DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Specification
The objection to the specification is withdrawn in view of applicants’ submission of a replacement title.
Claim Objections
The objection to claim 1 is withdrawn in view of applicants’ amendments to the claim.
Claim Interpretation
The use of the relative term “about” in at least claims 3-6 and 9 is interpreted in light of at least ¶[0017] of the published application as covering a margin of error that is from ±0.1% up to ±15% of the stated value.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the “defect removal system” in claim 2.
The claim limitations relating to the “defect removal system” in claim 2 has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “system” coupled with functional language “defect removal” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim 2 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
the defect removal system (62) in at least Fig. 3, ¶¶[0044]-[0045], and ¶¶[0055]-[0056] of the published application which includes a sweeper rod (32), ceramic breaks (64) and (72), mounting flange (68), support metal rod (66), knob (70), and control mechanism (60).
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 6,399,151 to Lee, et al. (hereinafter “Lee”) in view of U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2008/0226838 to Nishimura, et al. (“Nishimura”).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a method of producing a diamond material (see the Abstract, Figs. 1-6, and entire reference which teach a method of growing a diamond material (9) by DC-plasma CVD), comprising:
providing a seed material in a chemical vapor deposition reactor (see Fig. 1 and col. 7, l. 35 to col. 8, l. 8 which teach providing a substrate (10) in a CVD chamber (1));
introducing process gases in the chemical vapor deposition reactor (see Fig. 1, col. 3, ll. 55-61 and col. 7, l. 35 to col. 8, l. 8 which teach introducing process gases into the chamber (1) through a gas inlet (2));
wherein the chemical vapor deposition reactor comprises:
a first electrode (see Fig. 1 and col. 3, l. 62 to col. 4, l. 3 which teach a first electrode in the form of an anode (5));
a second electrode (see Fig. 1 and col. 3, l. 62 to col. 4, l. 3 which teach a second electrode in the form of a cathode (4));
applying a DC voltage across the first electrode and second electrode, wherein the DC voltage is higher than 900V (see Fig. 1, col. 5, ll. 42-48, and col. 6, l. 8 to col. 7, l. 33 which teach that a DC voltage of up to 1,000 V may be applied by the power supply (6));
generating a plasma between the first electrode and second electrode, wherein the plasma has a power density of at least 1.0 W/mm2 (see Fig. 1 and col. 4, ll. 52-65 which teach that a power of 30 to 60 kW may be supplied by the power supply (6) with col. 5, ll. 42-48 further teaching the use of a substrate (10) having a diameter of 100 mm which (using A = π[Symbol font/0xD7]r2) translates to a deposition area of 7,850 mm2 and, hence, a power density of to 3.8 to 7.6 W/mm2).
Lee does not teach that the deposition area is at least 12,000 mm2 (see supra with respect to the objection to claim 1 where it is assumed applicants intended to recite a deposition area of at least 12,000 mm2 which translates to a substrate diameter of at least 123.6 mm). However, absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been within the capabilities of a PHOSITA prior to the effective filing date of the invention to scale up the size of the DC-plasma CVD system of Lee such that the substrate (10) features a deposition area of at least 12,000 mm2 in order to facilitate deposition onto a larger surface area and thereby benefit from the economies of scale. The "mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled.” In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 1053, 189 USPQ 143, 189 (CCPA 1976); see also MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A). Alternatively, in Figs. 1-3 and ¶¶[0085]-[0129] as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference Nishimura discloses an analogous embodiment of a DC-plasma CVD system and method for the growth of crystalline diamond. The system includes, inter alia, a chamber (10) with a disc-shaped anode (11a) that supports a substrate (1) along with a disc-shaped cathode (13) that is spaced apart from and disposed above the anode (11a). In ¶[0164] Nishimura specifically teaches an embodiment where the anode (11a) and cathode (13) have a diameter of 160 mm which translates to a deposition surface area of greater than 12,000 mm2. Thus, a PHOSITA prior to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of Nishimura and would be motivated to utilize a larger cathode and anode in the system and method of Lee which has a deposition area of at least 12,000 mm2 in order to facilitate deposition onto larger substrates or a greater number of smaller substrates such that the throughput of the system may be improved and the cost per unit area of diamond that is grown may be reduced.
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches that the DC voltage applied is about 1000V to 12000V (see Fig. 1 and col. 5, ll. 46-48 which teach that a DV voltage of up to 1,000 V is supplied between the cathode (4) and anode (5)).
