANARAYANAN, [0022] “In some examples, the context generation system may pre-select one or more context profiles based on historical data collective over performing a number of previous queries. For example, the context generation system may maintain a profile database of historical relevancy scores of various context profiles. When the context generation system receives a query, the context generation system may compare the query and the associated context with the profile database. The context generation system may determine a context profile by pre-selecting one or more context profiles that is predicted to generate a relevant response within a threshold latency. This pre-selection of context can significantly reduce utilization of processing resources on the cloud and/or on client devices.”)
Bendale and ANANTHANARAYANAN are in the same field of endeavor of signal processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bendale to incorporate where the user context comprises at least one of an instantaneous user context, an accumulated user context, or a user profile of ANANTHANARAYANAN. This allows improved relevance of the responses while reducing the cost of the foundation model's response as recognized by ANANTHANARAYANAN [0014].
As to Claim 3, Bendale teaches 3. The method of claim 1,
Bendale does not specifically teach where the previous session was previously opened and closed by the first foundation model. (see ANANTHANARAYANAN, [0064] “The response 442 may have an associated relevancy score. A response selector 444 may review the response 442 and determine 445 whether the responses 442 is above the response threshold. If the response 442 is above the response threshold, then the response selector 444 may submit the response 442 to the user. If the response 442 is not above the response threshold, then the response selector 444 may request that the context extractor 410 generate a new context profile. The context extractor 410 may generate a new context profile 438, the prompt generator 426 may generate a new prompt 440, and the foundation model 402 may generate a new response 442. In this manner, the context analysis system 434 may iteratively prepare responses to the query 436 until the response selector 444 identifies a response that is above the relevancy threshold. When the response selector 444 identifies a response that is above the relevancy threshold, the response selector 444 may select that response as a best response 446.”)
Bendale and ANANTHANARAYANAN are in the same field of endeavor of signal processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bendale to incorporate where the previous session was previously opened and closed by the first foundation model of ANANTHANARAYANAN. This allows improved relevance of the responses while reducing the cost of the foundation model's response as recognized by ANANTHANARAYANAN [0014].
Regarding Claim 4, Bendale 4. The method of claim 1,
Bendale does not specifically teach where the previous session was previously opened and remains concurrently running on a second foundation model different than the first foundation model. (see ANANTHANARAYANAN [0015] “In some embodiments, the foundation model is used in iteratively reviewing context profiles until a response is prepared that is within the relevancy threshold. For example, the foundation model may prepare a first context profile and prepare a first response based on the first context profile. If the first response is not within the relevancy threshold, then the foundation model may prepare a second context profile and prepare a second response based on the second context profile. If the second response is within the relevancy threshold, then the foundation model may prepare a final response based on the second context profile. If the second response is not within the relevancy threshold, then the foundation model may iteratively prepare further context profiles until one of the context profiles results in a response within the relevancy threshold. In some embodiments, subsequent context profiles have higher complexity with a higher associated cost. In some embodiments, subsequent context profiles are prepared based on a pre-determined pattern. In some embodiments, if the foundation model reaches a latency budget, then the foundation model selects the context profile associated with the response having the higher relevance.”)
Bendale and ANANTHANARAYANAN are in the same field of endeavor of signal processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bendale to incorporate where the previous session was previously opened and remains concurrently running on a second foundation model different than the first foundation model of ANANTHANARAYANAN. This allows improved relevance of the responses while reducing the cost of the foundation model's response as recognized by ANANTHANARAYANAN [0014].
Regarding Claim 5, Bendale teaches 5. The method of claim 1,
Bendale does not specifically teach where the first foundation model is a large language model. (See ANANTHANARAYANAN [0025] “For example, as used herein, a “foundation model” refers to an AI or ML model that is trained to generate an output in response to an input based on a large dataset. A foundation model may include a neural network having a significant number of parameters (e.g., billions of parameters) that the foundation model can consider in performing a task or otherwise generating an output based on an input. In one or more embodiments described herein, a foundation model is trained to generate a response to a query. In some implementations, a foundation model refers to a large language model (LLM). The foundation model be trained in pattern recognition and text prediction. For example, the foundation model may be trained to predict the next word of a particular sentence or phrase. In one or more implementations described herein, the foundation model refers specifically to an LLM, though other types of foundation models may be used in generating responses to input queries. Indeed, while one or more embodiments described herein refer to features associated with determining context for an LLM, similar features may apply to determining and/or generating context for other types of foundation models.”)
Bendale and ANANTHANARAYANAN are in the same field of endeavor of signal processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bendale to incorporate where the first foundation model is a large language model of ANANTHANARAYANAN. This allows improved relevance of the responses while reducing the cost of the foundation model's response as recognized by ANANTHANARAYANAN [0014].
Regarding Claim 11, Bendale teaches 11. The apparatus of claim 10,
Bendale does not specifically teach where the instructions further cause the processor to: create a second session state with a second foundation model, where the second session state is initialized based on the conversation state; and where the conversation state is updated based on a selected portion from the first session state or the second session state. (see ANANTHANARAYANAN, [0017] In some embodiments, the foundation model maintains a set of different context profiles, their associated computation times, and likely relevance scores. For example, as the foundation model processes queries using different context profiles, the foundation model may record the particular context profile, the computation time, and the relevancy score. As the foundation model builds a database or collection of these context profiles, the foundation model may select a set of context profiles to analyze in response to a particular query. In this manner, the foundation model may generate responses using the context profiles that are most likely to fall within the relevancy threshold while reducing the cost (e.g., the latency and/or resource utilization) of the response. As used herein “cost of a response” refers to a metric of latency and/or utilization of resources. For example, a high cost may refer to a high quantity of latency and/or a high quantity of computing resources utilized by the system(s). Alternatively, a low cost may refer to a low metric of latency and/or low quantity of computing resources utilized by the system(s).
Bendale and ANANTHANARAYANAN are in the same field of endeavor of signal processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Apparatus of combination of Bendale to incorporate where the instructions further cause the processor to: create a second session state with a second foundation model, where the second session state is initialized based on the conversation state; and where the conversation state is updated based on a selected portion from the first session state or the second session state of ANANTHANARAYANAN. This allows improved relevance of the responses while reducing the cost of the foundation model's response as recognized by ANANTHANARAYANAN [0014].
Regarding Claim 12, Bendale in view of ANANTHANARAYANAN teaches 12. The apparatus of claim 11,
Furthermore ANANTHANARAYANAN teaches further comprising a user interface and where the instructions further cause the processor to: obtain a user prompt from a user; generate a first query for the first foundation model and a second query for the second foundation model based on the user prompt; receive a first response from the first foundation model and a second response from the second foundation model; (see ANANTHANARAYANAN, [0015] “In some embodiments, the foundation model is used in iteratively reviewing context profiles until a response is prepared that is within the relevancy threshold. For example, the foundation model may prepare a first context profile and prepare a first response based on the first context profile. If the first response is not within the relevancy threshold, then the foundation model may prepare a second context profile and prepare a second response based on the second context profile. If the second response is within the relevancy threshold, then the foundation model may prepare a final response based on the second context profile. If the second response is not within the relevancy threshold, then the foundation model may iteratively prepare further context profiles until one of the context profiles results in a response within the relevancy threshold. In some embodiments, subsequent context profiles have higher complexity with a higher associated cost. In some embodiments, subsequent context profiles are prepared based on a pre-determined pattern. In some embodiments, if the foundation model reaches a latency budget, then the foundation model selects the context profile associated with the response having the higher relevance.”) and select a single response from the first response and the second response to present to the user. (see ANANTHANARAYANAN, [0034] “The context extraction system 110 may determine a context profile from the query. For example, the context extraction system 110 may generate a context profile based on content from the domain database 115 and text from the query. In some examples, the context extraction system 110 may select a context profile from a profile database of context profiles. The context extraction system 110 may generate a prompt for the foundation model 102 using the context information from the context profile and the query. For example, the context extraction system 110 may generate a text concatenation of the query and the context information from the context profile to generate the prompt. The foundation model 102 may prepare a response to the query based on the inputted prompt and send the response back to the user device 108. Additional information in connection with steps of the above-process will be discussed in further detail below.”)