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches that the plasma generated has a power density of about 1.2 W/mm2 to 6.0 W/ mm2 (see Fig. 1 and col. 4, ll. 52-65 which teach that a power of 30 to 60 kW may be supplied by the power supply (6) with col. 5, ll. 42-48 further teaching the use of a substrate (10) having a diameter of 100 mm which (using A = π[Symbol font/0xD7]r2) translates to a deposition area of 7,850 mm2 and, hence, a power density of to 3.8 to 7.6 W/mm2 which substantially overlaps the claimed range).
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches that the reactor chamber pressure is about 50 Torr and 110 Torr (see col. 6, ll. 53-48 which teach that DC-plasma CVD deposition uses a gas pressure as high as 100 Torr), but does not explicitly teach that the deposition area is about 12,000 mm2 to 75,000 mm2. However, as noted supra with respect to the rejection of claim 1, absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been within the capabilities of a PHOSITA prior to the effective filing date of the invention to scale up the size of the DC-plasma CVD system of Lee such that the substrate (10) features a deposition area of 12,000 to 75,000 mm2 in order to facilitate deposition onto a larger surface area and thereby benefit from the economies of scale. Alternatively, in Figs. 1-3 and ¶¶[0085]-[0129] as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference Nishimura discloses an analogous embodiment of a DC-plasma CVD system and method for the growth of crystalline diamond. The system includes, inter alia, a chamber (10) with a disc-shaped anode (11a) that supports a substrate (1) along with a disc-shaped cathode (13) that is spaced apart from and disposed above the anode (11a). In ¶[0164] Nishimura specifically teaches an embodiment where the anode (11a) and cathode (13) have a diameter of 160 mm which translates to a deposition surface area of 20,096 mm2. Thus, a PHOSITA prior to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of Nishimura and would be motivated to utilize a larger cathode and anode in the system and method of Lee which has a deposition area of 20,096 mm2 which is within the claimed range of 12,000 to 75,000 mm2 in order to facilitate deposition onto larger substrates or a greater number of smaller substrates such that the throughput of the system may be improved and the cost per unit area of diamond that is grown may be reduced.
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches that the process gases comprise a hydrogen source gas and a carbon source gas, and wherein the carbon source gas is methane (see col. 7, ll. 7-63 which teach the use of a process gas mixture comprised of 3.5 to 6% methane (CH4) in H2), but does not explicitly teach that the hydrogen source gas has a flow rate of about 300 and 2000 sccm. However, in at least ¶[0112] Nishimura teaches that during diamond growth from methane and hydrogen source gases the flow rate of hydrogen is typically 500 sccm. Thus, a PHOSITA prior to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of Nishimura and would be motivated to utilize a H2 flow of 500 sccm in the method of Lee to efficiently deliver/carry the desired amount of methane gas and thereby produce the diamond growth rate necessary for a particular application.
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches that the plasma’s power density of at least 1.0 W/mm2 is maintained by varying the distance between the first electrode and second electrode from 40 mm to 100 mm (see Fig. 1 and col. 5, ll. 42-46 which teach that the space between the electrodes (4) and (5) was maintained at 20 to 40 mm which touches the claimed range; see also col. 4, ll. 52-65 which teach that a power of 30 to 60 kW may be supplied by the power supply (6) with col. 5, ll. 42-48 further teaching the use of a substrate (10) having a diameter of 100 mm which (using A = π[Symbol font/0xD7]r2) translates to a deposition area of 7,850 mm2 and, hence, a power density of to 3.8 to 7.6 W/mm2).
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches that the second electrode’s temperature is maintained between 850 °C and 1200 °C (see Figs. 1-2 and col. 4, l. 11 to col. 5, l. 65 which teach that the cathode (4) is preferably maintained at a temperature of between 800 to 1,400 °C with col. 5, ll. 58-61 specifically teaching maintaining the cathode (4) at a temperature of 950 to 1,050 °C) and the seed material’s temperature is maintained between 900 °C and 1100 °C, during the diamond material production process (See col. 7, ll. 34-48 which teach that the substrate was maintained at a temperature of 1,150 to 1,250 °C which is sufficiently close to the claimed upper limit of 1,100 °C that it would be reasonably expected to yield the same properties. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See also MPEP 2144.05(I). Alternatively, see at least Fig. 32 and ¶¶[0311]-[0313] of Nishimura which teaches that the temperature of the substrate during DC-plasma CVD growth of diamond depends on the material utilized (i.e., graphite or molybdenum) and the distance X with the temperature ranging from approximately 890 to 1,065 °C. Accordingly, it would have been within the capabilities of a PHOSITA prior to the effective filing date of the invention to utilize routine experimentation to determine the optimal substrate temperature, including within the claimed range of 900 to 1,100 °C, that is necessary to produce a diamond thin film having the desired materials properties.).
Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Nishimura and further in view of U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2020/0362455 to Yon-Hua Tzeng (“Tzeng”).
Regarding claim 7, Lee and Nishimura do not explicitly teach that the process gases further comprise an oxygen source gas, a nitrogen source gas, and argon source gas, wherein the concentration by volume of oxygen-to-hydrogen is in a range 0 to 1% and nitrogen-to-hydrogen is in a range 0 to 0.005% and argon-to-hydrogen is in a range 0 to 1%. However, in Figs. 1-5, ¶¶[0016]-[0049], and at least Embodiment 1 Tzeng teaches an analogous system and method for the growth of crystalline diamond thin films by CVD. In ¶[0006] Tzeng specifically teaches that the precursors used during plasma-enhanced CVD growth of diamond include a carbon-containing material with different amounts of argon, hydrogen, oxygen, and nitrogen gases. These may be used to, for example, control materials properties such as the nucleation density, color, and crystalline quality of the resulting diamond film. In ¶¶[0032]-[0036] Tzeng further teaches that the concentration and flow rate of each precursor gas may be optimized through routine experimentation and provides an example in which the ratio of argon to hydrogen in the gas mixture ranges from 0 to 200. Thus, a PHOSITA prior to the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to provide the DC-plasma CVD system of Lee and Nishimura with sources of oxygen, nitrogen, and argon precursor gases and would utilize routine experimentation to determine the amount of each gas relative to the amount of hydrogen necessary to produce a crystalline diamond layer having the desired properties. It is noted that the recited ranges for oxygen, nitrogen, and argon includes 0% and, as such, simply having these gases available, but not utilized during film growth meets the claim.
Claim 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Nishimura and further in view of U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2014/0041574 to Hitoshi Noguchi (“Noguchi”).
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches that the diamond material has a thickness of about 1.0 mm to 10.0 mm (see col. 7, ll. 34-48 which teach the growth of a diamond fil with a thickness of 1.2 mm), but does not explicitly teach that the diamond material id single crystalline diamond. However, in at least Fig. 1 and ¶¶[0028]-[0047] as well as Example 1 Noguchi teaches an analogous method of depositing a diamond thin film onto a substrate by DC-plasma CVD. In at least ¶[0007] and ¶[0037] Noguchi teaches that a single crystal diamond film may be formed by DC-plasma CVD through the use of a suitable lattice-matched substrate such as single crystal MgO with a heteroepitaxial Ir layer, HPHT single crystal diamond, or a single crystal SiC substrate with a heteroepitaxial Ir or Rh layer thereupon. Thus, by lattice-matching the substrate to diamond it is possible to grow a single crystal diamond layer using suitable growth conditions. Accordingly, a PHOSITA prior to the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to use a lattice matched substrate in the DC-plasma CVD growth method of Lee and Nishimura in order to deposit a single crystal diamond layer for use as, for example, jewelry and/or the formation of higher quality electronic devices.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art of record does not teach, disclose, or reasonably suggest the step of removing defects from the diamond material through a defect removal system, without stopping the deposition process as recited in the context of claim 2 with the “defect removal system” being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as discussed supra.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed October 2, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In Section A(I)(a) applicants initially argue against the rejection of claim 1 by contending that there is no evidence that scaling up the process of Lee would still apply a voltage higher than 900 V and produce a plasma having a power density of at least 1 W/mm2 over a deposition area of at least 12,000 mm2. See applicants’ 10/2/2026 reply, pp. 9-11. This argument is not found persuasive as the rejection of claim 1 is under 35 U.S.C. 103 and is based on what would have been obvious to a PHOSITA. In this case Lee clearly teaches that the applied voltage may be up to 1,000 V at a power density of up to 60 kW which is applied across a substrate having a diameter of 100 mm which corresponds to a deposition area of 7,850 mm2 and a power density as high as 7.6 W/mm2. In order to obtain a surface area of at least 12,000 mm2 the diameter of the substrate would only need to be increased to 123.6 mm which is just 23.6% larger than the 100 mm diameter substrate utilized in the teachings of Lee. A PHOSITA skilled in plasma-enhanced CVD (PECVD) that is seeking to increase the deposition area would recognize the need to optimize each of the parameters utilized, including the applied voltage, power, and electrode spacing in order to continue to deposit a uniform and high quality thin film. Applicants have not provided conclusive evidence showing that just a 23.6 % increase in the diameter of the wafer produces unexpected results. On the contrary, the teachings of Nishimura show that the use of an anode and cathode having a diameter of up to 160 mm in a PECVD system was known and regularly utilized in the art. Consequently, it is the Examiner’s position that it would have been within the capabilities of a PHOSITA to scale up the system and method of Lee by increasing the diameter of the substrate by just 23.6% in order to meet the claim with the specific motivation for doing so being to facilitate the deposition of diamond onto larger substrates or a greater number of smaller substrates in order to increase the throughput and reduce the overall cost.