Bendale in view of ANANTHANARAYANAN are in the same field of endeavor of signal processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Apparatus of combination of Bendale and ANANTHANARAYANAN to incorporate a user interface and where the instructions further cause the processor to: obtain a user prompt from a user; generate a first query for the first foundation model and a second query for the second foundation model based on the user prompt; receive a first response from the first foundation model and a second response from the second foundation model; and select a single response from the first response and the second response to present to the user. of ANANTHANARAYANAN. This allows improved relevance of the responses while reducing the cost of the foundation model's response as recognized by ANANTHANARAYANAN [0014].
Regarding Claim 13, Bendale in view of ANANTHANARAYANAN teaches 13. The apparatus of claim 12,
Furthermore, ANANTHANARAYANAN teaches where the conversation state is updated based on the single response. (see ANANTHANARAYANAN, [0015-0016] In some embodiments, the foundation model is used in iteratively reviewing context profiles until a response is prepared that is within the relevancy threshold. For example, the foundation model may prepare a first context profile and prepare a first response based on the first context profile. If the first response is not within the relevancy threshold, then the foundation model may prepare a second context profile and prepare a second response based on the second context profile. If the second response is within the relevancy threshold, then the foundation model may prepare a final response based on the second context profile. If the second response is not within the relevancy threshold, then the foundation model may iteratively prepare further context profiles until one of the context profiles results in a response within the relevancy threshold. In some embodiments, subsequent context profiles have higher complexity with a higher associated cost. In some embodiments, subsequent context profiles are prepared based on a pre-determined pattern. In some embodiments, if the foundation model reaches a latency budget, then the foundation model selects the context profile associated with the response having the higher relevance.[0016] In some embodiments, the foundation model simultaneously reviews context profiles and selects a best response from the simultaneously reviewed responses. For example, the foundation model may identify multiple context profiles and simultaneously prepare responses based on these context profiles. The foundation model may prepare relevancy scores from the responses and select the context profile having a higher (or highest) relevancy score. In some examples, the foundation model may prepare the context profiles to be analyzed within a latency budget.
Bendale in view of ANANTHANARAYANAN are in the same field of endeavor of signal processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Apparatus of combination of Bendale and ANANTHANARAYANAN to incorporate where the conversation state is updated based on the single response of ANANTHANARAYANAN. This allows improved relevance of the responses while reducing the cost of the foundation model's response as recognized by ANANTHANARAYANAN [0014].
Regarding Claim 14, Bendale in view of ANANTHANARAYANAN teaches 14. The apparatus of claim 12,
Furthermore, ANANTHANARAYANAN teaches where at least one of the first session state and the second session state is closed based on the single response. (see ANANTHANARAYANAN, [0064] “The response 442 may have an associated relevancy score. A response selector 444 may review the response 442 and determine 445 whether the responses 442 is above the response threshold. If the response 442 is above the response threshold, then the response selector 444 may submit the response 442 to the user. If the response 442 is not above the response threshold, then the response selector 444 may request that the context extractor 410 generate a new context profile. The context extractor 410 may generate a new context profile 438, the prompt generator 426 may generate a new prompt 440, and the foundation model 402 may generate a new response 442. In this manner, the context analysis system 434 may iteratively prepare responses to the query 436 until the response selector 444 identifies a response that is above the relevancy threshold. When the response selector 444 identifies a response that is above the relevancy threshold, the response selector 444 may select that response as a best response 446.”)
Bendale in view of ANANTHANARAYANAN are in the same field of endeavor of signal processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Apparatus of combination of Bendale and ANANTHANARAYANAN to incorporate where at least one of the first session state and the second session state is closed based on the single response of ANANTHANARAYANAN. This allows improved relevance of the responses while reducing the cost of the foundation model's response as recognized by ANANTHANARAYANAN [0014].
Regarding Claim 15, Bendale in view of ANANTHANARAYANAN teaches 15. The apparatus of claim 12,
Furthermore, ANANTHANARAYANAN teaches where both the first session state and the second session state are closed based on the single response. (see ANANTHANARAYANAN, [0064] “The response 442 may have an associated relevancy score. A response selector 444 may review the response 442 and determine 445 whether the responses 442 is above the response threshold. If the response 442 is above the response threshold, then the response selector 444 may submit the response 442 to the user. If the response 442 is not above the response threshold, then the response selector 444 may request that the context extractor 410 generate a new context profile. The context extractor 410 may generate a new context profile 438, the prompt generator 426 may generate a new prompt 440, and the foundation model 402 may generate a new response 442. In this manner, the context analysis system 434 may iteratively prepare responses to the query 436 until the response selector 444 identifies a response that is above the relevancy threshold. When the response selector 444 identifies a response that is above the relevancy threshold, the response selector 444 may select that response as a best response 446.”)
Bendale in view of ANANTHANARAYANAN are in the same field of endeavor of signal processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Apparatus of combination of Bendale and ANANTHANARAYANAN to incorporate where both the first session state and the second session state are closed based on the single response of ANANTHANARAYANAN. This allows improved relevance of the responses while reducing the cost of the foundation model's response as recognized by ANANTHANARAYANAN [0014].
Regarding Claim 17, Bendale teaches 17. The apparatus of claim 16,
Bendale does not specifically teach where the instructions further cause the processor to: generate a first query for the first foundation model based on first user context; and present a first response to the first query. However ANANTHANARAYANAN does teach this limitation (see ANANTHANARAYANAN, [0018] “In some embodiments, a method includes receiving a query for a foundation model. The foundation model may receive a query and extract a first context profile for the query using language of the query and a context database (or domain database). The first context profile may include first context content based on the language of the query. Using the first context profile, a context generation system may generate a first prompt for the foundation model. The first prompt includes a first concatenation of the query and the first context content. The context generation system may input the first prompt into the foundation model, resulting in a first response from the foundation model. The context generation system may generate a first relevancy score or relevancy score for the first response based on a relevance of the first response to the query. The context generation system may extract a second context profile for the query using language of the query and the context database. The second context profile may include second context content based on the language of the query. Using the second context profile, a context generation system may generate a second prompt for the foundation model. The second prompt includes a second concatenation of the query and the first context content. The context generation system may input the second prompt into the foundation model, resulting in a second response from the foundation model. The context generation system may generate a second relevancy score or relevancy score for the second response based on a relevance of the second response to the query. The context generation system may select one of the first response or the second response based on the first relevancy score and the second relevancy score.”)
Bendale in view of ANANTHANARAYANAN are in the same field of endeavor of signal processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Apparatus of Bendale to incorporate where the instructions further cause the processor to: generate a first query for the first foundation model based on first user context; and present a first response to the first query of ANANTHANARAYANAN. This allows improved relevance of the responses while reducing the cost of the foundation model's response as recognized by ANANTHANARAYANAN [0014].
Regarding Claim 18, Bendale in view of ANANTHANARAYANAN teaches 18. The apparatus of claim 17,
Furthermore, ANANTHANARAYANAN teaches where the instructions further cause the processor to: update the conversation state based on the first response and the first query; generate a second query for the second foundation model based on second user context; and present a second response to the second query which references information from the first query. ((see ANANTHANARAYANAN, [0018] “In some embodiments, a method includes receiving a query for a foundation model. The foundation model may receive a query and extract a first context profile for the query using language of the query and a context database (or domain database). The first context profile may include first context content based on the language of the query. Using the first context profile, a context generation system may generate a first prompt for the foundation model. The first prompt includes a first concatenation of the query and the first context content. The context generation system may input the first prompt into the foundation model, resulting in a first response from the foundation model. The context generation system may generate a first relevancy score or relevancy score for the first response based on a relevance of the first response to the query. The context generation system may extract a second context profile for the query using language of the query and the context database. The second context profile may include second context content based on the language of the query. Using the second context profile, a context generation system may generate a second prompt for the foundation model. The second prompt includes a second concatenation of the query and the first context content. The context generation system may input the second prompt into the foundation model, resulting in a second response from the foundation model. The context generation system may generate a second relevancy score or relevancy score for the second response based on a relevance of the second response to the query. The context generation system may select one of the first response or the second response based on the first relevancy score and the second relevancy score.”)