In Section A(I)(b) applicants then argue that the mere scaling up rationale does not apply because scaling up the discharge area in the PECVD system changes how the process performs. Id. at pp. 11-13. This argument is not found persuasive as the basic function of the PECVD reactor is still the same even after being scaled up from the apparatus of Lee by just a 23.6% increase in deposition area. The PECVD system still functions to deposit a crystalline diamond thin film onto a heated substrate by flowing a precursor gas and producing a plasma between two electrodes. There will, of course, be some optimization of the process parameters as the size of the reactor changes, but it is the Examiner’s position that doing so would have required nothing more than the capabilities of a PHOSITA that is experienced in PECVD systems. Regardless of the size of the reactor, the principle of operation is substantially the same and, consequently, there is no change in the basic principles behind how the PECVD reactor operates. It is also noted that in the paragraph spanning pp. 12-13 of applicants’ reply it appears as if applicants are conceding that the scope of claim 1 is not fully enabled since it recites open-ended ranges of “higher than 900 V,” “at least 1.0 W/mm2,” and a deposition area of “at least 12,000 mm2” because the economies of scale rationale lacks a limiting principle.
In Section A(I)(c)-(d) applicants argue that Lee’s voltage disclosure is tied to its specific small-area, high-pressure configuration whereas applicants’ disclosure shows that there is a synergistic effect that is obtained from a specific operating regime. Id. at pp. 13-14. Applicants’ arguments are noted, but remain unpersuasive. Lee clearly teaches that the DC voltage may be up to 1,000 V and, hence, Lee is relevant for all that it suggests to a PHOSITA regardless of whether the actual examples utilize a lower voltage setting. Moreover, applicants have not shown that the Examples in the specification produce unexpected results. Additionally, claim 1 only requires a deposition area of at least 12,000 mm2 which involves the use of a wafer diameter that is just 23.6% larger than the 100-mm-diameter substrates utilized in the method of Lee.
In Section A(I)(e) applicants argue that Nishimura does not cure the deficiencies in Lee because the 160-mm-diameter electrode in Nishimura allegedly is not the substrate and is utilized for the deposition of diamond particles, not a thin film. Id. at pp. 14-15. This argument is not found persuasive since, for one, the PECVD system of Nishimura clearly is designed for and is capable of depositing a crystalline diamond thin film. This is specifically stated in, for example, ¶[0106] which states that the deposition process forms a film on the substrate. Second, in ¶[0164] Nishimura specifically teaches that both the anode (11a) and cathode (13) may have a diameter of 160 mm which necessarily means that it is capable of fully supporting a substrate with a diameter of up to 160 mm. Thus, the teachings of Nishimura show that the use of PECVD systems in which the substrate support has a diameter of up to 160 mm (i.e., a cross-sectional area of 20,096 mm2) is known in the art. Accordingly, the teachings of Nishimura show that it would have been within the capabilities of a PHOSITA to scale up the system and method of Lee to support larger-diameter substrates that have a deposition area of at least 12,000 mm2 as claimed.
In Section 2 applicants argue against the rejection of claim 4 by contending that the 3.8 to 7.6 W/mm2 for Lee’s 100-mm-diameter substrate is not a finding about the power density of the modified large-area process. Id. at p. 15. Applicants’ argument is noted, but is unpersuasive. It is pointed out that in col. 4, ll. 52-65 Lee teaches the use of a power of up to 60 kW which, for an increased deposition area of 12,000 mm2, still yields a power density of 5 W/mm2 which meets the claim. Also, the use of the term “about” means that values ±15% of the recited value are encompassed by the claim.
Applicants argue against the rejection of claim 5 by contending that each of Lee’s deposition runs utilizes a higher pressure of 130 to 160 Torr. Id. at pp. 15-16. This argument is not found persuasive as prior art pertinent for all that it reasonably suggests to a PHOSITA. In this case Lee teaches the use of a gas pressure as high as 100 Torr which falls squarely within the claimed range of 50 to 110 Torr.