Bendale in view of ANANTHANARAYANAN are in the same field of endeavor of signal processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Apparatus of combination of Bendale and ANANTHANARAYANAN to incorporate the instructions further cause the processor to: update the conversation state based on the first response and the first query; generate a second query for the second foundation model based on second user context; and present a second response to the second query which references information from the first query of ANANTHANARAYANAN. This allows improved relevance of the responses while reducing the cost of the foundation model's response as recognized by ANANTHANARAYANAN [0014].
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bendale (U.S. Patent Number US 20230281466 A1) in view of ANANTHANARAYANAN (U.S. Patent Number US 20240419698 A1) and further in view of Agarwal (U.S. Patent Number US 20180067991 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, Bendale in view of ANANTHANARAYANAN teaches 19. The apparatus of claim 17,
Bendale in view of ANANTHANARAYANAN do not specifically teach further comprising a sensor and where the first query comprises instantaneous user context based on data captured by the sensor. However, Agarwal does teach this limitation (see Agarwal, [0072] “…the microphone may also serve as an audio sensor to facilitate control of notifications”)
Bendale in view of ANANTHANARAYANAN and Agarwal are in the same field of endeavor of signal processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Apparatus of combination of Bendale and ANANTHANARAYANAN to incorporate a sensor and where the first query comprises instantaneous user context based on data captured by the sensor of Agarwal. This allows for improved conversation as recognized by Agarwal [0072].
Regarding Claim 20, Bendale and ANANTHANARAYANAN teaches 20. The apparatus of claim 17,
Bendale and ANANTHANARAYANAN do not specifically teach further comprising a user-specific database and where the first query comprises accumulated user context retrieved from the user-specific database. However Agarwal does teach this limitation (see Agarwal, [0006] According to yet another aspect disclosed herein, a computer-readable storage medium including instructions for enhancing a digital assistant on a user's device is disclosed. The instructions executed by a processor include accessing the digital assistant via a device, receiving a first query as input from the user via the digital assistant and, in response to the user's first query, generating search results via the digital assistant accessing an application on the device or accessing an online resource. The instructions also include defining and storing a session linking the first query from the user with the search results generated via the digital assistant, generating a knowledge base of information based on a plurality of sessions, and retrieving information about the session from the knowledge base in response to subsequently receiving a second query as input from the user, wherein the second query references the first query.”)
Bendale in view of ANANTHANARAYANAN and Agarwal are in the same field of endeavor of signal processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Apparatus of combination of Bendale and ANANTHANARAYANAN to incorporate a user-specific database and where the first query comprises accumulated user context retrieved from the user-specific database of Agarwal. This allows for improved conversation as recognized by Agarwal [0072].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bendale (U.S. Patent Number US 20230281466 A1), in view of ANANTHANARAYANAN (U.S. Patent Number US 20240419698 A1), and further in view of He (U.S. Patent Number US 20240362286 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Bendale in view of ANANTHANARAYANAN teaches 6. The method of claim 5,
Bendale in view of view of ANANTHANARAYANAN do not specifically teach where the user context comprises captions generated from computer-vision analysis of an image, and the record of the previous session comprises a text transcript. However, He does teach this limitation (see He, [0084] Semi-supervised learning is a type of machine learning algorithm that combines both labeled and unlabeled data to improve the accuracy of predictions or classifications. In this approach, the algorithm is trained on a small amount of labeled data and a much larger amount of unlabeled data. The main idea behind semi-supervised learning is that labeled data is often scarce and expensive to obtain, whereas unlabeled data is abundant and easy to collect. By leveraging both types of data, semi-supervised learning can achieve higher accuracy and better generalization than either supervised or unsupervised learning alone. In semi-supervised learning, the algorithm first uses the labeled data to learn the underlying structure of the problem. It then uses this knowledge to identify patterns and relationships in the unlabeled data, and to make predictions or classifications based on these patterns. Semi-supervised learning has many applications, such as in speech recognition, natural language processing, and computer vision. It is particularly useful for tasks where labeled data is expensive or time-consuming to obtain, and where the goal is to improve the accuracy of predictions or classifications by leveraging large amounts of unlabeled data.”) (see He [0114] “Semi-structured text 616 is text information that does not fit neatly into the traditional categories of structured and unstructured data. It has some structure but does not conform to the rigid structure of a specific format or schema. Semi-structured data is characterized by the presence of context tags or metadata that provide some structure and context for the text information, such as a caption or description of a figure, name of a table, labels for equations, and so forth..”)
Bendale in view of ANANTHANARAYANAN and He are in the same field of endeavor of signal processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of combination of Bendale, Agarwal and ANANTHANARAYANAN to incorporate where the user context comprises captions generated from computer-vision analysis of an image, and the record of the previous session comprises a text transcript of He. This allows for information retrieval, and content management as recognized by He [0029].
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bendale (U.S. Patent Number US 20230281466 A1), in view of ANANTHANARAYANAN (U.S. Patent Number US 20240419698 A1) and further in view of DUTTA (U.S. Patent Number US 20210192800 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Bendale in view of ANANTHANARAYANAN teaches 7. The method of claim 5,
Bendale in view of ANANTHANARAYANAN do not specifically teach where the record of the previous session defines a user-specific token and the prompt references the user-specific token. However, Dutta does teach this limitation (see Dutta, [0115] The context determination module (114) is configured to determine context associated with the conversation. In an embodiment, the context determination module (114) is configured to extract the context of the conversation using a current conversation session between two or more users and user's behavior who are engaged in the current conversation session. In one embodiment, the context determination module (114) includes a query parser (202). The query parser is configured to parse the context and emotions associated with the current conversation session. Further, the context determination module (114) includes a speech to text converter (204) and a string tokenizer (208). The speech to text converter (204) is configured to convert audio/video form of conversation into text conversation, and is further configured to determine context associated with the conversation. The string tokenizer (208) is configured to break a string of the conversation into tokens. In another embodiment, the context determination module (114) is configured to tokenize the text/audio/video conversation into segments, and is further configured to create an attention module (210) for creating dependencies with previous form of text/audio/video conversation. The context determination module (114) is further configured to use a position encoder (212) and a recurrence mechanism (214) to extract and determine the context of the text/audio/video conversation. In an embodiment, the position encoder (212) is a relative position encoder that encodes a relative position of relevant segment tokens (206) or strings for extracting and determining the context of the conversation. The recurrence mechanism (214) is a segment level recurrence mechanism that uses previous history of the conversation for extracting and determining the context of the conversation. In an embodiment, the context includes purpose of the conversation, usage data, current activities of a user, pre-stored user data, time of the conversation, location of the user, real time conversation and current conversation details, previous history of conversation, relationship with other user who is engaged in the conversation, and frequency of the conversation between users.”)
Bendale in view of ANANTHANARAYANAN and Dutta are in the same field of endeavor of signal processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of combination of Bendale, and ANANTHANARAYANAN to incorporate where the record of the previous session defines a user-specific token and the prompt references the user-specific token of Dutta. This allows diversified sentiments as recognized by Dutta [0186].