Applicants argue against the rejection of claim 6 by contending that Nishimura discloses the deposition of a carbon nanowall deposition process rather than a film growth process. Id.at p. 16. This argument is not found persuasive since, again, prior art is relevant for all that it reasonably suggests to a PHOSITA. In this case a nanowall has a thickness which is deposited by PECVD using both hydrogen and carbon-containing precursors and, hence, is formed using a similar process. Moreover, since a flow rate of 500 sccm for H2 is determined to be suitable for the deposition of a carbon-containing layer it therefore would have been within the capabilities of a PHOSITA to utilize a similar flow rate for H2 in the method of Lee as a carrier gas for methane.
Applicants argue against the rejection of claim 8 by contending that Lee does not teach that the distance between the first and second electrode is varied (i.e., it is changed) during film growth. Id. Applicants’ argument is noted, but is unpersuasive as it is based upon features which are not claimed. In this case claim 8 does not specify that the distance between the first and second electrodes is actually changed during film growth. In providing the claim with its broadest reasonable interpretation the distance between the first and second electrode may be varied between 40 and 100 mm and in col. 5, ll. 42-46 Lee teaches that the space between the electrodes may be anywhere between 20 to 40 mm. This means that the gap can be changed from one film deposition process to the next and, hence, it “varies” between 20 and 40 mm.
Applicants argue against the rejection of claim 11 by contending that the temperatures in Lee and Nishimura are not close enough to yield the same results. Id. at pp. 16-17. These arguments are not found persuasive as they are based on arguments of counsel rather than factually supported objective evidence. The lower limit for the substrate temperature in Lee is 1,150 °C which is only 50 °C removed from the claimed upper limit of 1,100 °C. Alternatively, the teachings of Nishimura are relevant for all that they reasonably suggest to a PHOSITA. In this case, since Nishimura teaches the use of an overlapping temperature range of 890 to 1,065 °C for the growth of a crystalline diamond material a PHOSITA would look to the teachings of Nishimura and would recognize that temperatures within this range may be optimized for the deposition of a diamond thin film in the method of Lee.
Applicants argue against the rejection of claim 7 by contending that the claim language requires the use of oxygen, nitrogen, and argon as process gases and that Tzeng does not teach a mixture for a DC-plasma process. Id. at pp. 17-18. These argument are not found persuasive. Since claim 7 specifically recites oxygen, nitrogen, and argon gases in a concentration of 0% this therefore means that it includes embodiments in which they are not used. Moreover, the fact that Tzeng utilizes a microwave-based deposition process does not in any way, shape, or form mean that those same process gases cannot be utilized in a DC-based plasma system. Both are plasma-based deposition processes which routinely incorporate oxygen, nitrogen, and argon as process gases during the growth of diamond thin films.
Applicants argue against the rejection of claim 9 by contending that there is no motivation to combine the teachings of Noguchi with those of Lee and Nishimura because Noguchi utilizes a different substrate and different growth conditions for the formation of a single-crystal diamond layer and teaches that DC-plasma single-crystal growth degrades as the film thickens. Id. at pp. 18-19. This argument is not found persuasive as the use of a lattice-matched single crystal substrate is the whole purpose behind successfully depositing a single-crystal diamond. The use of such a substrate allows the diamond layer to grow without defects and without the formation of grain boundaries such that a single crystal diamond layer may be formed. The fact that Lee utilizes molybdenum as a substrate does not in any way, shape, or form mean that other substrates cannot or would not be utilized to form a single crystal diamond layer in the method of Lee. Since a single crystal diamond layer has fewer defects and is of higher quality it may be used as, for example, jewelry or the production of electronic devices where a single crystal diamond layer is required. Applicants’ arguments regarding the thickness of the diamond layer in Noguchi are noted, but it appears as if applicants are arguing against the references individually. In this case it is Lee rather than Noguchi that is relied upon to teach that a film having a thickness of 1.2 mm may be deposited. Moreover, even though Noguchi teaches film thicknesses of just 75 to 150 mm at a growth rate of 5 mm/h this does not mean that a thickness of at least 1 mm is unattainable. In at least Example 2 which is shown in the Table at p. 13 of applicants’ 10/2/2026 reply, a diamond thickness of 4 mm is only attained after performing deposition for more than 500 h which means that the growth rate is less than 8 mm/h. At a deposition rate of 5 mm/h as taught by Noguchi, a thickness of 1 mm may be attained if deposition is continued for a total of at least 200 h which is much shorter than the 500 h utilized in the instant application.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KENNETH A BRATLAND JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714