Regarding Claim 8, Bendale in view of ANANTHANARAYANAN and further in view of Dutta teaches 8. The method of claim 7,
Furthermore, ANANTHANARAYANAN teaches where the user-specific token is mapped to a combination of embedding vectors trained from a generic library. (see ANANTHANARAYANAN, [0041] “Furthermore, the components of the computing system 200 may, for example, be implemented as one or more operating systems, as one or more stand-alone applications, as one or more modules of an application, as one or more plug-ins, as one or more library functions or functions that may be called by other applications, and/or as a cloud-computing model. Thus, the components may be implemented as a stand-alone application, such as a desktop or mobile application. Furthermore, the components may be implemented as one or more web-based applications hosted on a remote server. The components may also be implemented in a suite of mobile device applications or “apps.””) (See ANANTHANARAYANAN [0042] “In accordance with at least one embodiment of the present disclosure, the computing system 200 includes a context extractor 210, a domain database 215 in communication with the context extractor 210, and a foundation model 202 in communication with the domain database 215 and the context extractor 210. The context extractor 210 includes a context extraction system 214. The context extraction system 214 may extract context from the domain database 215 based on the query using one or more of a variety of context extraction techniques. For example, the context extraction system 214 may utilize text similarity metrics 216, vector embeddings 218, plugins 220, any other context extraction technique, and combinations thereof to generate context for the query. In some embodiments, the context extraction system 214 extracts a context profile that includes context information from the text similarity metrics 216, the vector embeddings 218, the plugins 220, any other context extraction technique, and combinations thereof.”)
Bendale in view of ANANTHANARAYANAN and further in view of Dutta are in the same field of endeavor of signal processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of combination of Bendale, and ANANTHANARAYANAN to incorporate where the user-specific token is mapped to a combination of embedding vectors trained from a generic library. This allows improved relevance of the responses while reducing the cost of the foundation model's response as recognized by ANANTHANARAYANAN [0014].
Regarding Claim 9, Bendale in view of ANANTHANARAYANAN and further in view of Dutta teaches 9. The method of claim 8,
Furthermore, Dutta teaches where the combination of embedding vectors encodes a relationship of the user-specific token to the user that is inferred from the user context. (see Dutta, [0115] The context determination module (114) is configured to determine context associated with the conversation. In an embodiment, the context determination module (114) is configured to extract the context of the conversation using a current conversation session between two or more users and user's behavior who are engaged in the current conversation session. In one embodiment, the context determination module (114) includes a query parser (202). The query parser is configured to parse the context and emotions associated with the current conversation session. Further, the context determination module (114) includes a speech to text converter (204) and a string tokenizer (208). The speech to text converter (204) is configured to convert audio/video form of conversation into text conversation, and is further configured to determine context associated with the conversation. The string tokenizer (208) is configured to break a string of the conversation into tokens. In another embodiment, the context determination module (114) is configured to tokenize the text/audio/video conversation into segments, and is further configured to create an attention module (210) for creating dependencies with previous form of text/audio/video conversation. The context determination module (114) is further configured to use a position encoder (212) and a recurrence mechanism (214) to extract and determine the context of the text/audio/video conversation. In an embodiment, the position encoder (212) is a relative position encoder that encodes a relative position of relevant segment tokens (206) or strings for extracting and determining the context of the conversation. The recurrence mechanism (214) is a segment level recurrence mechanism that uses previous history of the conversation for extracting and determining the context of the conversation. In an embodiment, the context includes purpose of the conversation, usage data, current activities of a user, pre-stored user data, time of the conversation, location of the user, real time conversation and current conversation details, previous history of conversation, relationship with other user who is engaged in the conversation, and frequency of the conversation between users.”)
Bendale in view of ANANTHANARAYANAN and further in view of Dutta are in the same field of endeavor of signal processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of combination of Bendale, and ANANTHANARAYANAN and Dutta to incorporate where the combination of embedding vectors encodes a relationship of the user-specific token to the user that is inferred from the user context of Dutta. This allows diversified sentiments as recognized by Dutta [0186].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KRISTEN MICHELLE MASTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2659
/PIERRE LOUIS DESIR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2659